Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Women in charitable work - 27 hits

Ruth Salzmann Becker papers
Nurse and community activist in Iowa City who, as a young Jewish woman, fled Nazi Germany in 1939 and emigrated to the United States.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Booster Women's Club (Fort Madison, Iowa) records
Social and philanthropic club organized in 1947 by African American women in Fort Madison, Iowa
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lucille Ketchum Carter papers
1936 graduate of the School of Nursing at the State University of Iowa who was active in Democratic politics and whose correspondence includes round robin letters.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cedar Valley Community Club (Muscatine County, Iowa) records
Club formed in 1920 by rural women living near West Liberty, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

The Clionian Club (Davenport, Iowa) records
Women's study group which originated in 1874.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Daughters of Ceres (Walnut and Webster, Iowa) records
Walnut and Webster chapter records of this social and benevolent club comprised of farmwomen.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edna Englert papers
Iowa City native who was the organist at St. Wenceslaus Church for sixty-five years, retiring at the age of 81.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Entre Nous records (Iowa City, Iowa)
Women's drama study club founded in 1914 in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Beverly Everett papers
Family farmer, volunteer, and community activist who served on U.S. National Commission for UNESCO and the International Women's Year Commission.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Friendly Circle Club (Washington, Iowa) records
A Washington, Iowa women's social club which was founded in 1934.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Friendly Neighbors Club (Deep River, Iowa) records
The club was organized in 1952 as a social and philanthropic forum for local women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Fuller papers
The first female pilot in Appanoose County and active in the local Democratic Party.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Archie L. Greene papers
Writer and volunteer who earned a doctorate in English from the University of Iowa while living with spinocerebellar degeneration.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Eleanor Gildner Hageboeck papers
University of Iowa alumna and clubwoman. She wrote a column for the Iowa City Press Citizen during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edith Edmund Johnson papers
Longstanding member of Fairfield, Iowa clubs including the Fancy Work Circle and the Good Cheer Society.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Misbach papers
Educator whose lifelong career of working with partially seeing and blind students began in 1938 at the Perkins School for the Blind in Massachussetts.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edith Neal papers
Known as the Vietnam Mail Lady, Neal corresponded with servicemen stationed in Vietnam from 1966 to 1969.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ortha P. Neff papers
Red Cross staff member who was stationed in Okinawa and Hawaii during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Pilot International Club of Iowa City
Organization to promote improvement of conditions and treatment for brain-related disorders.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Prairie View Club (Hardin County) records
Rural women's club dating from the early twentieth century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Proteus Club (Des Moines) records
Women's study club organized in 1896 by college graduates for their intellectual improvement.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marian Rees papers
Emmy Award-winning television producer and owner of Marian Rees Associates, Inc.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sew and So Club (Cass County, Iowa) records
The club was originally organized by Washington Township women to work on quilting and other handiwork.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Tennyson Study Club (Marion, Iowa) records
Study club founded in 1932 to discuss works by Alfred Tennyson; it later expanded its focus to include charitable and community-based activities.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Tuesday Nighters (Manchester, Iowa) records
A women's club concerned primarily with philanthropic and social activities.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Elizabeth Wood papers
Social worker and the first African American woman in the United States to be named executive director of a greater metropolitan YWCA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bernice Zimmer papers
Diaries of an Iowa woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives