Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Writers Archive at Iowa - 214 hits

Philip Adler Papers
Newspaperman, publisher, president of Lee Enterprises, Inc., and philanthropist. Correspondence, speeches, newspaper clippings, and books.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Alembic Press Archive Records
A significant archive, entire and extant, from one of the most prolific and independent of British fine presses, these documents are a record of the processes of hand printing, publishing, and typecasting undertaken by Claire and David Bolton.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur Francis Allen Papers
Editor of the Sioux City Journal. Primarily correspondence, with speeches, clippings, and a scrapbook on Abraham Lincoln.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Waldemar Argow
Unitarian minister in Cedar Rapids. Holdings consist of the printer's copy of his What Do Religious Liberals Believe?
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Merle Armitage Papers
Set designer, impresario, co-founder and manager of the Los Angeles Grand Opera Association, president of the American Institute of Graphic Arts, art director of Look and Quick magazines, and book designer. Correspondence, typescripts of Accent on Life and George Gershwin: Man and Legend, and files on other projects.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nellie Aurner papers
Professor, dean, and author. This collection contains Ms. Aurner's unpublished translations of the dedications of Matteo Bandello as well as her research on Bandello.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marcus Bach Papers
Religion professor and writer. Early typescript drafts of six of his books, including The Dream Gate and Report to Protestants.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Alfred M. Bailey Papers
Naturalist and writer. Manuscripts of his books and articles, primarily about birds.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Robert K. Beck Papers
Newspaper publisher in Centerville, Iowa . Correspondence, clippings, speeches, subject files, etc., relating to newspaper publishing, Republican politics, and the Rathbun Dam.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mildred Augustine Wirt Benson papers
Journalist for the Toledo Blade and writer of the first Nancy Drew mysteries and other children's series books; collection includes writings, clippings, scrapbooks and a few photographs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Leola Bergmann papers
Scholar, writer and artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Erik Bert Papers
Born Herbert Joseph Putz. Communist journalist and editor in the 1930s of The Producers News and Farmers National Weekly; his career after 1941 was with the Daily World. Subject files, correspondence, notebooks, typescripts, and published writings regarding the link between communism and agriculture.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Richard Pike Bissell Papers
Typescript and holograph drafts, galley proofs, editor's notes, source material, etc., documenting the writings of this Dubuque novelist and author of 7 1/2 Cents (1953), the basis of the musical hit, The Pajama Game (1954, filmed 1957).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Robert Blees Papers
Motion picture and television script-writer and producer. Film treatments and screenplays written by Blees and other screenwriters, miscellaneous, memos and articles, film stills, photostats, phonographic recordings from soundtracks.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Bruce Bliven Papers
Author, editor of The New Republic 1923-1953, and journalist. Typescript drafts, galleys, and page proofs for two books, Preview of Tomorrow and The World Changers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frederick Stern Bock Papers
Poet , Assistant Editor Poetry Fountains of Regardlessness (1961). Correspondence, subject files, and preliminary drafts of his writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Thomas Eyre Booth Papers
Editor and publisher of the Anamosa Eureka in Anamosa , Iowa . Correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, a scrapbook, and other related papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Vance Bourjaily Papers
Novelist and Writers' Workshop instructor. Typescript with notes and revisions of his novel, A Game Men Play (Dial Press, 1980). Iowa Authors Ms.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Irving Brant Papers
Writer and journalist. Manuscripts for four of his books, including The Bill of Rights.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hazel E. Brown Papers
Writer and friend of both Grant Wood and Marvin Cone. The collection contains research notes and manuscripts for the book, as well as clippings about Brown herself. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Eugene L. Burdick Papers
Author and co-author of such books as The Ugly American and Fail-Safe. This collection contains a manuscript for the book The Blue of Capricorn, and the serialized version of Fail-Safe, as well as clippings relating to Burdick. Iowa Author Ms.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ellis Parker Butler Papers
Author and businessman from Iowa , best known for his short story Pigs is Pigs. The papers consist of correspondence to and from Butler about his writing and the Author's League of America . His wife's correspondence is also included.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary Huiskamp Calhoun
Well-known children's author. This collection consists of several versions of her manuscript for Magic in the Alley. Iowa Author Ms.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Homer Calkin Papers
Historian, archivist, and author. Correspondence files; diaries; memorabilia; scrapbooks dealing with his early life, education, career in the State Department, and work for the Methodist Church.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John W. Carey Papers
Newspaper editor in Rock Rapids and Sioux City, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur Carhart papers
Author, conservationist, and landscape architect. Manuscripts of some of his books including The National Forests and Timber in Your Life. Typescript drafts, proofs, galleys, outlines, and correspondence are included.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Esther Carlson manuscript
Manuscript for Moon Over the Back Fence, 1947-1948. Iowa Author Manuscript
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

