Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Civil War - 46 hits

Lot Abraham Papers
Correspondence, Civil War diaries, military records, business papers, family papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles Thomas Ackley Civil War Diaries Collection
One hundred and eighteen letters from Charles Thomas Ackley, mostly to his wife in Marble Rock, Iowa. Also included are newspaper clippings, brief biographies of some of the men in the Seventh Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and historical commentary.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Harrison Allspaugh Diaries Collection
Diaries of the Civil War experiences of a member of the 31st Regiment of Ohio Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Bean Family Papers
Dr. Asa Bean was a physician with 114th Ohio Volunteers during the Civil War. Primarily correspondence between members of the Bean family.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Miles Beaty Letters
Letters written to Beaty's father, John Beaty, telling of experiences in the 149th Regiment of Pennsylvania Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Anson R. Butler Papers
Civil War soldier and mayor of DeWitt , Iowa. Letters written to his wife while he was serving with the 26th Iowa Volunteer Infantry in the Civil War.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles Cady Papers
Civil War soldier from Danville, Iowa. Consists of letters written to his parents and family describing life in the 15th Iowa Volunteer Infantry. Also includes his promotion and discharge papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

California Civil War Diary
Diary of an unknown soldier in Company C, 4th Infantry C.V., who was assigned to a detail guarding a wagon train carrying specie to the East.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Civil War Collection
Documents having to do with the Civil War.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Margaret Strang Corothers memoir
Family History of the McDowall-Wilson, Strang-McDowall, and Corothers-Strang Families, 1934.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joseph Franklin Culver Papers
Civil War soldier, lawyer, and banker. Letters about his military service with the Illinois 129th Infantry Regiment, and his life after the war as a lawyer and banker in Illinois and Kansas . These letters were published as Leslie W. Dunlap, editor, Your Affectionate Husband, J.F. Culver: Letters Written During the Civil War (Friends of the University of Iowa Library, 1978). er the war as a lawyer and banker in Illinois and Kansas . These letters were published as Leslie W. Dunlap, editor, Your Affectionate Husband, J.F. Culver: Letters Written During the Civil War (Friends of the University of Iowa Library, 1978).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marcellus Warner Darling Papers
Civil War soldier, Congregational minister, and father of Jay Norwood Darling. Consists primarily of letters, a diary, and memoirs of his service in Company K, 154th New York Volunteer Infantry during the Civil War.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Andrew F. Davis Papers
Civil War soldier. Correspondence from Davis (an officer in Co.I, 15th Regiment, Indiana Volunteers) to his wife and daughters. Letters include information on troop morale, slavery, camp life, battles, Copperheads, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

W.B. Emmons Diary Collection
Civil War soldier, member of the 34th Illinois Infantry Regiment. Participated in the Atlanta Campaign and saw a good deal of action in Georgia. Recorded. Wrote of many battles and skirmishes.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Giauque Family Papers
Primarily the correspondence of James Giauque, a Civil War soldier who served in the 30th Iowa Infantry. Letters to his brother relate to army life, the siege of Vicksburg, and Copperheads. Also includes letters from his cousin Florian Giauque who served with the 102nd Ohio Volunteers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William F. Goodhue Diary
Civil War soldier. Goodhue was a member of the 3rd Wisconsin Infantry Regiment. He wrote of camp life, food, and military duties. He also describes the country through which he traveled.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George F. Hall Papers
Civil War soldier from Iowa. Primarily letters written by Lt. George F. Hall of Co. C, 2nd Iowa Infantry Regiment, to his father during the Civil War. They discuss the food and weather, clothing, Copperheads, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iowa Cavalry 1st Regiment Records
These records consist of copies of orders and invoices reflecting military issues such as posting guards, court marshals, and patrolling guerrillas. Most of the orders were issued from Headquarters of the District of Central Missouri.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Malcolm Letters
Letters to Malcolm's wife, describing experiences in Georgia and elsewhere with the 7th Regiment of Iowa infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mann Family Papers
Civil War letters and military records of Asahel Mann, Jr., John Mann, and William Mann, all of whom were members of Co. A, 4th regiment, Iowa Cavalry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Byron McClain Letters
Letters to McClain's family in Wilton Junction, Iowa, telling of experiences in Tennessee with the 2nd Regiment of Iowa Cavalry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mead Family Papers
Civil War correspondence and pension records of an Iowa County family. Some of the topics of correspondence include the Battle of Corinth, Copperheads in Iowa, Black troops, and farm life in Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Martin Mericle Letters
Personal letters describing Martin Mericle's Civil War experiences while serving with the 114th Ohio Infantry Regiment. Also includes and account book, 1863-1875.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nicholas Meyer Papers
Screenwriter and director. Typescripts, screenplays, correspondence, clippings, proofs, photographs, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paisley Family Diaries Collection
Diaries of John and Chloe Paisley. John served in the 10th Ohio Volunteer Cavalry in the Civil War, and later lived in Burlington, Iowa. Also includes diaries kept by Mabel Paisley and Susan Swan Lippitt.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

David James Palmer Papers
Civil War soldier. Typescripts of his Civil War correspondence, describing campaigns, battles, and camp life.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Palmer/Calkins/Corbin Papers
Letters, diaries, genealogies, papers, and videocassette dealing with the Civil War, the Mormon move west, and World War II.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John W. Pratt Diaries Collection
Civil War soldier. Relates his feelings and experiences with the 27th Iowa Volunteer Infantry Regiment.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William Titus Rigby Papers
Civil War veteran and Vicksburg National Military Park Commissioner. Correspondence, clippings, photographs, diaries, genealogical material, relating the Rigby family.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry Clay Russell Civil War Letters
Russell's correspondence to his sister, Mary, of Crawfordsville, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Second Iowa Cavalry Association Biennial Reunion Minutes
Scrapbook containing handwritten minutes and published programs from the biennial meetings of the Second Iowa Cavalry Association.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George Marion Shearer Civil War Diaries
Diaries of a soldier in Company E, 17th Iowa Infantry, who was captured and imprisoned in Sumter Prison, 1864-65.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Shelton Family Papers
Diaries of Mary E. Shelton and Rhode Maenad Shelton describing their nursing experience with Annie Wittenmeyer during the Civil War and at the Hospital for the Insane in Mount Pleasant, Iowa; also the Civil War diary of Orteus Carnefix Shelton, lieutenant of the 45th Regiment of Iowa Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Silas B. Silver Diary
Maryland physician. Diary includes his observations on the Civil War and politics, farming, and medicine.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sterns Family Papers
Correspondence, photographs, memorabilia, etc. relating to the Civil War, railroading in the West, and the Alaskan gold rush.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George W. Strong Papers
Correspondence to and from the Second Lieutenant.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James A. Throop Records
Businessman and proprietor of the Mount Pleasant Free Press. One journal contains Throop's hardware store accounts and recipes kept by Bessie Throop. The other is a record book kept by the Loyal Union League of Henry County, Iowa, 1863-1864, which includes bylaws, meeting minutes, a membership list, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Myron Underwood Civil War Letters Collection
Letters to his wife telling of his experiences as assistant surgeon of the 12th Iowa infantry regiment.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sewell Van Alstine Papers
Civil War diary of a member of the 95th Illinois infantry regiment.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Wagner Letters
Correspondence to his wife from Camp Strong describing his experiences in the Graybeard regiment.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James Baird Weaver Papers
Populist leader. Weaver's correspondence with his wife; other Weaver family papers. Includes material on Davis Co., Iowa, and experiences in the Civil War.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

White Family Papers
Consisting mostly of letters written home from three men, presumably brothers, in the Civil War - John Howell White, George L. White, and Ned [White] - this collecion also contains a deed for propertry acquired by John H. White in Ohio, official documents related to the mens' service in the Civil War, leaves from the family bible, and other documentation from the White family. The family was probably located in southeastern Iowa, near Mount Pleasant.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Wendell D. Wiltsie Diaries
Diaries of a soldier in Company E, 23rd Michigan volunteer Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edward Francis Winslow Papers
Civil War soldier and railroad builder. Memoirs, correspondence, clippings, and reports relating to his service with the 4th Iowa Cavalry during the Civil War. Also includes reports and papers about the Battle of Brice's Crossroads.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ferdinand Sophus Winslow Letters
Civil War Letters of Ferdinand Sophus Winslow, 1861-1865.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Wise Clark Family Papers
Family papers consisting of correspondence on life in Iowa and Illinois in the Civil War era and beyond.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections