UI Collection Guides -Ida R Chamness Papers, 1955

Guide to the Ida R Chamness Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:	1955
Creator:	Chamness, Ida R (1867-1952)
Extent:	.12 linear feet.
Collection Number:	MSC0751
Repository:	University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary:	Ida Chamness was born in Norway and moved to Iowa in 1900, where she was very active in the Society of Friends. This collection includes a manuscript memoir, transcribed by her daughter, and an appeal to the Yearly Meeting of Friends.

Administrative Information

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Acquisition: This collection was a gift of Jennie A. Chamness.

Preferred Citation: Ida R Chamness Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository:	University of Iowa Special Collections
Address:	Special Collections Department University of Iowa Libraries Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone:	319-335-5921
Curator:	Greg Prickman
Email:	lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website:	http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Biographical Note

Ida Chamness was born in 1867 in Kvinesdale, Norway, and died April 5, 1952. In 1900 she moved to Marshall County, Iowa; and in 1907 she moved to Cedar County, Iowa. She was very active in the Society of Friends.

Content Description

This collection consists of a handwritten manuscript, transcribed by her daughter Pauline, of part of Ida Chamness's biography and a printed booklet addressed to the Conservative Friends of Iowa.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:

Series 1: GENERAL
Box 1:
Preface
"A Description of Rural Life in Norway, Europe" by Ida Roseland Chamness
This was written in answer to a request of a friend, to be read before a group of women with the items mentioned for demonstration.
Joel Johnson and sons and Ida Chamness's letters and accounts of religious concerns and travels in the U.S.A. and in England, Scotland, Wales, and Norway and on the Atlantic Ocean and North Sea
Ina Chamness's account of her and her mother's (Ida R. Chamness) trip to Norway
Amelia Opie's [Opia's?] Farewell to Music
Some Account of John Mercer's Case
"An Appeal to the Iowa Yearly Meeting of Conservative Friends for Correction of their Unjust Dealings with Ida R. Chamness"

Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.

Personal Names:
Chamness, Ida Roiseland, 1867-1952

Corporate Names:
Society of Friends

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- West Branch