Hilda Ellyson Allen papers
The papers consist largely of correspondence between Hilda and George Allen and their three children and cover a broad range of family, social and political issues.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Nancy V. "Rusty" Barceló papers
Activist and administrator at the University of Iowa whose papers provide insight into Latino life and culture in Iowa and across the Midwest.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bean Family Papers
Dr. Asa Bean was a physician with 114th Ohio Volunteers during the Civil War. Primarily correspondence between members of the Bean family.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Mildred Augustine Wirt Benson papers
Journalist for the Toledo Blade and writer of the first Nancy Drew mysteries and other children's series books; collection includes writings, clippings, scrapbooks and a few photographs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
June Lundy Boyd papers
Memoir describes growing up and teaching in southwestern Iowa, Lundy's wartime wedding and subsequent life in Knoxville, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Susan Boyd papers
Journalist and writer who published several articles in Mademoiselle. She also served as University of Iowa First Lady from 1969-1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helen Andrews Brown scrapbook
The scrapbook and memory book describe her years as a Latin student at the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa).
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Robert Morriss Browning Papers
World War I letters to students at the University of Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Rosetta M. Byers papers
University of Iowa student from 1914-1918.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marion Jones Clark papers
Bacteriologist and assistant professor at the University of Iowa, 1940s to ca. 1960.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gladys Conn papers
Social worker and State University of Iowa graduate from Marne, Iowa, whose papers include diaries and family correspondence.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Allin Dakin Papers
Administrative dean at the University of Iowa (1944-1974). Correspondence, notebooks, and speeches relating to Dakin's many civic interests and activities. Topics included are Rotary International, Boy Scouts of America, and U of I.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Esther Sietmann Warner Dendel papers
Author and artist from Laurel, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Nadine Domond papers
Hawkeye women's basketball star, WNBA player and entrepreneur.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ethel Roberta Douglass papers
West Branch, Iowa, resident who graduated from the University of Iowa in 1921 with a B.A. in geology.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Paul Engle Papers
Poet (numerous books from Worn Earth, 1932), editor of the O. Henry Prize Stories, 1954-1959, director of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, 1941-1967, and co-founder and director of the International Writers' Program, 1967-1976 at the University of Iowa. Literary manuscripts, correspondence, subject files, and student works documenting his career as a writer and teacher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Beverly Barnes Fix Papers
Television and radio broadcaster, producer and writer who worked in Iowa and Hollywood in the 1940s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Fuller papers
The first female pilot in Appanoose County and active in the local Democratic Party.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Gantz papers
Three student research papers on mid-19th century medical education at the University of Iowa written by Mary Gantz.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Adelia St. John Gates papers
Graduate of Genesee College in New York who moved to Waterloo, Iowa as a bride.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Wilbourn Gerber papers
Clubwoman and activist who lived in Chicago, Albany, New York, and Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth Anna Gernes papers
Educator and Red Cross worker.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Archie L. Greene papers
Writer and volunteer who earned a doctorate in English from the University of Iowa while living with spinocerebellar degeneration.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Geraldine Greenlee papers
Received her master's degree from the Department of Physical Education for Women at the State University of Iowa in 1952.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Esther Mae Christensen Grow memoir
Reflections on growing up in western Iowa and Nebraska include experiences in country school, college and as a teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Eleanor Gildner Hageboeck papers
University of Iowa alumna and clubwoman. She wrote a column for the Iowa City Press Citizen during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Virginia Harper papers
One of five African American women who integrated Currier Hall at the University of Iowa in 1946. Former president of the Fort Madison chapter of the NAACP.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Catherine Snedeker Hill papers
Illinois student who moved to Mt. Pleasant, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joseph Homer Howe Papers
University of Iowa alumnus of Civil Engineering in 1890. Correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Doris Bender Hughes papers
Student who attended the University of Iowa in 1940 and later became a teacher and child-welfare worker.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Iowa Women Judges Project papers
Oral history interviews with the 'pioneers' of Iowa's women jurists.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marilyn E. (Harris) Jackson papers
Muscatine, Iowa, writer who taught writing to senior citizens.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lulu Merle Johnson papers
An African American woman from Gravity, Iowa, who earned an MA in 1930 and a PhD in 1941 in American history from the State University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
David Tracy Jones Papers
University of Iowa student 1920s. Notes for Zoology classes.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Leah A. Jones papers
Chicago native and graduate of the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Frederick W. Kent Photograph Collection
The collection relates to most areas of the University of Iowa, including individuals, departments, and buildings.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Bonnie Kern papers
Iowa author who was a victim of sexual and physical abuse, served time in jail and eventually was pardoned.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean Kern papers
Professor of English and an independent scholar who taught in the Middle East and Eastern Europe as well as in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Keyes papers
Professor of Home Economics at the University of Iowa and nationally recognized leader in the field of historic preservation.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Nile C. Kinnick Papers
Student leader, scholar, and athlete from Iowa. Correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, speeches, photographs, articles, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Helen Larson papers
Anamosa and Iowa City resident who worked for the The University of Iowa Hospital.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Laughlin papers
Social activist and writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alberta Evelyn Swan Lehman papers
Correspondence and scrapbook of student years at Simpson Conservatory in Indianola, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joy Smith Lewallen memoir
This is My Story, This is My Song, unpublished memoir.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marion Cox Lichty papers
Waterloo, Iowa native who served in the Women's Army Auxiliary Corps during World War II and then in the United States Air Force Reserve.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mae Irene Ludemann papers
High school history teacher who traveled to Europe in 1929 and recorded her experiences in a diary.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helena Jongewaard McDonald papers
Teacher who attended Iowa State College in 1914.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lola Jean McNall papers
University of Iowa student who was active in the YWCA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edna Means papers
Characterist and dramatic reader, and chatauqua performer from Tama, Iowa organized her own talent agency.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marie Schultz Meyer papers
Postville, Iowa, native who graduated from the University of Iowa School of Nursing in 1940.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marion Miller Papers
State University of Iowa student, 1939-1943. Journals.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Dorothy Misbach papers
Educator whose lifelong career of working with partially seeing and blind students began in 1938 at the Perkins School for the Blind in Massachussetts.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Ellen Moore papers
High school English teacher from Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ione Mulnix papers
Correspondence of a student at the State University of Iowa in Iowa City with her family in Dows, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary C. Neuhauser papers
Democrat who served four terms in the Iowa House and one four-year term in the Senate (1986-1998).
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Off and Holsteen Family papers
Two generations of an eastern Iowa family, many generations of which attended the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Parden papers
University of Iowa graduate who worked as secretary to four University of Iowa presidents.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Roberta Pendleton papers
Sioux City, Iowa resident who was a WAVE during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Rhonda Penquite papers
Professional basketball player and coach who played for the Iowa Cornets and the New Mexico Energee.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Pi Lambda Theta, Theta Chapter records
Honorary society for women students in the field of education.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Prentiss Family papers
The family came to Iowa City in 1905 when Henry Prentiss established the Anatomy Department at the State University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Charles H. Preston Papers
University of Iowa student 1866-1873. Notes for two classes taught by Gustavus Hinrichs.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Rainbow Project Task Force records
1996 University of Iowa task force with the goal of reviewing university policies and the campus climate and making recommendations for a more welcoming climate for LGBT individuals.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Shirley Rich papers
Casting director who worked for Rodgers and Hammerstein; founded Shirley Rich Casting in 1969.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth Miller Richards papers
Politician and women's rights activist from Red Oak, Iowa,who ran for Iowa state representative in 1966.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gladys Talcott Rife papers
Mt.Vernon, Iowa high school teacher who later owned and directed The Depot Museum in Fayette County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Hazel Rogers papers
Teacher who attended the Iowa State Teachers College between 1939 and 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Abbie Romey papers
Actress, homemaker, and 1928 graduate of the State University of Iowa in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marilyn Preheim Rose papers
Professor of Anthropology and Women's Studies at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Rubenstein papers
Federal Civil Service employee who graduated from the University of Iowa School of Journalism and Communication in 1932.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Betty Rugen Schutter papers
Scrapbook and correspondence to her parents during her student years at the State University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lucille Schwilck papers
1939 graduate from the State University of Iowa College of Law who worked for the U. S. Department of the Interior between 1943 and 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary McDermott Shideler papers
Theologian, writer and lecturer whose work encompassed religious theology, philosophy and psychology.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Virginia Tanner Simonsen papers
Cherokee, Iowa-born woman who enrolled at Iowa State College in home economics and later moved to Quimby, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bernadine Solberg papers
Engineering clerk, weaver, photographer, and traveler from Boone, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
C. Pauline Spencer papers
An outstanding athlete and the first woman to receive an athletic letter at the University of Iowa.She graduated in 1923.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Verna Moulton Spencer papers
Maquoketa, Iowa, native who owned and operated Spencer's Harmony Hall with her husband from 1912 to 1962.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Everett E. Sterner Papers
University of Iowa student, 1934-1940. Sterner documented UI cooperative dorms of this period. Photographs and notes.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Harriet Adeline Stevens papers
Teacher of nutrition education and dietetics; U. S. Army Second Lieutenant who served as a medical hospital dietician at Camp Gordon, Georgia during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Stong Family papers
Correspondence of Alice Stong details her undergraduate experiences at The University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Judith Sutcliffe papers
Tile artist and printer who formed Greentree Enterprises in Audubon, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
The Sweatshop Chronicles scrapbook
Activities of the Iowa City chapter of the national organization, Students Against Sweatshops.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Swope and DeLand Families papers
Family papers and subject files concerning women artists, women writers, and peace activism in Northwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helen Lee Hensleigh Wenger papers
University of Iowa graduate and teacher whose papers include correspondence and scrapbook files relating to her work on a variety of social issues including gun control.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives