Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Dramatists, Playwrights, & Scriptwriters for Television & Screen - 24 hits

Robert Blees Papers
Motion picture and television script-writer and producer. Film treatments and screenplays written by Blees and other screenwriters, miscellaneous, memos and articles, film stills, photostats, phonographic recordings from soundtracks.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sean Clark Papers
Scripts for the television program, Early Edition, and drafts of a yet to be produced screenplay.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Albert J. Cohen Papers
American motion picture and television script writer and producer. Program scripts, department materials, memos, clippings, notes, correspondence, production budgets, and miscellaneous photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Max Allan Collins papers
Author, filmmaker, and comic strip writer. The papers document his film and literary career. His novels, comics (including Dick Tracy and Ms. Tree), and screenplays are represented in various forms of completion, with typescript drafts, artwork, correspondence, research, galley proofs, and promotional material.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Don Farran Papers
Writer, State Director Historical Records Survey. Collection includes drafts of poems and stories but consists largely of scripts for Navy and Coast Guard training films dating from the mid-1930s to the mid-1950s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Federal Theatre Project Collection
Complete working scripts of 19 produced and 5 unproduced plays. Includes Eugene O'Neill (One-Act Plays of the Sea) and George Bernard Shaw (On the Rocks).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Norman Felton Papers
British born American television producer and director. Correspondence, clippings, photographs, notebooks, binders.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Maxine Finsterwald Papers
Radio scriptwriter (Kaffee Klatch and Playhouse of the Air among others) and playwright (as Maxine Wood). Correspondence, photographs, clippings, scrapbooks, typescripts, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Manta S. Graham Papers
Between 1919 and 1941, Graham wrote and published at least 43 plays (represented by typescripts in this collection, a gift in 1953).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Barry Kemp Papers
Television writer, producer. Consists of two series, scripts and video cassettes.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Leggett Papers
Manuscripts and correspondence of the editor, writer, and director of the University of Iowa Writer's Workshop, 1969-1987. Papers include research files and drafts for Ross [Lockridge] and Tom [Heggen]: Two American Tragedies (New York: Simon and Schuster, 1974), including three hundred Ross Lockridge letters and 40 interviews; copies of newspaper articles and book reviews; 446 letters by and about Tom Heggen, 95 interviews, copies of stories and articles written by Heggen; copies of newspaper and magazine articles written about Heggen and Mr. Roberts; official reports concerning Heggen's death; and general research and miscellaneous Items. This collection also includes materials for A Daring Young Man: A Biography of William Saroyan (New York: Knopf, 2002), and other books and stories.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Manuscript of "The Chancellor's Party" by Don Liljenquist
Four revisions of the play that won the Iowa centennial contest and was performed at the University of Iowa in 1947.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Richard Maibaum Papers
American screenwriter, producer and actor. Personal papers contains an actors file, clippings and correspondences.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nicholas Meyer Papers
Screenwriter and director. Typescripts, screenplays, correspondence, clippings, proofs, photographs, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

David Morrell Papers
Born in Ontario 1943, awarded a PhD in American literature by Pennsylvania State University in 1970, taught at Iowa from 1970 to 1986, retired to write. Perhaps best known for Rambo, the central character of his 1972 novel First Blood, which lead to the Rambo films starring Sylvester Stallone, Morrell has written numerous novels as well as screen- and teleplays. The growing collection of his papers includes video and audio tapes as well as research notes, correspondence, and manuscripts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles O'Neal Papers
American television and motion picture screenwriter and novelist. Father of actor Ryan O'Neal. Screenplays, teleplays, typescripts, correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Howard Richardson Papers
Dramatist. Subject files relating to his career and personal life, including dra s, photographs, set designs, etc. Much of the collection relates to his best known play, Dark of the Moon..
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur A. Ross Papers
Motion picture and television script writer. Slides, watercolor paintings, scripts, screenplays, short stories and novels by Ross; photographs, three recordings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lewis Worthington Smith papers
Writer, professor and Dean of Drake University. Manuscripts for two of his works, The Art of Life and Crises. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Stewart Stern Papers
American motion picture and television screenwriter. Primarily material documenting his career, with research notebooks, rough dra s and final versions of many of his screen and teleplays, along with photographs from the productions. Also personal material including correspondence and his education and military records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

David Swift Papers
Television and motion picture writer, director and producer. Television and motion picture scripts, screenplays, publicity, reviews, notes and memos, set designs, and costume sketches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Twentieth Century Fox Film Scripts Collection
American film producing and distributing corporation. Materials include motion picture screenplays (both American and foreign) and television scripts. The screenplays range from various dra s to dialogue and cutting continuity scripts. Correspondence and general business agreements.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Meredith Willson Papers
Writer, musician, composer, and lyricist, best known for The Music Man. Manuscript drafts from his books, a script from The Music Man, and sheet music.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Albert Zugsmith Papers
American motion picture producer, director and writer. Ten script items ranging from shooting schedules to screenplays.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections