Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Clergy and the Church - 26 hits

Ebenezer Alden Papers
Student at Andover Theological Seminary, member of the Iowa band, Congregational minister in Tipton, Cedar County, Iowa, and Marshfield, Massachusetts. Reports, letters, and student papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

American Lutheran Church Board of Pensions Papers
Minutes of meetings of the Board of Pensions and Executive Committee, 1938-1969.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Waldemar Argow
Unitarian minister in Cedar Rapids. Holdings consist of the printer's copy of his What Do Religious Liberals Believe?
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Batchelder Family Papers
Papers of Reverend Joseph Mayo Batchelder and his wife. Included are about 50 letters, written in the 1840s and 1850s mostly from Peoria, Illinois and Owego, New York; an account book dated from 1848-1884; and a diary dated from 1847-1848. Manuscript sermons, and other items.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Newell W. Bixby Papers
Minister of the Free Will Baptist Church in Lodomillo Township, Clayton County , Iowa. Private journals and church records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Homer Calkin Papers
Historian, archivist, and author. Correspondence files; diaries; memorabilia; scrapbooks dealing with his early life, education, career in the State Department, and work for the Methodist Church.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Alfred B. Chamberlin Papers
Methodist minister. Sermon outlines, orders of worship, notebook, pastoral calls, and other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

J. Gordon Chamberlin Papers
Teacher, Methodist minister and writer on theological and educational subjects. Correspondence, course materials, sermons and speeches, with materials relating to his many books and articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Thomas E. Corkhill Papers
Methodist minister and moving force behind the organization of schools at Eldora and Mitchellville. Included are certificates of Corkhill's appointment of trustee of Iowa Reform School and an account book relating to his expenses as trustee as well as a holograph commonplace book containing the text of a diary of his experience in the Civil War, commissioned by Governor Samuel Kirkwood. This diary also contains poems and clippings. Also included is a CD of a transcription of the diary, plus a commentary on the text of over 150 pages, including background information and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marcellus Warner Darling Papers
Civil War soldier, Congregational minister, and father of Jay Norwood Darling. Consists primarily of letters, a diary, and memoirs of his service in Company K, 154th New York Volunteer Infantry during the Civil War.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ora Delmer Foster Papers
Congregational minister, lecturer, and professor. Subject files, literary manuscripts, diaries, photographs, and books relating to Foster's life and career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry N. Graven Papers
U.S. District Court Judge for the Northern District of Iowa. Papers primarily relating to his legal and judicial career with briefs, jury instructions, citations, subject files, and speeches. Also includes correspondence, information on the School of Religion at the University of Iowa and material about the Lutheran Church.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Haskell Family Papers
Diary of Caleb Haskell, 1775-1776; writings and correspondence of Edwin Charles Haskell, a presbyterian minister, and those of his wife Lottie and children Evan, William, Elsie, and Nellie.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Francis Kun Collection
Minister of the Czech-Moravian Brethren Church near Ely, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Brooke Lambert Papers
English clergyman and social reformer. Made up of letters written to Lambert over a forty year time span dealing with issues such as women's suffrage, the welfare of the poor and orphaned, colonialism, pulpit freedom, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Anson Nash Papers
Baptist clergyman and founder of Des Moines University. Church documents, correspondence, school bonds and contracts, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Old Brick Records
Iowa City building. Legal documents, correspondence, financial records, etc. used in the battle to save Old Brick from destruction.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William Titus Rigby Papers
Civil War veteran and Vicksburg National Military Park Commissioner. Correspondence, clippings, photographs, diaries, genealogical material, relating the Rigby family.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James Peery Schell Papers
Presbyterian clergyman in the Middle West. Memoirs of his life in the 1840s and 1850s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul V. Shearer Papers
Lawyer, owner and publisher of the Columbus Gazette, and Methodist lay leader. Copies of his newspaper column, correspondence, speeches, and biographical material. Also conference programs, debates, commission reports, etc., relating to the Methodist Church.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hartzell Spence Papers
Born in Clarion, Iowa, Spence graduated from the University of Iowa in 1930. From 1930 to 1941 he was the United Press bureau manager in Des Moines, and saw service during WW II in the Army Air Forces where he was the founder and first editor of Yank, the Army weekly newspaper. After the war, he worked as a free-lance writer, particularly noted for his reporting on religion. He also published several novels, wrote a comic strip (David Crane) and scripts for the weekly radio program, One Foot in Heaven, broadcast on the ABC network, 1944-1945. This collection consists of drafts for numerous articles and stories, including those for The Story of Religion in America, published in Look, 1957-1960.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Emmanuel Stucki Papers
Minister. Correspondence, sermons, and tax returns.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Fayette L. Thompson Sermons Collection
Methodist minister in Michigan, Iowa, Missouri, and Minnesota. The sermons represent the liberal evangelical viewpoint.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Elton Trueblood papers
Author and Quaker religious philosopher. This collection contains manuscripts for two of his books, The Common Venture of Life and Declaration of Freedom.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

United Methodist Church Environmental Stewardship Conference, Iowa Conference Records
Minutes and agendas of meetings, speeches, open letters, and study materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lyman Whiting Papers
Congregational clergyman. Diaries, correspondence, sermons, and other materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections