Angelica Lynn Rose Atalig oral history
Oral history, 1999. The narrator describes growing up in a bilingual, biracial family in Garner, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Nellie Bishop oral history
Buchanan County, Iowa, native who farmed with her husband.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Talcott Boedecker papers
Teacher with Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1941-1963; vocational counselor and tourism advocate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Betty Boller oral history
Des Moines wife and mother who worked as a secretary during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lois Boulware papers
Physician in the University of Iowa Student Health Department, who established the Patient Advocacy Program at University Hospitals after marrying and having a child.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Rosalie Braverman papers
Braverman recalls her childhood in Youthful Journeys in Poland and Germany. An oral history interview, conducted in 1996, concerns student family life, the Jewish community in Iowa City, and anti-Semitism.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Clark papers
Methodist Episcopal deaconess who later worked with the Mahaska County Historical Society to found the Nelson Pioneer Farm in Oskaloosa, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Hager Cousin papers
Trained as a nurse between 1917 and 1920, and worked as a school nurse in Iowa Falls and Marshalltown, Iowa from 1931 to 1965.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sheila Creth papers
Librarian who directed the University of Iowa Libraries from 1987 to 1999 and published extensively in the field of library and information science.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Aldeen Davis papers
Muscatine, Iowa, newspaper columnist active in arts, civic, educational, and religious organizations.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Laura F. Hutchison Davis papers
Social worker in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, from the 1930s though the 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Esther Sietmann Warner Dendel papers
Author and artist from Laurel, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Eve Drewelowe papers
Artist who attended the State University of Iowa and in 1924 became the first person to receive a masters degree in Painting and Art History.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
LeAnn Erickson papers
Filmmaker whose documentary From One Place to Another: Emma Goldman Clinic Stories explores the history of the Emma Goldman Clinic.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Beverly Everett papers
Family farmer, volunteer, and community activist who served on U.S. National Commission for UNESCO and the International Women's Year Commission.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Grace Ferns papers
Memoir and oral history transcript of a rural Iowa school teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ines Garcia papers
Mexican American whose family migrated to the U.S., and eventually to Iowa, in the early twentieth century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia Geadelmann papers
Feminist and physical educator who was a strong proponent of the ERA and Title IX.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth Anna Gernes papers
Educator and Red Cross worker.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Giving Voice to their Memories: Oral Histories of African American Women in Iowa
Oral history project of the Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy S. Grant papers
Unitarian Universalist and Head Start teacher, and spokesperson for victims of spousal abuse.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edna Griffin papers
Civil rights activist, later known as the Rosa Parks of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helen Gunderson papers
Papers include photographs of 1995 suffrage parade and Iowa ERA rallies.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dora Jane Hamblin papers
Iowa native who wrote for the Cedar Rapids Gazette, LIFE magazine, and other periodicals.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kathryn W. Hansen
Photographer, Peace Corps volunteer, and United Nations Association leader and member.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Frances Hawthorne papers
Des Moines educator whose materials include You Can't Go Back to Buxton and African Americans in Iowa: a Chronicle of Contributions, 1830-1992.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sister Gwen Hennessey papers
Franciscan nun sentanced to six months in federal prison for trespassing at Fort Benning, Georgia.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Phylliss Henry papers
First woman assigned to patrol duty on the Des Moines police force, serving from 1972 to 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Her Own Story: Ten Benton County Women
Project of the Vinton, Iowa, American Association of University Women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edna Herbst papers
Videotaped interview with Herbst about the history of television broadcasting in Iowa, 1998.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Carol Hodne papers
Iowa farm activist who served as the first executive director of the North American Farm Alliance during the farm crisis of the 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women Artists Oral History Project
Oral histories and transcripts. Collection of 77 oral histories of Iowa women artists conducted by Jane Robinette in 1998-1999.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women Judges Project papers
Oral history interviews with the 'pioneers' of Iowa's women jurists.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jane Elliott papers
Riceville, Iowa schoolteacher and anti-racism activist who pioneered diversity sensitivity training with her famous "Blue Eyed, Brown Eyed" exercise
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Keyes papers
Professor of Home Economics at the University of Iowa and nationally recognized leader in the field of historic preservation.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) Council 10 (Davenport, Iowa) records
The members of Davenport LULAC Council 10 engaged in a wide range of social and political activities including annual fiestas, civil rights and fair housing.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Catherine Lewis papers
Interviews and field reports prepared by Lewis for the Smithsonian Institution's Festival of American Folklore.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dora E. Mackay papers
African American singer and beauty shop owner in Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Francoise Martinet papers
Ballerina and professor of dance at the University of Iowa from 1978-1997.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
A. Louise Mays papers
Social worker and University of Iowa professor.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dale McCormick papers
Carpenter and activist for women in non-traditional jobs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
McCown Family Papers
Multigenerational family papers of the former head of the University of Iowa Libraries Special Collections Department.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
McGill Family papers
The collection consists mainly of correspondence and includes the papers of early twentieth century labor activist, IWW member, and Buffalo school teacher, Pearl McGill.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bettie McKenzie papers
Community activist from Red Oak, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Magdalen Meade papers
Iowa farm woman and political organizer who was active in Roxanne Conlin's gubernatorial campaign in 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Frank Miller Papers
Editorial cartoonist for the Des Moines Register. 100 original drawings, cartoons with over-lays and color processes, engraving printing plates, correspondence, photos and other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
E. Virginia Mowry papers
Newton, Iowa teacher who later worked as an adminstrative assistant to James Cash Penney of J. C. Penney Company.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mujeres Latinas Oral History Project
Oral histories with Latino women and family members conducted by the staff of the Iowa Women's Archives through its Mujeres Latinas project.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
National Abortion Rights Action League of Iowa records
Local chapter of the national association.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ortha P. Neff papers
Red Cross staff member who was stationed in Okinawa and Hawaii during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary C. Neuhauser papers
Democrat who served four terms in the Iowa House and one four-year term in the Senate (1986-1998).
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Linda Kinney Neuman papers
Served for over twenty years in the Iowa judiciary and was the first woman to be appointed to the Iowa Supreme Court.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Louise Rosenfield Noun papers
Feminist and civil liberties activist from Des Moines, Iowa, who was also an art collector, author, and co-founder of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Oral Histories of Iowa Policewomen
15 interviews and associated materials document the entry of women into Iowa's law enforcement agencies.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joann Orr papers
State senator from 1972 to 1980 from Grinnell, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
A Political Dialogue: Iowa's Women Legislators oral histories
Interviews with Iowa women legislators conducted by Suzanne O'Dea Schenken.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth Miller Richards papers
Politician and women's rights activist from Red Oak, Iowa,who ran for Iowa state representative in 1966.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gladys Talcott Rife papers
Mt.Vernon, Iowa high school teacher who later owned and directed The Depot Museum in Fayette County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
William A. Rohlf Papers
Manuscript of Dr. Rohlf's Good Morning, Doctor!, and related materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Abbie Romey papers
Actress, homemaker, and 1928 graduate of the State University of Iowa in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Maria Rundquist papers
Sioux City business owner and political activist who emigrated to the United States from Mexico in 1978.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Shirley M. Sandage papers
Mason City, Iowa-born civil rights activist, United States field representative for the Christian Children's Fund and director of program development for the National Organization on Disability.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lori Schieffer papers
Includes information on the sale of Girl Scout cookies in Muscatine, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helene Scriabine papers
Author and Professor Emeritus of Russian at the University of Iowa, who emmigrated to the United States after surviving the siege of Leningrad in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jessie Field Shambaugh papers
Shenandoah, Iowa teacher who became school superintendent for Page County, Iowa. She played a central role in the development of activities for rural youth and is referred to as the 'Mother of 4-H.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Louise Smith papers
First woman to chair the Republican National Committee, serving from 1974 to 1977. Co-founder of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Geneva Southall papers
Professor Emeritus of Afro-American Studies and Music at the University of Minnesota; University of Iowa alumna.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Arthur W. Spivey Papers
Audio tape memoirs of Chautauqua and a manuscript relating to the work week of a Chautauqua crewman and crew chief.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Mary Terronez papers
Davenport area community activist and leader in its Mexican American community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Esther Thornhill papers
Ida Grove, Iowa mother and homemaker who worked at a hatchery and at a hamburger shop before marrying.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bertha Korn Tucker papers
Writer and life-long student who was active in the Sisterhood (Jewish aid society) at the Beth El Jacob Synagogue in Des Moines and Hadassah, a national organization aiding disadvantaged Jews, primarily children.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
James A. Van Allen Papers
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Marjorie Vandervelde papers
Photojournalist and writer who lived with Cuna Indians on the San Blas Islands to learn their culture and traditions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Voices from the Land: An Oral History Project in Iowa
Oral histories with Iowa farm women conducted as part of the Rural Women's Project of the Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Anabeth Koob Voigts papers
Materials relate to the efforts of Voigts to obtain the release of her sister, Kathryn Koob, who was held hostage in Iran between 1979 and 1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Esther J. Walls papers
Mason City, Iowa native and librarian who was the first African-American female student at University of Iowa elected to Phi Beta Kappa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
War Brides of World War II
1995 honors thesis of University of Iowa undergraduate student, Rachel Casteel.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joann Weldon papers
A resident of Davenport from 1962, Weldon publicly acknowledged her lesbian identity during the early 1950s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Maude Esther White papers
Founder of the Des Moines Tutoring Center, and Iowa's first Affirmative Action administrator from 1973 to 1978.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Catherine Gayle Williams papers
Professional dancer and deputy commissioner of the Iowa Department of Social Services.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Verda Williams papers
Communication specialist at Iowa State University who produced the documentary Black Des Moines: Voices Seldom Heard.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Women's History Project (Diocese of Sioux City, Iowa) interviews
Interviews with members of the St. Joseph Catholic Church in Sioux City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Women's Resource and Action Center records
Women's center established in 1970 to serve the university and community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Elizabeth Wood papers
Social worker and the first African American woman in the United States to be named executive director of a greater metropolitan YWCA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Linda Yanney papers
Iowa City feminist and champion of LGBT rights.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mildred "Micki" Zeller papers
Costume designer and avid traveler whose papers include an extensive collection of slides, related travel diaries, and materials pertaining to the Iran Hostage Crisis.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jo Ann Zimmerman papers
Elected to the Iowa House of Representatives in 1982 and in 1986, she became the first woman Lieutenant Governor of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
