Lot Abraham Papers
Correspondence, Civil War diaries, military records, business papers, family papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Harrison Allspaugh Diaries Collection
Diaries of the Civil War experiences of a member of the 31st Regiment of Ohio Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Delvena Anderson papers
Diary of a trip from Iowa City through eastern Canada.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
William O. Aydelotte Papers
University of Iowa professor of history, 1947-1996. One of the first historians elected to the National Academy of Sciences.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Lenora Backes diaries
Diaries of an Iowa farm woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Batchelder Family Papers
Papers of Reverend Joseph Mayo Batchelder and his wife. Included are about 50 letters, written in the 1840s and 1850s mostly from Peoria, Illinois and Owego, New York; an account book dated from 1848-1884; and a diary dated from 1847-1848. Manuscript sermons, and other items.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Newell W. Bixby Papers
Minister of the Free Will Baptist Church in Lodomillo Township, Clayton County , Iowa. Private journals and church records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Elmer Bockes Diaries
Farmer. Diaries describing farm life near Conrad, in Grundy Co.,Iowa .
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Estella Boot Papers
Professor of English, 1917-1949. Travel diaries.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Sarah Braunwarth papers
Medical school notebooks and clinical records of a physician who practiced in Muscatine, Iowa, in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Shirley A. Briggs papers
Artist, editor, and naturalist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cheryl Britton papers
Career nurse and avid traveler who grew up in Dedham, Iowa and Des Moines.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Martha Jean Nicholson Browneller papers
Mahaska County, Iowa, farm woman who was active in 4-H and rural organizations. She recorded her daily activities in her diaries between 1935 and 1973.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
California Civil War Diary
Diary of an unknown soldier in Company C, 4th Infantry C.V., who was assigned to a detail guarding a wagon train carrying specie to the East.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Homer Calkin Papers
Historian, archivist, and author. Correspondence files; diaries; memorabilia; scrapbooks dealing with his early life, education, career in the State Department, and work for the Methodist Church.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Samuel Calvin Papers
University of Iowa professor of geology, and first head of that department. Instructor in paleontology, zoology, botany. Geologist for state of Iowa. Photographer of the Iowa City area.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Anna Moore Cheney diaries
Diarist, mother, and minister's wife.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Philip Greeley Clapp Papers
Professor of music, University of Iowa, from 1919 until his death in 1953. Composer and symphony conductor. Compositions, correspondence, and scrapbooks containing newspaper articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Cook Family Papers
Diaries of Edward E. Cook, journals and ledgers of the law firm of Cook & Dodge of Davenport, Iowa, and other business and legal papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Ruth M. Roland Cowden diary
Transcription of the 1921 diary of a journey by car from Des Moines, Iowa, to Los Angeles, California.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Crawford and Eastwood Families Papers
Correspondence, photographs, clippings, and genealogical records of these families, including materials relating to operating a farm near Prescott, Kansas; letters home from a worker on the Chautauqua circuit; and letters home from a professor of music.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Denton Chester Crowl Papers
Lecturer-portrayalist, salesman and editorial writer for the Toledo Blade, Denton Crowl performed on the Chautauqua circuits and in other venues. This collection includes correspondence, appointment diaries, photographs, and manuscripts, mostly relating to his lecture and political activities.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Marcellus Warner Darling Papers
Civil War soldier, Congregational minister, and father of Jay Norwood Darling. Consists primarily of letters, a diary, and memoirs of his service in Company K, 154th New York Volunteer Infantry during the Civil War.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Minnie Ducommun papers
Diary and obituary of a rural Iowa housewife.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Johnston Elson papers
Iowa teacher from Jefferson County who taught in rural schools for forty-four years and was active in the Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Esther Everett papers
Home economics professor raised on a farm in Lacey, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Charlotte Faxon diary
Teacher who traveled widely during the Civil War period.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Eugene A. Gilmore Papers
Twelfth president of the University of Iowa, 1934-1940.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Frances Graham papers
Amateur historian and clubwoman from Fayette County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Arlene Gardner Hall papers
Rural Mt. Ayr, Iowa woman who worked in local homes as a washerwoman and housekeeper.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lorraine Hansen papers
Diaries of a homemaker and bakery owner from Manson, Iowa
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Harding Family Papers
Diaries, genealogical records, account and ledger books, correspondence, and reminiscences of three generations. Includes descriptions of Iowa City and the surrounding area in the 19th century.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Georgia Peeso Haygarth papers
Includes diaries of Georgia Peeso Haygarth of Spencer, Iowa and of her father, Melvin Moses Peeso, who was a logger in California.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bertha Hedges papers
A talented seamstress and milliner, Bertha Gotter Hedges was born in Greene County, Iowa, in 1887.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Hedy Hustedde papers
Homemaker and librarian who lived abroad in Berlin for four years during the 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gwendolyn Johnson Hein papers
Farmwoman, basketball player on Newhall High School girls state championship team in 1927.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Catharine King Herr diary
Farm wife who kept a diary from 1945 until her death in 1978.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edna Hidlebaugh papers
Prominent Bayard, Iowa clubwoman who helped found the local library.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Willow Hill papers
Diaries describe growing up in rural Iowa in the 1960s and the period from1992 to 2001.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ida Bandfield Holden papers
Schoolteacher in the Waterloo area at the turn of the century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gladys Homan papers
Extensive correspondence of Corning, Iowa farm wife and club woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary C. Hooper papers
Diary chronicling Hooper's daily life in Princeton, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Author's Manuscripts Collection
Includes manuscripts, galley proofs, page proofs, dust jackets, and other miscellany associated with publications of many Iowa Authors.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Charles Wood Irish Papers
Civil engineer and surveyor. Diaries, surveyor notebooks, letterpress books, correspondence, postcards, terrain profiles, photographs, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Jane Elliott papers
Riceville, Iowa schoolteacher and anti-racism activist who pioneered diversity sensitivity training with her famous "Blue Eyed, Brown Eyed" exercise
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Langland Johnson papers
Nurse who served in the Army Nurse Corps during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Virginia Jones papers
Community activitst and writer Virginia Shrauger Jones grew up in Atlantic Iowa and served as a Captain in the U. S. Marine Corps during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alice Kelley papers
University of Iowa graduate who worked as a secretary. The papers mainly consist of the diaries she kept from 1926-2002.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean Kern papers
Professor of English and an independent scholar who taught in the Middle East and Eastern Europe as well as in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Keyes Family papers
Mount Vernon, Iowa, family whose papers include photographs, account books, correspondence and civil war diaries.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Nile C. Kinnick Papers
Student leader, scholar, and athlete from Iowa. Correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, speeches, photographs, articles, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Judy Klemesrud papers
Nationally recognized journalist whose reporting included coverage of the women's movement.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Maria Margaretha Kromminga papers
Diaries of a Monticello, Iowa, native who lived on her parents' farm and never married, raising her son alone.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lois Laughlin papers
Papers of an activist from West Branch, Iowa, include correspondence and newspaper clippings relating to her husband's status as a conscientious objector.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Carrie Lindahl papers
Rural Linn County banker who worked outside of the home from 1910s to 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
John M. Lindly Papers
Pharmacist and banker from Winfield, Iowa. Diaries, scrapbook, and subject files documenting Lindly's career and family. Also includes historical materials relating to Winfield, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Mae Irene Ludemann papers
High school history teacher who traveled to Europe in 1929 and recorded her experiences in a diary.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Thomas H. Macbride Papers
Tenth president of the University of Iowa, 1914-1916.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Kate Martinson papers
Journals chronicle the life of an Iowa farm woman including her marriage, childrearing, family farm management, divorce, and remarriage.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ellen Hanson Mason papers
Diaries chronicle Ellen Hanson Mason's life on the family farm in rural northeast Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Emlin McClain Papers
Lawyer, judge, and professor. Personal and business correspondence, diaries, and speeches on painting. Most of the material dates before 1880, while McClain was a law student at the University of Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
McCown Family Papers
Multigenerational family papers of the former head of the University of Iowa Libraries Special Collections Department.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
James W. McDill Papers
U.S. Representative and Senator from Iowa, member of the Interstate Commerce Commission, and judge. Diaries, memoirs, correspondence, speeches, and other material relating to his life and career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Helena Jongewaard McDonald papers
Teacher who attended Iowa State College in 1914.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Sears McHenry papers
Diary and account book of the bride of a Civil War officer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Magdalen Meade papers
Iowa farm woman and political organizer who was active in Roxanne Conlin's gubernatorial campaign in 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edna Means papers
Characterist and dramatic reader, and chatauqua performer from Tama, Iowa organized her own talent agency.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Robert Metzler "Colombo" Diaries
Writer and producer Robert Metzler was hired in March 1975 to work on the NBC television series Colombo starring Peter Falk. He continued on the show into 1977, making near daily diary entries that record behind-the-scenes activity in great detail.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Marianne Michael papers
Served with her husband as missionaries for the Church of the Brethren in Garkida, Nigeria from 1948 to 1961.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marion Miller Papers
State University of Iowa student, 1939-1943. Journals.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Dorothy Misbach papers
Educator whose lifelong career of working with partially seeing and blind students began in 1938 at the Perkins School for the Blind in Massachussetts.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Paul Mitchell papers
An edited copy of Frances Mitchell's diary entries chronicling her journey from Seattle, Washington to Tokyo, Japan in 1948.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruby Crumley Mitchell diaries
Daily diaries of this Rhodes, Iowa, native.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Morrell Meat Packing Company Collection Papers
Business and personal correspondence, account books, statements, and other records, relating to the meat packing company particularly in Liverpool, England, and Ottumwa, Iowa; and papers, including some of Thomas Dove Foster.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Lois Baker Muehl papers
University of Iowa rhetoric professor who published children's books and taught English as a second language at refugee camps in Thailand, Korea, and China.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Martha Nash papers
Civil rights activist, community and religious leader, she was executive director of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Education and Vocational Training in Waterloo.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Off and Holsteen Family papers
Two generations of an eastern Iowa family, many generations of which attended the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Paisley Family Diaries Collection
Diaries of John and Chloe Paisley. John served in the 10th Ohio Volunteer Cavalry in the Civil War, and later lived in Burlington, Iowa. Also includes diaries kept by Mabel Paisley and Susan Swan Lippitt.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Palmer/Calkins/Corbin Papers
Letters, diaries, genealogies, papers, and videocassette dealing with the Civil War, the Mormon move west, and World War II.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Jesse Antrim Perkins papers
Rural elementary school teacher and farm wife whose papers consist of three partial journals.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Thelma Petersen papers
Diaries of homemaker from Kirkman, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Pierce-Stuart Family papers
Diaries of Mary Pierce describe family life in Harlan, Iowa from 1927 to 1947; Mary Clark's memoir reflects on medical challenges in the early 1900s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cora Belle Pollock papers
Elementary school teacher from Rolfe, Iowa who later worked as a lab technician in Fort Dodge, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Prentiss Family papers
The family came to Iowa City in 1905 when Henry Prentiss established the Anatomy Department at the State University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Byington Reed papers
The diaries of an Iowa City woman who supported herself as a seamstress prior to her marriage in 1896.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Reese Family Papers
Business documents, correspondence and travel ephemera of the Reese Family from Turin, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Frances Reger-Wilkinson papers
Social worker who worked for the American National Red Cross during and after World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mae Atkinson Robinson papers
Correspondence and diaries of an Iowa farm woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Robinson-Lacy Family papers
Correspondence diaries, scrapbook, and genealogical information regarding this Dubuque-area family.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lillian Ronk papers
West Central Iowa farmwoman known locally as 'the flower lady.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Rouse papers
Journalist who worked for the Office of Public Information at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marie Rumble papers
A homesteader who lived in Wyoming, Colorado and Washington State.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Almira Safely Rutledge papers
Early, Iowa, wife and mother.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Janette Ryan-Busch papers
Organic farmer and activist from Johnson County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helene Scriabine papers
Author and Professor Emeritus of Russian at the University of Iowa, who emmigrated to the United States after surviving the siege of Leningrad in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
George Marion Shearer Civil War Diaries
Diaries of a soldier in Company E, 17th Iowa Infantry, who was captured and imprisoned in Sumter Prison, 1864-65.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Raymond F. Sheets Papers
Professor in Internal Medicine who specialized in hematology and oncology. Diary.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Shelton Family Papers
Diaries of Mary E. Shelton and Rhode Maenad Shelton describing their nursing experience with Annie Wittenmeyer during the Civil War and at the Hospital for the Insane in Mount Pleasant, Iowa; also the Civil War diary of Orteus Carnefix Shelton, lieutenant of the 45th Regiment of Iowa Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Mary McDermott Shideler papers
Theologian, writer and lecturer whose work encompassed religious theology, philosophy and psychology.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Janet Shipton papers
Political activist and Johnson County, Iowa, supervisor who was the daughter of British Prime Minister Clement Attlee.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Vera Shivvers papers
Iowa farm woman who was elected to fill her husband's term in the Iowa Senate following his death in 1962.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Shloss and Mannheimer Families papers
Prominent Des Moines families including Irma Mannheimer, her husband Rabbi Eugene Mannheimer of Temple B'nai Jeshurun, and her parents, Rose and Max Shloss—the owners of Lederer and Strauss and Company.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jennie Sies papers
Diary of a young Oxford, Iowa farm woman who died on October 3, 1880.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Clara Steen Skott papers
Free-lance writer, home economics teacher, and civic leader who wrote articles and diaries concerning life in Iowa, China, and Wisconsin.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marcella Henley Smith papers
Memoir, Confetti, of her life in Albia, Iowa, correspondence, and journals of books read since 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Corwin R. Snow Papers
Iowa Farmer. Mostly diaries describing farm life in Benton Co., Iowa, particularly on Snow's Evergreen Farm near Keystone.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Sokol Shuttleworth Family Papers
Correspondence and business records of family from Osceola County, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Bernadine Solberg papers
Engineering clerk, weaver, photographer, and traveler from Boone, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gladys Spayde papers
Stage actress who spent her childhood in Saskatchewan and was a teacher in Fairfield, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
John Loomis Stevens Papers
Lawyer and politician of Boone, Iowa. Correspondence relating primarily to Steven's political activities, particularly in 1912.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Judith Sutcliffe papers
Tile artist and printer who formed Greentree Enterprises in Audubon, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alma Erickson Swanson papers
Swedish farm woman whose three children became academics during the 1930s and 1940s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Swope and DeLand Families papers
Family papers and subject files concerning women artists, women writers, and peace activism in Northwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Robert B. Tabor Papers
Iowa artist. Diaries and sketchbooks, correspondence and biographical material documenting his career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Carrie V. Talcott papers
Active clubwoman, Methodist, writer and farmer from Fayette County who spent 19 years in a retirement home in Fort Dodge.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Fatherson Taylor papers
Reminiscences and essays by Taylor and the transcript of a 1915 memoir written by Editha Phillips Fatherson.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Florence Vallejo Terronez papers
The family came to Horton, Kansas, from Mexico in 1910 and moved to West Des Moines in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Vina Thorpe papers
Des Moines newspaper columnist and editor who ran Thorpe Publications with her husband.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Magdalena "Helen" Tylee papers
A German war bride who came to Iowa in 1922. During World War II she ran the family farm while her husband was serving in the armed forces.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sewell Van Alstine Papers
Civil War diary of a member of the 95th Illinois infantry regiment.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Van Zante and De Cook Families papers
Late 19th century diary of adolescent Dutch-American farm girl and 1932 farm diary of her daughter-in-law.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Henry Wallace Papers
First editor of Wallaces' Farmer. Arranged in broad subject categories and then in chronological order. Available on microfilm for use in repository, for interlibrary loan, and for purchase.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Henry A. Wallace Papers
Editor of Wallaces' Farmer 1921-1933; Secretary of Agriculture, 1933-1940; Vice-President of the United States, 1941-1945; Secretary of Commerce, 1945-1946. Includes audio visual materials; clippings; an extensive collection of correspondence, including photocopies of the microfilm edition of the originals in the Library of Congress, Manuscript Division; government documents; personal papers; photographs; research materials, with an emphasis on agriculture, particularly corn, but including livestock, weather, strawberries, chickens, and gladioli; writings, and speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Myrle Olive Ward papers
Native of Hamburg, Iowa and missionary to the West Indies and the Belgian Congo from 1925 until 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
R. Weston Diaries
Railroad mechanic. Two diaries containing details about his daily work in the shops of the C.B.&Q. and C.D.&M. railroads, community news and gossip in Dubuque, Iowa, and personal matters.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Elizabeth Wherry papers
Farm magazine writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lucy Van Voorhis White papers
Schoolteacher and farm wife of Dallas County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Floy Eugenia Whitehead papers
Nutrition scholar and chair of the University of Iowa's Home Economics Department for sixteen years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Elizabeth Wood papers
Social worker and the first African American woman in the United States to be named executive director of a greater metropolitan YWCA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Janie Yates-Glandorf papers
Iowa City high school drama and English teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jerry Yocum papers
Transcript of the diary of Beulah Marie Lucas of Pocahontas, Iowa compiled by her son Jerry Yocum in 1997.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Christie York papers
University of Iowa graduate and laboratory assistant who was active in student government and served as a steward in AFSCME Local 12.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Katherine Mull Falvey Zastrow papers
State representative from 1958 to 1964 and the first woman elected to Charles City Council, 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mildred "Micki" Zeller papers
Costume designer and avid traveler whose papers include an extensive collection of slides, related travel diaries, and materials pertaining to the Iran Hostage Crisis.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bernice Zimmer papers
Diaries of an Iowa woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lola Moeller Zook papers
Newspaper editor whose papers relate to her career as a journalist and the years she spent in occupied Japan following World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth Clarkson Zwart Papers
Columnist for the Des Moines Tribune, the Des Moines Register, and Better Homes and Gardens.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
