Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Prose Writers - 46 hits

Waldemar Argow
Unitarian minister in Cedar Rapids. Holdings consist of the printer's copy of his What Do Religious Liberals Believe?
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Merle Armitage Papers
Set designer, impresario, co-founder and manager of the Los Angeles Grand Opera Association, president of the American Institute of Graphic Arts, art director of Look and Quick magazines, and book designer. Correspondence, typescripts of Accent on Life and George Gershwin: Man and Legend, and files on other projects.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nellie Aurner papers
Professor, dean, and author. This collection contains Ms. Aurner's unpublished translations of the dedications of Matteo Bandello as well as her research on Bandello.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marcus Bach Papers
Religion professor and writer. Early typescript drafts of six of his books, including The Dream Gate and Report to Protestants.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Alfred M. Bailey Papers
Naturalist and writer. Manuscripts of his books and articles, primarily about birds.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hazel E. Brown Papers
Writer and friend of both Grant Wood and Marvin Cone. The collection contains research notes and manuscripts for the book, as well as clippings about Brown herself. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Homer Calkin Papers
Historian, archivist, and author. Correspondence files; diaries; memorabilia; scrapbooks dealing with his early life, education, career in the State Department, and work for the Methodist Church.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur Carhart papers
Author, conservationist, and landscape architect. Manuscripts of some of his books including The National Forests and Timber in Your Life. Typescript drafts, proofs, galleys, outlines, and correspondence are included.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

J. Gordon Chamberlin Papers
Teacher, Methodist minister and writer on theological and educational subjects. Correspondence, course materials, sermons and speeches, with materials relating to his many books and articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Glenn Clark papers
Theological writer. Typescripts of Come Follow Me and God's Reach.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Margaret Drabble Research Files
Acclaimed British novelist and scholar. Research files, including administrative material, research materials, and corrected typescripts for her 1995 biography of novelist Sir Angus Wilson.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary Ellen Evans
Personal and business correspondence of this Dominican tertiary and editor, this collection also includes manuscripts for two of Evans' published works, as well as some unpublished manuscripts. Iowa Author.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Byron Farwell Papers
Author and military historian. Primarily manuscripts including various drafts, galleys, and proofs for eleven of his books. Also contains draftof book reviews, short stories, and articles along with some subject files.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ora Delmer Foster Papers
Congregational minister, lecturer, and professor. Subject files, literary manuscripts, diaries, photographs, and books relating to Foster's life and career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Thomas Henry Foster Papers
President of John Morrell Company of Ottumwa, Iowa, Foster was a book and bookplate collector, anti-Stratfordian, and writer. Includes mounted and unmounted bookplates, scrapbooks on Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom's Cabin, manuscripts of his book Shakespeare - Man of Mystery, and correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Darrell Garwood Papers
Newspaperman and biographer of Grant Wood. This collection contains printer's typescripts with revisions for two of his works, Artist in Iowa: A Life of Grant Wood and Crossroads of America: The Story of Kansas City. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Grace R. Hebard Papers
Hebard was born in Iowa but spent most of her life in Wyoming, where she started the Hebard collection on western history at the University of Wyoming. She wrote several histories of Wyoming and the west. This collection contains many photographs for the book Sacajawea: Guide of the Lewis and Clark Expedition, including some images that were not used in the book. Iowa Author Manuscript.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Laura Hinkley Papers
Writer and biographer of writers. This collection contains manuscripts for two of the author's books, Ladies of Literature and The Stevensons: Louis and Fanny. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hubert E. Hoeltje papers
Notes and Research for Writing Writing the Scarlet Letter. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mathias M. Hoffman papers
Historian of regional religion. Collection consists of two manuscripts, Antique Dubuque, 1673-1833 and Young and Fair Is Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

"L.E. "Jack" Hunn Papers
Coach, story writer and poet. Stories for his grand-children published as Adventures with Grandpa (1988); two unpublished typescripts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iowa Author's Manuscripts Collection
Includes manuscripts, galley proofs, page proofs, dust jackets, and other miscellany associated with publications of many Iowa Authors.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Clyde Kluckhohn Papers
Anthropologist and author. Correspondence, early drafts, galleys, and printer's copies of three of Kluckhohn's early works.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dale Kramer papers
Writer and political activist. Included are drafts of his books The Heart of O. Henry, Ross and the New Yorker, and Teen-Age Gangs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Robert Bernard Martin Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles Paul May Papers
Notes, source materials, drafts and proofs for two non-fiction books: Bats. (1969) and Stranger in the Storm (Abelard-Schuman, 1972). Original title: Birds Flying High.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frances Lynch McGuire Papers
Wagon to a Star, a collection of stories about life on an Adair County farm in the 1870s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marion Meade Buster Keaton Research Files
Research material compiled by Meade while writing the biography Buster Keaton Cut to the Case.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Harry F. Olson Papers
Acoustical engineer for RCA, author of several books on music, acoustics and engineering. Articles, publicity, and biographical material relating to Olson and his career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Gar Osten Papers
Astrologer. Papers include correspondence, interviews, tape recordings, astrological charts, and materials relating to a number of criminal investigations in which Osten participated as well as his writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Powell Papers
Historian. Correspondence and preliminary drafts of his writings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

David L. Rosheim Papers
Essayist, poet and historian whose work appeared regularly in the Des Moines Register. Includes typescripts of miscellaneous writings and poetry and the typescript of an unpublished science fiction novel. Iowa Authors Mss
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

J. Clyde Ryan Papers
Papers of J. Clyde Ryan. Manuscript for A Skeptic Dude in Arizona. 2 folders. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George M. Sheets papers
Iowa writer and businessman.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hartzell Spence Papers
Born in Clarion, Iowa, Spence graduated from the University of Iowa in 1930. From 1930 to 1941 he was the United Press bureau manager in Des Moines, and saw service during WW II in the Army Air Forces where he was the founder and first editor of Yank, the Army weekly newspaper. After the war, he worked as a free-lance writer, particularly noted for his reporting on religion. He also published several novels, wrote a comic strip (David Crane) and scripts for the weekly radio program, One Foot in Heaven, broadcast on the ABC network, 1944-1945. This collection consists of drafts for numerous articles and stories, including those for The Story of Religion in America, published in Look, 1957-1960.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George Stimpson Papers
Journalist, writer, and President of the National Press Club. Manuscripts for four of his informational books. Iowa Author
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James C. Taylor papers
Manuscript for Ottumwa: One Hundred Years a City. Iowa Author manuscript.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Elton Trueblood papers
Author and Quaker religious philosopher. This collection contains manuscripts for two of his books, The Common Venture of Life and Declaration of Freedom.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carl Van Vechten Papers
23 photographs of Doris Julian, Stephen Van Ophuigsen, Coleman Dowell, Jose Quintero and others; 16 photograph postcards including Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Toklas; 75 photographs of celebrities (lacking no. 18); several drafts and related correspondence for Gertrude Stein: An Epilogue.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Susan Fulton Welty Papers
Born in Fairfield, Iowa, Welty took degrees at Parsons College and the University of Utah. A teacher most of her life, this collection contains drafts of numerous stories and articles, most on religious subjects.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Roland White Papers
Manuscript for Milo Reno: Farmers Union Pioneer. Iowa Authors
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Francis O. Wilcox Papers
Educator, United States government official (Senate Foreign Relations Committee chief of staff, 1947-1955; Assistant Secretary of State, 1955-1961). Correspondence, subject files, lecture notes, speeches, and preliminary drafts of articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary E. Winchell papers
Manuscript for Home on the Bering Sea with correspondence and clippings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur Wormhoudt papers
A professor of English, the manuscripts of The Demon Lover and The Muse at Length. (Christopher Publishing House, 1953) represent two of Wormhoudt's books of literary criticism.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Barbara S. Yambura Papers
Drafts of A Change and a Parting, a memoir of growing up in Amana in the 1930s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George J. Zaffiras Manuscripts
Manuscript for The Doctor From Iowa. Iowa Author Ms.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections