Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Women - 106 hits

Eileen Albaugh papers
Junior high school teacher who taught in Tipton and Wellsburg, Iowa, and died of polio.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bess Aldrich papers
Twentieth-century writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Delvena Anderson papers
Diary of a trip from Iowa City through eastern Canada.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Hazel Beck Andre papers
Memoir written by Iowa native dying of cancer in 1956.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Audubon Society of Manchester (Iowa) records
Eastern Iowa women's study and social club.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Bamford papers
Professional photographer from Muscatine.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nancy V. "Rusty" Barcelo papers
Activist and administrator at the University of Iowa whose papers provide insight into Latino life and culture in Iowa and across the Midwest.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carrie Kelly Beatty papers
Young woman who came to Hancock County, Iowa in 1868; her experiences were recorded in the book, A Prairie Rose, by Bertha E. Bush.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Salzmann Becker papers
Nurse and community activist in Iowa City who, as a young Jewish woman, fled Nazi Germany in 1939 and emigrated to the United States.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mildred Augustine Wirt Benson papers
Journalist for the Toledo Blade and writer of the first Nancy Drew mysteries and other children's series books; collection includes writings, clippings, scrapbooks and a few photographs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Janice A. Beran papers
Professor in the College of Education at Iowa State University until her retirement in 1994. Materials relate to the history of sports and particularly the participation of women and African-Americans in Iowa sports.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Leola Bergmann papers
Scholar, writer and artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Vern Berry papers
Newspaper columnist who co-authored a book entitled, ?Roots and Recipes: Six Generations of Heartland Cookery.?
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Best Ever Club (Percival, Iowa) records
A women's study club in Percival, Iowa that was founded in 1922.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nellie Bishop oral history
Buchanan County, Iowa, native who farmed with her husband.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Black Hawk County Democratic Women's Organization (Iowa) records
The group formed in 1956 to help elect Democratic candidates.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Black Hawk County Women's Political Caucus records
Organized in 1973, members supported a number of feminist initiatives including economic equalty and the ERA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Talcott Boedecker papers
Teacher with Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1941-1963; vocational counselor and tourism advocate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Molly Bolin papers
Professional basketball player from Moravia, Iowa who played for Iowa Cornets from 1978 to 1981 and for San Francisco and Columbus Ohio teams until 1984.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Bonfiglio papers
Member of the Unitarian Universalist Society of Iowa City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nellie Booker papers
Newspaper reporter and author of poems and essays. The collection includes scrapbooks and photograph albums.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Boone Township Women's Club (Wright County, Iowa) records
The club was organized in 1911 for the social and intellectual benefit of the ladies of Boone and the surrounding area.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Booster Women's Club (Fort Madison, Iowa) records
Social and philanthropic club organized in 1947 by African American women in Fort Madison, Iowa
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marlene Booth Papers
Jewish independent filmmaker raised in Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lois Boulware papers
Physician in the University of Iowa Student Health Department, who established the Patient Advocacy Program at University Hospitals after marrying and having a child.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Susan Boyd papers
Journalist and writer who published several articles in Mademoiselle. She also served as University of Iowa First Lady from 1969-1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alice Sophia Brant papers
Diaries of this homemaker and mother who helped manage the family's funeral home in Oelwein.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Branyan papers
Letters From Egypt by Helen Baird Branyan consists primarily of Clarice Bloomfield's letters, written between 1920 and 1938. The letters describe the life of an Albia, Iowa, girl who became a missionary in Egypt.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosalie Braverman papers
Braverman recalls her childhood in Youthful Journeys in Poland and Germany. An oral history interview, conducted in 1996, concerns student family life, the Jewish community in Iowa City, and anti-Semitism.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bridging the Generations: the Lives and Contributions of Rural Iowa Women records
This exhibit was created by the Master Farm Homemakers Guild to publicize their history in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lela Powers Briggs papers
An artist who farmed with her husband near La Porte, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Andrews Brown scrapbook
The scrapbook and memory book describe her years as a Latin student at the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa).
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Paula Watts Brown papers
Civic leader in Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Brubaker papers
Des Moines television reporter and producer. The papers include materials about Brubaker's grandmother who worked for the Des Moines Police Department in the 1920s and 1930s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Irene Coleman Buckley memoir
A Handful of Rain: The Life of Irene Buckley, describes her life as a teacher, wife, mother, librarian, and volunteer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carolyn "Kay" Bucksbaum papers
Civic activist involved in the Jewish community, the Des Moines symphony, the League of Women Voters, and the Proteus Club.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Suzanne Bunkers papers
This English professor's academic publications include work on women's history and diaries, and her own diaries reflect both her professional development and her personal life.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Betty M. Burger papers
Congressional caseworker from 1967 until 2007.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Norma Peg Burke papers
Physical education professor at the University of Iowa and past president of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women, 1976-1977.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ella Bushnell-Hamlin papers
Early suffragist and owner of Trident Publishing Company in Davenport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosetta M. Byers papers
University of Iowa student from 1914-1918.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cornelia Cameron papers
Internationally recognized peat geologist from Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Campaign to Add Women to the Iowa Constitution records
Organization formed to work for passage of Iowa state ERA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Thelma Carmichael papers
An illustrated booklet promoting a playpen designed by Carmichael’s father.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cary Club of Marion, Iowa records
Women's study club founded in 1878 in Marion, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

La Casa Latina (Sioux City, Iowa)
Non-profit organization that helped recent Latino immigrants and non-English speakers in the Siouxland area obtain human services, healthcare, housing, and other basic needs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cedar Investors (Cedar County, Iowa) records
A women's investment club organized to invest the assets of the partnership solely in stocks, bonds, and securities, for the education and benefit of the partners.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Amy Clampitt Papers
Poet: Kingfisher (1983), Manhattan: An Elegy (UI Center for the Book, 1990), MacArthur Fellow, 1992, Collected Poems (1997). Correspondence and typescripts of some of her writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Clinton County Women's Political Caucus records
Local branch of the Iowa Women's Political Caucus.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

The Clionian Club (Davenport, Iowa) records
Women's study group which originated in 1874.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Barbara Coffin papers
City hostess and policewoman from Waterloo, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Wilma Belden Collins papers
Grimes, Iowa, newspaper columnist and editor.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gladys Conn papers
Social worker and State University of Iowa graduate from Marne, Iowa, whose papers include diaries and family correspondence.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Conner papers
University of Iowa Home Economics graduate who worked as a nutritionist for the New York City Department of Public Health from 1943 to1971.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cecile Cooper papers
Civil rights worker in Davenport.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marguerite Cothorn papers
Social worker and political activist, who served on the Iowa Civil Rights Commission from 1983 to 1984.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Louise Crawford papers
Composer and professor of Music Theory at Coe College.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Millicent Mary Cuplin papers
Mathematics teacher at East High School in Des Moines who started the school's first ball team.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rowene Danbom papers
Journalist who worked at the International News Service in Des Moines, Iowa during World War II and became its first woman bureau chief.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Patricia Filipowska papers
Poet and native of Burlington, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Giving Voice to their Memories: Oral Histories of African American Women in Iowa
Oral history project of the Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Johnie Hammond papers
Democratic representative and senator in the Iowa legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joan Hemm papers
Records of the Shady Ladies, a Colorado based historical performance organization founded by Hemm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa City Women's Press records
Iowa City publisher and printer of lesbian and feminist books that existed from 1973 to 1985.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Commission on the Status of Women records
The records include publications, legislative correspondence and the Write Women Back into History essays of middle and high school students in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs records
Nondenominational and nonpartisan organization bringing Iowa women's clubs together.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Woman Endeavors Inc. records
Literary magazine founded in 1979 to promote the artistic works and opinions of women in the Midwest.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Women Artists Oral History Project
Oral histories and transcripts. Collection of 77 oral histories of Iowa women artists conducted by Jane Robinette in 1998-1999.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Women Judges Project papers
Oral history interviews with the 'pioneers' of Iowa's women jurists.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Women's Foundation records
Women's organization to fund and assist programs that create opportunities for women and girls in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Women's Hall of Fame records
Established by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women in 1975 to recognize the contributions of Iowa women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Women's Political Caucus records
Organization to promote the advancement of women in politics.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nannie Kern papers
One autograph book presented to Kern as a girl in 1864.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Mae Kessler photo album
Photograph album, undated. Scenes of children and young adults, apparently in Iowa City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joy Neal Kidney newspaper articles
Freelance writer from West Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Lou Kirk scrapbook
Created by Kirk, when she belonged to the Glad Girls of Grove 4-H chapter in Grove Township, Cass County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Brooke Lambert Papers
English clergyman and social reformer. Made up of letters written to Lambert over a forty year time span dealing with issues such as women's suffrage, the welfare of the poor and orphaned, colonialism, pulpit freedom, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ruth Laughlin papers
Social activist and writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joan Liffring-Zug photographs
Iowa photographer and publisher of many regional and national photographic books.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joan Lipsky papers
Iowa legislator and community acitvisit from Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ina Loewenberg papers
Research materials for her book, The View From 70: Women's Recollections and Reflections, published in 2004.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alta Martin papers
Homemaker and mother of five who received her private pilot license in 1963.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bettie McKenzie papers
Community activist from Red Oak, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Midwest Women's Studies Association records
Regional branch of the National Women's Studies Association.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruby Crumley Mitchell diaries
Daily diaries of this Rhodes, Iowa, native.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Ellen Moore papers
High school English teacher from Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ione Mulnix papers
Correspondence of a student at the State University of Iowa in Iowa City with her family in Dows, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Martha Nash papers
Civil rights activist, community and religious leader, she was executive director of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Education and Vocational Training in Waterloo.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Linda Kinney Neuman papers
Served for over twenty years in the Iowa judiciary and was the first woman to be appointed to the Iowa Supreme Court.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Noble Photograph collection
Postcards and photographs of Iowa includes the work of professional women photographers in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Paisley Family Diaries Collection
Diaries of John and Chloe Paisley. John served in the 10th Ohio Volunteer Cavalry in the Civil War, and later lived in Burlington, Iowa. Also includes diaries kept by Mabel Paisley and Susan Swan Lippitt.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dorothy Paul papers
Iowa City peace activist and educator who was executive director of the UNA-USA Iowa Division from 1976 to 1996.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Prentiss Family papers
The family came to Iowa City in 1905 when Henry Prentiss established the Anatomy Department at the State University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rainbow Project Task Force records
1996 University of Iowa task force with the goal of reviewing university policies and the campus climate and making recommendations for a more welcoming climate for LGBT individuals.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Schanke papers
Des Moines woman who organized a support group for spouses of lesbians and gays in 1994.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shelton Family Papers
Diaries of Mary E. Shelton and Rhode Maenad Shelton describing their nursing experience with Annie Wittenmeyer during the Civil War and at the Hospital for the Insane in Mount Pleasant, Iowa; also the Civil War diary of Orteus Carnefix Shelton, lieutenant of the 45th Regiment of Iowa Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Aaron Silander papers
Iowa City feminist and activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Louise Smith papers
First woman to chair the Republican National Committee, serving from 1974 to 1977. Co-founder of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Walling Family letters
Oskaloosa family whose daughter Ivyl Walling Welton graduated from Grinnell College and moved to Tulsa, Oklahoma
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jane Alison Weiss papers
Assistant Professor of Sociology at the University of Iowa, 1978-1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women Against Racism Committee (Iowa City, Iowa) records
Multiethnic group founded in 1981 by women from the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women Aware, Inc. (Sioux City, Iowa) records
Women Aware, Inc. is a non-profit organization located in Sioux City, Iowa, which was started in 1979. Its primary focus is on displaced homemakers and single parent homemakers, providing advocacy, education, information, counseling, referral and support.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women's Activities Reports, Iowa, records
Report on the actvities of Iowa women compiled under the direction of the University of Iowa History Department in the 1940s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women's History Project (Diocese of Sioux City, Iowa) interviews
Interviews with members of the St. Joseph Catholic Church in Sioux City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women's Resource and Action Center records
Women's center established in 1970 to serve the university and community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women, Food and Agriculture Network listserv records
Organization connecting women with progressive approaches to agriculture.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives