Benita Allen papers
Russian immigrant recalls her childhood in Russia , World War I and the 1917 revolution.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
American Business Women's Association records
Iowa City chapter.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Bluford Anderson papers
Professor Emeritus of Social Work at the University of Northern Iowa, author, and Black Hawk County Supervisor.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Artists in Action (Muscatine, Iowa) records
Muscatine organization of area artists who opened a shop and organized an annual craft fair, classes, and craft demonstrations.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edith Reed Atkinson papers
Singer and radio-script editor from Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Atkinson performed in a song-and-dance act with her brothers Wallace and Cecil Reed from 1935 to 1944.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Virginia Becker papers
Scrapbooks of Bremer County, Iowa, Farm Bureau woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean Berry papers
Des Moines-based artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Vern Berry papers
Newspaper columnist who co-authored a book entitled, ?Roots and Recipes: Six Generations of Heartland Cookery.?
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Black Hawk County Women's Political Caucus records
Organized in 1973, members supported a number of feminist initiatives including economic equalty and the ERA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Debra Blake papers
Journalist who edited the University of Northern Iowa newspaper the Northern Iowan, and worked for professional radio and television stations.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Nancy De Vries Blom papers
Dutch immigrant who came to the United States in 1915 as a young child and lived on a farm in northwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joan Blundall papers
Social worker who developed support services for rural families during the 1980s farm crisis in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lena Belle Bock papers
Member of the Iowa House of Representatives from 1960 to 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Molly Bolin papers
Professional basketball player from Moravia, Iowa who played for Iowa Cornets from 1978 to 1981 and for San Francisco and Columbus Ohio teams until 1984.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lois Boulware papers
Physician in the University of Iowa Student Health Department, who established the Patient Advocacy Program at University Hospitals after marrying and having a child.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Brine, Pelton and Thompson V. The University of Iowa records
Materials relate to the suit filed by 3 dental hygiene faculty members charging that the scheduled closing of the University of Iowa Dental Hygiene Program was discriminatory.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Suzanne Bunkers papers
This English professor's academic publications include work on women's history and diaries, and her own diaries reflect both her professional development and her personal life.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Campaign to Add Women to the Iowa Constitution records
Organization formed to work for passage of Iowa state ERA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Carpenter papers
Republican who served in Iowa House of Representatives from 1980 to 1994.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
La Casa Latina (Sioux City, Iowa)
Non-profit organization that helped recent Latino immigrants and non-English speakers in the Siouxland area obtain human services, healthcare, housing, and other basic needs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cedar Investors (Cedar County, Iowa) records
A women's investment club organized to invest the assets of the partnership solely in stocks, bonds, and securities, for the education and benefit of the partners.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kathleen Halloran Chapman papers
Attorney and Democrat who served in the Iowa House of Representatives from 1983 to 1992 and again in 1996.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kittredge Cherry and Audrey Lockwood
Life partners Kittredge Cherry (1957- ), an author, journalist, and minister to the LGBT community, and Audrey Lockwood (1957- ), a financial planner, met as students at the University of Iowa in 1975 and lived and worked in Japan before settling in California.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cleona Township Women's Club (Scott County, Iowa) records
Scott County, Iowa, Farm Bureau women's club.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Common Lives/Lesbian Lives records
An Iowa-City based lesbian literary journal published all forms of creative expression written by self-defined lesbians.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Charlene Conklin papers
Member of the Iowa House of Representatives,1967 to 1969, and the Iowa Senate, 1969 to 1973.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Roxanne Barton Conlin papers
Attorney and political activist who co-founded the Iowa Women's Political Caucus and was appointed Federal Prosecutor in 1977.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cecile Cooper papers
Civil rights worker in Davenport.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marguerite Cothorn papers
Social worker and political activist, who served on the Iowa Civil Rights Commission from 1983 to 1984.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Democratic Activist Women's Network, District 1 records
Organization created to recruit, educate, and elect Democratic women to public office in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
The Des Moines BirthPlace records
The first licensed birth center in Iowa, specializing in nurse-midwifery.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Pearl Unmack Dix papers
Harrison County, Iowa-born schoolteacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Vergene Donovan papers
Spencer, Iowa, resident active in the Iowa Federation of Republican women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lois H. Eichacker papers
Fort Madison civic leader and former president of the University of Iowa Alumni Association Board.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Embroiderers' Guild of America, Plum Grove Chapter, records
The guild taught needlework skills and participated in shows.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Emma Goldman Clinic (Iowa City, Iowa) records
Feminist health clinic.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edna Englert papers
Iowa City native who was the organist at St. Wenceslaus Church for sixty-five years, retiring at the age of 81.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
ERA Iowa 1992 records
Grassroots campaign initiated in Des Moines, Iowa, in 1991 to promote the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment to the Iowa constitution in the 1992 election.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alpha Evans papers
Rural middle school teacher who chaired the Iowa committee to revise teacher standards in the 1970s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Grace Ferns papers
Memoir and oral history transcript of a rural Iowa school teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Beverly Barnes Fix Papers
Television and radio broadcaster, producer and writer who worked in Iowa and Hollywood in the 1940s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sue Follon papers
Educational administrator and Executive Director of the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Four Cs of Johnson County records
Records of the local Community Coordinated Child Care.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Four Seasons Garden Club Records
This collection contains meeting minutes, annual reports, and scrapbooks of club activities.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Katy Gammack papers
Multi-client lobbyist, co-publisher of "Money and Politics Iowa," and an advocate for women's rights.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Gantz papers
Three student research papers on mid-19th century medical education at the University of Iowa written by Mary Gantz.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Philip L. Gerber papers
State University of New York College at Brockport professor who edited the homesteading letters of Elizabeth Corey.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marie Giddings papers
Detailed account of farm and rural community life as Marie Giddings knew it growing up in Kossuth County during the early 20th century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Madge Girard papers
Reflections on Girard's early life homesteading in South Dakota.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Karen Goodenow papers
Elementary and high school teacher who has served on local and state boards of education.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Josephine Gruhn papers
Britt, Iowa-born member of the Iowa House of Representatives and vice-chair of the Committee on Agriculture during the farm crisis of the 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Johnie Hammond papers
Democratic representative and senator in the Iowa legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia Harper papers
Iowa State Representative and Senator who served in the legislature from 1987 to 2002.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Connie Heckert papers
Author and English instructor at St. Ambrose University, Davenport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helen Lemme Reading Club records
African American reading club formed in 1984 by University of Iowa graduate students.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Phylliss Henry papers
First woman assigned to patrol duty on the Des Moines police force, serving from 1972 to 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Her Own Story: Ten Benton County Women
Project of the Vinton, Iowa, American Association of University Women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia Herring papers
Feminist, social worker, and advocate for persons with HIV/AIDS.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cynthia Hickok portfolio
Textile artist, teacher, and volunteer from Sac City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean Huffey papers
Substitute schoolteacher; active in PFLAG.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Imogene Hub newsletter
Humorous newsletter written and edited by Veronica Keasling following the lives of the residents of Imogene, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa City Women's Press records
Iowa City publisher and printer of lesbian and feminist books that existed from 1973 to 1985.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault records
IowaCASA's services included securing funding for Iowa's sexual assault centers, resource development, public education initiatives on child sexual abuse, anti-pornography work, and self-defense training. After 1997 IowaCasa expanded to include work on public policy.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Commission on the Status of Women records
The records include publications, legislative correspondence and the Write Women Back into History essays of middle and high school students in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Cornets records
Professional women's basketball team that played in the Women's Basketball League from 1978-1980.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa ERA Coalition records
Organization to promote passage of an Equal Rights Amendment to the Iowa and United States constitutions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Peace Links records
Newsletters of pacifist group Peace Links, based in the Northwest Iowa towns of Paullina and Primghar.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Woman Endeavors Inc. records
Literary magazine founded in 1979 to promote the artistic works and opinions of women in the Midwest.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women Against the Equal Rights Amendment records
Grassroots organization opposed to Iowa's ratification of the ERA to the Iowa and United States constitutions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women in Educational Leadership records
An organization to promote the upward mobility of women in educational management.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women in Natural Resources records
Iowa chapter of the national organization.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women's Equality Campaign records
The organization formed in 1992 to work for passage of the state ERA in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women's Hall of Fame records
Established by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women in 1975 to recognize the contributions of Iowa women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women's Political Caucus records
Organization to promote the advancement of women in politics.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean Jew Justice Committee records
and artifact. The committee organized in 1990 to support Jean Jew in her sexual harrassment lawsuit against the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Johnson County ERA Coalition records
Organized in Iowa City to promote the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment to the constitution of the state of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Ashton Johnson papers
Physical education teacher whose papers include records of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women and of the Association for Girls and Women in Sport.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Leah A. Jones papers
Chicago native and graduate of the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kathy Kilbourn papers
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alice Kipp papers
The papers include Kipp's reminiscence of her childhood on an Iowa farm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helen Knievel papers
Librarian from rural Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sonja Larsen papers
Republican representative in the Iowa legislature who ran for mayor of Ottumwa in 1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mildred H. Lavin papers
Professor in instructional design and outreach education at the University of Iowa's College of Education.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
League of Women Voters of Sioux City records
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lemme Family papers
Traces the family history of Helen Lemme, a civil rights activist who was named Iowa City's first Woman of the Year in 1955.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Myrtilla F. Levin papers
Active in the Republican Party, mayor of Newton, Iowa, and executive director of Iowa Business Council.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joy Smith Lewallen memoir
This is My Story, This is My Song, unpublished memoir.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lowell Club (Boone, Iowa) records
Study club founded in 1887.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Anita Lowry papers
University of Iowa Librarian who was the first head of the Information Arcade at the University of Iowa Libraries, 1992-1996.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mahaska County Farm Bureau Women's Committee records
The committee splintered from the extension service in 1955 and became the largest political and corporate organization representing farmer interests in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marian Rees Associates
Film production company founded and directed by University of Iowa Sociology alumna Marian Rees.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Francoise Martinet papers
Ballerina and professor of dance at the University of Iowa from 1978-1997.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Maria Cano Martinez papers
Maria Cano came to Iowa from Guanajuato, Mexico, with her parents in 1928. She established a Spanish language interpreter program at the University of Iowa Hospitals in 1975.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Midwest Federation of Chaparral Poets (Iowa Chapter) records
The Iowa Chapter of Chaparral Poets met twice yearly (fall and spring); they studied poetry, conducted a poetry contest and wrote poetry for submission to Midwest Chaparral magazine. The organization was formed in 1942 and disbanded in 2001.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Midwest Women's Studies Association records
Regional branch of the National Women's Studies Association.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth R. Miller papers
Farm woman and Republican state legislator from Marshalltown, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cherry Muhanji papers
Writer, lesbian activist, and University of Iowa alumna.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marilyn Murphy papers
Social activist from Sioux City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Virginia Myers papers
Artist, University of Iowa professor, and inventor of the Iowa Foil Press.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
National Association of Women in Construction, Cedar Rapids-Iowa City Chapter records
The local chapter gives scholarships to students interested in construction careers, sponsors an annual golf outing and provides social networking opportunities for women who work in construction.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
National League of American Pen Women, Quad Cities Branch records
The National League of American Pen Women, Quad Cities Branch was established in 1976 to serve as an outlet for area women writers to communicate. The group organized scholarship competitions for high school student writers.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
National Organization for Women, Ames Chapter records
Includes ERA campaign material.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
National Organization for Women, Des Moines Chapter records
Feminist activist organization records.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
National Organization for Women, Dubuque Chapter records
The group was formed in 1973. The purpose of the group was to improve and expand the role of women in society and it supported the Equal Rights Amendment, safe and legal abortion among other issues.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
National Organization for Women, Iowa records
Feminist activist organization records.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
National Organization for Women, Johnson County-Iowa City Chapter records
Feminist activist organization records.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Linda Kinney Neuman papers
Served for over twenty years in the Iowa judiciary and was the first woman to be appointed to the Iowa Supreme Court.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
New World Collective scrapbook
A Des Moines collective which existed between 1972 and 1980. Members lived communally and participated in a variety of progressive actions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Susan J. Norman papers
Iowa City activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
O'Brien County Farm Bureau Women records
Organization to promote the interests of farmwomen.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Omega Township Women's Club (O'Brien County) records
Farm Bureau women's club.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Oral Histories of Iowa Policewomen
15 interviews and associated materials document the entry of women into Iowa's law enforcement agencies.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Percival Needlecrafters scrapbooks
Percival, Iowa club that made quilts to raise money for the community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
T. F. Poduska papers
Painter.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Polk County Women Attorneys records
Association to promote the professional growth of women in the law.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Polk County Women's Political Caucus records
County branch of a national organization to support candidates who promote women's rights and women's participation in the political process.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jo Rabenold papers
Iowa City activist who collected lesbian and feminist publications during the 1970s and 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Rape Victim Advocacy Program (RVAP) records
Sexual abuse response and advocacy center established in in Iowa City in 1973 to serve located the University of Iowa community and surrounding counties.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marian Rees papers
Emmy Award-winning television producer and owner of Marian Rees Associates, Inc.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City records
The Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City (RRCIC) formed in January 1989 in response to Operation Rescue's attempt to shut down a local abortion clinic.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Rogers papers
Dorothy Rogers worked for the volunteer program of the Patient Advocacy Program at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics from the beginning of the program in 1973 until her retirement in 1986.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jane Christoffer Rubel papers
High school bascketball player who sued the Iowa Girl's High School Athletic Union to be allowed to play on the school team after
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Henrietta Ruff papers
Amana, Iowa, school teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Janette Ryan-Busch papers
Organic farmer and activist from Johnson County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Scharnau papers
Teacher and community activist who was a founding member of the Dubuque National Organization for Women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helen Shediwy Scheetz memoir
The youngest daughter of immigrants reflects on growing up in Iowa towns during the Depression.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Hazelle Keir Schmuecker papers
Autobiographical essays and family history of six generations by rural schoolteacher, homemaker, and artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lucille Schwilck papers
1939 graduate from the State University of Iowa College of Law who worked for the U. S. Department of the Interior between 1943 and 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jacqueline Scott papers
Elementary schoolteacher in Keokuk, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Aaron Silander papers
Iowa City feminist and activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Louise Smith papers
First woman to chair the Republican National Committee, serving from 1974 to 1977. Co-founder of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sally Stiles papers
Poet and president of the Artists in Action group in Muscatine, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elaine Szymoniak papers
Iowa State senator, Des Moines City Council member, and hearing and speech consultant.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Roberta Till-Retz papers
Research and educational materials of activist and labor educator Roberta Till-Retz.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Maggie Tinsman papers
Bettendorf Republican who served on the Scott County Board of Supervisors and the Iowa State Senate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Janis Torrence-Laughlin papers
Muscatine County Supervisor from 1976 to 1982 and Representative in the Iowa Legislature from 1983 to 1985.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
United Sisters of Black Hawk County records
Iowa affiliate of Networking Together, Inc., an organization for women of color.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
University of Iowa Celebration of Excellence and Achievment Among Women records
Annual gathering begun in 1982. BY 2007 seven awards were given each year.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
University of Iowa Council on the Status of Women records
Women seeking solutions to problems of sexual harassment, violence, homophobia, and childcare at the University.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mabel Korver Van Haaften memoir
Dutch-American farmwoman in early nineteenth century Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jeanne Van Kley papers
Farmer's wife from Ocheydan, Iowa who raised four children.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Anabeth Koob Voigts papers
Materials relate to the efforts of Voigts to obtain the release of her sister, Kathryn Koob, who was held hostage in Iran between 1979 and 1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jane Alison Weiss papers
Assistant Professor of Sociology at the University of Iowa, 1978-1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia Peterson Wiese papers
English as a Second Language teacher in West Liberty, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Women Against Racism Committee (Iowa City, Iowa) records
Multiethnic group founded in 1981 by women from the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Women Aware, Inc. (Sioux City, Iowa) records
Women Aware, Inc. is a non-profit organization located in Sioux City, Iowa, which was started in 1979. Its primary focus is on displaced homemakers and single parent homemakers, providing advocacy, education, information, counseling, referral and support.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Women of the Wartburg Theological Seminary collection.
Lutheran Seminary in Dubuque which began admitting women in 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Young Women's Resource Center (Des Moines, Iowa) records
This local organization's goal was to, educate, and empower young women in the Greater Des Moines area through counsleing and other programs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
