Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets - 74 hits

Richard Pike Bissell Papers
Typescript and holograph drafts, galley proofs, editor's notes, source material, etc., documenting the writings of this Dubuque novelist and author of 7 1/2 Cents (1953), the basis of the musical hit, The Pajama Game (1954, filmed 1957).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frederick Stern Bock Papers
Poet , Assistant Editor Poetry Fountains of Regardlessness (1961). Correspondence, subject files, and preliminary drafts of his writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Vance Bourjaily Papers
Novelist and Writers' Workshop instructor. Typescript with notes and revisions of his novel, A Game Men Play (Dial Press, 1980). Iowa Authors Ms.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Eugene L. Burdick Papers
Author and co-author of such books as The Ugly American and Fail-Safe. This collection contains a manuscript for the book The Blue of Capricorn, and the serialized version of Fail-Safe, as well as clippings relating to Burdick. Iowa Author Ms.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ellis Parker Butler Papers
Author and businessman from Iowa , best known for his short story Pigs is Pigs. The papers consist of correspondence to and from Butler about his writing and the Author's League of America . His wife's correspondence is also included.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Esther Carlson manuscript
Manuscript for Moon Over the Back Fence, 1947-1948. Iowa Author Manuscript
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

R. Verlin Cassill manuscripts
Novelist and Writers' Workshop instructor. Uncorrected proof of Pretty Leslie (Simon and Schuster, 1963), a novel, and a recording of Cassill reading And in My Heart.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Amy Clampitt Papers
Poet: Kingfisher (1983), Manhattan: An Elegy (UI Center for the Book, 1990), MacArthur Fellow, 1992, Collected Poems (1997). Correspondence and typescripts of some of her writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Max Allan Collins papers
Author, filmmaker, and comic strip writer. The papers document his film and literary career. His novels, comics (including Dick Tracy and Ms. Tree), and screenplays are represented in various forms of completion, with typescript drafts, artwork, correspondence, research, galley proofs, and promotional material.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul Corey papers
Writer Three Miles Square (1939), environmentalist, and animal activist. Correspondence, subject files, scrapbooks, and preliminary drafts of writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jose Donoso Papers
Correspondence, notebooks and manuscripts of Chilean writer Jose Donosos. The collection contains a preliminary version of Donoso's first novel, Coronación, many drafts of El obsceno pájaro de la noche (The Obscene Bird of Night), as well as drafts of stories and other writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

J. Hyatt Downing Papers
Novelist and story writer. Correspondence, subject files, biographical material, and preliminary drafts of his writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Norman Dubie Papers
Poet: numerous books from Alehouse Sonnets (1971) to Funeral (1998). Manuscripts, correspondence, other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Thomas W. Duncan Papers
Novelist and story writer. Preliminary drafts, notes, revisions, and galley proofs for three of his novels, including a highly successful circus novel, Gus the Great (1947).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul Engle Papers
Poet (numerous books from Worn Earth, 1932), editor of the O. Henry Prize Stories, 1954-1959, director of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, 1941-1967, and co-founder and director of the International Writers' Program, 1967-1976 at the University of Iowa. Literary manuscripts, correspondence, subject files, and student works documenting his career as a writer and teacher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry Gregor Felsen Papers
Novelist, story writer and author of children's books, including Hot Rod, a best-seller for 30 years. Correspondence and literary manuscripts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur Davison Ficke Papers
Poet and writer born in Davenport, Iowa. Manuscripts include materials for a course in Arthurian legend given at the State University of Iowa 1906-1907, drafts of published poems and stories, and typescripts of unpublished stories and novels.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Towner Frederick Papers
English professor, Iowa author, and founder and editor of The Midland. Correspondence, subject files, business records for The Midland, lectures, and preliminary drafts of writings, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Alice French Papers
One of the most successful women writers of the later 19th century, Octave Thanet's stories and novels celebrated the status quo; she lived much of her life in Davenport, Iowa. Our holdings consist of a holograph draft of her story, The Governor's Prerogative, photographs, photocopies of other stories, and a microfilm of Voice of Nature.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hamlin Garland Papers
Correspondence, four short manuscripts, and photographs make up this small collection for this Iowa author and champion of local color.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dorothy Garlock Papers
Romance novelist from Love and Cherish (1980), a career started to avoid the boredom of retirement.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Tom Gatten Literary Letters
Collection of letters from literary figures including Kofi Awoonor, Robert Bly, Michael Cimino, Galway Kinnell, Denise Levertov, and others.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Susan Gearhart Papers
Manuscripts of poems from the Springville, Iowa poet's two books, The Plow on the Hill and The West is Here, as well as other poems.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carl Glick Papers
Story writer, playwright and film script writer, author of books for adults and children, Glick is best remembered for his books about the Chinese in America.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edward Gorman Papers
Author of mysteries (the Tobin and Jack Dwyer series), westerns (as Leo Guild), and horror novels under several pseudonyms. Former advertising executive. Preliminary drafts of his writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William Wister Haines Papers
Novelist and screenwriter. This collection contains the manuscript and correspondence for the novel [i]Command Decision.[/i]
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James Norman Hall Papers
Manuscripts of some of Hall's poetry, plays, articles, and essays. Also drafts of his book, The Far Lands.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Curtis Harnack Papers
Assistant Editor (with Paul Engle) Prize Stories 1958-1959. Author of a memoir, We Have All Gone Away (1973), and other books. President of Yaddo, 1981-1987; 1992-1997 President of the School of American Ballet.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Evelyn Harter Papers
Harter was born in Keokuk, Iowa. Completing a BA at the University of Iowa in 1925, she moved to New York City where she shared an apartment for a time with Ruth Suckow. Primarily a typographer and book designer, she worked for publishers such as Cape and Smith, Smith and Haas, and Random House. Her first novel, Dr. Katherine Bell (Doubleday, 1950) is partially set in Iowa City. She gave a corrected typescript and a set of corrected galleys just after the novel was published.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Josephine Herbst Papers
Novelist and journalist. Revised printers copy of Somewhere the Tempest Fell (1947), correspondence, clippings, book jackets, and a photograph.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marjorie Holmes Papers
Author of numerous short stories, several novels and radio scripts. One story, The General Comes Home, was sold to MGM.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Emerson Hough Papers
Journalist, editor of Forest and Stream, and novelist of the West. Includes letterpress book, 1902-1912 and 34 letters 1912-1923 to Mr. and Mrs. Fred Bigelow.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Guy Howard Papers
Itinerant preacher and writer. This collection consists of manuscripts from two of his books and various clippings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

"L.E. "Jack" Hunn Papers
Coach, story writer and poet. Stories for his grand-children published as Adventures with Grandpa (1988); two unpublished typescripts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iowa Author's Manuscripts Collection
Includes manuscripts, galley proofs, page proofs, dust jackets, and other miscellany associated with publications of many Iowa Authors.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dorothy M. Johnson Papers
Editor, novelist and professor of journalism at the University of Montana. Typescript drafts and related correspondence for several short stories and her novel, The Hanging Tree. Also some family correspondence and photographs. Johnson wrote Liberty Valence and A Man Called Horse, both, like The Hanging Tree, made into motion pictures.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

MacKinlay Kantor Papers
Author. Manuscript drafts, proofs, correspondence, etc. for his novel, Andersonville, with drafts for some other books.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Karlton and William Kelm Papers
Story writers, novelists and playwrights who did most writing in collaboration. Karlton published two novels: Brother (1936) and The Cherry Bed (1936). Correspondence with noted writers, drafts of plays, short stories, and novels, and material relating to the Dubuque Dia, a literary magazine.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Calvin Kentfield Papers
Iowa writer. Manuscript for The Alchemist's Voyage and various clippings and tear sheets. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

R.A. Lafferty Manuscripts
Prize-winning author of science fiction stories and novels. Typescripts and page proofs for several stories and novels, including the printer's copy of Okla Hannali (1972).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charlton Laird Papers
Author who wrote extensively on language. This collection contains the manuscript and correspondence for one of his novels. Iowa Author collection.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ruth Lechlitner Papers
Poet and teacher. Correspondence, subject files, and preliminary drafts of her writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Al M. Lee Papers
Graduate of the Writers' Workshop, novelist and poet. This collection contains manuscripts, clippings, a photograph, and correspondence. Correspondents include Hubert Humphrey, Gene McCarthy, John F. Kennedy, Mark Strand, Cleanth Brooks, and Donald Justice among others.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Leggett Papers
Manuscripts and correspondence of the editor, writer, and director of the University of Iowa Writer's Workshop, 1969-1987. Papers include research files and drafts for Ross [Lockridge] and Tom [Heggen]: Two American Tragedies (New York: Simon and Schuster, 1974), including three hundred Ross Lockridge letters and 40 interviews; copies of newspaper articles and book reviews; 446 letters by and about Tom Heggen, 95 interviews, copies of stories and articles written by Heggen; copies of newspaper and magazine articles written about Heggen and Mr. Roberts; official reports concerning Heggen's death; and general research and miscellaneous Items. This collection also includes materials for A Daring Young Man: A Biography of William Saroyan (New York: Knopf, 2002), and other books and stories.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

LeAnn Lemberger Papers
Author of romance novels as Leigh Michaels. Manuscript drafts, galleys, and page proofs of her novels, as well as articles by and about Lemberger and teaching materials used for the Iowa Summer Writing Festival.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Katinka Loeser Papers
Author, poet, and editor born in Iowa. Drafts of her poetry and short stories, a master proof of A Thousand Pardons, and an unpublished novel, Everyday China.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Phillip Margolin Papers
American and foreign editions, manuscript materials, publicity materials, periodical appearances, and clippings for this lawyer-author of legal thrillers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Julie McDonald Papers
Newspaper Editor and writer, this collection contains material related to two novels (Amalie's Story, 1970 and Petra, 1978), a play (Eyes of Sky; a Play in Six Scenes) and a biography (Ruth Buxton Sayre: First Lady of the Farms, 1980).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Merle Miller Papers
Editor at Yank, Time and Harper's, biographer of presidents, script writer, and novelist. Drafts, correspondence, printer's copies, and reviews for four of his books; the materials for The Sure Thing (1953) are extensive.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

[Steven] Dow Mossman papers
Writer born in Cedar Rapids. Collection includes extensive pre-publication materials for Mossman's highly regarded novel, The Stones of Summer (1972) as well as drafts written while a student in the Writer's Workshop.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Luther Mott papers papers
Journalism professor and dean, Mott is best remembered for his writing on the history of American newspapers. He also wrote numerous stories, plays and novels, draft of which are preserved in this collection. of which are preserved in this collection.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iris Murdoch Papers
British writer and philosopher. Manuscripts for most of her novels, plays, and poetry, primarily handwritten drafts in notebooks.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Evelyn Nelson papers
Correspondence, photographs, sheet music, clippings and programs. Lyric for a New Deal song. Purchased 1982.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edwin Ford Piper Collection
Piper's notes on Western ballads, with music for some; other folk materials including rimes, riddles, games, folk sayings, quadrille calls, slang, superstitions, and folk remedies.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Katharine Eggleston Roberts Papers
Printer's copies and related materials for four of Roberts' novels: And the Bravest of These, Center of the Web, Private Report, and Wind From The River.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marilynne Robinson papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edward Beatty Rowan Papers
A play, poems and drafts of five stories.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edwin L. Sabin Papers
Novelist. Correspondence, scrapbooks, subject files, preliminary drafts of his writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

(Katherine) Eleanor Saltzman Papers
Iowa regional writer. This collection consists of manuscripts for Ever Tomorrow and Stuart's Hill, and her unpublished novel, Carpthorne; manuscripts and tear sheets of her short stories and poems; as well as correspondence, notes, and clippings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William Saunders papers
Poet. Corrected typescript and galley proofs of Pillars of Space.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sadie Seagrave Papers
Novelist and poet. Typescripts of three books of poetry, some stories, and six radio programs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Richard Sherman Papers
Iowa novelist. His collection consists of the manuscript for The Bright Promise. Iowa Author manuscript.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jay Sigmund Papers
Insurance agent, poet, story writer, and lecturer on literature. Preliminary drafts of plays, poetry, an unpublished novel, and correspondence with writers of note.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Simpson papers
Poet. Drafts of a song, Slumber Song. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Grace Noll Smith papers
Poet and editor of the Iowa Magazine of Verse. Manuscript with revisions of one book of poetry. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Wallace Stegner papers
Award-winning novelist, story writer, essayist, historian, English professor at Stanford, and frontline conservationist. Preliminary drafts and proofs for seven novels.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ruth Suckow Papers
Novelist and pacifist. Correspondence, diaries, subject files, notes, and preliminary drafts of writings. Also includes the work of Ferner Nuhn and William Suckow.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Elswyth Thane Papers
Playwright, biographer and novelist. Holograph notebooks containing first drafts of several historical novels, printer's copies, and correspondence are included. There are audiotapes of her research for Potomac Squire, a book about George Washington.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lewis Turco Papers
Papers of the twentieth century poet and teacher. Includes manuscripts of poems, books, essays, book reviews, plays, short stories, and correspondence and bibliographies.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George Sylvester Viereck Papers
Poet, novelist, journalist, and publicist for pro-German causes. Correspondence, drafts of magazine articles, photos, clippings of newspaper and magazine articles, typescripts of poems in German and in English, notebooks and pamphlets, a psychiatric report, legal documents, statements in court, and related material.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Reverend Leo R. Ward papers
Writer, Catholic priest, and professor of philosophy at Notre Dame University. This collection consists of two manuscripts of Ward's published novels, Holding Up the Hills and Concerning Mary Ann. Iowa Author Manuscript.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hervey White Papers
Novelist (Quicksand, 1900, and others), founder of the artist's colonies Byrdcliffe and Maverick, and editor of The Plowshare and The Wild Hawk. Drafts and typescripts of 24 stories and chapters from an unpublished autobiography.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Angus Wilson Papers
Acclaimed British novelist and scholar. Research files, including administrative material, research materials, and corrected typescripts for her 1995 biography of novelist Sir Angus Wilson.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Martin Yoseloff Papers
Editor and novelist. Manuscripts for nine books, including No Greener Meadows (1946), his first novel.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections