Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Memoirs - 134 hits

Benita Allen papers
Russian immigrant recalls her childhood in Russia , World War I and the 1917 revolution.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Bluford Anderson papers
Professor Emeritus of Social Work at the University of Northern Iowa, author, and Black Hawk County Supervisor.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Hazel Beck Andre papers
Memoir written by Iowa native dying of cancer in 1956.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Amy Sophia Auer papers
Photocopied memoir of the Olson and Auer families who emigrated from Norway in the nineteenth century and settled in Northwood, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Autobiographical Sketches of Rural Iowa Women
Reminiscences of Iowa Farm Bureau women donated to the Rural Women's Project.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Wes Bartlett memoir
A Collection of Memories of the Algona Prisoner of War Camp, 1943 - 1946, compiled by Wes Bartlett.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marjorie Bertalot Block papers
My Story describes Block's training as a nurse, family life, her employment off and on the farm, and her activities in Benton County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nancy De Vries Blom papers
Dutch immigrant who came to the United States in 1915 as a young child and lived on a farm in northwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Atherton Bonney papers
Bonney's research files include Iowa suffragist Mary Jane Coggeshall, scientist Mary Louise Putnam, physician Jennie McCowen, and pioneer evangelist and minister, Abner Kneeland
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

June Lundy Boyd papers
Memoir describes growing up and teaching in southwestern Iowa, Lundy's wartime wedding and subsequent life in Knoxville, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Branyan papers
Letters From Egypt by Helen Baird Branyan consists primarily of Clarice Bloomfield's letters, written between 1920 and 1938. The letters describe the life of an Albia, Iowa, girl who became a missionary in Egypt.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosalie Braverman papers
Braverman recalls her childhood in Youthful Journeys in Poland and Germany. An oral history interview, conducted in 1996, concerns student family life, the Jewish community in Iowa City, and anti-Semitism.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lela Powers Briggs papers
An artist who farmed with her husband near La Porte, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ada Mae Brown Brinton memoir
In Sunshine and Rain in Iowa: Reminiscing through 86 Years, Brinton reflects on rural Iowa, hard work, church traditions, and the love of family and community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Irene Coleman Buckley memoir
A Handful of Rain: The Life of Irene Buckley, describes her life as a teacher, wife, mother, librarian, and volunteer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Janine Canan Papers
Poet and editor. Books, manuscripts,clippings, correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lucille Ketchum Carter papers
1936 graduate of the School of Nursing at the State University of Iowa who was active in Democratic politics and whose correspondence includes round robin letters.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Annette Cech papers
Iowa City housewife and mother whose son, Thomas Cech, won the Nobel Prize in 1989.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Esther Christensen papers
65-page memoir of Fayette County, Iowa farmwoman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lida Cochran papers
Audiovisual educator and professor in the Education Department at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Vera Shepard Cronkhite papers
Southwest Iowa rural schoolteacher during the 1920s and 1930s. Taught in town schools an additional 20 years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Charles D. Cuttler Papers
Professor of art and art history. Consultant to National Endowment for the Humanities. Correspondence, administrative records.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Margaret Dallas papers
Tipton, Iowa, high school student who graduated in 1925.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dallner and Petersen Family papers
Peterson's journals describe daily life in rural Iowa from 1907 to 1910; Dallner's writings focus on two mysterious deaths that occurred in 1925.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jay N. Darling Papers
Correspondence, speeches, articles, leaflets, clippings, scrapbooks and a sketchbook, mostly dealing with politics, conservation, or family affairs, assembled by newspaper cartoonist Ding Darling of The Des Moines Register. There are also some 6,000 original pen-and-ink cartoons drawn by Darling.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dorothy Pearl Unmack Dix papers
Harrison County, Iowa-born schoolteacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Minnette Doderer papers
State legislator from Iowa City who was first elected to the Iowa House of Representatives in 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Muriel Anne Dryden papers
Federal government employee who held various positions during her career, including White House mail analyst.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Christine Dutson papers
Multi-volume memoir of a Mormon woman who was an educator, poet and advocate for the mentally ill.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Wanda Edgerton papers
Occupational therapist who worked in Venezuela, 1940-1942, and at Ohio State University.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Bobbitt Ettleman papers
The 1951 memoir describes rural life in nineteenth century Iowa and Indiana.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Almira Ames Farnham memoir
Essay describing the life of Almira Ames Farnham, a pioneer woman from New England who settled near Morley, Iowa in 1859.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Grace Ferns papers
Memoir and oral history transcript of a rural Iowa school teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Beverly Barnes Fix Papers
Television and radio broadcaster, producer and writer who worked in Iowa and Hollywood in the 1940s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Georgana Falb Foster papers
A participant in the Camp Fire Girls between 1940 and 1954; materials include correspondence, scrapbooks and a memoir.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Fuller papers
The first female pilot in Appanoose County and active in the local Democratic Party.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosa Knutson Gangestad papers
The daughter of Norwegian immigrants who came to Humboldt County, Iowa in 1872. Reflections on pioneer life through handwritten stories and letters for her grandchildren.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nellie M. Gebers papers
Artist, writer and teacher from Ira, Iowa who studied with Grant Wood.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marie Giddings papers
Detailed account of farm and rural community life as Marie Giddings knew it growing up in Kossuth County during the early 20th century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Blanche Basye Gilmore papers
Memoir of wife, mother, and grandmother whose husband Eugene Gilmore was Vice Governor of the Phillippines in the 1920s and president of the University of Iowa from 1934 to 1940.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Madge Girard papers
Reflections on Girard's early life homesteading in South Dakota.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy S. Grant papers
Unitarian Universalist and Head Start teacher, and spokesperson for victims of spousal abuse.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Esther Mae Christensen Grow memoir
Reflections on growing up in western Iowa and Nebraska include experiences in country school, college and as a teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Hagen memoir
Memoir describing life on a family farm near Manly, Iowa during the 1920s and 1930s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Hamilton papers
Teacher and world traveler who served in the New Hampshire legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Claudine Harris papers
Harris worked in radiation detection instrumentation. She was active in the Johnson County League of Women Voters and the Johnson County Alliance for the Mentally Ill.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marie Tener Havel papers
Nurse who worked in Missouri in the 1930s and at the University of Iowa Hospitals from 1948 to 1965.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frances Hawthorne papers
Des Moines educator whose materials include You Can't Go Back to Buxton and African Americans in Iowa: a Chronicle of Contributions, 1830-1992.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Judy Herron Hoit papers
Disability access and awareness advocate and 1996 Ms. Wheelchair Iowa winner.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Ankeny Hunter memoir
Secretary, vice-president, and then president of the Iowa Suffrage Memorial Commission in the 1920s and 1930s. Hunter was a peace activist, prohibitionist, and Red Cross worker during World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bonnie Kern papers
Iowa author who was a victim of sexual and physical abuse, served time in jail and eventually was pardoned.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Kern papers
Professor of English and an independent scholar who taught in the Middle East and Eastern Europe as well as in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alice Kipp papers
The papers include Kipp's reminiscence of her childhood on an Iowa farm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Knievel papers
Librarian from rural Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Pearl Knoop papers
Librarian and bird watcher from Marble Rock, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Della Marie Koppenhaver papers
Two reminiscences of Alice Tenley Hora, an Iowa farm woman, detailing farm life in the 1920s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ortha Lane papers
1917 graduate of Cornell College, Iowa, who served as a missionary in the Changchao District of Northern China.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Larson papers
Anamosa and Iowa City resident who worked for the The University of Iowa Hospital.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joy Smith Lewallen memoir
This is My Story, This is My Song, unpublished memoir.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth Fagan Lynch memoir
Teacher and farmer of Irish descent from Dubuque County, Iowa whose memoir is called, A Trunk and its Chips.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Pauline Lyon papers
Waterloo, Iowa, native who served in WAVES during World War II and later worked for the American Red Cross.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Maria Cano Martinez papers
Maria Cano came to Iowa from Guanajuato, Mexico, with her parents in 1928. She established a Spanish language interpreter program at the University of Iowa Hospitals in 1975.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marjorie Mason papers
Teacher, newspaper columnist and poet from Sioux City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alice McMurry papers
Promise City, Iowa elementary school teacher and poet.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Perkins Messenger memoir
Reflections on growing up and raising a family in rural Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marianne Michael papers
Served with her husband as missionaries for the Church of the Brethren in Garkida, Nigeria from 1948 to 1961.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth R. Miller papers
Farm woman and Republican state legislator from Marshalltown, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ellen Mowrer Miller papers
Correspondence of 19th century Iowa woman includes letters from brother in medical school and Civil War and from sister who raised a family and maintained a farm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Peg Mullen papers
Anti-Vietnam War activist whose son, Michael, was killed by 'friendly fire' in Vietnam in 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edith Neal papers
Known as the Vietnam Mail Lady, Neal corresponded with servicemen stationed in Vietnam from 1966 to 1969.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ortha P. Neff papers
Red Cross staff member who was stationed in Okinawa and Hawaii during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gladys Nelson papers
Republican Iowa legislator from 1950 to 1956 and former president of the League of Women Voters of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bess Newcomer papers
Appanoose County farmwoman, columnist, and Farm Bureau officer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Melba Gardemann Olson papers
Benton County, Iowa, farm girl and teacher who played on her high school's basketball championship team in 1927.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Olson/Clampitt memoirs
Memoirs of life in rural Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Jane Parsons papers
Reflections on her pioneer life from Rochester, New York to Dakota City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Emma Lou Leeper Phelan papers
Brooklyn, Iowa, native who was a riveter for Ryan Aeronautical Company in California, 1944 to 1945.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Pierce-Stuart Family papers
Diaries of Mary Pierce describe family life in Harlan, Iowa from 1927 to 1947; Mary Clark's memoir reflects on medical challenges in the early 1900s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Sprout Place memoir
Reflections on life as a farmwoman and young mother during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elvira Gaston Platt papers
Teacher and abolitionist who assisted fleeing slaves on the Underground Railroad while living in Fremont County, Iowa. Taught school to Pawnee children in Pennsylvania and Nebraska.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Virginia Randolph papers
Anamosa, Iowa, poet and niece of Elizabeth Wherry.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ethel Reames papers
Businesswoman who was the creator and proprieter of the Reames Noodle Company in Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gladys Talcott Rife papers
Mt.Vernon, Iowa high school teacher who later owned and directed The Depot Museum in Fayette County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ernest Rodriguez papers
Davenport civil rights and Chicano activist, born in the predominantly Mexican settlement of Holy City in Bettendorf, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Effie Hoffman Rogers memoir
Reporter and city editor for Oskaloosa's Globe Press later elected Grand supreme chapter president of the PEO sisterhood.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lillian Ronk papers
West Central Iowa farmwoman known locally as 'the flower lady.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Henrietta Ruff papers
Amana, Iowa, school teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marie Rumble papers
A homesteader who lived in Wyoming, Colorado and Washington State.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Winnifred Hiatt Scanlan papers
Memoir of growing up in Stockport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Shediwy Scheetz memoir
The youngest daughter of immigrants reflects on growing up in Iowa towns during the Depression.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Hazelle Keir Schmuecker papers
Autobiographical essays and family history of six generations by rural schoolteacher, homemaker, and artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lois McIntyre Schutte papers
Two memoirs of an Iowa farm woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helene Scriabine papers
Author and Professor Emeritus of Russian at the University of Iowa, who emmigrated to the United States after surviving the siege of Leningrad in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jessie Field Shambaugh papers
Shenandoah, Iowa teacher who became school superintendent for Page County, Iowa. She played a central role in the development of activities for rural youth and is referred to as the 'Mother of 4-H.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Laura Gibson Smith papers
Casey, Iowa native who taught country school before marrying and homesteading in Wyoming in 1913. She taught school in the Philippines in the 1910s and 1920s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marcella Henley Smith papers
Memoir, Confetti, of her life in Albia, Iowa, correspondence, and journals of books read since 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Verna Moulton Spencer papers
Maquoketa, Iowa, native who owned and operated Spencer's Harmony Hall with her husband from 1912 to 1962.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edith Sprout memoir
Farm woman raised in western Iowa and North Dakota who wrote about her childhood in her memoir.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Harriet Adeline Stevens papers
Teacher of nutrition education and dietetics; U. S. Army Second Lieutenant who served as a medical hospital dietician at Camp Gordon, Georgia during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bette Brooks Stone papers
Mapleton, Iowa high school student who sent telegrams for Western Union during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Minish Stoner papers
Farmwoman, writer, and community volunteer near Mt. Vernon, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Velma Stuit scrapbooks
Wife of Dean of University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and organizer of Newcomers Club in 1938 and International Wives Club in 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Judith Sutcliffe papers
Tile artist and printer who formed Greentree Enterprises in Audubon, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Swope and DeLand Families papers
Family papers and subject files concerning women artists, women writers, and peace activism in Northwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth Lindsay Tatum papers
Peace activist and Quaker who lived in Southern Rhodesia from 1960 to 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Genevieve Buess Taylor papers
Adoption records from The Willows Maternity Sanitarium in Kansas City, Missouri regarding the 1924 adoption of Oren Jay Taylor. Also included is a 1916 school paper on equal suffrage by Dorothy Mills.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Fatherson Taylor papers
Reminiscences and essays by Taylor and the transcript of a 1915 memoir written by Editha Phillips Fatherson.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Velma Skott Teeple memoir
Childhood memories of an Eastern Iowa teacher, writer, and farmwoman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Florence Vallejo Terronez papers
The family came to Horton, Kansas, from Mexico in 1910 and moved to West Des Moines in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosemary Tharp papers
Cedar Falls native who served in the WAVES during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Esther Thornhill papers
Ida Grove, Iowa mother and homemaker who worked at a hatchery and at a hamburger shop before marrying.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Vina Thorpe papers
Des Moines newspaper columnist and editor who ran Thorpe Publications with her husband.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Trimble Family papers
Reminiscences of Gladys Trimble Leith and Marie Jeffers about their mother, Mary Pyle Trimble as well as their own childhood.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Eleanor Eyestone Trummel papers
Home demonstration agent for Iowa State College Extension Service and homemaker.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Magdalena "Helen" Tylee papers
A German war bride who came to Iowa in 1922. During World War II she ran the family farm while her husband was serving in the armed forces.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Warren Van Dine Papers
Consists of audio recordings, biographical information, correspondence, and materials relating to Mr. Van Dine's editorial positions with Much Ado and Upward. Also included in this collection are several manuscripts and typescripts of poems, essays, and short stories as well as Mr. Van Dine's memories of his time spent as an undergraduate at the State University of Iowa in the 1920s. Photographs, speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mabel Korver Van Haaften memoir
Dutch-American farmwoman in early nineteenth century Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ernella Van Horn papers
The second of four generations of women in her family to play basketball in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jeanne Van Kley papers
Farmer's wife from Ocheydan, Iowa who raised four children.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Van Zante and De Cook Families papers
Late 19th century diary of adolescent Dutch-American farm girl and 1932 farm diary of her daughter-in-law.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marjorie Vandervelde papers
Photojournalist and writer who lived with Cuna Indians on the San Blas Islands to learn their culture and traditions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Martha Wahl papers
Mathematician and teacher who patented educational toys for teaching mathematics to children.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lois Wescott papers
Geology graduate of the University of Iowa who traveled to Japan and Venezuela to work for oil companies.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Patricia Peterson Wiese papers
English as a Second Language teacher in West Liberty, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Eva Donelson Wilson papers
Native of Ogden, Iowa, and professor of nutrition at colleges in the United States and Brazil.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edward Francis Winslow Papers
Civil War soldier and railroad builder. Memoirs, correspondence, clippings, and reports relating to his service with the 4th Iowa Cavalry during the Civil War. Also includes reports and papers about the Battle of Brice's Crossroads.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Zelda Babcock Wolfe memoir
Riceville, Iowa, mother, homemaker, and teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women's Resource and Action Center records
Women's center established in 1970 to serve the university and community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Faye Wookey papers
Native of Red Oak, Iowa who who recalls family life on a farm in Montgomery County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Fox Wurster papers
Mahaska County farm girl who won a blue ribbon in the Mahaska County's Boys' 4-H.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Janie Yates-Glandorf papers
Iowa City high school drama and English teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lela Aurilla Yost memoir
Schoolteacher and farm wife near Mason City and Kesley, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bernice Zimmer papers
Diaries of an Iowa woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lola Moeller Zook papers
Newspaper editor whose papers relate to her career as a journalist and the years she spent in occupied Japan following World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives