Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Rural women - 138 hits

Christine Anderson papers
Appanoose County 4-H leader, farmer, and teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Angelica Lynn Rose Atalig oral history
Oral history, 1999. The narrator describes growing up in a bilingual, biracial family in Garner, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Autobiographical Sketches of Rural Iowa Women
Reminiscences of Iowa Farm Bureau women donated to the Rural Women's Project.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lenora Backes diaries
Diaries of an Iowa farm woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Evelyn Birkby Collection of Radio Homemaker Materials
Cookbooks, newsletters, and other publications of the Radio Homemakers who broadcast over KMA and KFNF in southwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marjorie Bertalot Block papers
My Story describes Block's training as a nurse, family life, her employment off and on the farm, and her activities in Benton County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nancy De Vries Blom papers
Dutch immigrant who came to the United States in 1915 as a young child and lived on a farm in northwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bridging the Generations: the Lives and Contributions of Rural Iowa Women records
This exhibit was created by the Master Farm Homemakers Guild to publicize their history in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lela Powers Briggs papers
An artist who farmed with her husband near La Porte, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ada Mae Brown Brinton memoir
In Sunshine and Rain in Iowa: Reminiscing through 86 Years, Brinton reflects on rural Iowa, hard work, church traditions, and the love of family and community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Burchard Family papers
The family lived in New York state until 1910 when they moved to Iowa.  The diaries are from several generations.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Velma Carney papers
Adair County, Iowa, farm woman. Papers include household accounting ledgers.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cedar Valley Community Club (Muscatine County, Iowa) records
Club formed in 1920 by rural women living near West Liberty, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Inez Christen papers
Transcribed diaries of a Northeast Iowa hired girl, farmwoman and mother.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Esther Christensen papers
65-page memoir of Fayette County, Iowa farmwoman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cleona Township Women's Club (Scott County, Iowa) records
Scott County, Iowa, Farm Bureau women's club.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Anita Crawford papers
Buchanan County farmwoman who was active in the Farm Bureau and county historical society.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Vera Shepard Cronkhite papers
Southwest Iowa rural schoolteacher during the 1920s and 1930s. Taught in town schools an additional 20 years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dallner and Petersen Family papers
Peterson's journals describe daily life in rural Iowa from 1907 to 1910; Dallner's writings focus on two mysterious deaths that occurred in 1925.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Daughters of Ceres (Walnut and Webster, Iowa) records
Walnut and Webster chapter records of this social and benevolent club comprised of farmwomen.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Minnie Ducommun papers
Diary and obituary of a rural Iowa housewife.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Bobbitt Ettleman papers
The 1951 memoir describes rural life in nineteenth century Iowa and Indiana.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ever Ready Club (Baxter, Iowa) records
The Ever Ready Club served as a social and educational organization for women in the community
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mildred Fox Everett papers
Iowa native who became a homesteader in South Dakota, and later returned to Iowa to raise her five children on a farm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cora Eversmeyer papers
The daughter of a German immigrant who was born and raised on a farm in Lee County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Almira Ames Farnham memoir
Essay describing the life of Almira Ames Farnham, a pioneer woman from New England who settled near Morley, Iowa in 1859.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Grace Ferns papers
Memoir and oral history transcript of a rural Iowa school teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cassie Thompson Ford papers
Homemaker who farmed with her husband near Central City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Franklin Township Farm Bureau Women (O'Brien County) records
Farmwomen's club organized in 1956.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Freedom Township Women's Club (Palo Alto County) records
Social club founded in 1923. Presentations were given on food preservation, nutrition, sewing, and tailoring.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Friendly Neighbors Club (Percival, Iowa) records
Social club organized in April 1935 by farm wives living southeast of Percival, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Emeline Fuhrmeister letters
Widowed farmwoman who lived at the homes of her various children.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosa Knutson Gangestad papers
The daughter of Norwegian immigrants who came to Humboldt County, Iowa in 1872. Reflections on pioneer life through handwritten stories and letters for her grandchildren.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marie Giddings papers
Detailed account of farm and rural community life as Marie Giddings knew it growing up in Kossuth County during the early 20th century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Greene Township Women's Club (Iowa County, Iowa) records
Social club of Iowa County farmwomen that began as a Farm Bureau club but later dropped that affiliation.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Violet Greiner papers
Farmwoman, columnist, and volunteer from Blairsburg, Iowa who wrote a monthly column for the Rural Electric Cooperative News.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Gunderson papers
Papers include photographs of 1995 suffrage parade and Iowa ERA rallies.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Arlene Gardner Hall papers
Rural Mt. Ayr, Iowa woman who worked in local homes as a washerwoman and housekeeper.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Harrington papers
Poet and farm woman from Lamoni, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Harrison County Farm Bureau scrapbook
Part of the statewide, grass roots effort to provide agricultural and homemaking science to Iowa farmers in the second decade of the twentieth century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

May Bennett Harshbarger papers
Schoolteacher from eastern Carroll County, Iowa who managed the family farm after her husband's death in 1926.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Hartupee Social Club records
Social club organized in 1930 by rural women living near West Liberty, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gwendolyn Johnson Hein papers
Farmwoman, basketball player on Newhall High School girls state championship team in 1927.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Her Own Story: Ten Benton County Women
Project of the Vinton, Iowa, American Association of University Women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Catharine King Herr diary
Farm wife who kept a diary from 1945 until her death in 1978.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edna Hidlebaugh papers
Prominent Bayard, Iowa clubwoman who helped found the local library.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Highland Do-Better Club (O'Brien County, Iowa) records
Women's club sponsered by the Farm Bureau.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Catherine Snedeker Hill papers
Illinois student who moved to Mt. Pleasant, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Willow Hill papers
Diaries describe growing up in rural Iowa in the 1960s and the period from1992 to 2001.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Histories of Rural Iowa Women's Clubs
Rural women participated in a great number and variety of clubs.  This collection has short histories of a variety of clubs formed in Iowa in the first part of the 20th century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gladys Homan papers
Extensive correspondence of Corning, Iowa farm wife and club woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Irene Hoover papers
Farmwoman, 4-H leader, and volunteer who was active in the Farm Bureau and the Master Farm Homemakers Guild.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elvira Houston papers
Tama County, Iowa farmwoman who maintained the family account books for nearly fifty years. She ran for city council on the Women's Progressive Ticket in 1942.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Huffey papers
Substitute schoolteacher; active in PFLAG.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edith Edmund Johnson papers
Longstanding member of Fairfield, Iowa clubs including the Fancy Work Circle and the Good Cheer Society.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Johnson Family papers
Letters exchanged among members of this Cresco, Iowa, family.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Johnson papers
Farm woman, teacher, and recipient of the Master Farm Homemaker award in 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Maude Barkley Keck papers
Diaries and account books of this Cherokee, Iowa woman record farm chores and expenses, housekeeping and family life.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Myrtle Keppy papers
Champion hog breeder, farm woman, 4-H leader, and president of the Iowa Porkettes.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alice Kipp papers
The papers include Kipp's reminiscence of her childhood on an Iowa farm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Know Your Neighbor Club (Williams, Iowa) records
Farm women's club organized in 1926.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Della Marie Koppenhaver papers
Two reminiscences of Alice Tenley Hora, an Iowa farm woman, detailing farm life in the 1920s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Emmylou Krohn papers
Teacher, columnist, and textbook author from Council Bluffs area.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Maria Margaretha Kromminga papers
Diaries of a Monticello, Iowa, native who lived on her parents' farm and never married, raising her son alone.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ann Larimer letters
Queen City, Iowa, resident who wrote to her husband while he was serving in the Civil War.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joy Smith Lewallen memoir
This is My Story, This is My Song, unpublished memoir.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Catherine Lewis papers
Interviews and field reports prepared by Lewis for the Smithsonian Institution's Festival of American Folklore.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carrie Lindahl papers
Rural Linn County banker who worked outside of the home from 1910s to 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth Fagan Lynch memoir
Teacher and farmer of Irish descent from Dubuque County, Iowa whose memoir is called, A Trunk and its Chips.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mahaska County Farm Bureau Women's Committee records
The committee splintered from the extension service in 1955 and became the largest political and corporate organization representing farmer interests in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Kate Martinson papers
Journals chronicle the life of an Iowa farm woman including her marriage, childrearing, family farm management, divorce, and remarriage.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ellen Hanson Mason papers
Diaries chronicle Ellen Hanson Mason's life on the family farm in rural northeast Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

McGill Family papers
The collection consists mainly of correspondence and includes the papers of early twentieth century labor activist, IWW member, and Buffalo school teacher, Pearl McGill.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Amelia McNeill papers
Farm woman who served as secretary of Monona Co. Rural Electrification Association for more than 20 years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Magdalen Meade papers
Iowa farm woman and political organizer who was active in Roxanne Conlin's gubernatorial campaign in 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Phoebe Kellum Mericle obituary
Early settler in Webster County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Perkins Messenger memoir
Reflections on growing up and raising a family in rural Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth R. Miller papers
Farm woman and Republican state legislator from Marshalltown, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ellen Mowrer Miller papers
Correspondence of 19th century Iowa woman includes letters from brother in medical school and Civil War and from sister who raised a family and maintained a farm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Neighborhood Social Club records
The club formed in 1915 near Manchester, Iowa for women to discuss aspects of rural, farm and family life.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bess Newcomer papers
Appanoose County farmwoman, columnist, and Farm Bureau officer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nissen Family papers
Biographical materials relate to Walnut, Iowa clubwoman Wilma Parker Nissen and her daughters.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Miriam Baker Nye papers
Moville, Iowa, farm wife and columnist for the Sioux City Farm Journal Weekly.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

O'Brien County Farm Bureau Women records
Organization to promote the interests of farmwomen.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Denise O'Brien papers
Organic farmer and political activist who served as president of National Family Farm Coalition.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Melba Gardemann Olson papers
Benton County, Iowa, farm girl and teacher who played on her high school's basketball championship team in 1927.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Olson/Clampitt memoirs
Memoirs of life in rural Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Omega Township Women's Club (O'Brien County) records
Farm Bureau women's club.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Jane Parsons papers
Reflections on her pioneer life from Rochester, New York to Dakota City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jesse Antrim Perkins papers
Rural elementary school teacher and farm wife whose papers consist of three partial journals.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Thelma Petersen papers
Diaries of homemaker from Kirkman, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ericka Peterson-Dana papers
Organic farmer and activist in Poweshiek County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Phillips and Tarbell Family papers
Articles and essay describing the family's participation in the Iowa State Fair.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Sprout Place memoir
Reflections on life as a farmwoman and young mother during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Prairie View Club (Hardin County) records
Rural women's club dating from the early twentieth century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sally Puttmann papers
Farmer, speaker, and first woman on the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation Board of Directors.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Reese Family Papers
Business documents, correspondence and travel ephemera of the Reese Family from Turin, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gladys Talcott Rife papers
Mt.Vernon, Iowa high school teacher who later owned and directed The Depot Museum in Fayette County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mae Atkinson Robinson papers
Correspondence and diaries of an Iowa farm woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lillian Ronk papers
West Central Iowa farmwoman known locally as 'the flower lady.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marie Rumble papers
A homesteader who lived in Wyoming, Colorado and Washington State.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Almira Safely Rutledge papers
Early, Iowa, wife and mother.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Janette Ryan-Busch papers
Organic farmer and activist from Johnson County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Shediwy Scheetz memoir
The youngest daughter of immigrants reflects on growing up in Iowa towns during the Depression.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Hazelle Keir Schmuecker papers
Autobiographical essays and family history of six generations by rural schoolteacher, homemaker, and artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Wilda Jean Schobert papers
Percival, Iowa farm woman and club woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lois McIntyre Schutte papers
Two memoirs of an Iowa farm woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shale and Wolf Families letters
Family correspondence recording farm life in northern Iowa and the Dakota territory, primarily from a farm woman's perspective.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jessie Field Shambaugh papers
Shenandoah, Iowa teacher who became school superintendent for Page County, Iowa. She played a central role in the development of activities for rural youth and is referred to as the 'Mother of 4-H.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sharon Township Farm Bureau Women's Club (Johnson County, Iowa) records
Farm Bureau women's club that provided education and services organized around farm issues.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Vera Shivvers papers
Iowa farm woman who was elected to fill her husband's term in the Iowa Senate following his death in 1962.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jennie Sies papers
Diary of a young Oxford, Iowa farm woman who died on October 3, 1880.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sioux County Women's Chorus (Iowa) records
Choral group that was invited to represent Iowa at the New York World's Fair in 1939.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Clara Steen Skott papers
Free-lance writer, home economics teacher, and civic leader who wrote articles and diaries concerning life in Iowa, China, and Wisconsin.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Laura Gibson Smith papers
Casey, Iowa native who taught country school before marrying and homesteading in Wyoming in 1913. She taught school in the Philippines in the 1910s and 1920s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marcella Henley Smith papers
Memoir, Confetti, of her life in Albia, Iowa, correspondence, and journals of books read since 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Verna Moulton Spencer papers
Maquoketa, Iowa, native who owned and operated Spencer's Harmony Hall with her husband from 1912 to 1962.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Minish Stoner papers
Farmwoman, writer, and community volunteer near Mt. Vernon, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alma Erickson Swanson papers
Swedish farm woman whose three children became academics during the 1930s and 1940s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Augusta Gustafson Swanson correspondence
Swedish immigrant who moved to Iowa in 1889. (In Swedish with English translations.)
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carrie V. Talcott papers
Active clubwoman, Methodist, writer and farmer from Fayette County who spent 19 years in a retirement home in Fort Dodge.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Velma Skott Teeple memoir
Childhood memories of an Eastern Iowa teacher, writer, and farmwoman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Thimble Club (Riceville, Iowa) records
Reading club organized in 1901.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Trimble Family papers
Reminiscences of Gladys Trimble Leith and Marie Jeffers about their mother, Mary Pyle Trimble as well as their own childhood.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mabel Korver Van Haaften memoir
Dutch-American farmwoman in early nineteenth century Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ernella Van Horn papers
The second of four generations of women in her family to play basketball in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jeanne Van Kley papers
Farmer's wife from Ocheydan, Iowa who raised four children.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Van Zante and De Cook Families papers
Late 19th century diary of adolescent Dutch-American farm girl and 1932 farm diary of her daughter-in-law.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iola Vander Wilt papers
Farmwoman and past Queen of Flying Farmers of Iowa who encouraged farm wives and teens to learn to fly.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Esther Ver Meer papers
Farmwoman and member of the Porkettes, the women's auxiliary of the Iowa Pork Producers Council.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Voices from the Land: An Oral History Project in Iowa
Oral histories with Iowa farm women conducted as part of the Rural Women's Project of the Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth Wherry papers
Farm magazine writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lucy Van Voorhis White papers
Schoolteacher and farm wife of Dallas County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sarah White papers
Correspondence and circle letters of a northwestern Iowa farmwoman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Beulah Wiederrecht papers
Correspondence between Wapello farm woman and two Polish families after World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Willing Workers Club (Fayette County, Iowa) records
A social and benevolent women's club initially formed as a Red Cross sewing club during World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women, Food and Agriculture Network listserv records
Organization connecting women with progressive approaches to agriculture.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Faye Wookey papers
Native of Red Oak, Iowa who who recalls family life on a farm in Montgomery County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives