Angelica Lynn Rose Atalig oral history
Oral history, 1999. The narrator describes growing up in a bilingual, biracial family in Garner, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Evelyn Crary Bacon papers
Teacher, decorated veteran nurse and pioneer in the field of nursing education, Bacon served as a captain in the U.S. Army Nurse Corps during World War II and participated in the invasion of Normandy.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Evelyn Birkby Collection of Radio Homemaker Materials
Cookbooks, newsletters, and other publications of the Radio Homemakers who broadcast over KMA and KFNF in southwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Robert Blees Papers
Motion picture and television script-writer and producer. Film treatments and screenplays written by Blees and other screenwriters, miscellaneous, memos and articles, film stills, photostats, phonographic recordings from soundtracks.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Robert Donald Blue Papers
Governor of Iowa . Correspondence, subject files, photographs, scrapbooks, etc. relating to his political career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Margaret Talcott Boedecker papers
Teacher with Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1941-1963; vocational counselor and tourism advocate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Molly Bolin papers
Professional basketball player from Moravia, Iowa who played for Iowa Cornets from 1978 to 1981 and for San Francisco and Columbus Ohio teams until 1984.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Betty Boller oral history
Des Moines wife and mother who worked as a secretary during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lois Boulware papers
Physician in the University of Iowa Student Health Department, who established the Patient Advocacy Program at University Hospitals after marrying and having a child.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Shirley A. Briggs papers
Artist, editor, and naturalist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Brine, Pelton and Thompson V. The University of Iowa records
Materials relate to the suit filed by 3 dental hygiene faculty members charging that the scheduled closing of the University of Iowa Dental Hygiene Program was discriminatory.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Brubaker papers
Des Moines television reporter and producer. The papers include materials about Brubaker's grandmother who worked for the Des Moines Police Department in the 1920s and 1930s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Suzanne Bunkers papers
This English professor's academic publications include work on women's history and diaries, and her own diaries reflect both her professional development and her personal life.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Tess Catalano papers
Human rights activist, singer and song writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cedar Rapids Symphony Orchestra Papers
Correspondence, account books, reports, lists, attendance registers, minutes, rosters of officers, publicity material, programs, and financial records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Kittredge Cherry and Audrey Lockwood
Life partners Kittredge Cherry (1957- ), an author, journalist, and minister to the LGBT community, and Audrey Lockwood (1957- ), a financial planner, met as students at the University of Iowa in 1975 and lived and worked in Japan before settling in California.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Christisen Railroad Collection
Records for the Milwaukee Road, Amtrak, and the B&O railroads, with some materials from the Elgin, Joliet and Eastern (EJ&E), the Central Railroad of New Jersey (CNJ), the Nickel Plate Railroad (NKP), and Acheson, Topeka and Santa Fe (AT&SF) lines from the 1880s to the early 1990s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Church Women United (Johnson County, Iowa) records
Johnson County, Iowa chapter of Church Women United.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Philip Greeley Clapp Papers
Professor of music, University of Iowa, from 1919 until his death in 1953. Composer and symphony conductor. Compositions, correspondence, and scrapbooks containing newspaper articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Betty Jean Clark papers
Iowa legislator from 1976 to 1990.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Clark papers
Methodist Episcopal deaconess who later worked with the Mahaska County Historical Society to found the Nelson Pioneer Farm in Oskaloosa, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Albert J. Cohen Papers
American motion picture and television script writer and producer. Program scripts, department materials, memos, clippings, notes, correspondence, production budgets, and miscellaneous photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Margaret Davis Collison papers
Member of the Iowa Board of Regents who was also active in Roxanne Conlin's gubernatorial campaign of 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Roxanne Barton Conlin papers
Attorney and political activist who co-founded the Iowa Women's Political Caucus and was appointed Federal Prosecutor in 1977.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
John Culver Papers
U.S. Congressman and Senator from Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Aldeen Davis papers
Muscatine, Iowa, newspaper columnist active in arts, civic, educational, and religious organizations.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Esther Sietmann Warner Dendel papers
Author and artist from Laurel, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Des Moines Women's Club records
Civic and philanthropic organization.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dieman-Bennett Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) records
Cedar Rapids dance studio founded in 1951 by Edna Dieman and Julia Bennett.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Patricia Donahue papers
Nurse educator and scholar.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Eve Drewelowe papers
Artist who attended the State University of Iowa and in 1924 became the first person to receive a masters degree in Painting and Art History.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lolly Eggers papers
Papers related to the social activism and career of librarian Lolly Eggers.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Polly Ely papers
Peace and civil rights activist who was a longtime member of Peoples Church Unitarian Universalist in Cedar Rapids.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Paul Engle Papers
Poet (numerous books from Worn Earth, 1932), editor of the O. Henry Prize Stories, 1954-1959, director of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, 1941-1967, and co-founder and director of the International Writers' Program, 1967-1976 at the University of Iowa. Literary manuscripts, correspondence, subject files, and student works documenting his career as a writer and teacher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Beverly Everett papers
Family farmer, volunteer, and community activist who served on U.S. National Commission for UNESCO and the International Women's Year Commission.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marian Farquhar papers
Missionary to the Sudan who spent her childhood in Page County, Iowa, and worked in Africa from the 1940s to 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sue Follon papers
Educational administrator and Executive Director of the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia Geadelmann papers
Feminist and physical educator who was a strong proponent of the ERA and Title IX.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth Anna Gernes papers
Educator and Red Cross worker.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Giving Voice to their Memories: Oral Histories of African American Women in Iowa
Oral history project of the Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Trula Godwin papers
Davenport, Iowa, policewoman from 1973-1998.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Louise Goldman papers
Public servant, feminist activist, and poet from Davenport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Governor Ray's Commission on the Status of Women (Iowa) records
The Commission addressed issues such as the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), abortion reform, daycare, equal pay for equal work, and sex discrimination in employment, insurance, and education. At the end of 1970, the GCSW reported two major legislative accomplishments: the passage of no-fault divorce laws and the addition of sex to the Iowa Civil Rights Act of 1965.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Frances Graham papers
Amateur historian and clubwoman from Fayette County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Christine Grant papers
Sports administrator, professor, and gender equity activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy S. Grant papers
Unitarian Universalist and Head Start teacher, and spokesperson for victims of spousal abuse.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Archie L. Greene papers
Writer and volunteer who earned a doctorate in English from the University of Iowa while living with spinocerebellar degeneration.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edna Griffin papers
Civil rights activist, later known as the Rosa Parks of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Hamilton papers
Teacher and world traveler who served in the New Hampshire legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Beverly A. Hannon papers
Two-term Iowa state senator. Hannon chaired the Human Resources Committee and was instrumental in founding the Iowa Women's Foundation in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kathryn W. Hansen
Photographer, Peace Corps volunteer, and United Nations Association leader and member.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lileah Harris papers
Professional volunteer active in several arts, civic, educational, and religious organizations in Cedar Rapids.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Frances Hawthorne papers
Des Moines educator whose materials include You Can't Go Back to Buxton and African Americans in Iowa: a Chronicle of Contributions, 1830-1992.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia Hillard papers
Papers document Hillard's work as Western U.S. Division Director of La Leche League International.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Carol Hodne papers
Iowa farm activist who served as the first executive director of the North American Farm Alliance during the farm crisis of the 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Leo A. Hoegh Papers
Governor and state representative from Iowa, federal official. Papers comprised primarily of speeches relating to civil defense; there are also correspondence files, clippings, and photographs regarding his governorship.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Gladys Homan papers
Extensive correspondence of Corning, Iowa farm wife and club woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Author's Manuscripts Collection
Includes manuscripts, galley proofs, page proofs, dust jackets, and other miscellany associated with publications of many Iowa Authors.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Iowa ERA Coalition records
Organization to promote passage of an Equal Rights Amendment to the Iowa and United States constitutions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa League for Nursing records
The Iowa League for Nursing's efforts have included active participation in community planning and action for health care, advocating changes such as home health care. The organization made efforts to assure the continuing supply of nurses by providing them with the educational opportunities to reach their maximum career potential, ability to move into management and leadership positions, and promoting a greater public appreciation of nursing as a profession.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Nurses Association records
State branch of the national organization. The overall purpose of the association has been to promote and improve the professional skills and status of nurses.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Woman Endeavors Inc. records
Literary magazine founded in 1979 to promote the artistic works and opinions of women in the Midwest.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women Against the Equal Rights Amendment records
Grassroots organization opposed to Iowa's ratification of the ERA to the Iowa and United States constitutions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women Artists Oral History Project
Oral histories and transcripts. Collection of 77 oral histories of Iowa women artists conducted by Jane Robinette in 1998-1999.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women's Political Caucus records
Organization to promote the advancement of women in politics.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jane Elliott papers
Riceville, Iowa schoolteacher and anti-racism activist who pioneered diversity sensitivity training with her famous "Blue Eyed, Brown Eyed" exercise
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Johnson papers
Farm woman, teacher, and recipient of the Master Farm Homemaker award in 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Ashton Johnson papers
Physical education teacher whose papers include records of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women and of the Association for Girls and Women in Sport.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Keyes papers
Professor of Home Economics at the University of Iowa and nationally recognized leader in the field of historic preservation.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Nile C. Kinnick Papers
Student leader, scholar, and athlete from Iowa. Correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, speeches, photographs, articles, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Sonja Larsen papers
Republican representative in the Iowa legislature who ran for mayor of Ottumwa in 1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lois Laughlin papers
Papers of an activist from West Branch, Iowa, include correspondence and newspaper clippings relating to her husband's status as a conscientious objector.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kathleen Wood Laurila papers
Iowa activist involved in the peace movement as well energy conservation and environmental protection coalitions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mildred H. Lavin papers
Professor in instructional design and outreach education at the University of Iowa's College of Education.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
League of Women Voters of Iowa records
State-level branch of the national non-partisan League of Women Voters which seeks to promote political responsibility through educating and informing the public on selected governmental issues and promoting action on those issues.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
League of Women Voters of Johnson County records
Local branch of the national non-partisan League of Women Voters which seeks to promote political responsibility through educating and informing the public on selected governmental issues and promoting action on those issues.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
League of Women Voters of Metropolitan Des Moines records
This non-partisan group studied and acted upon the many local issues including the following: the council-manager form of city government, home rule for local and county government, reapportionment of legislative districts of the Iowa General Assembly, desegregation and integration of Des Moines public schools, and the need for affordable housing in the community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
League of Women Voters of Muscatine records
During the 1980s and 1990s, the LWV of Muscatine conducted a number of studies on Muscatine county issues, including the ambulance 911 system, law enforcement, county courthouse space needs, alternative forms of county government, housing, education, land use, hazardous waste, local option tax, the U.S. Highway 61 Bypass, and the Muscatine fire station.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Catherine Lewis papers
Interviews and field reports prepared by Lewis for the Smithsonian Institution's Festival of American Folklore.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Billie D. Lloyd papers
Social worker, community activist, and civic administrator who founded the Quad Cities Conference on Black Families, Inc.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marjorie Elizabeth Lyford papers
Public health and visiting nurse who later taught at the University of Iowa College of Nursing.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Pauline Lyon papers
Waterloo, Iowa, native who served in WAVES during World War II and later worked for the American Red Cross.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dora E. Mackay papers
African American singer and beauty shop owner in Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Francoise Martinet papers
Ballerina and professor of dance at the University of Iowa from 1978-1997.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dale McCormick papers
Carpenter and activist for women in non-traditional jobs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
McCown Family Papers
Multigenerational family papers of the former head of the University of Iowa Libraries Special Collections Department.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
McGill Family papers
The collection consists mainly of correspondence and includes the papers of early twentieth century labor activist, IWW member, and Buffalo school teacher, Pearl McGill.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bettie McKenzie papers
Community activist from Red Oak, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Magdalen Meade papers
Iowa farm woman and political organizer who was active in Roxanne Conlin's gubernatorial campaign in 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Estera Milman Contemporary Art Collection
Primarily ATCA administrative files containing a vast amount of information on the sources of the ATCA collections and detailed records regarding grants won by and exhibitiions curated by ATCA staff prior to 2000.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Mona Kadel Martin papers
Mona Martin (1934- ) served in the Iowa House of Representatives from Scott County from 1993-2001.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mujeres Latinas Oral History Project
Oral histories with Latino women and family members conducted by the staff of the Iowa Women's Archives through its Mujeres Latinas project.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
National Organization for Women, Dubuque Chapter records
The group was formed in 1973. The purpose of the group was to improve and expand the role of women in society and it supported the Equal Rights Amendment, safe and legal abortion among other issues.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary C. Neuhauser papers
Democrat who served four terms in the Iowa House and one four-year term in the Senate (1986-1998).
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Linda Kinney Neuman papers
Served for over twenty years in the Iowa judiciary and was the first woman to be appointed to the Iowa Supreme Court.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Oral Histories of Iowa Policewomen
15 interviews and associated materials document the entry of women into Iowa's law enforcement agencies.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Louise Petersen Papers
Member and president of Iowa State Board of Regents.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean Cutler Prior papers
Geologist who worked with the Iowa Geological Survey in Iowa City for 38 years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Quota Club (Sioux City, Iowa) records
Professional women's service club formed before 1935, which is active in community and world service, with special emphasis on hearing and speech aid.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Max Rafferty Papers
Educator, author, and columnist. Speeches, newspaper columns, and articles about education. Also includes sound recordings, video tapes, and filmstrips.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Rape Victim Advocacy Program (RVAP) records
Sexual abuse response and advocacy center established in in Iowa City in 1973 to serve located the University of Iowa community and surrounding counties.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Shirley Rich papers
Casting director who worked for Rodgers and Hammerstein; founded Shirley Rich Casting in 1969.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth Miller Richards papers
Politician and women's rights activist from Red Oak, Iowa,who ran for Iowa state representative in 1966.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gladys Talcott Rife papers
Mt.Vernon, Iowa high school teacher who later owned and directed The Depot Museum in Fayette County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Abbie Romey papers
Actress, homemaker, and 1928 graduate of the State University of Iowa in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Arthur A. Ross Papers
Motion picture and television script writer. Slides, watercolor paintings, scripts, screenplays, short stories and novels by Ross; photographs, three recordings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Janette Ryan-Busch papers
Organic farmer and activist from Johnson County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Shirley M. Sandage papers
Mason City, Iowa-born civil rights activist, United States field representative for the Christian Children's Fund and director of program development for the National Organization on Disability.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lori Schieffer papers
Includes information on the sale of Girl Scout cookies in Muscatine, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helene Scriabine papers
Author and Professor Emeritus of Russian at the University of Iowa, who emmigrated to the United States after surviving the siege of Leningrad in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary McDermott Shideler papers
Theologian, writer and lecturer whose work encompassed religious theology, philosophy and psychology.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Louise Smith papers
First woman to chair the Republican National Committee, serving from 1974 to 1977. Co-founder of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Geneva Southall papers
Professor Emeritus of Afro-American Studies and Music at the University of Minnesota; University of Iowa alumna.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lonabelle Kaplan Spencer papers
American Association of University Women member and advocate for women's issues including dual listings for married women in Iowa telephone directories.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Del Stelck collection of Guy M. Gillette Papers
Research for a biography that was never published, this collection consists of papers from Gillette as well as Stelck's research materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Edythe Stirlen papers
One of the first ordained female ministers in the Midwest whose sermons were broadcast on radio stations KFNF and KMA for over sixty years in Shenandoah, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Florence Vallejo Terronez papers
The family came to Horton, Kansas, from Mexico in 1910 and moved to West Des Moines in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Terronez papers
Davenport area community activist and leader in its Mexican American community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Esther Thornhill papers
Ida Grove, Iowa mother and homemaker who worked at a hatchery and at a hamburger shop before marrying.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Roberta Till-Retz papers
Research and educational materials of activist and labor educator Roberta Till-Retz.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bertha Korn Tucker papers
Writer and life-long student who was active in the Sisterhood (Jewish aid society) at the Beth El Jacob Synagogue in Des Moines and Hadassah, a national organization aiding disadvantaged Jews, primarily children.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
University of Iowa Dental Hygiene Program records
Started in 1949 and was one of the earliest such programs in the United States.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
James A. Van Allen Papers
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Warren Van Dine Papers
Consists of audio recordings, biographical information, correspondence, and materials relating to Mr. Van Dine's editorial positions with Much Ado and Upward. Also included in this collection are several manuscripts and typescripts of poems, essays, and short stories as well as Mr. Van Dine's memories of his time spent as an undergraduate at the State University of Iowa in the 1920s. Photographs, speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Marjorie Vandervelde papers
Photojournalist and writer who lived with Cuna Indians on the San Blas Islands to learn their culture and traditions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Voices from the Land: An Oral History Project in Iowa
Oral histories with Iowa farm women conducted as part of the Rural Women's Project of the Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
War Brides of World War II
1995 honors thesis of University of Iowa undergraduate student, Rachel Casteel.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joann Weldon papers
A resident of Davenport from 1962, Weldon publicly acknowledged her lesbian identity during the early 1950s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Catherine Gayle Williams papers
Professional dancer and deputy commissioner of the Iowa Department of Social Services.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Verda Williams papers
Communication specialist at Iowa State University who produced the documentary Black Des Moines: Voices Seldom Heard.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Women's History Project (Diocese of Sioux City, Iowa) interviews
Interviews with members of the St. Joseph Catholic Church in Sioux City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Women's Resource and Action Center records
Women's center established in 1970 to serve the university and community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Elizabeth Wood papers
Social worker and the first African American woman in the United States to be named executive director of a greater metropolitan YWCA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Linda Yanney papers
Iowa City feminist and champion of LGBT rights.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mildred "Micki" Zeller papers
Costume designer and avid traveler whose papers include an extensive collection of slides, related travel diaries, and materials pertaining to the Iran Hostage Crisis.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jo Ann Zimmerman papers
Elected to the Iowa House of Representatives in 1982 and in 1986, she became the first woman Lieutenant Governor of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
