Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Immigrants - 15 hits

Benita Allen papers
Russian immigrant recalls her childhood in Russia , World War I and the 1917 revolution.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Leola Bergmann papers
Scholar, writer and artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nancy De Vries Blom papers
Dutch immigrant who came to the United States in 1915 as a young child and lived on a farm in northwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosalie Braverman papers
Braverman recalls her childhood in Youthful Journeys in Poland and Germany. An oral history interview, conducted in 1996, concerns student family life, the Jewish community in Iowa City, and anti-Semitism.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

La Casa Latina (Sioux City, Iowa)
Non-profit organization that helped recent Latino immigrants and non-English speakers in the Siouxland area obtain human services, healthcare, housing, and other basic needs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Antonia and Federico Lopez papers
Mexican couple from the state of Guanajuato who settled permanently in Iowa in the 1910s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Adella Martinez papers
A former resident of Cook's Point, Davenport, whose parents emigrated from Mexico to the United States in the early 1900s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Maria Cano Martinez papers
Maria Cano came to Iowa from Guanajuato, Mexico, with her parents in 1928. She established a Spanish language interpreter program at the University of Iowa Hospitals in 1975.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ernest Rodriguez papers
Davenport civil rights and Chicano activist, born in the predominantly Mexican settlement of Holy City in Bettendorf, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Maria Rundquist papers
Sioux City business owner and political activist who emigrated to the United States from Mexico in 1978.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Schaefer papers
A Latin teacher who served as friend and mentor to Vietnamese refugees in the Iowa City community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Shediwy Scheetz memoir
The youngest daughter of immigrants reflects on growing up in Iowa towns during the Depression.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Augusta Gustafson Swanson correspondence
Swedish immigrant who moved to Iowa in 1889. (In Swedish with English translations.)
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Florence Vallejo Terronez papers
The family came to Horton, Kansas, from Mexico in 1910 and moved to West Des Moines in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Terronez papers
Davenport area community activist and leader in its Mexican American community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives