Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Community activists - 38 hits

Ruth Salzmann Becker papers
Nurse and community activist in Iowa City who, as a young Jewish woman, fled Nazi Germany in 1939 and emigrated to the United States.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Virginia Becker papers
Scrapbooks of Bremer County, Iowa, Farm Bureau woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosalie Braverman papers
Braverman recalls her childhood in Youthful Journeys in Poland and Germany. An oral history interview, conducted in 1996, concerns student family life, the Jewish community in Iowa City, and anti-Semitism.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Carpenter papers
Republican who served in Iowa House of Representatives from 1980 to 1994.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Tess Catalano papers
Human rights activist, singer and song writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Roxanne Barton Conlin papers
Attorney and political activist who co-founded the Iowa Women's Political Caucus and was appointed Federal Prosecutor in 1977.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Aldeen Davis papers
Muscatine, Iowa, newspaper columnist active in arts, civic, educational, and religious organizations.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cornelia Shrauger Day papers
Educated in journalism and law. Washington, Iowa, resident active in YWCA, Planned Parenthood and UNICEF.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Dickens papers
Community activist, volunteer, and poet in Waterloo.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Beverly Everett papers
Family farmer, volunteer, and community activist who served on U.S. National Commission for UNESCO and the International Women's Year Commission.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Barbara Flanagan papers
Reporter, women's page editor, and columnist for the Minneapolis Star and Tribune from the 1940s until 1988.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Wilbourn Gerber papers
Clubwoman and activist who lived in Chicago, Albany, New York, and Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Louise Goldman papers
Public servant, feminist activist, and poet from Davenport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lileah Harris papers
Professional volunteer active in several arts, civic, educational, and religious organizations in Cedar Rapids.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carol Hodne papers
Iowa farm activist who served as the first executive director of the North American Farm Alliance during the farm crisis of the 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Irene Hoover papers
Farmwoman, 4-H leader, and volunteer who was active in the Farm Bureau and the Master Farm Homemakers Guild.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Arlene Jens papers
Nurse, abortion rights activist and educator from Fairfield, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Faith Knowler papers
Johnson County community activist from the 1970s to 1990s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lois Laughlin papers
Papers of an activist from West Branch, Iowa, include correspondence and newspaper clippings relating to her husband's status as a conscientious objector.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Laughlin papers
Social activist and writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lemme Family papers
Traces the family history of Helen Lemme, a civil rights activist who was named Iowa City's first Woman of the Year in 1955.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joan Lipsky papers
Iowa legislator and community acitvisit from Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Billie D. Lloyd papers
Social worker, community activist, and civic administrator who founded the Quad Cities Conference on Black Families, Inc.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bettie McKenzie papers
Community activist from Red Oak, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Martha Nash papers
Civil rights activist, community and religious leader, she was executive director of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Education and Vocational Training in Waterloo.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joyce Nielsen papers
Feminist, legislator and community activist who worked in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ericka Peterson-Dana papers
Organic farmer and activist in Poweshiek County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Olabelle Reed papers
Teacher, community activist, and co-founder of Club Les Dames, an African American women's club in Waterloo.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ernest Rodriguez papers
Davenport civil rights and Chicano activist, born in the predominantly Mexican settlement of Holy City in Bettendorf, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Scharnau papers
Teacher and community activist who was a founding member of the Dubuque National Organization for Women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean and John L. Schneiders papers
Davenport community and civil rights activists during the 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Schramm papers
Human rights advocate from Burlington, Iowa who was active in local and international issues, particularly UNA-USA and the League of Women Voters.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jacqueline Scott papers
Elementary schoolteacher in Keokuk, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Aaron Silander papers
Iowa City feminist and activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Velma Stuit scrapbooks
Wife of Dean of University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and organizer of Newcomers Club in 1938 and International Wives Club in 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carrie V. Talcott papers
Active clubwoman, Methodist, writer and farmer from Fayette County who spent 19 years in a retirement home in Fort Dodge.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Terronez papers
Davenport area community activist and leader in its Mexican American community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marta Werner papers
Native of Mexico who came to Fort Madison, Iowa in 1914. Her community activism centered on the Iowa State Penitentiary in Fort Madison.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives