Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Zines and the Amateur Press - 25 hits

ATCA Periodicals and Zines Collection
This ATCA collection brings together journals, newspapers, zines, and similar formal and informal periodicals that are art-related or have artistic merit. The range of subjects is broad and include political and cultural issues, gender and sexuality questions, as well as music, film, poetry, and religion.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Bergus Zine Collection
Zines collected by Nick and Laura Bergus documenting avant garde and popular music in the 1980s and 1990s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Morgan Dawn Fanzines and Fanvids Collection
Collection of fanzines and fanvids (fan-created montages of video clips from assorted media fandoms set to music) relating to numerous media fandoms, assembled by long-time fan writer and vidder Dawn.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Morgan Dawn The Professionals Circuit Library and Fanzine Collection
Collection of fanzines and items of fan fiction relating to the British crime drama The Professionals, including the print and digital contents of the fan-assembled 'Circuit Library'.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Fanzines Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lauren Geringer Papers
Iowa City printer and author. The bulk of the collection is comprised of monthly bundles from amateur press associations during 1990 and 1991, including the Amalgamated Printers Association, the National Amateur Press Association, and Peat's press. Items from Geringer's Press, clippings about Geringer, a miscellaneous collection of samples of printing, and several editions of his small journal, People Watcher make up the remainderof the collection.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

S. Hereld Collection of Blake's 7 Fanzines and Fan Fiction
A collection of fan publications, including examples of fan fiction, by various authors relating to the British science fiction television series Blake's 7. Also included are some publications for several other genre shows.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Susan Hill Fanzine Collection
Science fiction fan and fanzine collector. Collection of fanzines - mostly works of fan fiction, with particular emphasis on multimedia anthologies and on the British science fiction TV show Blake's 7.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Debbie Hoover Fanzine Collection
Oregon-based fan and collector of fanzines. Collection of fanzines - mostly fan fiction -, mainly from Star Trek but also for other SF and genre media properties.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

M. Horvat Genre Apazines Collection
A collection of science fiction, fantasy, mystery and other genre apazines (publications similar to newsletters or fanzines, and published by fan groups called Amateur Press Associations, or apas).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

M. Horvat Science Fiction Fanzines Collection
A large collection, stretching across most of the 20th century, of science fiction fanzines.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Celeste Hotaling-Lyons Fanzine Collection
Fan writer and editor. A collection of science fiction fanzines, primarily consisting of pieces of fan fiction, and a few related items, including some science fiction convention materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Brent Johnson Iowa Killed Buddy Holly Small Press and Zine Shop Collection
Collection of zines and other small press publications assembled by Johnson, an Iowa City native who operated the Iowa Killed Buddy Holly Small Press and Zine Shop in Iowa City.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Brian Knapp Zines Collection
Collection of fanzines and science fiction convention materials from Connecticut-based fan Knapp, mostly dealing with Star Trek but including other media properties as well.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Laura Leach Collection of Man From U.N.C.L.E. Fanzines
Collection of fanzines (primarily fan fiction) and other materials, including episode scripts, devoted to the 1960s cult television show The Man From U.N.C.L.E.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Guy Miller Amateur Journals Collection
Collection of amateur print publications, most dating from the early and mid 20th century.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Organization for Transformative Works Fanzine and Fan Fiction Collection
Collection of science fiction and other genre fanzines, pieces of fan fiction, and related fannish artifacts donated by various fans through the cooperation of the Organization for Transformative Works, established to preserve the history of fanworks and fan culture.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Public Space ONE Zine Collection
Collection of zines donated by Iowa City-based art and performance venue Public Space ONE. Many zines relate to anarchist or radical politics, and many zines are from Iowa City-area authors.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Heath Row Amateur Press Association Collection
Zine writer and editor, and member of multiple amateur press associations. Includes apa publications, apa official organs, and assorted loose ajay publications.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Elliott M. Ruben Amateur Press Association Collection
Amateur journalist and member of a number of amateur press associations. Bundles of apa publications, apa official journals, correspondence, official apa documents, and Ruben's childhood efforts at printing.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Burton Jay Smith and Willametta Turnepseed Papers
Correspondence, chiefly love letters, between amateur printers Smith and Turnepseed, together with a few additional materials, including copies of their co-edited Literary Newsette. Many of Smith's letters document his activities training as a navigator in the United States Army Air Force, 1943-1944.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sean Stewart Zines
Collection of zines dealing with a wide variety of subjects, themes, and creative styles, collected by a Baltimore-based zine writer, editor and reviewer.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mariellen (Ming) Wathne Fanzine Archives Collection
Large assemblage of fanzines and works of fan fiction relating to multiple media fandoms, including Star Trek, Star Wars, and other movies and television shows.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sarah and Jen Wolfe Zines
Collection of amateur publications primarily from the feminist riot grrrl movement of the 1990s, together with numerous zines documenting various independent/underground music scenes.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Zine Machine Collection
Collection of zines taken from the Zine Machine, a repurposed vending machine in the University of Iowa Main Library that distributes zines to interested parties. Many of the zines are local to Iowa City in origin.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections