Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the University Centennial History Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1847-1947
Creator: University Centennial History
Extent: 4.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG01.0001.005
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970. Collection originally listed as Harrison John Thornton Papers. Finding aid created February 2008.

Preferred Citation: University Centennial History Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

In anticipation of the State University of Iowa's centennial in 1947, Prof. Harrison John Thornton of the SUI history department assigned students to research, compile and write a series of brief historical sketches pertaining to campus history. Some of these titles were further developed as master's theses by their authors and are listed by subject in the online Bibliography of University of Iowa History.

In addition to essays about various subjects of University of Iowa history, the University Centennial History Papers include supporting documents such as correspondence, drafts and notes between the editor and authors.
Folder, "Thornton, Harrison John," in Faculty and Staff Vertical File Collection (RG01.0015.003)

Historical Papers Collection, University Archives (RG01.0001.003)

Centennial Memoirs series (Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1947)

Gerber, John C. A Pictorial History of the University of Iowa (Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1988; 2005).

Persons, Stow. The University of Iowa in the Twentieth Century: An Institutional History (Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1990)

Scott, John Beldon and Rodney Lehnertz. The University of Iowa Guide to Campus Architecture (Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 2006)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Centennial Memoirs Correspondence
  • General Correspondence on History of University of Iowa
  • Box 2:
  • Notes on University History
  • Tentative Outline for History
  • Dissertation Abstracts of SUI History
  • Boxes 3-6:
  • Notes on University History
  • Box 7:
  • University of Iowa History Notes

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa General Information and University History