Sewell E. Allen Papers
Attorney and Iowa state legislator. Subject files and correspondence concerning his business, family and political career. The bulk of the papers consists of correspondence dealing with business conditions during the 1920s and WWII, politics, and family life.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
William B. Allison Papers
U.S. Senator and Representative from Iowa. Primarily correspondence from his years in the House and Senate. Spanning a half century the topics range from Indian affairs to Oklahoma statehood, banking to the Panama Canal, and Republican Party politics to railroads.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Robert K. Beck Papers
Newspaper publisher in Centerville, Iowa . Correspondence, clippings, speeches, subject files, etc., relating to newspaper publishing, Republican politics, and the Rathbun Dam.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Frederick Elliott Biermann Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, and campaign material relating to his years in the Congress.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Gerald Bogan Papers
Public affairs consultant. Subject files and correspondence relating to his activities inIowa politics, elections, and the Republican Party. Topics include annual legislative sessions, reapportionment, Iowans for Right to Work, and Iowa Good Roads Association.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Campaign to Add Women to the Iowa Constitution records
Organization formed to work for passage of Iowa state ERA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ed Hoyt Campbell Papers
Iowa state senator and U.S. Representative from Iowa . Office files, correspondence, speeches, and campaign material.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Steven V. Carter Papers
Attorney and U.S. Representative from Iowa . Subject files relating to his year in Congress and his earlier political and legal career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
George Clarke Papers
Lawyer, state legislator, and Governor of Iowa . Subject files, campaign files, correspondence, and clippings relating primarily to his 1914 bid for re-election.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Democratic Activist Women's Network, District 1 records
Organization created to recruit, educate, and elect Democratic women to public office in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lester Jesse Dickinson Papers
U.S. Representative and Senator from Iowa. Speeches, scrapbooks, correspondence, clippings, and campaign material all related to his political career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Minnette Doderer papers
State legislator from Iowa City who was first elected to the Iowa House of Representatives in 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
James I. Dolliver Papers
Attorney, U.S. Representative from Iowa, and Regional Legal Council for the International Cooperation Administration of the Middle East. Correspondence, speeches, and subject files relating to his career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Lolly Eggers papers
Papers related to the social activism and career of librarian Lolly Eggers.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Earl Elijah Papers
State senator, farmer, and bank president. Primarily speeches about agriculture, with newspaper clippings, campaign literature, and correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Lew Frank Papers
Speech writer for Henry A. Wallace. Primarily relates to his work for Wallace's presidential campaign on the Progressive Party ticket in 1948. With speeches Frank wrote for Wallace there are clippings, correspondence, campaign schedules, and Progressive Party news releases and pamphlets.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Katy Gammack papers
Multi-client lobbyist, co-publisher of "Money and Politics Iowa," and an advocate for women's rights.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Harry Freeland Garrett Papers
Iowa Supreme Court Justice and Iowa state legislator. Subject files relating to his career in law and politics. Includes correspondence, legal cases, law school reunions, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
W. H. Goodrich Papers
Republican party official. Subject files relating to Republican politics in Iowa and the nation, especially the 1976 election.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Josephine Gruhn papers
Britt, Iowa-born member of the Iowa House of Representatives and vice-chair of the Committee on Agriculture during the farm crisis of the 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Johnie Hammond papers
Democratic representative and senator in the Iowa legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Beverly A. Hannon papers
Two-term Iowa state senator. Hannon chaired the Human Resources Committee and was instrumental in founding the Iowa Women's Foundation in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kathryn W. Hansen
Photographer, Peace Corps volunteer, and United Nations Association leader and member.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia Harper papers
Iowa State Representative and Senator who served in the legislature from 1987 to 2002.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Philip Hill Papers
Iowa state legislator. Correspondence and subject files relating to his legislative career. Topics range from abortion to the courts and from child care to the Republican Party.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Harold E. Hughes Gubernatorial Papers
Governor and U.S. Senator from Iowa. Gubernatorial and senatorial office files relating to his political career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Iowa ERA Coalition records
Organization to promote passage of an Equal Rights Amendment to the Iowa and United States constitutions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women Against the Equal Rights Amendment records
Grassroots organization opposed to Iowa's ratification of the ERA to the Iowa and United States constitutions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women's Equality Campaign records
The organization formed in 1992 to work for passage of the state ERA in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ben F. Jensen Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, subject files, legislative records, and speeches relating to his career in the Congress.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Johnson County ERA Coalition records
Organized in Iowa City to promote the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment to the constitution of the state of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lester L. Kluever Papers
Iowa state representative and attorney. Correspondence, political files relating to elections and campaigns, and subject folders with topics ranging from apportionment to liquor laws document his legislative service.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Nelson G. Kraschel Papers
Governor and Lieutenant Governor of Iowa. Papers relating to his political career and terms in office. Subject files include campaign materials, correspondence, speeches, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Kim Landhuis papers
Native of Vietnam who became a teacher, school board member, and 1994 candidate for the Iowa senate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sonja Larsen papers
Republican representative in the Iowa legislature who ran for mayor of Ottumwa in 1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Karl LeCompte Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, and scrapbooks relating to his political career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Joan Lipsky papers
Iowa legislator and community acitvisit from Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean Lloyd-Jones papers
State legislator from Iowa City and president of the Iowa Peace Institute.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Anna Cochrane Lomas papers
Republican National Committeewoman in the 1950s and 1960s from Red Oak, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Herschel C. Loveless Papers
Governor of Iowa. Most of the papers relate to the 1960 gubernatorial race with correspondence, campaign materials, and speeches. There are also scrapbooks and office files.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Hugh C. MacDougall Collection of Progressive Party Papers
MacDougall was a collector of materials from the Henry A. Wallace's presidential campaign on the Progressive Party ticket. Includes broadsides, correspondence, and speeches, as well as Progressive Party statements, meetings, and brochures.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Connie McBurney
Journalist and 1996 congressional candidate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edward A. McDermott Papers
Lawyer, co-chairman of Iowans for Kennedy (1960), and director of the Office of Emergency Planning, 1962-1965. Reports, speeches, press releases, subject files, and correspondence relating to his career in government service during the 1960s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Margaret McDonald papers
Active in Republican Party and vice-chairman of the Iowa Republican Central Committee in 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edward J. McManus Papers
Iowa state senator, lieutenant governor of Iowa, Democratic candidate for governor of Iowa, delegate to Democratic National Convention, and U.S. District Court Judge for Northern District of Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, telegrams, campaign material, press releases, photographs, newspaper clippings, tape recordings, phonograph recordings, and scrapbooks.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Magdalen Meade papers
Iowa farm woman and political organizer who was active in Roxanne Conlin's gubernatorial campaign in 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth R. Miller papers
Farm woman and Republican state legislator from Marshalltown, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Opal Miller papers
Democrat, educator and clubwoman who served in the Iowa House of Representatives in the 1970s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mona Kadel Martin papers
Mona Martin (1934- ) served in the Iowa House of Representatives from Scott County from 1993-2001.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jake More Papers
Lawyer and State Chair of Iowa's Democratic State Central Committee. Speeches, correspondence, press releases, voter lists, financial reports, etc. all relating to More's involvement in Iowa's Democratic Party organization.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
National Organization for Women, Ames Chapter records
Includes ERA campaign material.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
David T. Nelson Papers
English professor and Republican Party official in Iowa. Correspondence and subject files relating to Republican party politics in Winneshiek County, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Mary C. Neuhauser papers
Democrat who served four terms in the Iowa House and one four-year term in the Senate (1986-1998).
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joyce Nielsen papers
Feminist, legislator and community activist who worked in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Denise O'Brien papers
Organic farmer and political activist who served as president of National Family Farm Coalition.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Jane Odell papers
Television journalist and politician who served as Iowa Secretary of State from 1980 to 1986.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joann Orr papers
State senator from 1972 to 1980 from Grinnell, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Charles Pickett Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa and attorney. Subject files relating to his Congressional career. Includes campaign materials, and files on conservation, tariffs, pensions, and other subjects.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Progressive Party Records
Correspondence, speeches, reports, business records, articles, campaign materials, fact sheets, form letters, directives, telegrams, pamphlets, press releases, clippings, and other related material concerning the party and the national election of 1948.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Max Rafferty Papers
Educator, author, and columnist. Speeches, newspaper columns, and articles about education. Also includes sound recordings, video tapes, and filmstrips.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Christian William Ramseyer Papers
Attorney, Congressman, and U.S. Court of Claims commissioner from Iowa. Correspondence, clippings, court records and opinions, and speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City records
The Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City (RRCIC) formed in January 1989 in response to Operation Rescue's attempt to shut down a local abortion clinic.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth Miller Richards papers
Politician and women's rights activist from Red Oak, Iowa,who ran for Iowa state representative in 1966.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Thomas John Bright Robinson Papers
President of the Citizens National Bank of Hampton, Iowa, U.S. Representative, real estate and investment business. Correspondence, bank record book, and campaign materials documenting his career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Joyce Schulte papers
Democratic candidate for Iowa's fifth congressional district in 2004 and 2006.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Fred Schwengel Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa to 84th-88th and 90th-92nd Congresses. Legislative and congressional papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Janet Shipton papers
Political activist and Johnson County, Iowa, supervisor who was the daughter of British Prime Minister Clement Attlee.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Vera Shivvers papers
Iowa farm woman who was elected to fill her husband's term in the Iowa Senate following his death in 1962.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Louise Smith papers
First woman to chair the Republican National Committee, serving from 1974 to 1977. Co-founder of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lonabelle Kaplan Spencer papers
American Association of University Women member and advocate for women's issues including dual listings for married women in Iowa telephone directories.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Katherine Stroud papers
Leader of the 1949 campaign to reform Des Moines city government and adopt the city manager plan.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elaine Szymoniak papers
Iowa State senator, Des Moines City Council member, and hearing and speech consultant.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Maggie Tinsman papers
Bettendorf Republican who served on the Scott County Board of Supervisors and the Iowa State Senate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Janis Torrence-Laughlin papers
Muscatine County Supervisor from 1976 to 1982 and Representative in the Iowa Legislature from 1983 to 1985.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
George Weber Papers
Businessman and Iowa state senator. Subject files, correspondence, campaign material, legislation, and speeches documenting his legislative career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Glenn E. Whitehead Papers
State legislator and Perry, Iowa, newspaper publisher. Correspondence, poetry, diary, subject files, etc. relating to both his private and professional life. Includes items ranging from campaign advertising to his WWI supply officer's manual.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Leonard G. Wolf Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa and Agency for International Development official. Correspondence, bills and resolutions, newsletters and press releases all related to his one term in Congress.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Jo Ann Zimmerman papers
Elected to the Iowa House of Representatives in 1982 and in 1986, she became the first woman Lieutenant Governor of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
