Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Democratic Party (Iowa) - 36 hits

Sewell E. Allen Papers
Attorney and Iowa state legislator. Subject files and correspondence concerning his business, family and political career. The bulk of the papers consists of correspondence dealing with business conditions during the 1920s and WWII, politics, and family life.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Raymond W. Baxter Papers
Chairman of the Iowa Stevenson for President Committee in 1956. Campaign and convention materials, correspondence and newspaper clippings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frederick Elliott Biermann Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, and campaign material relating to his years in the Congress.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Black Hawk County Democratic Women's Organization (Iowa) records
The group formed in 1956 to help elect Democratic candidates.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edward J. Breen Papers
Iowa state legislator, attorney, and broadcasting station executive. Senate bills, correspondence, speeches, and subject files ranging from the Democratic Party to the Townsend National Recovery Plan document his career in Iowa 's state senate.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jeanne Bridenstine papers
First woman elected chairperson of the Jasper County Democratic Central Committee in 1972.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lucille Ketchum Carter papers
1936 graduate of the School of Nursing at the State University of Iowa who was active in Democratic politics and whose correspondence includes round robin letters.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Steven V. Carter Papers
Attorney and U.S. Representative from Iowa . Subject files relating to his year in Congress and his earlier political and legal career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Kathleen Halloran Chapman papers
Attorney and Democrat who served in the Iowa House of Representatives from 1983 to 1992 and again in 1996.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gertrude Cohen papers
Member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1965-1966, and the first Jewish woman elected to the Iowa Legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Roxanne Barton Conlin papers
Attorney and political activist who co-founded the Iowa Women's Political Caucus and was appointed Federal Prosecutor in 1977.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Democratic Activist Women's Network, District 1 records
Organization created to recruit, educate, and elect Democratic women to public office in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Fuller papers
The first female pilot in Appanoose County and active in the local Democratic Party.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

James V. Gallagher Papers
Iowa state legislator. Correspondence and subject files relating to his service in the Iowa house and senate. Issues range from abortion to apportionment, however Gallagher's primary interest were energy and conservation.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Johnie Hammond papers
Democratic representative and senator in the Iowa legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Beverly A. Hannon papers
Two-term Iowa state senator. Hannon chaired the Human Resources Committee and was instrumental in founding the Iowa Women's Foundation in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John R. Hansen Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, subject files, films, and sound recordings from his term in Congress.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Patricia Harper papers
Iowa State Representative and Senator who served in the legislature from 1987 to 2002.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Clyde L. Herring Papers
Governor and U.S. Senator from Iowa. The papers primarily consist of political speeches and correspondence on topics ranging from neutrality to the Democratic conventions.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Harold E. Hughes Gubernatiorial Papers
Governor and U.S. Senator from Iowa. Gubernatorial and senatorial office files relating to his political career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nelson G. Kraschel Papers
Governor and Lieutenant Governor of Iowa. Papers relating to his political career and terms in office. Subject files include campaign materials, correspondence, speeches, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Herschel C. Loveless Papers
Governor of Iowa. Most of the papers relate to the 1960 gubernatorial race with correspondence, campaign materials, and speeches. There are also scrapbooks and office files.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edward A. McDermott Papers
Lawyer, co-chairman of Iowans for Kennedy (1960), and director of the Office of Emergency Planning, 1962-1965. Reports, speeches, press releases, subject files, and correspondence relating to his career in government service during the 1960s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edward J. McManus Papers
Iowa state senator, lieutenant governor of Iowa, Democratic candidate for governor of Iowa, delegate to Democratic National Convention, and U.S. District Court Judge for Northern District of Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, telegrams, campaign material, press releases, photographs, newspaper clippings, tape recordings, phonograph recordings, and scrapbooks.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Magdalen Meade papers
Iowa farm woman and political organizer who was active in Roxanne Conlin's gubernatorial campaign in 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Opal Miller papers
Democrat, educator and clubwoman who served in the Iowa House of Representatives in the 1970s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Donald J. Mitchell Papers
Lawyer and Democratic National Committeeman from Iowa. Primarily correspondence and subject files relating to his political work for the Democratic Party.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jake More Papers
Lawyer and State Chair of Iowa's Democratic State Central Committee. Speeches, correspondence, press releases, voter lists, financial reports, etc. all relating to More's involvement in Iowa's Democratic Party organization.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary C. Neuhauser papers
Democrat who served four terms in the Iowa House and one four-year term in the Senate (1986-1998).
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John C. Pryor Papers
Lawyer in Burlington, Iowa. Correspondence and subject files relating primarily to the Iowa Bar Association and the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Elizabeth Miller Richards papers
Politician and women's rights activist from Red Oak, Iowa,who ran for Iowa state representative in 1966.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

William Francis Riley Papers
Lawyer and U.S. District Judge from Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, legal materials, and subject files relating to the law, politics, and religion.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

B.H. Shearer Papers
Newspaperman in Columbus Junction, Iowa. Journals, correspondence, business records, and subject files relating to his life and career as the editor and publisher of the Columbus Gazette and as the publisher of the Iowa Union Farmer. Subject files include topics ranging from the Iowa Union Farmer to the Louisa County Fair.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Leonard G. Wolf Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa and Agency for International Development official. Correspondence, bills and resolutions, newsletters and press releases all related to his one term in Congress.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Katherine Mull Falvey Zastrow papers
State representative from 1958 to 1964 and the first woman elected to Charles City Council, 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jo Ann Zimmerman papers
Elected to the Iowa House of Representatives in 1982 and in 1986, she became the first woman Lieutenant Governor of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives