Maria Mercedes Aguilera papers
Factory worker who was among the first Latinas to be hired at the International Harvester Company Farmall plant in Rock Island, Illinois.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Eileen Albaugh papers
Junior high school teacher who taught in Tipton and Wellsburg, Iowa, and died of polio.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bess Aldrich papers
Twentieth-century writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mrs. Dixon Alexander papers
Correspondent for a weekly newspaper, The Fayette Leader.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Allen Motor Company Records
Records of the oldest auto dealership in Iowa, including financial records, newsletters, and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Hilda Ellyson Allen papers
The papers consist largely of correspondence between Hilda and George Allen and their three children and cover a broad range of family, social and political issues.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Christine Anderson papers
Appanoose County 4-H leader, farmer, and teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Anderson papers
Subject files, correspondence and clippings relating to women's rights.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Bluford Anderson papers
Professor Emeritus of Social Work at the University of Northern Iowa, author, and Black Hawk County Supervisor.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Neta Andrews papers
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edith Reed Atkinson papers
Singer and radio-script editor from Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Atkinson performed in a song-and-dance act with her brothers Wallace and Cecil Reed from 1935 to 1944.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Myrtle Kitchell Aydelotte papers
Professor of nursing,1957-1976, dean of the College of Nursing, 1949-1957, and director of nursing for the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics,1968-1976.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Evelyn Crary Bacon papers
Teacher, decorated veteran nurse and pioneer in the field of nursing education, Bacon served as a captain in the U.S. Army Nurse Corps during World War II and participated in the invasion of Normandy.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Henry B. Bailey Papers
Papers relating to the organization of the Young Republican League of Iowa in the First Congressional District, 1932-1935; records of Bailey's campaign for the office of Washington County attorney in 1932 and 1934; folder of letters dated 1945-1946 from Alfred E. Baldrige, Bailey's law partner, and his wife, Charlotte, during Baldrige's military service during World War II in Germany.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Helen Bamford papers
Professional photographer from Muscatine.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Nancy V. "Rusty" Barceló papers
Activist and administrator at the University of Iowa whose papers provide insight into Latino life and culture in Iowa and across the Midwest.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Carrie Kelly Beatty papers
Young woman who came to Hancock County, Iowa in 1868; her experiences were recorded in the book, A Prairie Rose, by Bertha E. Bush.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Salzmann Becker papers
Nurse and community activist in Iowa City who, as a young Jewish woman, fled Nazi Germany in 1939 and emigrated to the United States.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mildred Augustine Wirt Benson papers
Journalist for the Toledo Blade and writer of the first Nancy Drew mysteries and other children's series books; collection includes writings, clippings, scrapbooks and a few photographs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Janice A. Beran papers
Professor in the College of Education at Iowa State University until her retirement in 1994. Materials relate to the history of sports and particularly the participation of women and African-Americans in Iowa sports.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Berg papers
Pharmacist and professor at The University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Leola Bergmann papers
Scholar, writer and artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean Berry papers
Des Moines-based artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Venise T. Berry papers
Novelist and assistant professor of journalism and mass communication at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Vern Berry papers
Newspaper columnist who co-authored a book entitled, ?Roots and Recipes: Six Generations of Heartland Cookery.?
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Wayne Biklen Papers
Engineer. Speeches, subject files, correspondence, photos, other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Evelyn Birkby Collection of Radio Homemaker Materials
Cookbooks, newsletters, and other publications of the Radio Homemakers who broadcast over KMA and KFNF in southwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Debra Blake papers
Journalist who edited the University of Northern Iowa newspaper the Northern Iowan, and worked for professional radio and television stations.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Germaine Mayer Blake papers
Elementary school teacher who taught for thirty-three years at the Catholic Visitation High School in Stacyville, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marjorie Bertalot Block papers
My Story describes Block's training as a nurse, family life, her employment off and on the farm, and her activities in Benton County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sister Joyce Blum papers
The papers consist primarily of her self-published writings, reflections, and poetry about her work at the Arizona State prison and on the Mexican border.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joan Blundall papers
Social worker who developed support services for rural families during the 1980s farm crisis in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edmund Blunden Papers
Correspondence and manuscripts of the British scholar and poet.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Lena Belle Bock papers
Member of the Iowa House of Representatives from 1960 to 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Talcott Boedecker papers
Teacher with Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1941-1963; vocational counselor and tourism advocate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Molly Bolin papers
Professional basketball player from Moravia, Iowa who played for Iowa Cornets from 1978 to 1981 and for San Francisco and Columbus Ohio teams until 1984.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Bondurant papers
Waterloo music educator and multicultural programs coordinator.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Atherton Bonney papers
Bonney's research files include Iowa suffragist Mary Jane Coggeshall, scientist Mary Louise Putnam, physician Jennie McCowen, and pioneer evangelist and minister, Abner Kneeland
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Nellie Booker papers
Newspaper reporter and author of poems and essays. The collection includes scrapbooks and photograph albums.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marlene Booth Papers
Jewish independent filmmaker raised in Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Thomas Eyre Booth Papers
Editor and publisher of the Anamosa Eureka in Anamosa , Iowa . Correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, a scrapbook, and other related papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Lois Boulware papers
Physician in the University of Iowa Student Health Department, who established the Patient Advocacy Program at University Hospitals after marrying and having a child.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Susan Boyd papers
Journalist and writer who published several articles in Mademoiselle. She also served as University of Iowa First Lady from 1969-1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bernice Larson Boyum papers
Ellsworth, Iowa, woman who served in World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alice Sophia Brant papers
Diaries of this homemaker and mother who helped manage the family's funeral home in Oelwein.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helen Branyan papers
Letters From Egypt by Helen Baird Branyan consists primarily of Clarice Bloomfield's letters, written between 1920 and 1938. The letters describe the life of an Albia, Iowa, girl who became a missionary in Egypt.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Rosalie Braverman papers
Braverman recalls her childhood in Youthful Journeys in Poland and Germany. An oral history interview, conducted in 1996, concerns student family life, the Jewish community in Iowa City, and anti-Semitism.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jeanne Bridenstine papers
First woman elected chairperson of the Jasper County Democratic Central Committee in 1972.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lela Powers Briggs papers
An artist who farmed with her husband near La Porte, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Paula Watts Brown papers
Civic leader in Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Brubaker papers
Des Moines television reporter and producer. The papers include materials about Brubaker's grandmother who worked for the Des Moines Police Department in the 1920s and 1930s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Carolyn "Kay" Bucksbaum papers
Civic activist involved in the Jewish community, the Des Moines symphony, the League of Women Voters, and the Proteus Club.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Suzanne Bunkers papers
This English professor and diarist wrote about academic life, current events, politics, feminism, travel, sexuality, divorce, motherhood, grief, and health.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Betty M. Burger papers
Congressional caseworker from 1967 until 2007.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Norma Peg Burke papers
Physical education professor at the University of Iowa and past president of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women, 1976-1977.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jane Burleson papers
Teacher's aide, packinghouse worker, and union activist, Burleson was the first woman and first African American elected to the Fort Dodge City Council.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ella Bushnell-Hamlin papers
Early suffragist and owner of Trident Publishing Company in Davenport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Rosetta M. Byers papers
University of Iowa student from 1914-1918.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Barbara M. Calderon papers
Nursing administrator and first African-American public health nurse in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Leona Call papers
Professor of Greek at the State University of Iowa during the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cornelia Cameron papers
Internationally recognized peat geologist from Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bonnie J. Campbell papers
Chair of Iowa's Democratic Party from 1987 to 1991 and first woman to serve as Iowa's Attorney General from 1990 until 1994.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Thelma Carmichael papers
An illustrated booklet promoting a playpen designed by Carmichael’s father.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Velma Carney papers
Adair County, Iowa, farm woman. Papers include household accounting ledgers.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Carpenter papers
Republican who served in Iowa House of Representatives from 1980 to 1994.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marion Carson papers
Graduate of Ministry at the University of Dubuque Theological Seminary, where she was the first Unitarian Universalist student.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lucille Ketchum Carter papers
1936 graduate of the School of Nursing at the State University of Iowa who was active in Democratic politics and whose correspondence includes round robin letters.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Tess Catalano papers
Human rights activist, singer and song writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Annette Cech papers
Iowa City housewife and mother whose son, Thomas Cech, won the Nobel Prize in 1989.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kathleen Halloran Chapman papers
Attorney and Democrat who served in the Iowa House of Representatives from 1983 to 1992 and again in 1996.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Moe Christ papers
4-H participant from Winnebago, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Esther Christensen papers
65-page memoir of Fayette County, Iowa farmwoman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Betty Jean Clark papers
Iowa legislator from 1976 to 1990.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Clark papers
Methodist Episcopal deaconess who later worked with the Mahaska County Historical Society to found the Nelson Pioneer Farm in Oskaloosa, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marion Jones Clark papers
Bacteriologist and assistant professor at the University of Iowa, 1940s to ca. 1960.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary G. Clark papers
Librarian and author of columns in the Iowa City Press Citizen
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
T. Anne Cleary papers
University of Iowa Vice President of Academic Affairs, American Psychological Association president, and expert in educational testing.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Buster Cleveland papers
Correspondence and art work by mail artist Buster Cleveland.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Lida Cochran papers
Audiovisual educator and professor in the Education Department at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Barbara Coffin papers
City hostess and policewoman from Waterloo, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gertrude Cohen papers
Member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1965-1966, and the first Jewish woman elected to the Iowa Legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Davis Collison papers
Member of the Iowa Board of Regents who was also active in Roxanne Conlin's gubernatorial campaign of 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Charlene Conklin papers
Member of the Iowa House of Representatives,1967 to 1969, and the Iowa Senate, 1969 to 1973.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Roxanne Barton Conlin papers
Attorney and political activist who co-founded the Iowa Women's Political Caucus and was appointed Federal Prosecutor in 1977.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gladys Conn papers
Social worker and State University of Iowa graduate from Marne, Iowa, whose papers include diaries and family correspondence.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Conner papers
University of Iowa Home Economics graduate who worked as a nutritionist for the New York City Department of Public Health from 1943 to1971.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cecile Cooper papers
Civil rights worker in Davenport.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jennifer Riggs Cosson papers
A known suffragist who was active in community and political circles in Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marguerite Cothorn papers
Social worker and political activist, who served on the Iowa Civil Rights Commission from 1983 to 1984.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Hager Cousin papers
Trained as a nurse between 1917 and 1920, and worked as a school nurse in Iowa Falls and Marshalltown, Iowa from 1931 to 1965.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth M. Roland Cowden diary
Transcription of the 1921 diary of a journey by car from Des Moines, Iowa, to Los Angeles, California.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gretchen Anton Coy papers
Artist and teacher in Okoboji, Iowa, who participated in the Curtiss-Wright Aeronautical Program during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Anita Crawford papers
Buchanan County farmwoman who was active in the Farm Bureau and county historical society.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Louise Crawford papers
Composer and professor of Music Theory at Coe College.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sheila Creth papers
Librarian who directed the University of Iowa Libraries from 1987 to 1999 and published extensively in the field of library and information science.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Vera Shepard Cronkhite papers
Southwest Iowa rural schoolteacher during the 1920s and 1930s. Taught in town schools an additional 20 years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Allin Dakin Papers
Administrative dean at the University of Iowa (1944-1974). Correspondence, notebooks, and speeches relating to Dakin's many civic interests and activities. Topics included are Rotary International, Boy Scouts of America, and U of I.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Rowene Danbom papers
Journalist who worked at the International News Service in Des Moines, Iowa during World War II and became its first woman bureau chief.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jay N. Darling Papers
Correspondence, speeches, articles, leaflets, clippings, scrapbooks and a sketchbook, mostly dealing with politics, conservation, or family affairs, assembled by newspaper cartoonist Ding Darling of The Des Moines Register. There are also some 6,000 original pen-and-ink cartoons drawn by Darling.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Aldeen Davis papers
Muscatine, Iowa, newspaper columnist active in arts, civic, educational, and religious organizations.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Laura F. Hutchison Davis papers
Social worker in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, from the 1930s though the 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cornelia Shrauger Day papers
Educated in journalism and law. Washington, Iowa, resident active in YWCA, Planned Parenthood and UNICEF.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Dickens papers
Community activist, volunteer, and poet in Waterloo.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Minnette Doderer papers
State legislator from Iowa City who was first elected to the Iowa House of Representatives in 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Nadine Domond papers
Hawkeye women's basketball star, WNBA player and entrepreneur.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Patricia Donahue papers
Nurse educator and scholar.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Vergene Donovan papers
Spencer, Iowa, resident active in the Iowa Federation of Republican women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ethel Roberta Douglass papers
West Branch, Iowa, resident who graduated from the University of Iowa in 1921 with a B.A. in geology.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Eve Drewelowe papers
Artist who attended the State University of Iowa and in 1924 became the first person to receive a masters degree in Painting and Art History.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Leanna Driftmier papers
Radio homemaker who broadcast the Kitchen Klatter program from the 1920s to the mid-1970s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Muriel Anne Dryden papers
Federal government employee who held various positions during her career, including White House mail analyst.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Christine Dutson papers
Multi-volume memoir of a Mormon woman who was an educator, poet and advocate for the mentally ill.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Charlene "Mac" Eblen papers
Homemaker from Wichita, Kansas whose papers consist primarily of journals.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Wanda Edgerton papers
Occupational therapist who worked in Venezuela, 1940-1942, and at Ohio State University.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joan Vander Naald Egenes papers
Des Moines-born clubwoman, community leader, businesswoman, and Republican Party activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lois H. Eichacker papers
Fort Madison civic leader and former president of the University of Iowa Alumni Association Board.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Martha Eimen papers
Nurse who worked for the Public Health Service and the United Nations in Italy and the Middle East, 1945-1948.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Morton Ellsworth papers
Ohio born psychometrist who divorced in 1957 and moved to Iowa City with her daughters.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Paul Engle Papers
Poet (numerous books from Worn Earth, 1932), editor of the O. Henry Prize Stories, 1954-1959, director of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, 1941-1967, and co-founder and director of the International Writers' Program, 1967-1976 at the University of Iowa. Literary manuscripts, correspondence, subject files, and student works documenting his career as a writer and teacher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Edna Englert papers
Iowa City native who was the organist at St. Wenceslaus Church for sixty-five years, retiring at the age of 81.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Robert Espinosa Papers
Photocopies of articles on conservation and bookbinding.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Rose Ettinger papers
Concert singer who toured Europe from 1897 to 1907.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alpha Evans papers
Rural middle school teacher who chaired the Iowa committee to revise teacher standards in the 1970s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Beverly Everett papers
Family farmer, volunteer, and community activist who served on U.S. National Commission for UNESCO and the International Women's Year Commission.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mildred Fox Everett papers
Iowa native who became a homesteader in South Dakota, and later returned to Iowa to raise her five children on a farm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cora Eversmeyer papers
The daughter of a German immigrant who was born and raised on a farm in Lee County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marian Farquhar papers
Missionary to the Sudan who spent her childhood in Page County, Iowa, and worked in Africa from the 1940s to 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Barbara Fassbinder papers
Rural nurse who contracted AIDS on the job and became a national spokeswoman for occupational safety.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Geraldene Felton papers
Professor and former dean of the University of Iowa College of Nursing.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gladys Miller Ferguson papers
Teacher and high school girls basketball coach from Mechanicsville, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Grace Ferns papers
Memoir and oral history transcript of a rural Iowa school teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia Filipowska papers
Poet and native of Burlington, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Beverly Barnes Fix Papers
Television and radio broadcaster, producer and writer who worked in Iowa and Hollywood in the 1940s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Barbara Flanagan papers
Reporter, women's page editor, and columnist for the Minneapolis Star and Tribune from the 1940s until 1988.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edna Flesner papers
Biology teacher at Iowa City City High School from 1928 to 1967.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cassie Thompson Ford papers
Homemaker who farmed with her husband near Central City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Georgana Falb Foster papers
A participant in the Camp Fire Girls between 1940 and 1954; materials include correspondence, scrapbooks and a memoir.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gwendolyn Fowler papers
The first African American woman pharmacist licensed in Iowa and presidential appointee to the United States Foreign Service in the 1950s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Fox papers
Faculty member in the Department of Physical Education for Women at the State University of Iowa from 1949 to 1980.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Fuller papers
The first female pilot in Appanoose County and active in the local Democratic Party.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Betty Jean Furgerson papers
Teacher, social worker, human rights commission director, and university regent from Waterloo.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Penny Furgerson papers
Native of India who founded the Gateway Dance Theatre, a Des Moines-based company specializing in multiethnic dance.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Katy Gammack papers
Multi-client lobbyist, co-publisher of "Money and Politics Iowa," and an advocate for women's rights.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Rosa Knutson Gangestad papers
The daughter of Norwegian immigrants who came to Humboldt County, Iowa in 1872. Reflections on pioneer life through handwritten stories and letters for her grandchildren.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Gantz papers
Three student research papers on mid-19th century medical education at the University of Iowa written by Mary Gantz.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Inés García papers
Mexican American whose family migrated to the U.S., and eventually to Iowa, in the early twentieth century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Adelia St. John Gates papers
Graduate of Genesee College in New York who moved to Waterloo, Iowa as a bride.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia Geadelmann papers
Feminist and physical educator who was a strong proponent of the ERA and Title IX.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Nellie M. Gebers papers
Artist, writer and teacher from Ira, Iowa who studied with Grant Wood.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Wilbourn Gerber papers
Clubwoman and activist who lived in Chicago, Albany, New York, and Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Philip L. Gerber papers
State University of New York College at Brockport professor who edited the homesteading letters of Elizabeth Corey.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Zella May Gerber papers
A secretary who worked in Alaska in 1943 and at the Oak Ridge Atomic Plant in Tennessee from 1944 to 1945.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth Anna Gernes papers
Educator and Red Cross worker.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marie Giddings papers
Detailed account of farm and rural community life as Marie Giddings knew it growing up in Kossuth County during the early 20th century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Trula Godwin papers
Davenport, Iowa, policewoman from 1973-1998.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
June Parker Goldman papers
Japanese-American woman who was a member of the Know Your Neighbor panel in Des Moines in the 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Louise Goldman papers
Public servant, feminist activist, and poet from Davenport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Karen Goodenow papers
Elementary and high school teacher who has served on local and state boards of education.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Julie Goodrich papers
Adel, Iowa native who was an accomplished high school athlete in the 1970s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Christine Grant papers
Sports administrator, professor, and gender equity activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy S. Grant papers
Unitarian Universalist and Head Start teacher, and spokesperson for victims of spousal abuse.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Archie L. Greene papers
Writer and volunteer who earned a doctorate in English from the University of Iowa while living with spinocerebellar degeneration.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Geraldine Greenlee papers
Received her master's degree from the Department of Physical Education for Women at the State University of Iowa in 1952.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Grefe papers
Educator, social activist, politician and businesswoman who was inducted into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 1980.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Violet Greiner papers
Farmwoman, columnist, and volunteer from Blairsburg, Iowa who wrote a monthly column for the Rural Electric Cooperative News.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edna Griffin papers
Civil rights activist, later known as the Rosa Parks of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Josephine Gruhn papers
Britt, Iowa-born member of the Iowa House of Representatives and vice-chair of the Committee on Agriculture during the farm crisis of the 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helen Gunderson papers
Papers include photographs of 1995 suffrage parade and Iowa ERA rallies.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Eleanor Gildner Hageboeck papers
University of Iowa alumna and clubwoman. She wrote a column for the Iowa City Press Citizen during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Arlene Gardner Hall papers
Rural Mt. Ayr, Iowa woman who worked in local homes as a washerwoman and housekeeper.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dora Jane Hamblin papers
Iowa native who wrote for the Cedar Rapids Gazette, LIFE magazine, and other periodicals.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Hamilton papers
Teacher and world traveler who served in the New Hampshire legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Johnie Hammond papers
Democratic representative and senator in the Iowa legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Beverly A. Hannon papers
Two-term Iowa state senator. Hannon chaired the Human Resources Committee and was instrumental in founding the Iowa Women's Foundation in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lorraine Hansen papers
Diaries of a homemaker and bakery owner from Manson, Iowa
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Icey Lenora Teel Harling papers
Lecturer, author and playwright who ran the Teel School of Expression in Davenport, 1918-1934 and was later a writer and editor for the Durant News.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia Harper papers
Iowa State Representative and Senator who served in the legislature from 1987 to 2002.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Virginia Harper papers
One of five African American women who integrated Currier Hall at the University of Iowa in 1946. Former president of the Fort Madison chapter of the NAACP.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Phyllis Harper-Bardach papers
Educator of hearing-impaired children and retired professor of Education at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helen Harrington papers
Poet and farm woman from Lamoni, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Claudine Harris papers
Harris worked in radiation detection instrumentation. She was active in the Johnson County League of Women Voters and the Johnson County Alliance for the Mentally Ill.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lileah Harris papers
Professional volunteer active in several arts, civic, educational, and religious organizations in Cedar Rapids.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gretchen Harshbarger papers
Landscape architect, author and photographer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
May Bennett Harshbarger papers
Schoolteacher from eastern Carroll County, Iowa who managed the family farm after her husband's death in 1926.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Emma Harvat papers
First woman mayor of Iowa City, serving from 1922 to 1925.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Ungerer Hauth papers
Nurse in Sioux City during the first half of the 20th century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marie Tener Havel papers
Nurse who worked in Missouri in the 1930s and at the University of Iowa Hospitals from 1948 to 1965.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
E. Marie Hawkins papers
Iowa City elementary school teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Frances Hawthorne papers
Des Moines educator whose materials include You Can't Go Back to Buxton and African Americans in Iowa: a Chronicle of Contributions, 1830-1992.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Georgia Peeso Haygarth papers
Includes diaries of Georgia Peeso Haygarth of Spencer, Iowa and of her father, Melvin Moses Peeso, who was a logger in California.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Connie Heckert papers
Author and English instructor at St. Ambrose University, Davenport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gwendolyn Johnson Hein papers
Farmwoman, basketball player on Newhall High School girls state championship team in 1927.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
June Helm Papers
University of Iowa professor in Sociology and Anthropology, 1960-1999. Correspondence, speeches, manuscript, awards.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Joan Hemm papers
Records of the Shady Ladies, a Colorado based historical performance organization founded by Hemm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sister Gwen Hennessey papers
Franciscan nun sentanced to six months in federal prison for trespassing at Fort Benning, Georgia.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Phylliss Henry papers
First woman assigned to patrol duty on the Des Moines police force, serving from 1972 to 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edna Herbst papers
Videotaped interview with Herbst about the history of television broadcasting in Iowa, 1998.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Catharine King Herr diary
Farm wife who kept a diary from 1945 until her death in 1978.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia Herring papers
Feminist, social worker, and advocate for persons with HIV/AIDS.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cynthia Hickok portfolio
Textile artist, teacher, and volunteer from Sac City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Catherine Snedeker Hill papers
Illinois student who moved to Mt. Pleasant, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Willow Hill papers
Diaries describe growing up in rural Iowa in the 1960s and the period from1992 to 2001.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia Hillard papers
Papers document Hillard's work as Western U.S. Division Director of La Leche League International.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Carol Hodne papers
Iowa farm activist who served as the first executive director of the North American Farm Alliance during the farm crisis of the 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Judy Herron Hoit papers
Disability access and awareness advocate and 1996 Ms. Wheelchair Iowa winner.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ida Bandfield Holden papers
Schoolteacher in the Waterloo area at the turn of the century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gladys Homan papers
Extensive correspondence of Corning, Iowa farm wife and club woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Irene Hoover papers
Farmwoman, 4-H leader, and volunteer who was active in the Farm Bureau and the Master Farm Homemakers Guild.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jessie Hornsby papers
French professor at the University of Iowa who was born in Algiers, North Africa, and worked for the British Broadcasting Corporation in England as an intelligence assistant during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elvira Houston papers
Tama County, Iowa farmwoman who maintained the family account books for nearly fifty years. She ran for city council on the Women's Progressive Ticket in 1942.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean Huffey papers
Substitute schoolteacher; active in PFLAG.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Doris Bender Hughes papers
Student who attended the University of Iowa in 1940 and later became a teacher and child-welfare worker.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Rose Claire Huth papers
Actress and radio scriptwriter.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Caroline Ingels papers
Farm woman and volunteer from Fayette County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Frances Barnes Ingram papers
Monroe County, Iowa native.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Constance Frick Irwin papers
Author, librarian, and professor of library science who was a WAVE during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jill Jack papers
Iowa City political activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marilyn E. (Harris) Jackson papers
Muscatine, Iowa, writer who taught writing to senior citizens.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Arlene Jens papers
Nurse, abortion rights activist and educator from Fairfield, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edith Edmund Johnson papers
Longstanding member of Fairfield, Iowa clubs including the Fancy Work Circle and the Good Cheer Society.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lulu Merle Johnson papers
An African American woman from Gravity, Iowa, who earned an MA in 1930 and a PhD in 1941 in American history from the State University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Johnson papers
Farm woman, teacher, and recipient of the Master Farm Homemaker award in 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Langland Johnson papers
Nurse who served in the Army Nurse Corps during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Ashton Johnson papers
Physical education teacher whose papers include records of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women and of the Association for Girls and Women in Sport.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Pitkanen Johnson papers
Artist and educator from Finland who taught drawing theory at the University of Illinois.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Grace Morris Allen Jones papers
Burlington, Iowa born educator and wife of Dr. Laurence C. Jones, founder of Piney Woods Country Life School in Piney Woods, Mississippi.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Leah A. Jones papers
Chicago native and graduate of the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Maude Barkley Keck papers
Diaries and account books of this Cherokee, Iowa woman record farm chores and expenses, housekeeping and family life.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alice Kelley papers
University of Iowa graduate who worked as a secretary. The papers mainly consist of the diaries she kept from 1926-2002.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alberta Metcalf Kelly papers
High school English teacher who was active in state and national Democratic Party politics during the 1950s and 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Myrtle Keppy papers
Champion hog breeder, farm woman, 4-H leader, and president of the Iowa Porkettes.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bonnie Kern papers
Iowa author who was a victim of sexual and physical abuse, served time in jail and eventually was pardoned.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean Kern papers
Professor of English and an independent scholar who taught in the Middle East and Eastern Europe as well as in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Eliza Hickok Kesler papers
Cedar Rapids native who worked on the radio show 'The Quiz Kids.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Keyes papers
Professor of Home Economics at the University of Iowa and nationally recognized leader in the field of historic preservation.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joy Neal Kidney newspaper articles
Freelance writer from West Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alice Kipp papers
The papers include Kipp's reminiscence of her childhood on an Iowa farm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Lou Kirk scrapbook
Created by Kirk, when she belonged to the Glad Girls of Grove 4-H chapter in Grove Township, Cass County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Judy Klemesrud papers
Nationally recognized journalist whose reporting included coverage of the women's movement.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helen Knievel papers
Librarian from rural Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Pearl Knoop papers
Librarian and bird watcher from Marble Rock, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Faith Knowler papers
Johnson County community activist from the 1970s to 1990s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Della Marie Koppenhaver papers
Two reminiscences of Alice Tenley Hora, an Iowa farm woman, detailing farm life in the 1920s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alma Marie Kouba Kress papers
Buchanan County elementary school teacher and clubwoman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Emmylou Krohn papers
Teacher, columnist, and textbook author from Council Bluffs area.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Maria Margaretha Kromminga papers
Diaries of a Monticello, Iowa, native who lived on her parents' farm and never married, raising her son alone.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Josephine M. Kuba papers
Volunteer whose work centered on her involvement in the Woman's Relief Corps.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Katharine La Sheck papers
Musician, actress and dancer from Iowa City who toured on the Chautauqua circuit.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Candace Packard Lambie papers
Officer in local and state chapters of the League of Women Voters and Daughters of the American Revolution.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kim Landhuis papers
Native of Vietnam who became a teacher, school board member, and 1994 candidate for the Iowa senate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ortha Lane papers
1917 graduate of Cornell College, Iowa, who served as a missionary in the Changchao District of Northern China.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ann Larimer letters
Queen City, Iowa, resident who wrote to her husband while he was serving in the Civil War.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sonja Larsen papers
Republican representative in the Iowa legislature who ran for mayor of Ottumwa in 1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helen Larson papers
Anamosa and Iowa City resident who worked for the The University of Iowa Hospital.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lois Laughlin papers
Papers of an activist from West Branch, Iowa, include correspondence and newspaper clippings relating to her husband's status as a conscientious objector.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Laughlin papers
Social activist and writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kathleen Wood Laurila papers
Iowa activist involved in the peace movement as well energy conservation and environmental protection coalitions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mildred H. Lavin papers
Professor in instructional design and outreach education at the University of Iowa's College of Education.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lillian B. Lawler papers
Scholar at the State University of Iowa in 1923.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bernice Leary papers
Educator, author, collector of children's books.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alberta Evelyn Swan Lehman papers
Correspondence and scrapbook of student years at Simpson Conservatory in Indianola, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Myrtilla F. Levin papers
Active in the Republican Party, mayor of Newton, Iowa, and executive director of Iowa Business Council.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joy Smith Lewallen memoir
This is My Story, This is My Song, unpublished memoir.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Catherine Lewis papers
Interviews and field reports prepared by Lewis for the Smithsonian Institution's Festival of American Folklore.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Thelma B. Lewis papers
Iowa City mayor in 1961; served on the city council from 1958 to 1963.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marion Cox Lichty papers
Waterloo, Iowa native who served in the Women's Army Auxiliary Corps during World War II and then in the United States Air Force Reserve.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Louise Liers papers
World War I Army nurse from Clayton, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Carrie Lindahl papers
Rural Linn County banker who worked outside of the home from 1910s to 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Annette Lingelbach papers
Journalist who wrote for Des Moines and Waterloo newspapers.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joan Lipsky papers
Iowa legislator and community acitvisit from Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Billie D. Lloyd papers
Social worker, community activist, and civic administrator who founded the Quad Cities Conference on Black Families, Inc.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean Lloyd-Jones papers
State legislator from Iowa City and president of the Iowa Peace Institute.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ina Loewenberg papers
Research materials for her book, The View From 70: Women's Recollections and Reflections, published in 2004.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Anna Cochrane Lomas papers
Republican National Committeewoman in the 1950s and 1960s from Red Oak, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sarah Alien Longchamp papers
Basketball player from Ida Grove, Iowa, who was elected to the Iowa Hall of Fame in 1972.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Antonia and Frederico Lopez papers
Mexican couple from the state of Guanajuato who settled permanently in Iowa in the 1910s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Anita Lowry papers
University of Iowa Librarian who was the first head of the Information Arcade at the University of Iowa Libraries, 1992-1996.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mae Irene Ludemann papers
High school history teacher who traveled to Europe in 1929 and recorded her experiences in a diary.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marjorie Elizabeth Lyford papers
Public health and visiting nurse who later taught at the University of Iowa College of Nursing.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth Fagan Lynch memoir
Teacher and farmer of Irish descent from Dubuque County, Iowa whose memoir is called, A Trunk and its Chips.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Pauline Lyon papers
Waterloo, Iowa, native who served in WAVES during World War II and later worked for the American Red Cross.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Thomas H. Macbride Papers
Tenth president of the University of Iowa, 1914-1916.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Dora E. Mackay papers
African American singer and beauty shop owner in Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marion Maresh papers
Physician who graduated from the State University of Iowa in 1932 and became a world authority on physical growth and maturation.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marjorie Marsh papers
Fort Madison, Iowa, native, and active club member and volunteer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alta Martin papers
Homemaker and mother of five who received her private pilot license in 1963.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Francoise Martinet papers
Ballerina and professor of dance at the University of Iowa from 1978-1997.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Adella Martínez papers
A former resident of Cook's Point, Davenport, whose parents emigrated from Mexico to the United States in the early 1900s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Maria Cano Martinez papers
Maria Cano came to Iowa from Guanajuato, Mexico, with her parents in 1928. She established a Spanish language interpreter program at the University of Iowa Hospitals in 1975.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kate Martinson papers
Journals chronicle the life of an Iowa farm woman including her marriage, childrearing, family farm management, divorce, and remarriage.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dora Mason papers
Sculptor and art teacher who traveled and studied sculpture across Europe and North America.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ellen Hanson Mason papers
Diaries chronicle Ellen Hanson Mason's life on the family farm in rural Northeast Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marjorie Mason papers
Teacher, newspaper columnist and poet from Sioux City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Stella M. Mason papers
Physician and surgeon who practiced in Mason City, Iowa, and was also active in the women's sufffrage movement.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
A. Louise Mays papers
Social worker and University of Iowa professor.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Amber McClintic papers
4-H scrapbook and record books.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret McCollum papers
Des Moines resident who was a leader in women's organizations including American Mother's Inc., PTA and AAUW.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dale McCormick papers
Carpenter and activist for women in non-traditional jobs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helena Jongewaard McDonald papers
Teacher who attended Iowa State College in 1914.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret McDonald papers
Active in Republican Party and vice-chairman of the Iowa Republican Central Committee in 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Sears McHenry papers
Diary and account book of the bride of a Civil War officer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary McInroy papers
Home Economics notebook kept by McInroy as a high school student in 1961.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bettie McKenzie papers
Community activist from Red Oak, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Alice McMurry papers
Promise City, Iowa elementary school teacher and poet.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lola Jean McNall papers
University of Iowa student who was active in the YWCA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Amelia McNeill papers
Farm woman who served as secretary of Monona Co. Rural Electrification Association for more than 20 years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Magdalen Meade papers
Iowa farm woman and political organizer who was active in Roxanne Conlin's gubernatorial campaign in 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edna Means papers
Characterist and dramatic reader, and chatauqua performer from Tama, Iowa organized her own talent agency.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Phoebe Kellum Mericle obituary
Early settler in Webster County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marie Schultz Meyer papers
Postville, Iowa, native who graduated from the University of Iowa School of Nursing in 1940.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Nicholas Meyer Papers
Screenwriter and director. Typescripts, screenplays, correspondence, clippings, proofs, photographs, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Marianne Michael papers
Served with her husband as missionaries for the Church of the Brethren in Garkida, Nigeria from 1948 to 1961.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth R. Miller papers
Farm woman and Republican state legislator from Marshalltown, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ellen Mowrer Miller papers
Correspondence of 19th century Iowa woman includes letters from brother in medical school and Civil War and from sister who raised a family and maintained a farm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Opal Miller papers
Democrat, educator and clubwoman who served in the Iowa House of Representatives in the 1970s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Misbach papers
Educator whose lifelong career of working with partially seeing and blind students began in 1938 at the Perkins School for the Blind in Massachussetts.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Azalia Mitchell papers
Mitchell and her husband operated the Community Pharmacy in Des Moines for 25 years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Ellen Moore papers
High school English teacher from Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Florinda Wakefield More papers
Correspondence from friends, family and her husband, the itinerant minister Thomas More.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Arlene Morris papers
Clinical psychologist and University of Iowa alumna who was a member of the Des Moines Know Your Neighbor panel.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
E. Virginia Mowry papers
Newton, Iowa teacher who later worked as an adminstrative assistant to James Cash Penney of J. C. Penney Company.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lois Baker Muehl papers
University of Iowa rhetoric professor who published children's books and taught English as a second language at refugee camps in Thailand, Korea, and China.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cherry Muhanji papers
Writer, lesbian activist, and University of Iowa alumna.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Peg Mullen papers
Anti-Vietnam War activist whose son, Michael, was killed by 'friendly fire' in Vietnam in 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ione Mulnix papers
Correspondence of a student at the State University of Iowa in Iowa City with her family in Dows, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marilyn Murphy papers
Social activist from Sioux City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Virginia Myers papers
Artist, University of Iowa professor, and inventor of the Iowa Foil Press.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Martha Nash papers
Civil rights activist, community and religious leader, she was executive director of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Education and Vocational Training in Waterloo.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edith Neal papers
Known as the Vietnam Mail Lady, Neal corresponded with servicemen stationed in Vietnam from 1966 to 1969.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ortha P. Neff papers
Red Cross staff member who was stationed in Okinawa and Hawaii during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gladys Nelson papers
Republican Iowa legislator from 1950 to 1956 and former president of the League of Women Voters of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary C. Neuhauser papers
Democrat who served four terms in the Iowa House and one four-year term in the Senate (1986-1998).
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Linda Kinney Neuman papers
Served for over twenty years in the Iowa judiciary and was the first woman to be appointed to the Iowa Supreme Court.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bess Newcomer papers
Appanoose County farmwoman, columnist, and Farm Bureau officer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Louane Newsome papers
Armed Services librarian during World War II, and University of Iowa professor in the School of Library and Information Science.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Barbara Burrell Nichols papers
Mother from Ames, Iowa who died of polio in 1955.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joyce Nielsen papers
Feminist, legislator and community activist who worked in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Susan J. Norman papers
Iowa City activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Naomi Novick papers
Iowa City city councilor from 1990 to 1997. Chosen twice to serve as mayor.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Miriam Baker Nye papers
Moville, Iowa, farm wife and columnist for the Sioux City Farm Journal Weekly.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Denise O'Brien papers
Organic farmer and political activist who served as president of National Family Farm Coalition.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Jane Odell papers
Television journalist and politician who served as Iowa Secretary of State from 1980 to 1986.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Vasquez Olvera papers
Davenport, Iowa, woman whose parents came to Iowa from Mexico in the 1910s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kathy Ormond papers
Red Cross recreation aide who was stationed in Vietnam from July 1968 to October 1969.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Joann Orr papers
State senator from 1972 to 1980 from Grinnell, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Viola Nesfield Owen papers
Mother and piano teacher living in Wisconsin, cooresponding with family in Waterloo, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Paisley Family Diaries Collection
Diaries of John and Chloe Paisley. John served in the 10th Ohio Volunteer Cavalry in the Civil War, and later lived in Burlington, Iowa. Also includes diaries kept by Mabel Paisley and Susan Swan Lippitt.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Mary Parden papers
University of Iowa graduate who worked as secretary to four University of Iowa presidents.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Patricia J. Pardun papers
State vice chair of the Republican Party in Iowa from 1967 to 1973.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Paul papers
Iowa City peace activist and educator who was executive director of the UNA-USA Iowa Division from 1976 to 1996.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Roberta Pendleton papers
Sioux City, Iowa resident who was a WAVE during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Rhonda Penquite papers
Professional basketball player and coach who played for the Iowa Cornets and the New Mexico Energee.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jesse Antrim Perkins papers
Rural elementary school teacher and farm wife whose papers consist of three partial journals.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Louise Petersen Papers
Member and president of Iowa State Board of Regents.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Thelma Petersen papers
Diaries of homemaker from Kirkman, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ericka Peterson-Dana papers
Organic farmer and activist in Poweshiek County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Emma Lou Leeper Phelan papers
Brooklyn, Iowa, native who was a riveter for Ryan Aeronautical Company in California, 1944 to 1945.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sarilda Phillips papers
Mississippi schoolteacher who was forced into retirement in 1956 following desegregation.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elvira Gaston Platt papers
Teacher and abolitionist who assisted fleeing slaves on the Underground Railroad while living in Fremont County, Iowa. Taught school to Pawnee children in Pennsylvania and Nebraska.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
T. F. Poduska papers
Painter.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Cora Belle Pollock papers
Elementary school teacher from Rolfe, Iowa who later worked as a lab technician in Fort Dodge, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lavina Power papers
Schoolteacher, wife and mother, who kept account books for her husband's chain of drugstores.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Ashby Pownall papers
Journalist who reported on Camp Dodge in Iowa during World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean Cutler Prior papers
Geologist who worked with the Iowa Geological Survey in Iowa City for 38 years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Josephine Hirons Pullen papers
Teacher, artist, poet and author from Early, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sally Puttmann papers
Farmer, speaker, and first woman on the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation Board of Directors.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jo Rabenold papers
Iowa City activist who collected lesbian and feminist publications during the 1970s and 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Virginia Randolph papers
Anamosa, Iowa, poet and niece of Elizabeth Wherry.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Margaret Thomsen Raymond papers
Author and editor of children's books and poetry.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ethel Reames papers
Businesswoman who was the creator and proprieter of the Reames Noodle Company in Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Olabelle Reed papers
Teacher, community activist, and co-founder of Club Les Dames, an African American women's club in Waterloo.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sue M. Reed papers
Republican Party activist and officer of Iowa and National Federations of Republican Women, 1950s-1970s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marian Rees papers
Emmy Award-winning television producer and owner of Marian Rees Associates, Inc.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Frances Reger-Wilkinson papers
Social worker who worked for the American National Red Cross during and after World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Shirley Rich papers
Casting director who worked for Rodgers and Hammerstein; founded Shirley Rich Casting in 1969.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth Miller Richards papers
Politician and women's rights activist from Red Oak, Iowa,who ran for Iowa state representative in 1966.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gladys Talcott Rife papers
Mt.Vernon, Iowa high school teacher who later owned and directed The Depot Museum in Fayette County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mae Atkinson Robinson papers
Correspondence and diaries of an Iowa farm woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ernest Rodriguez papers
Davenport civil rights and Chicano activist, born in the predominantly Mexican settlement of Holy City in Bettendorf, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Estefania Joyce Rodriguez papers
Family photographs taken in Iowa, Alabama, and Mexico.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Rogers papers
Dorothy Rogers worked for the volunteer program of the Patient Advocacy Program at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics from the beginning of the program in 1973 until her retirement in 1986.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Hazel Rogers papers
Teacher who attended the Iowa State Teachers College between 1939 and 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Erin Rollenhagen papers
Ames middle-school student who helped organize a protest against sexist Hooters restaurant t-shirts being worn at her school. Her account of the incident and the subsequent public forum on free speech, dress code, and sexism was published in Seventeen magazine.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Abbie Romey papers
Actress, homemaker, and 1928 graduate of the State University of Iowa in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lillian Ronk papers
West Central Iowa farmwoman known locally as 'the flower lady.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marilyn Preheim Rose papers
Professor of Anthropology and Women's Studies at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Rouse papers
Journalist who worked for the Office of Public Information at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jane Christoffer Rubel papers
High school bascketball player who sued the Iowa Girl's High School Athletic Union to be allowed to play on the school team after
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Rubenstein papers
Federal Civil Service employee who graduated from the University of Iowa School of Journalism and Communication in 1932.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruby's Pearl (Iowa City, Iowa) records
Ruby´s Pearl, a feminist sex store, was a hub for feminist and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) activism.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Henrietta Ruff papers
Amana, Iowa, school teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marie Rumble papers
A homesteader who lived in Wyoming, Colorado and Washington State.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Maria Rundquist papers
Sioux City business owner and political activist who emigrated to the United States from Mexico in 1978.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Almira Safely Rutledge papers
Early, Iowa, wife and mother.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Janette Ryan-Busch papers
Organic farmer and activist from Johnson County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edith Sackett papers
Schoolteacher and Iowa Mother of the Year, 1969.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Rosemary Sackett papers
Lawyer and justice on Iowa Court of Appeals.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Shirley M. Sandage papers
Mason City, Iowa-born civil rights activist, United States field representative for the Christian Children's Fund and director of program development for the National Organization on Disability.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lillian Moore Scales papers
Estherville, Iowa-born homemaker and teacher who was active in literary, political, and religious groups in Des Moines.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Schaefer papers
A Latin teacher who served as friend and mentor to Vietnamese refugees in the Iowa City community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Schanke papers
Des Moines woman who organized a support group for spouses of lesbians and gays in 1994.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Ruth Scharnau papers
Teacher and community activist who was a founding member of the Dubuque National Organization for Women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Naomi Schedl papers
Artist and professor in the Department of Home Economics at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lori Schieffer papers
Includes information on the sale of Girl Scout cookies in Muscatine, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Hazelle Keir Schmuecker papers
Autobiographical essays and family history of six generations by rural schoolteacher, homemaker, and artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean and John L. Schneiders papers
Davenport community and civil rights activists during the 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Wilda Jean Schobert papers
Percival, Iowa farm woman and club woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Dorothy Schramm papers
Human rights advocate from Burlington, Iowa who was active in local and international issues, particularly UNA-USA and the League of Women Voters.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Emily Putnam Schramm sketchbooks
Sketchbooks of landscapes which focus on the Mississippi River.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Betty Rugen Schutter papers
Scrapbook and correspondence to her parents during her student years at the State University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lucille Schwilck papers
1939 graduate from the State University of Iowa College of Law who worked for the U. S. Department of the Interior between 1943 and 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jacqueline Scott papers
Elementary schoolteacher in Keokuk, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Helene Scriabine papers
Author and Professor Emeritus of Russian at the University of Iowa, who emmigrated to the United States after surviving the siege of Leningrad in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Shambaugh Family Papers
Benjamin Shambaugh (1871-1940) was a University of Iowa professor of political science and, for many years, superintendent of the State Historical Society of Iowa. He and his wife, Bertha (1870-1953), hosted many scholars' visits to the University.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Jessie Field Shambaugh papers
Shenandoah, Iowa teacher who became school superintendent for Page County, Iowa. She played a central role in the development of activities for rural youth and is referred to as the 'Mother of 4-H.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Elizabeth Shaw papers
Iowa state legislator from 1967 to 1977.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary McDermott Shideler papers
Theologian, writer and lecturer whose work encompassed religious theology, philosophy and psychology.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Janet Shipton papers
Political activist and Johnson County, Iowa, supervisor who was the daughter of British Prime Minister Clement Attlee.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Vera Shivvers papers
Iowa farm woman who was elected to fill her husband's term in the Iowa Senate following his death in 1962.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean Shoots papers
Writer, performer, volunteer, and nurse in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jennie Sies papers
Diary of a young Oxford, Iowa farm woman who died on October 3, 1880.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Aaron Silander papers
Iowa City feminist and activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Virginia Tanner Simonsen papers
Cherokee, Iowa-born woman who enrolled at Iowa State College in home economics and later moved to Quimby, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marilyn Sippy papers
Peace activist and volunteer from Marion, Iowa, who was active in UNICEF for over thirty years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Clara Steen Skott papers
Free-lance writer, home economics teacher, and civic leader who wrote articles and diaries concerning life in Iowa, China, and Wisconsin.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Laura Gibson Smith papers
Casey, Iowa native who taught country school before marrying and homesteading in Wyoming in 1913. She taught school in the Philippines in the 1910s and 1920s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Marcella Henley Smith papers
Memoir, Confetti, of her life in Albia, Iowa, correspondence, and journals of books read since 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mary Louise Smith papers
First woman to chair the Republican National Committee, serving from 1974 to 1977. Co-founder of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bernadine Solberg papers
Engineering clerk, weaver, photographer, and traveler from Boone, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Geneva Southall papers
Professor Emeritus of Afro-American Studies and Music at the University of Minnesota; University of Iowa alumna.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Gladys Spayde papers
Stage actress who spent her childhood in Saskatchewan and was a teacher in Fairfield, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
C. Pauline Spencer papers
An outstanding athlete and the first woman to receive an athletic letter at the University of Iowa.She graduated in 1923.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Lonabelle Kaplan Spencer papers
American Association of University Women member and advocate for women's issues including dual listings for married women in Iowa telephone directories.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Verna Moulton Spencer papers
Maquoketa, Iowa, native who owned and operated Spencer's Harmony Hall with her husband from 1912 to 1962.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Harriet Adeline Stevens papers
Teacher of nutrition education and dietetics; U. S. Army Second Lieutenant who served as a medical hospital dietician at Camp Gordon, Georgia during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Priscilla Ann Mabie Stewart papers
Art historian and Professor who settled in Florida where she organized and directed a wild bird hospital.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Zella White Stewart papers
Allergist who practiced in Iowa City from 1910 to 1938.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sally Stiles papers
Poet and president of the Artists in Action group in Muscatine, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Edythe Stirlen papers
One of the first ordained female ministers in the Midwest whose sermons were broadcast on radio stations KFNF and KMA for over sixty years in Shenandoah, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Sylvia M. Stoesser papers
University of Iowa graduate in 1928 with a Ph.D. in physical chemistry. She was the first woman chemist to work for Dow Chemical Company.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Bette Brooks Stone papers
Mapleton, Iowa high school student who sent telegrams for Western Union during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Kathryn Stone papers
Mount Vernon, Iowa, native who taught at University High School in Iowa City in 1930 and 1931.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Jean Minish Stoner papers
Farmwoman, writer, and community volunteer near Mt. Vernon, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Mavis Stoner papers
Newspaper articles.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Rose Stoops papers
Teacher, farm woman and nurse who later participated in many community organizations in Grinnell, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Katherine Stroud papers
Leader of the 1949 campaign to reform Des Moines city government and adopt the city manager plan.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Velma Stuit scrapbooks
Wife of Dean of University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and organizer of Newcomers Club in 1938 and International Wives Club in 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Judith Sutcliffe papers
Tile artist and printer who formed Greentree Enterprises in Audubon, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Henry A. Wallace Papers
Editor of Wallaces' Farmer 1921-1933; Secretary of Agriculture, 1933-1940; Vice-President of the United States, 1941-1945; Secretary of Commerce, 1945-1946. Includes audio visual materials; clippings; an extensive collection of correspondence, including photocopies of the microfilm edition of the originals in the Library of Congress, Manuscript Division; government documents; personal papers; photographs; research materials, with an emphasis on agriculture, particularly corn, but including livestock, weather, strawberries, chickens, and gladioli; writings, and speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Helen Lee Hensleigh Wenger papers
University of Iowa graduate and teacher whose papers include correspondence and scrapbook files relating to her work on a variety of social issues including gun control.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives