Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Immigrant families - 15 hits

Amy Sophia Auer papers
Photocopied memoir of the Olson and Auer families who emigrated from Norway in the nineteenth century and settled in Northwood, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nancy De Vries Blom papers
Dutch immigrant who came to the United States in 1915 as a young child and lived on a farm in northwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Antonia and Frederico Lopez papers
Mexican couple from the state of Guanajuato who settled permanently in Iowa in the 1910s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Adella Martinez papers
A former resident of Cook's Point, Davenport, whose parents emigrated from Mexico to the United States in the early 1900s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Maria Cano Martinez papers
Maria Cano came to Iowa from Guanajuato, Mexico, with her parents in 1928. She established a Spanish language interpreter program at the University of Iowa Hospitals in 1975.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Reese Family Papers
Business documents, correspondence and travel ephemera of the Reese Family from Turin, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ernest Rodriguez papers
Davenport civil rights and Chicano activist, born in the predominantly Mexican settlement of Holy City in Bettendorf, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Schaefer papers
A Latin teacher who served as friend and mentor to Vietnamese refugees in the Iowa City community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Shediwy Scheetz memoir
The youngest daughter of immigrants reflects on growing up in Iowa towns during the Depression.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Augusta Gustafson Swanson correspondence
Swedish immigrant who moved to Iowa in 1889. (In Swedish with English translations.)
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Florence Vallejo Terronez papers
The family came to Horton, Kansas, from Mexico in 1910 and moved to West Des Moines in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Terronez papers
Davenport area community activist and leader in its Mexican American community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bertha Korn Tucker papers
Writer and life-long student who was active in the Sisterhood (Jewish aid society) at the Beth El Jacob Synagogue in Des Moines and Hadassah, a national organization aiding disadvantaged Jews, primarily children.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mabel Korver Van Haaften memoir
Dutch-American farmwoman in early nineteenth century Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Van Zante and De Cook Families papers
Late 19th century diary of adolescent Dutch-American farm girl and 1932 farm diary of her daughter-in-law.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives