Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts (ATCA) - 26 hits

Artifacts of the Eternal Network Papers
Artworks and other documentation related to a 1997 exhibition at the University of Iowa Museum of Art. Many Fluxus artists were included in this exhibition.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Artists Television Network Records
Video by and about artists assembled for broadcast on the New York City cable networks between 1976 and 1984. The project was coordinated by Jaime Davidovich and the collection includes the cablecast material, in many cases edited in various ways for any of several anthology shows, as well as paper records. A portion of the collection has been re-recorded and is available in VHS format; a few pieces have been transcribed to DVD; and a growing number have been re-recorded digitally in DVCam and DVD versions.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Artwords and Bookworks Papers
Co-curated by Judith Hoffberg and Joan Hugo, Artwords and Bookworks was one of the largest exhibition of artists' books and ephemera to take place during the 1970s. Comprised of experimental works by approximately six hundred contributors, the exhibition presented a diverse and provocative sampling of this alternative art form.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

ATCA Artists' Works and Correspondence Files Collection
This ATCA collection brings together mail art, correspondence, photographs, slides, compact discs, show announcements/posters, writings, and other ephemera related to or by various artists.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

ATCA Comics Collection
Artists' and underground comics.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

ATCA Periodicals and Zines Collection
This ATCA collection brings together journals, newspapers, zines, and similar formal and informal periodicals that are art-related or have artistic merit. The range of subjects is broad and include political and cultural issues, gender and sexuality questions, as well as music, film, poetry, and religion.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

ATCA Rubber Stamp Art Collection
Miscellaneous printed materials (primarily catalogs) concerning rubber stamp art. The majority of the materials in this collection were acquired by artist, author, and archivist John Held Jr. (born 1947) from William Picasso Gaglione (born 1943).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Centro de Arte y Communicacion (CAYC) (Center for Art and Communication) Buenos Aires
Committed to the production and dissemination of systems art, CAYC was established as a multidisciplinary workshop in August of 1968. A collection of large scale works (each about 22 x 34 inches) was assembled in 1972 by Jorge Glusberg, CAYC Director, as an edition of 10 that circulated as traveling exhibitions. Apparently including about 72 works in 1972, the collection grew over time and the Iowa collection now consists of 143 diazo prints and appears to be the only extant copy. The collection includes a linear foot of catalogues, documentation, books and pamphlets, dating from 1970 to1980 and a complete set of black and white photographs from which online images were derived.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Buster Cleveland Papers
Correspondence and art work by mail artist Buster Cleveland.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Comic Books of the Bronze Age
COMIC BOOKS. Comic Books of the Bronze Age, 1969-1986, bulk dates 1970-1976.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Conz-Friedman Collection 4 Fluxux Textile Multiples
Part of the Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art Collection at the University of Iowa, this collection consists of four Fluxus textile multiples.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

R. Keith Courtney Papers
Iowa City resident and artist. From the late 1970s to the late 1980s Courtney conducted a project titled Notes From All Over, which invited artists to send him found objects and printed matter. The collection consists of art works, correspondence, and related documentation dating from 1971-1995.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lloyd Dunn Papers
Publisher of Retrofuturist and PhotoStatic magazines and member of collage music groups the Tape-beatles and Public Works. The collection includes audio cassettes as well as two boxes of videotapes and a number of small art works which incorporate audio cassettes.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Steven Durland Papers
Writer, sculptor, performance artist, and editor of High Performance magazine. Personal correspondence and documentation as well as artworks and other documentation from the Not Clay International Mail Art Show, co-curated by Durland and Melvin Tearle in 1977, and The Cover, co-curated by Durland and Robert Harris in 1978.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

A. M. Fine Papers
Fluxus artist, composer, and poet. Artworks, personal items, poetry, essays, and music scores.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Fluxus West Collection
Organization representing the work of the Fluxus group and its members in the Western United States. Original artworks and relics by Fluxus West members.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William Gaglione Papers
Personal papers and art work of the stamp and mail artist. An ATCA collection. MsC866.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dick Higgins Collection
He was a Fluxus artist. This is an Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art Collection (ATCA).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

E. F. Higgins III Collection
An Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art Collection
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Alice Hutchins Papers
Fluxus artist. Art works, audiotapes, videotapes, exhibition catalogues, photographs, articles, poster and show announcements, and various documents and correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Images from South Africa Collection
Artwork and miscellaneous documentation concerning apartheid in South Africa and/or the various installations of the traveling exhibit Images from South Africa, first shown at the Media Gallery in San Francisco from April 18th - May 10th 1986.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jonas Mekas Collection of Fluxus Films
Lithuanian-American avant garde film maker and critic. This collection is comprised of nearly one linear foot of Fluxus film loops.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Estera Milman Contemporary Art Collection
Primarily ATCA administrative files containing a vast amount of information on the sources of the ATCA collections and detailed records regarding grants won by and exhibitiions curated by ATCA staff prior to 2000.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

NC92 Networker Databank Congress Papers
443 indexed items generated by participants in the Decentralized World-Wide Networker Congress (August 1, 1991 -- March 15, 1992) (coordinated by the Crackerjack Kid - aka Chuck Welch) as well as additional materials documenting the congress.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lil Picard Papers
Correspondence and related files of an artist, art journalist, and collector. Picard was born in Germany but migrated to New York City with her second husband in 1936. Exhibiting her own work, her writing about New York City art, and her extensive collecting made her a central figure in New York art until very near the end of her life.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Zagreb Folios: Yugoslavian Artists' Work
Half a linear foot of original art works by Yugoslavian artists and a scholarly paper that discusses several of these works.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections