Margaret Anderson papers
Subject files, correspondence and clippings relating to women's rights.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Salzmann Becker papers
Nurse and community activist in Iowa City who, as a young Jewish woman, fled Nazi Germany in 1939 and emigrated to the United States.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Virginia Becker papers
Scrapbooks of Bremer County, Iowa, Farm Bureau woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lena Belle Bock papers
Member of the Iowa House of Representatives from 1960 to 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jeanne Bridenstine papers
First woman elected chairperson of the Jasper County Democratic Central Committee in 1972.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Betty M. Burger papers
Congressional caseworker from 1967 until 2007.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Campaign to Add Women to the Iowa Constitution records
Organization formed to work for passage of Iowa state ERA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bonnie J. Campbell papers
Chair of Iowa's Democratic Party from 1987 to 1991 and first woman to serve as Iowa's Attorney General from 1990 until 1994.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Carpenter papers
Republican who served in Iowa House of Representatives from 1980 to 1994.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lucille Ketchum Carter papers
1936 graduate of the School of Nursing at the State University of Iowa who was active in Democratic politics and whose correspondence includes round robin letters.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kathleen Halloran Chapman papers
Attorney and Democrat who served in the Iowa House of Representatives from 1983 to 1992 and again in 1996.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Clinton County Women's Political Caucus records
Local branch of the Iowa Women's Political Caucus.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gertrude Cohen papers
Member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1965-1966, and the first Jewish woman elected to the Iowa Legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Davis Collison papers
Member of the Iowa Board of Regents who was also active in Roxanne Conlin's gubernatorial campaign of 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Roxanne Barton Conlin papers
Attorney and political activist who co-founded the Iowa Women's Political Caucus and was appointed Federal Prosecutor in 1977.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jennifer Riggs Cosson papers
A known suffragist who was active in community and political circles in Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Democratic Activist Women's Network, District 1 records
Organization created to recruit, educate, and elect Democratic women to public office in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Minnette Doderer papers
State legislator from Iowa City who was first elected to the Iowa House of Representatives in 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joan Vander Naald Egenes papers
Des Moines-born clubwoman, community leader, businesswoman, and Republican Party activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Barbara Fassbinder papers
Rural nurse who contracted AIDS on the job and became a national spokeswoman for occupational safety.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Fuller papers
The first female pilot in Appanoose County and active in the local Democratic Party.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Katy Gammack papers
Multi-client lobbyist, co-publisher of "Money and Politics Iowa," and an advocate for women's rights.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia Geadelmann papers
Feminist and physical educator who was a strong proponent of the ERA and Title IX.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Louise Goldman papers
Public servant, feminist activist, and poet from Davenport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Governor Ray's Commission on the Status of Women (Iowa) records
The Commission addressed issues such as the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), abortion reform, daycare, equal pay for equal work, and sex discrimination in employment, insurance, and education. At the end of 1970, the GCSW reported two major legislative accomplishments: the passage of no-fault divorce laws and the addition of sex to the Iowa Civil Rights Act of 1965.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Christine Grant papers
Sports administrator, professor, and gender equity activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Grefe papers
Educator, social activist, politician and businesswoman who was inducted into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 1980.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edna Griffin papers
Civil rights activist, later known as the Rosa Parks of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Josephine Gruhn papers
Britt, Iowa-born member of the Iowa House of Representatives and vice-chair of the Committee on Agriculture during the farm crisis of the 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Hamilton papers
Teacher and world traveler who served in the New Hampshire legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Johnie Hammond papers
Democratic representative and senator in the Iowa legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Beverly A. Hannon papers
Two-term Iowa state senator. Hannon chaired the Human Resources Committee and was instrumental in founding the Iowa Women's Foundation in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia Harper papers
Iowa State Representative and Senator who served in the legislature from 1987 to 2002.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Emma Harvat papers
First woman mayor of Iowa City, serving from 1922 to 1925.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Ankeny Hunter memoir
Secretary, vice-president, and then president of the Iowa Suffrage Memorial Commission in the 1920s and 1930s. Hunter was a peace activist, prohibitionist, and Red Cross worker during World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa ERA Coalition records
Organization to promote passage of an Equal Rights Amendment to the Iowa and United States constitutions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Suffrage Memorial Commission records
Commemorated the efforts of pioneer suffragists and the enfranchisement of women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women Against the Equal Rights Amendment records
Grassroots organization opposed to Iowa's ratification of the ERA to the Iowa and United States constitutions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women's Equality Campaign records
The organization formed in 1992 to work for passage of the state ERA in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women's Political Caucus records
Organization to promote the advancement of women in politics.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jill Jack papers
Iowa City political activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Pam Jochum papers
A paper delivered by Jochum on a panel titled "Women and Political Discourse" at the Conflict and Civility in Political Discourse symposium in 2011.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Johnson County ERA Coalition records
Organized in Iowa City to promote the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment to the constitution of the state of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alberta Metcalf Kelly papers
High school English teacher who was active in state and national Democratic Party politics during the 1950s and 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Candace Packard Lambie papers
Officer in local and state chapters of the League of Women Voters and Daughters of the American Revolution.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kim Landhuis papers
Native of Vietnam who became a teacher, school board member, and 1994 candidate for the Iowa senate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sonja Larsen papers
Republican representative in the Iowa legislature who ran for mayor of Ottumwa in 1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
League of Women Voters of Iowa records
State-level branch of the national non-partisan League of Women Voters which seeks to promote political responsibility through educating and informing the public on selected governmental issues and promoting action on those issues.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
League of Women Voters of Johnson County records
Local branch of the national non-partisan League of Women Voters which seeks to promote political responsibility through educating and informing the public on selected governmental issues and promoting action on those issues.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
League of Women Voters of Metropolitan Des Moines records
This non-partisan group studied and acted upon the many local issues including the following: the council-manager form of city government, home rule for local and county government, reapportionment of legislative districts of the Iowa General Assembly, desegregation and integration of Des Moines public schools, and the need for affordable housing in the community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
League of Women Voters of Muscatine records
During the 1980s and 1990s, the LWV of Muscatine conducted a number of studies on Muscatine county issues, including the ambulance 911 system, law enforcement, county courthouse space needs, alternative forms of county government, housing, education, land use, hazardous waste, local option tax, the U.S. Highway 61 Bypass, and the Muscatine fire station.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
League of Women Voters of Sioux City records
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
League of Women Voters of Mount Vernon-Lisbon records
The league has been involved in various projects and studies throughout its history, reflecting changing political issues while maintaining a core concern for the community of Mount Vernon.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Myrtilla F. Levin papers
Active in the Republican Party, mayor of Newton, Iowa, and executive director of Iowa Business Council.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Thelma B. Lewis papers
Iowa City mayor in 1961; served on the city council from 1958 to 1963.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joan Lipsky papers
Iowa legislator and community acitvisit from Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean Lloyd-Jones papers
State legislator from Iowa City and president of the Iowa Peace Institute.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Anna Cochrane Lomas papers
Republican National Committeewoman in the 1950s and 1960s from Red Oak, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
March for Women's Lives, Iowa Delegation, records
On April 25, 2004, pro-choice activists went to Washington, D.C., to participate in the March for Women's Lives, a protest against the pro-life policies of President George W. Bush's administration.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Connie McBurney
Journalist and 1996 congressional candidate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret McDonald papers
Active in Republican Party and vice-chairman of the Iowa Republican Central Committee in 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth R. Miller papers
Farm woman and Republican state legislator from Marshalltown, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Opal Miller papers
Democrat, educator and clubwoman who served in the Iowa House of Representatives in the 1970s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mona Kadel Martin papers
Mona Martin (1934- ) served in the Iowa House of Representatives from Scott County from 1993-2001.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
National Organization for Women, Ames Chapter records
Includes ERA campaign material.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
National Organization for Women, Des Moines Chapter records
Feminist activist organization records.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
National Organization for Women, Dubuque Chapter records
The group was formed in 1973. The purpose of the group was to improve and expand the role of women in society and it supported the Equal Rights Amendment, safe and legal abortion among other issues.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
National Organization for Women, Iowa records
Feminist activist organization records.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
National Organization for Women, Johnson County-Iowa City Chapter records
Feminist activist organization records.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gladys Nelson papers
Republican Iowa legislator from 1950 to 1956 and former president of the League of Women Voters of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary C. Neuhauser papers
Democrat who served four terms in the Iowa House and one four-year term in the Senate (1986-1998).
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joyce Nielsen papers
Feminist, legislator and community activist who worked in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Jane Odell papers
Television journalist and politician who served as Iowa Secretary of State from 1980 to 1986.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joann Orr papers
State senator from 1972 to 1980 from Grinnell, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Betty Mae Page correspondence
Waterloo, Iowa resident who served on Governor Ray's Commission on the Status of Women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia J. Pardun papers
State vice chair of the Republican Party in Iowa from 1967 to 1973.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Polk County Women's Political Caucus records
County branch of a national organization to support candidates who promote women's rights and women's participation in the political process.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sue M. Reed papers
Republican Party activist and officer of Iowa and National Federations of Republican Women, 1950s-1970s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth Miller Richards papers
Politician and women's rights activist from Red Oak, Iowa,who ran for Iowa state representative in 1966.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean and John L. Schneiders papers
Davenport community and civil rights activists during the 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Schramm papers
Human rights advocate from Burlington, Iowa who was active in local and international issues, particularly UNA-USA and the League of Women Voters.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joyce Schulte papers
Democratic candidate for Iowa's fifth congressional district in 2004 and 2006.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth Shaw papers
Iowa state legislator from 1967 to 1977.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Janet Shipton papers
Political activist and Johnson County, Iowa, supervisor who was the daughter of British Prime Minister Clement Attlee.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Vera Shivvers papers
Iowa farm woman who was elected to fill her husband's term in the Iowa Senate following his death in 1962.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Louise Smith papers
First woman to chair the Republican National Committee, serving from 1974 to 1977. Co-founder of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lonabelle Kaplan Spencer papers
American Association of University Women member and advocate for women's issues including dual listings for married women in Iowa telephone directories.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elaine Szymoniak papers
Iowa State senator, Des Moines City Council member, and hearing and speech consultant.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Roberta Till-Retz papers
Research and educational materials of activist and labor educator Roberta Till-Retz.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Maggie Tinsman papers
Bettendorf Republican who served on the Scott County Board of Supervisors and the Iowa State Senate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Janis Torrence-Laughlin papers
Muscatine County Supervisor from 1976 to 1982 and Representative in the Iowa Legislature from 1983 to 1985.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Iowa records
Organization dedicated to legislative and educational efforts to prevent juvenile delinquency and support woman's suffrage.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Katherine Mull Falvey Zastrow papers
State representative from 1958 to 1964 and the first woman elected to Charles City Council, 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jo Ann Zimmerman papers
Elected to the Iowa House of Representatives in 1982 and in 1986, she became the first woman Lieutenant Governor of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
