Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for American fiction - 9 hits

Marcus Bach Papers
Religion professor and writer. Early typescript drafts of six of his books, including The Dream Gate and Report to Protestants.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Richard Pike Bissell Papers
Typescript and holograph drafts, galley proofs, editor's notes, source material, etc., documenting the writings of this Dubuque novelist and author of 7 1/2 Cents (1953), the basis of the musical hit, The Pajama Game (1954, filmed 1957).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur Carhart Papers
Author, conservationist, and landscape architect. Manuscripts of some of his books including The National Forests and Timber in Your Life. Typescript drafts, proofs, galleys, outlines, and correspondence are included.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jeanette Eyerly Papers
Author of books for young adults from More Than a Summer Love, (1962), with a special concern for mental health. Correspondence, notes, various drafts, promotional material, etc., of her many books for adolescents.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dorothy M. Johnson Papers
Editor, novelist and professor of journalism at the University of Montana. Typescript drafts and related correspondence for several short stories and her novel, The Hanging Tree. Also some family correspondence and photographs. Johnson wrote Liberty Valence and A Man Called Horse, both, like The Hanging Tree, made into motion pictures.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Seymour Krim Papers
Journalist and essayist. Correspondence, typescripts, notes, reviews, published copies, etc. relating to his literary career and his contributions to beat literature and the new journalism movement.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

David Morrell Papers
Born in Ontario 1943, awarded a PhD in American literature by Pennsylvania State University in 1970, taught at Iowa from 1970 to 1986, retired to write. Perhaps best known for Rambo, the central character of his 1972 novel First Blood, which lead to the Rambo films starring Sylvester Stallone, Morrell has written numerous novels as well as screen- and teleplays. The growing collection of his papers includes video and audio tapes as well as research notes, correspondence, and manuscripts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edwin L. Sabin Papers
Novelist. Correspondence, scrapbooks, subject files, preliminary drafts of his writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ruth Suckow Papers
Novelist and pacifist. Correspondence, diaries, subject files, notes, and preliminary drafts of writings. Also includes the work of Ferner Nuhn and William Suckow.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections