Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the University of Iowa Foundation Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1956-
Creator: University of Iowa Foundation
Extent: 5.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG28.0004.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the University of Iowa Foundation at various times. Guide posted to the Internet December 2007.

Preferred Citation: University of Iowa Foundation Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The UI Foundation was established in 1956 as the preferred channel for private gifts to the Universtiy of Iowa. By raising funds beyond those available through state appropriations, tuition payments, contracts or from other non-gift sources, the UI Foundation provides the University with a margin of distinction in fulfilling its mission of excellence in teaching, research and service.
 
The mission of the UI Foundation is to maximize private gift support for the University while continuously laying the groundwork for future fundraising success, in order to aid the University in fulfilling its own mission.
 
Independent from the Universtiy of Iowa and a nonprofit IRC Sec. 501(c)(3) organization, the UI Foundation achieves its fundraising objectives through annual giving programs, planned gifts, and capital and other special purpose campaigns. The University President and central administrators recommend fundraising priorities to the Foundation's volunteer Board of Directors, which elects officers, appoints staff, and monitors Foundation policies and staff activities.

The Records of the University of Iowa Foundation contain materials from the founding of the Foundation in 1956 to the present. They are arranged into four series: Administrative, Publications, Fundraising, and President's Club. Annual reports are catalogued separately.
Annual reports of the UI Foundation, listed in online catalog under the following titles and located in Archives' cataloged section:
Annual Report : Old Gold Development Fund
Annual Report : State University of Iowa Foundation
Annual Report : University of Iowa Foundation
Annual Report of Private Gift Support for the Universityof Iowa : University of Iowa Foundation
Annual Report of the University of Iowa Foundation
Annual Report on Giving to the University of Iowa Foundation
Papers of Darrell D. Wyrick (RG 99.0007)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
Series 2: PUBLICATIONS
Series 3: FUNDRAISING
Series 4: PRESIDENT'S CLUB

  • Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
  • Box 1:
  • Board Minutes; Bylaws; Articles of Incorporation - 1956-1965
  • Correspondence - 1956-1964
  • Financial Audits - 1957-1960; 1963; 1968; 1970
    2 folders
  • Press Releases and Press Clippings
  • Series 2: PUBLICATIONS
  • Sub-Series: Newsletters
  • Box 2:
  • Bridges, Issues 1-15 - 1987 April-1992 August
  • Quarterly Review - 1973 Autumn-1989 Fall/Winter
  • Bridges - 1997 Autumn-2002 Spring
  • Imagine - 2000 Winter-2004 Spring
  • News - 2002-2004
  • Advancing Iowa - 2004 March-2007 March
  • Sub-Series: Calendars
  • Box 2:
  • Calendars - 1972-1973; 1977-1980
  • Series 3: FUNDRAISING
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 3:
  • General solicitations: letters; brochures - 1956-2001
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: Named Campaigns
  • Box 4:
  • Old Gold Development Fund: Faculty Drive - 1962-1963
  • Old Gold Development Fund: Council Minutes - 1955-1962
  • Old Gold Development Fund: Council Minutes - 1963-1966
  • Old Gold Development Fund: Gifts to the U. I. Libraries - 1959-1964
  • Old Gold Development Fund: Miscellaneous - 1955-1963
  • Old Gold Development Fund: Miscellaneous - 1964
  • Box 5:
  • Art Gallery - 1964-1969
  • Good, Better, Best, Iowa - 2002-2006
  • Hawkeye Arena/Recreation - 1980
  • Iowa Endowment 2000 - 1984-1991
    3 folders
  • Iowa Hall - 1982
  • Old Capitol Restoration - 1973
  • Series 4: PRESIDENT'S CLUB
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence - 1997-2006
  • Annual assemblies - 1974-1983; 1988; 2003
  • Solicitation brochures
  • Box 7:
  • Annual Reports - 1971-1978
  • Annual Reports - 1979-1984
  • Annual Reports - 1985-1988; 1992

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Related Services