Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the University Libraries Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1857-2003
Creator: University Libraries
Extent: 124.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG21.0001.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Series 1, Box 19; Grants Series, Box 2; Exhibits Series, Box 1.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008.

Preferred Citation: University Libraries Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: 2012 ADDENDUM
Series 3: ADMINISTRATIVE - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS
Series 4: PUBLICATIONS AND OUTREACH - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS
Series 5: COMMITTEES - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS
Series 6: FACILITIES - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS
Series 7: GRANTS AND GIFTS - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS
Series 8: DEPARTMENTS AND SERVICES - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS
Series 9: EXHIBIT RECORDS: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, NORTH LOBBY EXHIBITS (4.5 ft)
Series 10: BRANCHES - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS
Series 11: HISTORICAL - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS, OVERSIZE BOXES 10 ft.

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Librarian's Reports - 1857-1904
  • Report of the Librarian - 1905-1913
    Bound in scrapbook
  • Annual Reports of the Library - 1913-1924
  • Report of Director of Libraries - 1926
  • Library Reports - 1924-1927
  • Box 2:
  • Annual Reports - 1927-1945
    No report written for 1930/1931
  • Annual Reports, Ellsworth - 1944-1946
  • Box 3:
  • Annual Reports
  • Acquisitions Department - 1949-1950
  • Art Library - 1944-1946, 1948-1949
  • Botany/Chemistry/Pharmacy Library - 1948-1950
  • Campus Special Library - 1949-1950
  • Cataloging Department - 1906-1945
  • Circulation Department - 1924-1948
  • Box 4:
  • Departmental Libraries - 1924-1948
  • Box 5:
  • Dental Library - 1944-1946
  • Education/Philosophy/Psychology Library - 1933-1951
  • Education/Psychology Library - 1951-1953
  • English Reading Room - 1949-1950
  • Foreign Languages Library - 1932-1950
    Incomplete
  • Government Documents Department - 1931-1950
  • Inter-library Loan Department - 1948-1950
  • Iowa Authors Collection - 1948-1954
  • Library Instruction Department - 1932-1945
    1942/1943 is missing
  • Math Library - 1944-1946
  • Medical Library - 1924-1925, 1929-1930, 1932-1933
  • Public Service Division - 1945-1948
  • Box 6:
  • Order and Binding Department - 1923-1935
  • Order and Binding Department - 1935-1943
  • Order Department - 1943-1945, 1948-1949
  • Binding Department - 1943-1945, 1948-1949
  • Box 7:
  • Reference Department - 1923-1948
  • Reference and Circulation Department - 1948-1949
  • Reserve Reading Room - 1923-1948
  • Serial Department - 1927-1950
  • Serial-Reserve Department - 1948-1949
  • Undergraduate Study Halls - 1924-1926, 1927-1930
  • Sub-Series: Art Library
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence - 1937-1951
  • Monthly Reports - 1945-1960
  • Policies and Procedures, July - 1948
  • Sub-Series: Botany/Chemistry/Pharmacy Library
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence and Memos - 1926-1944
  • Monthly Reports - 1945-1960
  • Inventory - 1947
  • Sub-Series: Campus Special Library
  • Box 8:
  • Attendance Reports - 1946-1949
  • Correspondence and Memos - 1939-1951
  • Inventory - 1945-1949
  • Sub-Series: Cataloging Department
  • Box 8:
  • Monthly Reports - 1924-1935, 1941-1946
  • Sub-Series: Circulation Department
  • Box 9:
  • Monthly Reports - 1924-1949
  • Sub-Series: Commons Library
  • Box 9:
  • Correspondence and Memos - 1942-1943
  • Inventory - 1942-1943
  • Policies and Procedures - 1942
  • Sub-Series: Communication Skills Reading Room
  • Box 9:
  • Attendance Reports - 1948-1951
  • Correspondence and Memos - 1946
  • Inventory - 1947-1949
  • Sub-Series: Currier Hall Library
  • Box 9:
  • Attendance Reports - 1948-1949
  • Correspondence and Memos - 1939-1949
  • Sub-Series: Dental Library
  • Box 10:
  • Correspondence and Memos - 1930-1948
  • Inventory - 1944-1948
  • Monthly Reports - 1945-1946
  • Periodical Data
  • Sub-Series: Departmental Libraries
  • Box 10:
  • Correspondence - 1924-1926
  • Monthly Reports - 1924-1935, 1942-1949
  • Reports and Budgets - 1924-1949
  • Sub-Series: Education/Philosophy/Psychology Library
  • Box 11:
  • Child Welfare Collection, November - 1929
  • Correspondence and Memos - 1929-1952
  • Curriculum Laboratory
  • Inventory - 1943
  • Monthly Reports - 1944-1960
  • Policies and Procedures
  • Manual for the Administration of the Education/Philosophy/Psychology Library
  • Special Reports, Statistics, Diagrams, and Manuals
  • Summer Session - 1931-1932
  • Sub-Series: Engineering Library
  • Box 11:
  • Correspondence and Memos - 1930-1948
  • Inventory - 1943, 1945
  • Monthly Reports - 1945-1960
  • Sub-Series: English Reading Room
  • Box 12:
  • Correspondence - 1939-1948
  • Inventory - 1949
  • Monthly Reports - 1945-1947
  • Sub-Series: Foreign Languages Library
  • Box 12:
  • Correspondence - 1923-1947
  • Inventory - 1945-1949
  • Monthly Reports - 1932-1951
  • Report
  • Sub-Series: Geology Library
  • Box 12:
  • Correspondence and Memos - 1927-1952
  • Inventory
  • Monthly Reports - 1945-1960
  • Policies and Procedures
  • Sub-Series: Government Documents Department
  • Box 13:
  • Monthly Reports - 1924-1949
    Incomplete
  • Sub-Series: Hillcrest Library
  • Box 13:
  • Bookplate
  • Correspondence and Memos - 1938-1948
  • Inventory and Attendance Records - 1936-1943
  • Monthly Reports - 1948-1951
  • Sub-Series: Journalism Library
  • Box 13:
  • Correspondence - 1947-1950
  • Monthly Reports - 1948-1949
  • Sub-Series: Library Instruction
  • Box 13:
  • Monthly Reports - 1943-1945
    Incomplete
  • Sub-Series: Math/Physics Library
  • Box 13:
  • Correspondence and Memos - 1933-1946
  • Inventory
  • Monthly Reports - 1945-1960
  • Policies and Procedures
  • Sub-Series: Medical Library
  • Box 13:
  • Correspondence and Memos - 1924-1953
  • Inventory
  • Monthly Reports - 1925-1931, 1945-1960
    Incomplete
  • Policies and Procedures - 1942
  • Sub-Series: Memorial Union Library
  • Box 14:
  • Correspondence, memos, and reports - 1932-1939
  • Sub-Series: Military Library
  • Box 14:
  • Correspondence - 1930-1948
  • Inventory - 1939
  • Sub-Series: Music Library
  • Box 14:
  • Monthly Reports - 1957-1960
  • Sub-Series: Order and Binding Department
  • Box 14:
  • Monthly Reports - 1924-1943
    Incomplete
  • Sub-Series: Order Department
  • Box 14:
  • Monthly Reports - 1943-1946
  • Sub-Series: Binding Department
  • Box 14:
  • Monthly Reports - 1943-1946
  • Sub-Series: Periodical Reading Room
  • Box 14:
  • Monthly Reports - 1928-1931
  • Sub-Series: Quadrangle Library
  • Box 15:
  • Bookplate
  • Correspondence - 1935-1950
  • Policies and Procedures
  • Reports - 1947-1950
  • Sub-Series: Reference Department
  • Box 15:
  • Monthly Reports - 1924-1931, 1934-1935, 1942-1949
    Incomplete
  • Reports
  • Sub-Series: Reserve Reading Room
  • Box 15:
  • Monthly Reports - 1924-1931, 1934-1935, 1943-1949
  • Sub-Series: Serial Department
  • Box 16:
  • Correspondence and Memos - 1931-1949
  • Monthly Reports - 1934-1949
  • Sub-Series: Undergraduate Study Hall
  • Box 16:
  • Monthly Reports - 1925-1931
  • Sub-Series: Westlawn Library
  • Box 16:
  • Inventory?
  • Sub-Series: Zoology Library
  • Box 16:
  • Correspondence and Memos - 1925-1952
  • Inventory - 1942
  • Monthly Reports - 1945-1960
  • Policies and Procedures
  • Sub-Series: Books at Iowa
  • Box 17:
  • Correspondence - 1964-1965
  • Correspondence - 1966-1967
  • Correspondence - 1968-1969
  • Correspondence - 1970
  • Correspondence - 1971
  • Correspondence - 1972-1973
  • Correspondence - 1974-1975
  • Correspondence - 1976-1979
  • Correspondence - 1980
  • Barnes, Warner
  • Hanlin, Frank
  • Sub-Series: Articles
  • Box 17:
  • Amert, Kay. "Works Printed by K. K. Merker: The Stone Wall Press, The Windhover Press, and Others" 25:21-24, 29-33
  • Benkovitz, Miriam J. "Edmund Blunden and the Incitements of Japan" 32:1 5-24
  • Bogue, Allan G. "Herbert Quick's Hawkeye Trilogy" 16:3-13, 23 (illus)
  • Bush, Cynthia. "The Perishable Press Limited" 29:36-52
  • Bush, Sargent, Jr. --"Longfellow's Letters to Cornelia Fitch" 6:13-18, 23; ----. "The Achievement of John T. Frederick" 14:8-22, 2, 3 (illus), 27-30
  • Carney, Thomas L. & Joyce Crawford. "The Torch Press: A Preliminary History" 21:3-25
    See also: 31:35-36, 46. See also: Maddigan, Mike. Also Torch Press Addenda. 2 folders
  • Clyne, Patricia Edwards. "Thomas O. Mabbott as Teacher" 34:29-36
  • Dill, Vicky Schreiber. "The Books of William Everson" 28:9-24
  • Haight, Gordon S. "Letters From George Henry Lewes To Richard Hengist Horne" 18:18, 23-25
  • Kellner, Bruce. "Baby Woojums In Iowa" 26:3-18
  • Mabbott, Thomas Olive. "The Books in the House of Usher" 19:3-7, 17 (illus)
  • Mabbott, Thomas Olive. "Observations on Poets and Poetry" 29:14-28, 30 (illus.), 33-35
    See also 34:26 (illus.), 29-36
  • Martin, John. "Musings on a Pleasant Disease: A Nonmedical Report" 28:3-8; "The Vesalian School of Anatomy in Renaissance Padua" 18:3-17, 19-21 (illus)
  • Moeller, Dorothy. "Wendell Johnson: The Addiction to Wonder" 20: 3-22, 23 (illus), Bibliography
  • Peich, Michael. "The Toothpaste Press: A Checklist" 36:23-25, 28-39, 41-42
  • Richmond, Mary L. "The Cummington Press" 7:9-22, 27-31
  • Rostenberg, Leona. "Robert Hooke's Scientific Library: Books From Duck Lane and Moorfields" 33:3-21
  • Service, Robert W. The Cremation of Sam McGee 2:21 (illus)
  • Tanselle, G. Thomas. "George Cram Cook and the Poetry of Living, with a Checklist" 24:3-30, 35-37
  • Weber, Richard B. "Paul Engle: A Checklist" 5:11-24, 29-37
  • Wulling, Emerson G. "Carroll Coleman on Printing, with a Prairie Press Checklist, 1965-1975" 23:11-24, 29-33
  • Wylder, Delbert E. "Frederick Manfred: The Quest of the Independent Writer" 31:16-30
  • Sub-Series: Gifts and Appraisals
  • Box 18:
  • Gifts: Iowa - Des Moines National Bank
  • Gifts and Appraisals - 1986
  • Gifts and Appraisals - 1984
  • Gifts and Appraisals - 1983
  • Sub-Series: Appraisals
  • Box 18:
  • Inquiries - 1962-1967
  • Appraisers
  • Policy
  • Boyd, President Willard R. U.S. Presidents Collection
  • Carter, Corrine
  • Cedar Rapids Public Library - 1974
  • Cheever Appraisal - 1971
    Working copy
  • Cheever - 1968
  • Cheever, L. O. - 1969
  • Cheever, L. O. - 1971
  • Cheever, L. O. - 1972
  • Foster, T. Henry
  • Foster, T. Henry (auction)
  • Green, Edwin B. Posters
  • Gutenberg Bible Leaf
  • Inquiries - 1968
  • Iowa State Education Association Correspondence
    Related to Clyde Walton 1955 appraisal of Salisbury House Library
  • Iowa State Education Association
    Clyde Walton 1955 appraisal of Salisbury House Library
  • Kaplan Appraisals
  • Knowles – Clemens
  • Larimer, Dr. R.N.
  • Mabbott, T.O.
  • Maurs
  • Martin, Dr. John
  • Means, Betty - 1985
  • Midland Collection
  • Oberembt, Kenneth - 1980
  • Oberembt, Kenneth
  • Oberembt, Kenneth - 1981
  • Oberembt, Kenneth - 1982
  • Paracelsus
  • Stout, G.D.
  • von Groschwitz, Gustave
  • Welty, Susan
  • Woods Fielding Library
  • Appraisal Report, Method of Appraisal
  • General MsL and MSS - 1976-1977
  • xMS and MsC - 1976-1977
  • Archives - 1976-1977
  • Blunden Collection - 1976-1977
  • Bollinger-Lincoln - 1976-1977
  • Cheever Collection
  • History of Hydraulics Collection - 1976-1977
  • Leigh Hunt Collection - 1976-1977
  • Ingham Collection - 1976-1977
  • Iowa Author Collection - 1976-1977
  • Iowa Author Manuscripts - 1976-1977
  • Mabbott-Poe Collection - 1976-1977
  • Map Collection - 1976-1977
  • Presidential Letters - 1976-1977
  • Ranney Collection - 1976-1977
  • Reference Collection (Special Collections) - 1976-1977
  • Springer Collection - 1976-1977
  • Typo Lab - 1976-1977
  • W Collection - 1976-1977
  • X Collection - 1976-1977
  • Sub-Series: Gifts
  • Box 18:
  • A-L
  • M-Z
  • Bromsen, Mary
  • Fahnestock, Mrs. Snowden A.
  • Feinburg, Charles
  • Garnett, Miss W. Leslie
  • Horn, Ernest
  • Ink, Mrs. R.P.
  • Kuhl, E.P.
  • Martin, John T.
  • Meek, Hazel
  • Shaw, Professor Marlow A.
  • Temple
  • Wilcox, Dr. Jan
  • Miscellaneous
  • Series 2: 2012 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Blah Blah Archive
    When the first floor was remodeled in 2012 parts of the basement, where Special Collections stored items that did not fit in their space on third floor, had to be cleared out to accommodate infrastructure for the new Information Commons. The move was accomplished in-house during the spring semester using student labor. These students moved thousands of books and thousands of feet of manuscript material. The move was documented using photographs. These and other materials relating to the move were kept and named the Blah Blah Archive, at the students’ suggestion. The collection was organized by the manuscripts processor and presented at the banquet celebrating the end of the project
  • Box 19:
  • Cart labels
    The cart were given names so that if one misbehaved they knew to avoid using that one. (No one used the one named "Emotional Roller Coaster.") They were given the names of actors who played Dr. Who and when these got work-worn, they were replaced with the names of prominent women
  • Paperwork we will never forget
    A lot of planning was done before the move and lists made. They are kept here
  • Photographs
  • Student artwork
    Students were kept well-fed and hydrated during the move and were given frequent breaks. During these breaks they took advantage of pen and paper and produced some interesting artwork
  • Treasure hunt!
    Some collections were split up in the basement and an attempt was made to reunite their disparate parts. Instructions were written out and flagged with purple. When students came upon a purple flag, the cry went up "Treasure Hunt!"
  • Series 3: ADMINISTRATIVE - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS
  • ARL statistics - 1952-1985
    0.25 ft.
  • Library Strategic Plan - 1993, 1998
    0.25 ft.
  • Library Self-Study 1985 and 1998, Review of Libraries 1999, 2007 - 1985, 1998, 1999, 2007
    0.25 ft.
  • Library Annual Report - 1857-1948
    Bound volumes. 1.0 ft.
  • Libraries Annual Report - 1989-2012
    In archives cataloged
  • Library Reports
  • Library Personnel Directory
    0.5 ft.
  • Library Subjects (early admin files)
    0.5 ft.
  • Flat boxes
    10.0 ft.
  • Early history: Libraries book lists
    3 volumes, pre-1900
  • Libraries correspondence - 1895-1898
  • Libraries' Medical and Homeopathic topic catalogs
    pre-1900
  • Libraries Accessions - 1873-1899
    2 volumes
  • Libraries Accessions Serials
    pre-1893
  • Series 4: PUBLICATIONS AND OUTREACH - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS
  • Library catalogued and delayed
    2.0 ft.
  • Library Publication Projects
    0.25 ft.
  • Library Publications
    0.5 ft.
  • Library Handbooks
    0.5 ft.
  • Library Bibliographies
    0.25 ft.
  • Bookplate Samples
    0.25 ft.
  • Library Exhibit Catalogs
    0.25 ft.
  • Library Exhibits (pamphlets and guides)
    SEE ALSO: DEPARTMENT AND SERVICES SERIES, Special Collections, North Lobby Exhibits. 0.5 ft.
  • Hawkeye Library Notes - 1937-1946
    0.25 ft.
  • "Bindings" (University Libraries Publication) - 1997-2012
    0.5 ft.
  • Hawkeye Library Notes - 1937-1946
    0.5 ft.
  • Iowa City Library Club, Book Arts Rag
    0.25 ft.
  • Hoover Presidential Library newsletter, The American Road
    0.25 ft.
  • "Books at Iowa" Numbers 1-10, bound; numbers 11-65 unbound; at archives cataloged serials
    2.0 ft.
  • Series 5: COMMITTEES - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS
  • Committee minutes, memoranda (accession 2001-13) - 1988-1998
    5.0 ft.
  • Library Self-Study Committee - 1984-1986
    0.25 ft.
  • University Library Committee minutes, correspondence
    2.0 ft.
  • Heads of Library and Library Staff Meeting
    0.25 ft.
  • Department Heads/Administration Council Minutes
    1.0 ft.
  • Administrative Council
    1.0 ft.
  • Library Administrative Council Minutes - 1949-1994
  • Called Department Heads - 1949-1981
  • Admininstrative Council - 1974-1994
  • University Library Committee
    1.0 ft.
  • Series 6: FACILITIES - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS
  • Library Buildings
    0.25 ft.
  • Series 7: GRANTS AND GIFTS - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS
  • Box 1:
  • Gift Records
    0.5 ft.
  • Sub-Series: Library Gifts, Dunlap
    2.0 ft.
  • Box 1:
  • Gifts - 1973-1974, 1974-1975
  • Gifts Bequest Clauses
  • Adler, Philip D.
  • Allen, Don Cameron, Mrs.
  • Baldwin, C.B
  • Bean, William B.
  • Birdsall, Benjamin P.
  • Bond, Perry A.
  • Bowen, Howard R.
  • Braverman, David
  • Bromsen, Maury A.
  • Brown, William L., Dr.
  • Bush, Raymond M.
  • Calkin, Homer
  • Carter, Corinne W., Mrs.
  • Chamberlin, J. Gordon, Prof.
  • Cheever, L.O.
  • Coe, Charles J.
  • Constantine, Aeneas
  • Culver, John, Senator
  • Culver, J.F., letters
  • Culver, J.F., book
  • Darling, Jay N. "Ding"
  • Dodge, Homer L.
  • Dorsey, John M., M.D.
  • Dyke, Lester, Dr. & Mrs.
  • Dyke, Lester Maris
  • Elliot, Owen, Mr. & Mrs.
  • Fahnestock, Snowden A., Mrs.
  • Fairall, Laurence, Mrs.
  • Frank, Lewis C., Mrs.
  • Freeman, Laura H.
  • Funke, Erich, Mrs.
  • Box 2:
  • Gieser, Karl F.
  • Gerber, John C.
  • Gilbert, Allan H.
  • Goldman, Richard Franko, Dr.
  • Gram, Moltke S.
  • Gross, H.R.
  • Hall, Reeves
  • Hall, W. Earl
  • Hansen, Harry, Mrs.
  • Hanson, Clem T.
  • Hardin, Robert C.
  • Harrison, John M., Mr. & Mrs.
  • Hayes, Ernest A.
  • Hearst, Wm. Randolph, Gift
  • Hockridge, Robert G.
  • Hoover, Alan
  • Hoover Library
  • Hughes, Harold E.
  • Jacobson, Fred, Mr. & Mrs.
  • Johnson, Donald R.
  • Johnson, Nicholas
  • Jordan, Phillip D.
  • Kaser, David
  • Keefner, Irene
  • Kent, Frederick W., Photograph Collection
  • Keys, Thomas E.
  • Knowles, Harvey
  • Koss, Richard B.
  • Kruidenier, David
  • Kuhl, E.P.
  • Larimer, R.N., M.D.
  • Leary, Bernice E.
  • Lisle, Vern, Mrs.
  • Livingston, W. Ross
  • Loveless, Herschel C.
  • Lynch, P.H.
  • Clyne, Patricia Edwards, Thomas O. Mabbott as Teacher
  • Mabbott, Maureen, Mrs., Bright Salvage
  • Fisher, Benjamin Franklin, IV
  • Pollin, Burton R.
  • Mabbott, Maureen, Mrs. - 1978-1979
  • Mabbott, Maureen, Mrs. - 1975-1977
  • Mabbott, Maureen, Mrs. - 1971-1974
  • Box 3:
  • Mabbott, Thomas O. - 1962-1970
  • Correspondence with Prof. John Reilly regarding Thomas O. Mabbott's article
  • Poe's correspondence with Carpenter
  • Mabbott Collection
  • Macbride, Thomas H.
  • Martin, John, Dr., Catalog of history of Medicine Collection
  • Martin, John, M.D.
  • Martin, John, M.D., Alumni Association
  • Mac Donald, Kenneth
  • Mayne, Wiley
  • Meek, Hazel
  • Miller, Jack R.
  • Mezvinsky, Edward, Hon. - 1975-1976, 1976-1977
  • Milstein, Stanley, M.D.
  • Moredock, A.E.
  • Murphy, Donald R.
  • Natcher, William H.
  • Noun, Louise R., Mrs.
  • Olson, Robert A.
  • Olmsted, George
  • Orton Material
  • Overholt, James R.
  • Paff, William J.
  • Pearson, Paul E.
  • Perrin, Joyce
  • Piper, Janet, Mrs.
  • Ray, Robert, Gov.
  • Reynolds, Conger
  • Box 4:
  • Richards, Paul C.
  • Smith, G. Fred & Marcia Isabel
  • Smith, Mary Louise
  • Smith, Thomas R., Mrs.
  • Stokes, Diana
  • Swink, L. Jack
  • Teichert, Curt
  • Thompson, H.L., Dr.
  • Van Ek, Jacob
  • Wallace, H.A., Gift to ISU
  • Wallace, Henry A., Papers
  • Moore, Earl E., Wallace Letters
  • Starr, Louis, H.A.W.
  • H.A. Wallace Index
  • Henry A. Wallace Papers
  • H.A.W. Papers
  • Wallace Brochure
  • H.A. Wallace Papers, Microfilm Edition & Index
  • Annual Tax Report Figures
  • Henry A. Wallace, Deed of Gift
  • Letter written by Hubert H. Humphrey to Henry Wallace
  • Library of Congress, National Historical Publications Mr. Fred Shelley, Dr. Holmes, Dr. Roy Basler, etc.
  • Publicity on the Diary of Henry A. Wallace
  • Wallace Inquiries
  • Metzdorf Appraisal
  • Box 5:
  • Wallace, Robert B., Mr.
  • Bruggmann, Mrs.
  • Wallace, James W.
  • Douglas, Leslie, Mrs.
  • F.D.R. Interment Train
  • Wallace's Recollections of the funeral of Franklin D. Roosevelt - 1945
  • Wallace, H.B.
  • Wallace, Henry A., Mrs.
  • Wallace, James M.
  • Wallace, John B.
  • Wallace Papers
  • Ward, Donovan F.
  • Wearin, Otha D.
  • Wehman, Herbert
  • Willson, Meredith
  • Sub-Series: Library Gifts, Bentz
    0.25 ft.
  • Box 6:
  • Gifts by Dale Bentz
  • Bean, William B., M.D.
  • Horner, George L.
  • W. Schwarz, Leo W., library and papers
    Moved to Special Collections Administrative Files
  • Box 7:
  • Library Grant Applications
    1.25 ft.
  • Box 8:
  • Frank S. Hanlin Book Fund
    0.25 ft.
  • Series 8: DEPARTMENTS AND SERVICES - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS
  • Acquisitions Dept. records (Wachel)
    4.5 ft.
  • Automation Dept.: OASIS manuals - 1988-1992
    0.5 ft.
  • Library Acquisitions: An Update
    0.25 ft.
  • Cataloging Dept. records - 1949-1962
    0.5 ft.
  • Cataloging Dept. records (Monson)
    1.5 ft.
  • Government Documents (Iowa Documents)
    0.5 ft.
  • Information Arcade
    0.5 ft.
  • Information Arcade Bulletin
    0.25 ft.
  • Maps Dept. Maps at Iowa
    0.25 ft.
  • Goldman Band Library (administered by Welch at School of Music)
    0.25 ft.
  • Special Collections Dept. Leigh Hunt Bicentennial - 1984
    0.25 ft.
  • Special Collections Dept. Sheets, George M. Iowa Historical Documents - 1956-1959
    0.25 ft.
  • Special Collections Dept. Includes Iowa Authors Annual Reports
    0.25 ft.
  • Sub-Series: Special Collections Dept. accession records
  • Box 1:
  • Spiral bound notebooks stuffed with chronologically-organized acquisition notes primarily regarding books and manuscripts purchased individually - 1966-1972, 1972-1977, 1977-1985, 1985-2001
  • Statistical Chart of Accessions - 1960-1969, 1970-1979, 1980-1989
  • Report: "Catalog of Iowa Historical Documents Collections" - 1959
  • Manual: "What We Collect," April - 1969
    Plus undated later edition
  • Manual: "The Use of Manuscripts," April - 1969
  • Box 2:
  • Field trips
  • Box 3:
  • Other acquisition activity (accession 2003-88)
    1.5 ft.
  • Series 9: EXHIBIT RECORDS: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, NORTH LOBBY EXHIBITS (4.5 ft)
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1959
  • Correspondence - 1960
  • Correspondence - 1961
  • Correspondence - 1962
  • Correspondence - 1963
  • Correspondence - 1964-1968
  • Correspondence - 1970
  • General Information
  • Library Exhibit Schedule - 1955-2009
  • Proposed Exhibits
  • Exhibits prior to 1959
  • Bibles, undated
  • Black Press in America, undated
  • Book Display Labels for In-department showing for Council of Friends, undated
  • Bryan- Chautauqua, undated
  • Children's Books by Lynn Hall, undated
  • Christmas Cards, undated
  • Compromise of 1850, undated
  • Ding Darling, undated
  • Early Manuscripts and Incunabula, undated
  • Elderhostel Exhibit, undated
  • First Works by American Authors, undated
  • French Revolution, undated
  • Glaspell, Susan, undated
  • Greek Literature in Early Editions, undated
  • Hoover Centennial Exhibit 1 of 2, undated
  • Hoover Centennial Exhibit 2 of 2, undated
  • Iowa and Wisconsin, undated
  • Iowa Authors Autobiographies, undated
  • Jonson, Ben, undated
  • Leary Collection Exhibit, undated
  • Les Miserables, undated
  • Motion Picture Scripts, undated
  • Needlework Exhibit, undated
  • Private Press, undated
  • Sabin, Joseph, undated
  • Science Fiction, undated
  • Short Fiction Awards, undated
  • Smithsonian Institution, undated
  • Some Books on the American West by Iowa Authors, undated
  • Thoreau, Henry David, undated
  • Torch Press Christmas Books, undated
  • Travel Books by Iowa Authors, undated
  • Wallace, Henry, undated
  • Washington, George, undated
  • William Morris and the Keimscott Press, undated
  • Windhover Press, undated
  • World's Columbian Exposition, undated
  • Philip Sang Collection of Historical Letters and Documents, November 3-30 - 1956
  • "Leigh Hunt, 1748-1859; One Hundred Years Later" - 1959
  • "Gifts to Special Collections, 1961-1962" - 1961-1962
  • Map Exhibit - 1962
  • "Fifty Books of the Year," American Institute of Graphic Arts Exhibit, May 15-30 - 1962
  • "Colonial America and the Early Republic in Books by Iowa Authors, July 1-31" - 1962
  • Gifts of Historical Materials Exhibit, August - 1962
  • University Library Special Collection: "Maps of the Moon," November 2-30 - 1962
  • "Lope de Vega Quadricentennial," March 11-30 - 1963
  • 1st edition volume of Keats' poems, Leigh Hunt Collection, April 1-14 - 1963
  • National Library Week Accredited Library Schools Exhibit, April 14-May 4 - 1963
  • Home Economics Department Golden Anniversary sponsors: Smithsonian Institute American Textiles Exhibit, May 26-June 30 - 1963
  • Civil War Centennial, July - 1963
  • 8th Annual Book Jacket Competition, "Best Jackets of 1962," August 1-30 - 1963
  • "Iowa Authors Write About Iowa," September 1-30 - 1963
  • "Antique Automobiles Prints," March 2-30 - 1964
  • "Baron Corvo: Manuscripts and First Editions," May 4-15 - 1964
  • "The Plains Indians," July - 1964
  • "Books from the Dime Novel Collection of Buckskin Bill," September 7-October 4 - 1964
  • The Assassination of Abraham Lincoln, April 1-30 - 1965
  • "Dante: 700th Anniversary," May 1-15 - 1965
  • "Books on Western Outlaws," August 16-September 30 - 1965
  • "Boys' Books of the 1890's," January 1-31 - 1966
  • Photographs of Carl Van Vechten, February 1-28 - 1966
  • "Ronald Firbanks: Manuscripts and First Editions," April 1-30 - 1966
  • "The Chautauqua Circuit in Iowa," June 1-30 - 1966
  • Scholarly Books from South America, November 22-December 14 - 1966
  • The Christmas Story in Famous Bibles, December 15-January 6 - 1966-1967
  • Materials in Esperanto, January 6-February 5 - 1967
  • Hobby Publications from the U.S. Government Printing Office, March 1-30 - 1967
  • Malraux (French Embassy), September 9-28 - 1968
  • Hydraulics Exhibit, October - 1968
  • The Latin American Novel: 1959-1969, January - 1969
  • Motion Pictures from Books By Iowa Authors - 1969
  • Space-Flight Paintings by Chesley Bonestell, February - 1969
  • Fifty Biographies by Fifty Authors, June 23-July 20 - 1969
  • Unusual 19th and 20th Century Stamps, March 2-27 - 1970
  • First Editions of Beethoven, March 30-April 10 - 1970
  • Selected Books and Manuscripts Collected by Thomas O. Mabbott, April 13-30 - 1970
  • Midwestern Books Competition, July - 1970
  • Children's Books, Original Illustrations of, September - 1970
  • Nineteenth-Century Children's Books, December 25 - 1970
  • William Henry Ireland Forgeries, January - 1971
  • Association of University Presses, September - 1971
  • Rare Slavic Materials, November - 1971
  • Christmas Books from the Collection of Lawrence O. Cheever, December - 1971
  • Black Facsimiles - 1972
  • Dead Sea Scrolls - 1972
  • Mark Twain Exhibit - 1972
  • Midwest Research Institute - 1972
  • Science Fiction Exhibit - 1972
  • University Theatre - 1972
  • Western Book Exhibit - 1972
  • Box 2:
  • Early American Readers, February - 1972
  • Iowa Authors, February - 1972
  • Gift Exhibit, September - 1972
  • Midwestern Books Competition - 1973
  • Private Printing in Iowa City - 1973
  • Limited Editions Club Books, Gifts of Dr. John Martin, January - 1973
  • Lincoln, Abraham: Books on Lincoln in Other Languages, February - 1973
  • First Ladies' Letters, May - 1973
  • Iowa Authors, October - 1973
  • Frost, Robert Exhibit, March - 1974
  • Springer Collection of Typography, December-January - 1974-1975
  • Books by Iowa Authors, February-March - 1975
  • Manuscripts, April-May - 1975
  • Adelaide Anne Procter, September - 1975
  • Jane Austen and Her World, December - 1975
  • Chicago Book Clinic - 1976
  • Gibson Girl - 1976
  • Iowa Authors - 1976
  • Iowa Authors, January 23-March 15 - 1976
  • Washington and Adams- Presidential Exhibition, July-December - 1976
  • Bird and Bull Press - 1977
  • Chicago Book Clinic - 1977
  • Film Scripts - 1977
  • Iowa Authors - 1977
  • Kantor, MacKinlay Exhibit, October - 1977
  • Book of Hours, December - 1977
  • Homecoming Exhibit - 1978
  • Carl Sandburg, February - 1978
  • Books and Folios from the 19th and 20th Centuries, February 10-March 26 - 1978
  • Chicago Book Clinic, April - 1978
  • Frost, Robert Exhibit, April - 1978
  • Edgar Allen Poe, April 10-May 26 - 1978
  • Emerson Hough, May-June - 1978
  • Penumbra Press, May-June - 1978
  • Kate Greenaway Exhibit, July - 1978
  • Upton Sinclair, September - 1978
  • Union Pacific Railroad, January-March - 1979
  • Stegner, Wallace: March-April - 1979
  • Chicago Book Clinic, May - 1979
  • Facsimiles of Modern Literary Manuscripts, May-June - 1979
  • Bewick, Thomas: September - 1979
  • Ibn Batuta, September-October - 1979
  • Leaf Books Exhibit, October - 1979
  • Early English Dictionaries, November-December - 1979
  • Books By Charles Dickens, December-January - 1979-1980
  • Carl Sandburg - 1980-1981
  • Masters, Edgar Lee Portrait Exhibit - 1980-1981
  • Spirit Lake Massacre, February-March - 1980
  • The Chicago Book Clinic, 30th Annual Exhibit, 1979, March - 1980
  • Martha Washington and Dolly Madison, March-April - 1980
  • Fine Paintings from the Iowa City Area, April - 1980
  • Justice, Donald: May - 1980
  • Books First Published One Hundred Years Ago, June - 1980
  • Broadsides, August - 1980
  • Stefansson, Vilhjalmur: September-October - 1980
  • Circle of Knowledge, October - 1980
  • Catlin, George: October-November - 1980
  • Science Fiction by Three Iowa Authors - 1981
  • Aldrich, Bess Streeter: A Centennial Exhibition, February - 1981
  • Sumac Press Exhibit, March-April - 1981
  • Iowa Basketball, March-June - 1981
  • Old New York: 1625-1875, April-June - 1981
  • Autographs from the Collection of Forman and Peggy Lebold, May-June - 1981
  • SPAS Exhibit, Summer - 1981
  • Bollinger-Lincoln Exhibit, August - 1981
  • Franklin DeLano Roosevelt, February - 1982
  • Frederick Manfred, March-June - 1982
  • Breckinridge and Clay Exhibit, March-August - 1982
  • Abbatoir Exhibit, April - 1982
  • Black Hawk War, July - 1982
  • Eyerly, Jeannette: Iowa Author Exhibit, August - 1982
  • Early Humanists, October-February - 1982-1983
  • Goethe (1749-1832), November - 1982
  • Trollope, Anthony: November-December - 1982
  • Postcards, January-February - 1983
  • The Sterns Family, March-April - 1983
  • Hartzell Spence - Iowa Author Exhibit, March-June - 1983
  • Washington Irving, April - 1983
  • Treaty of Paris, April-June - 1983
  • Aesop's Fables, May - 1983
  • Sample of Books by Presidents, Summer - 1983
  • Manifest Destiny, July - 1983
  • Mormon Trek Through Iowa, July - 1983
  • Chicago Book Clinic, August-September - 1983
  • Ficke, Arthur Davidson: A Centennial Exhibition, November - 1983
  • Union Pacific Railway, December-February - 1983-1984
  • Truman, Harry: March - 1984
  • Leigh Hunt Exhibit, April - 1984
  • Brewer, Luther: April-May - 1984
  • Iowa Room: University of Iowa Library, May-January - 1984-1985
  • The Pentacrest, July-August - 1984
  • Looking Back, 1884, August-October - 1984
  • Mother Goose, December-January - 1984-1985
  • Jim Julich - 1985
  • The Inland Printer-Typography Journey: 1883-1900, January-April - 1985
  • Lewis, Sinclair: March - 1985
  • Prairie Press Exhibit, April - 1985
  • Iowa In Fact and Fiction: 30 Points of View, June - 1985
  • Chicago Book Clinic, July - 1985
  • Early Theatre at the University of Iowa, September - 1985
  • The Westward Movement, November - 1985
  • Frank Miller, January - 1986
  • The Lincoln Image, March-April - 1986
  • Engle, Paul: Books of a Poet, May-June - 1986
  • Chicago Book Clinic, August - 1986
  • Dave Hudson Davenport Exhibit, September - 1986
  • Recent Acquisitions, October-December - 1986
  • Clark, Dick: March - 1987
  • Luther College Exhibit, March 27 - 1987
  • Largely Lincoln, April - 1987
  • Paper Books Covers from the 17th Century through the Present, July - 1987
  • National Geography Awareness Week, October 15-November 21 - 1987
  • Dada, November 28-January 13 - 1987-1988
  • Where Wonder Waits - 1988
  • Rubaiyats of Omar Khayyam Exhibit, January-February - 1988
  • Modern Japanese Dance and Drama: Mirror of the Past, January 18-February 29 - 1988
  • Modern Latin American Writers, March-April - 1988
  • Iowa Women: Some Notable, March-May - 1988
  • Sweet Memories: Classes '38 and '48, June-July - 1988
  • Stong, Phil: State Fair's Creator, June-August - 1988
  • Browsing Through Iowa City, September 12-October 16 - 1988
  • The Making of A Pictorial History of the University of Iowa, September-October - 1988
  • Explore the World of Dance, October-November - 1988
  • Saving Our Books and Words, December - 1988
  • Box 3:
  • Chicago Book Clinic, January-February - 1989
  • Chronicle of Achievement: An Exhibition in Honor of the World's Women, February-March - 1989
  • Tamazunchale Press: An Exhibition of Miniature Books, March-May - 1989
  • The Arts of Barry Moser, April-May - 1989
    2 folders
  • The Golden Age of American Railroading, June 21-August 11 - 1989
  • Life at Iowa in World War II Era, July-August - 1989
  • 100 Years of Iowa Football: 1889-1989, August-October - 1989
  • Fortieth Annual Chicago Book Clinic Show, September 11-October 13 - 1989
  • The Work and Play of Adrian Wilson, November-January - 1989-1990
  • Marguerite De Angeli: A Centennial Exhibition, December 13-February 2 - 1989-1990
  • Black History Exhibit, January-February - 1990
  • Presidential Letter: The First 50 Years, February-April - 1990
  • Chicago Book Clinic, 41st Annual, March 1-April 3 - 1990
  • A. Craig Baird: An Exhibition Honoring the Father of International Debate, April 30-June 1 - 1990
  • Best Sellers of the 1890s, August-October 15 - 1990
  • Some Recent Books by Iowa Authors, October 16-November 19 - 1990
  • Edgar Allan Poe: The Haunted Imagination, November - 1990
  • Limited Editions Club Exhibit, March 11 - 1991
  • Shakespeare, Edition of, Over the Years, April 5-30 - 1991
  • Publish and Perish: Printed Ephemera and Social History Exhibition, June-August 30 - 1991
  • A Hero Perished: Nile Kinnick, September 2-November 4 - 1991
  • Women of Courage, October - 1991
  • Chicago Book Clinic, November 4-December 6 - 1991
  • Range Cattle Industry Exhibition, December 6-February 4 - 1991-1992
  • Iowa Women's Archives: Preview Exhibition, February - 1992
  • Walt Whitman: Centennial Conference, April-May 2 - 1992
  • Iowans Writing About New Mexico, May 5-July 14 - 1992
  • Ruth Suckow - An Exhibition on the Centennial of Her Birth, December - 1992
  • Chicago Book Clinic, December 23-March 4 - 1992-1993
  • The Reel Thing: Behind the Magic of Movies, March-May - 1993
  • (Nancy Drew) The Many Books of Mildred Augustine Wirt Benson, May - 1993
  • Oregon Trail: An Exhibition, June-August - 1993
  • Coffee House Press Ten Years - 1994
  • Traveling in Iowa - 1994
  • Chicago Book Clinic, Spring - 1994
  • Morrell, David, Writings of: Spring - 1994
  • Christmas Books: An Exhibition, December - 1994
  • All Aboard - 1995
  • Aldus Mantius and Aldine Press Exhibit - 1995
  • John Keats - 1995
  • Merle Armitage - 1995
  • Chicago Book Clinic, February - 1995
  • Charlotte Smith Miniatures - 1996
  • Murdoch, Iris: April-June - 1996
  • Jell-O Celebrating 100 Years, July-September - 1997
  • The Blackhawk War, October-February - 1997-1998
  • Spanish American War, May 12-July 20 - 1998
  • Henry Wallace, the Progressive Party, and the Election of 1948, July 20-October - 1998
  • Fine Press Books from the Fin de Siecle: American and the British, October-January 13 - 1998-1999
  • Prelude to Greatness: Celebrating Abraham Lincoln's 190th Birthday, January 25-March 19 - 1999
  • Some Recent Books by Iowa Authors, May 17-September - 1999
  • The Arts of Barry Moser, October-December - 1999
  • Fiery Trail: Lincoln As President, January-April 16 - 2000
  • 100 Years Ago: Life in America in 1900, April 24-June 21 - 2000
  • Ruth Suckow: "Iowa Interiors: The Writings of Ruth Suckow," June 22- August 18 - 2000
  • Fur Trade in the Trans-Mississippi West: An Exhibition of Historic Books, August 19-December 1 - 2000
  • Personal Histories: An Exhibition of Diaries, Journals, and other Biographical Efforts, February 7-May 11 - 2001
  • Taking a Roman Holiday? An Exhibition of Some Antiquarian Books on the Eternal City, May 12-June 29 - 2001
  • Charles Leland Sonnichsen "Grass roots Historian: An Exhibition," September-October - 2001
  • Aesthetics in 18th Century Europe, November 1-January 2 - 2001-2002
  • "Old Cap: Remembrance and Renewal," January-March - 2002
  • School of Religion 75th Anniversary, September-February - 2002-2003
  • Chautauqua: Culture for Everyone, February-April 1 - 2003
  • The Lewis and Clark Expedition: a Bicentennial Exhibition, 1803-1806, April 14-September - 2003
  • Materiality of Text, March-May - 2004
  • Kan tor Art 100: An Exhibition Celebrating the Writings of Iowan Mac Kinley Kantor, 1904-1977, June-September - 2004
  • 130 Years Ago: The Battle of Little Big Horn, July-August - 2006
  • "As Long As Conditions Permit: Science Fiction Fanciness During World War II," January-April - 2007
  • From Monks to Masters, June 23-October 7 - 2007
  • Series 10: BRANCHES - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS
  • Education-Psychology Library
    0.25 ft.
  • Engineering Library Bulletin
    0.25 ft.
  • Hardin Library for the Health Science on-line newsletter "News@Hardin"
    0.25 ft.
  • Hardin Library "News Notes" and staff reports, John Martin Rare Book Room support group material - 1995-2002
    0.25 ft.
  • Health Science Library
    0.25 ft.
  • Rita Benton Music Library Commencement Oration
    0.25 ft.
  • Music librarian Jody Falconer - office files
    Received June 18, 2000 and August 2000. 1.5 ft.
  • Rita Benton Music Library
    0.25 ft.
  • Mathematical Sciences Library
    1.0 ft.
  • TRAINING - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS
  • Summer library school - 1902-1929
    2.5 ft.
  • Series 11: HISTORICAL - UNPROCESSED MATERIALS, OVERSIZE BOXES 10 ft.
  • Box 1:
  • Book lists for classes, #1-999, undated
    3 volumes. Likely pre-1900
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1895-1898
  • Medical and Homeopathic Library catalogs
  • Box 3:
  • Accessions serials, 1-10,000 - 1879
    2 volumes
  • Box 4:
  • Accessions, 20,001-30,000 - 1893-1897
  • Box 5:
  • Catalog of classified titles - 1873-1874
  • List of books in departmental libraries - 1896
    1 volume
  • Talbot Library catalog - 1894
    D.H. Talbot, Sioux City, Iowa
  • Box 6:
  • Dewey Decimal Classification and Relative Index - 1899
  • Talbot Library temporary charging list - 1895
  • C.A. Cutter's Alfabetic-Order Table
  • Picture Magazine article about library expansion, November 12 - 1972
    Des Moines Register
  • Correspondence and planning points for consideration of new library - 1915-1924
  • List of Subject Headings
    pre-1900
  • List of Documents presented to S.U.I. by the Smithsonian Institution - 1873-1874
  • Unbound periodical loans - 1870-1880
  • Catalog of Books - 1869
  • Binding Lists - 1884-1887
  • Guest register - 1953-1960
  • Box 7:
  • Accessions 30,001-40,000 - 1896-1898
  • Annual reports - 1893-1898
  • Box 8:
  • Accessions, 40,001-50,000 - 1898-1899
  • Box 9:
  • Accessions 1-15,438 - 1873-1889
    3 volumes
  • Box 10:
  • Serials 10,001-20,000 - 1879-1893

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Libraries