Germaine Mayer Blake papers
Elementary school teacher who taught for thirty-three years at the Catholic Visitation High School in Stacyville, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lida Cochran papers
Audiovisual educator and professor in the Education Department at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Christine Dutson papers
Multi-volume memoir of a Mormon woman who was an educator, poet and advocate for the mentally ill.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Johnston Elson papers
Iowa teacher from Jefferson County who taught in rural schools for forty-four years and was active in the Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alpha Evans papers
Rural middle school teacher who chaired the Iowa committee to revise teacher standards in the 1970s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marian Farquhar papers
Missionary to the Sudan who spent her childhood in Page County, Iowa, and worked in Africa from the 1940s to 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gladys Miller Ferguson papers
Teacher and high school girls basketball coach from Mechanicsville, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia Geadelmann papers
Feminist and physical educator who was a strong proponent of the ERA and Title IX.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Nellie M. Gebers papers
Artist, writer and teacher from Ira, Iowa who studied with Grant Wood.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Philip L. Gerber papers
State University of New York College at Brockport professor who edited the homesteading letters of Elizabeth Corey.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Karen Goodenow papers
Elementary and high school teacher who has served on local and state boards of education.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy S. Grant papers
Unitarian Universalist and Head Start teacher, and spokesperson for victims of spousal abuse.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Geraldine Greenlee papers
Received her master's degree from the Department of Physical Education for Women at the State University of Iowa in 1952.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Grefe papers
Educator, social activist, politician and businesswoman who was inducted into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 1980.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Esther Mae Christensen Grow memoir
Reflections on growing up in western Iowa and Nebraska include experiences in country school, college and as a teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Hamilton papers
Teacher and world traveler who served in the New Hampshire legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Icey Lenora Teel Harling papers
Lecturer, author and playwright who ran the Teel School of Expression in Davenport, 1918-1934 and was later a writer and editor for the Durant News.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Phyllis Harper-Bardach papers
Educator of hearing-impaired children and retired professor of Education at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
E. Marie Hawkins papers
Iowa City elementary school teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cynthia Hickok portfolio
Textile artist, teacher, and volunteer from Sac City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa League for Nursing records
The Iowa League for Nursing's efforts have included active participation in community planning and action for health care, advocating changes such as home health care. The organization made efforts to assure the continuing supply of nurses by providing them with the educational opportunities to reach their maximum career potential, ability to move into management and leadership positions, and promoting a greater public appreciation of nursing as a profession.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Nurses Association records
State branch of the national organization. The overall purpose of the association has been to promote and improve the professional skills and status of nurses.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Nurses Association, Fifth District records
Local chapter of the Iowa Nurses Association.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women in Educational Leadership records
An organization to promote the upward mobility of women in educational management.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Constance Frick Irwin papers
Author, librarian, and professor of library science who was a WAVE during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jane Elliott papers
Riceville, Iowa schoolteacher and anti-racism activist who pioneered diversity sensitivity training with her famous "Blue Eyed, Brown Eyed" exercise
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Arlene Jens papers
Nurse, abortion rights activist and educator from Fairfield, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Ashton Johnson papers
Physical education teacher whose papers include records of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women and of the Association for Girls and Women in Sport.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Pitkanen Johnson papers
Artist and educator from Finland who taught drawing theory at the University of Illinois.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Grace Morris Allen Jones papers
Burlington, Iowa born educator and wife of Dr. Laurence C. Jones, founder of Piney Woods Country Life School in Piney Woods, Mississippi.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alma Marie Kouba Kress papers
Buchanan County elementary school teacher and clubwoman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Emmylou Krohn papers
Teacher, columnist, and textbook author from Council Bluffs area.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kim Landhuis papers
Native of Vietnam who became a teacher, school board member, and 1994 candidate for the Iowa senate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bernice Leary papers
Educator, author, collector of children's books.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gertrude Schroeder Lockwood papers
Scrapbook documenting the collegiate life of a State University of Iowa student during the 1920's.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dora Mason papers
Sculptor and art teacher who traveled and studied sculpture across Europe and North America.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helena Jongewaard McDonald papers
Teacher who attended Iowa State College in 1914.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alice McMurry papers
Promise City, Iowa elementary school teacher and poet.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Misbach papers
Educator whose lifelong career of working with partially seeing and blind students began in 1938 at the Perkins School for the Blind in Massachussetts.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Ellen Moore papers
High school English teacher from Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cherry Muhanji papers
Writer, lesbian activist, and University of Iowa alumna.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Miriam Baker Nye papers
Moville, Iowa, farm wife and columnist for the Sioux City Farm Journal Weekly.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Melba Gardemann Olson papers
Benton County, Iowa, farm girl and teacher who played on her high school's basketball championship team in 1927.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Louise Petersen Papers
Member and president of Iowa State Board of Regents.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sarilda Phillips papers
Mississippi schoolteacher who was forced into retirement in 1956 following desegregation.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Pi Lambda Theta, Theta Chapter records
Honorary society for women students in the field of education.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lavina Power papers
Schoolteacher, wife and mother, who kept account books for her husband's chain of drugstores.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Olabelle Reed papers
Teacher, community activist, and co-founder of Club Les Dames, an African American women's club in Waterloo.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gladys Talcott Rife papers
Mt.Vernon, Iowa high school teacher who later owned and directed The Depot Museum in Fayette County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Hazel Rogers papers
Teacher who attended the Iowa State Teachers College between 1939 and 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Henrietta Ruff papers
Amana, Iowa, school teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edith Sackett papers
Schoolteacher and Iowa Mother of the Year, 1969.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lillian Moore Scales papers
Estherville, Iowa-born homemaker and teacher who was active in literary, political, and religious groups in Des Moines.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Schaefer papers
A Latin teacher who served as friend and mentor to Vietnamese refugees in the Iowa City community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Hazelle Keir Schmuecker papers
Autobiographical essays and family history of six generations by rural schoolteacher, homemaker, and artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jessie Field Shambaugh papers
Shenandoah, Iowa teacher who became school superintendent for Page County, Iowa. She played a central role in the development of activities for rural youth and is referred to as the 'Mother of 4-H.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Clara Steen Skott papers
Free-lance writer, home economics teacher, and civic leader who wrote articles and diaries concerning life in Iowa, China, and Wisconsin.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Laura Gibson Smith papers
Casey, Iowa native who taught country school before marrying and homesteading in Wyoming in 1913. She taught school in the Philippines in the 1910s and 1920s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gladys Spayde papers
Stage actress who spent her childhood in Saskatchewan and was a teacher in Fairfield, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
C. Pauline Spencer papers
An outstanding athlete and the first woman to receive an athletic letter at the University of Iowa.She graduated in 1923.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Priscilla Ann Mabie Stewart papers
Art historian and Professor who settled in Florida where she organized and directed a wild bird hospital.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kathryn Stone papers
Mount Vernon, Iowa, native who taught at University High School in Iowa City in 1930 and 1931.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marcia Thayer papers
Dancer, choreographer and educator who worked in Iowa, Massachussetts, Oregon and New York.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Roberta Till-Retz papers
Research and educational materials of activist and labor educator Roberta Till-Retz.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mildred Van Wyngarden papers
Rural school teacher who taught near Monroe, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Martha Wahl papers
Mathematician and teacher who patented educational toys for teaching mathematics to children.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Myrle Olive Ward papers
Native of Hamburg, Iowa and missionary to the West Indies and the Belgian Congo from 1925 until 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helen Lee Hensleigh Wenger papers
University of Iowa graduate and teacher whose papers include correspondence and scrapbook files relating to her work on a variety of social issues including gun control.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lucy Van Voorhis White papers
Schoolteacher and farm wife of Dallas County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia Peterson Wiese papers
English as a Second Language teacher in West Liberty, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
