Guide to the Clarence Updegraff Labor Arbitration Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1922-1975
Creator: Updegraff, Clarence (1893-1978)
Extent: 36.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0484
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Professional papers and academic records.

Administrative Information

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 3-5, 12, and 16.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Gift of Clarence Updegraff, Sr. in 1968. This was supplemented in 1994 by a gift from Ms. Updegraff Hardt.

Preferred Citation: Clarence Updegraff Labor Arbitration Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Biographical Note

Clarence Milton Updegraff was born June 10, 1893 in Dallas Center, Iowa, son of Milton and Ada Adams Updegraff. He graduated from the University of Iowa College of Law in 1916. In 1918 he became a professor of law at George Washington University. In that same year he married Erna Busse. In 1924 he became a teaching fellow at Harvard University where, in 1925, he obtained his S.J.D. degree. In 1926 he returned to Iowa City to teach law at the University. He served as Vice-President and assistant to the President of the UI from 1934 -- 1938. He served as assistant attorney general of the state of Iowa from 1933 -- 1937.
 
Erna died in 1963. In 1964, Updegraff moved to California to teach law at the University of California - Hastings College of Law. He married Helen Hart Weber in 1971 and retired from teaching in 1972.
 
Updegraff wrote Regulation of Public Utilities in Iowa and co-authored the first edition of Arbitration of Labor Disputes. He is the sole author of the second and third editions of this book.
 
Updegraff died in 1978.


Content Description

This collection consists of Updegraff's professional papers which encompasses such things as his correspondence, speeches, exams, court briefs, materials for practice courts, etc.

Related Materials

Records of the Labor Center

Papers of John C. Pryor

Labor History Resources in the University of Iowa Libraries, The State Historical Society of Iowa/Iowa City and the Herbert Hoover Presidential Library

Faculty Vertical File, Archives, Special Collections

Records of the College of Law

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Updegraff, Clarence M. (Clarence Milton), 1893-1978

Occupations:
Attorneys general
Law teachers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches
Archives
Briefs (Legal documents)
Examinations (Documents)
Professional papers
Correspondence