R. Verlin Cassill manuscripts
Novelist and Writers' Workshop instructor. Uncorrected proof of Pretty Leslie (Simon and Schuster, 1963), a novel, and a recording of Cassill reading And in My Heart.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

J. Gordon Chamberlin Papers
Teacher, Methodist minister and writer on theological and educational subjects. Correspondence, course materials, sermons and speeches, with materials relating to his many books and articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marquis Childs Papers
Pulitzer prize-winning journalist with the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Typescript drafts, galleys, proofs, and layouts for some of his books. Also general correspondence files, speeches, and newspaper clippings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Caroline Mabry Christie Papers
Holdings are the manuscript of Silver Heels, a book for children.Iowa Authors Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Amy Clampitt Papers
Poet: Kingfisher (1983), Manhattan: An Elegy (UI Center for the Book, 1990), MacArthur Fellow, 1992, Collected Poems (1997). Correspondence and typescripts of some of her writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Glenn Clark papers
Theological writer. Typescripts of Come Follow Me and God's Reach.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sean Clark Papers
Scripts for the television program, Early Edition, and drafts of a yet to be produced screenplay.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Albert J. Cohen Papers
American motion picture and television script writer and producer. Program scripts, department materials, memos, clippings, notes, correspondence, production budgets, and miscellaneous photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carroll Coleman Papers
Proprietor of the Prairie Press and printer. Correspondence, preliminary drafts, galleys and mock-ups for books printed by the Prairie Press, and related business records, advertising, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Max Allan Collins papers
Author, filmmaker, and comic strip writer. The papers document his film and literary career. His novels, comics (including Dick Tracy and Ms. Tree), and screenplays are represented in various forms of completion, with typescript drafts, artwork, correspondence, research, galley proofs, and promotional material.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul Corey papers
Writer Three Miles Square (1939), environmentalist, and animal activist. Correspondence, subject files, scrapbooks, and preliminary drafts of writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jay N. Darling Papers
Correspondence, speeches, articles, leaflets, clippings, scrapbooks and a sketchbook, mostly dealing with politics, conservation, or family affairs, assembled by newspaper cartoonist Ding Darling of The Des Moines Register. There are also some 6,000 original pen-and-ink cartoons drawn by Darling.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Osha Gray Davidson Papers
Free-lance journalist and author of Broken Heartland and Under Fire. Correspondence, research notes, and preliminary drafts of his writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jose Donoso Papers
Correspondence, notebooks and manuscripts of Chilean writer Jose Donosos. The collection contains a preliminary version of Donoso's first novel, Coronación, many drafts of El obsceno pájaro de la noche (The Obscene Bird of Night), as well as drafts of stories and other writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

J. Hyatt Downing Papers
Novelist and story writer. Correspondence, subject files, biographical material, and preliminary drafts of his writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Margaret Drabble Research Files
Acclaimed British novelist and scholar. Research files, including administrative material, research materials, and corrected typescripts for her 1995 biography of novelist Sir Angus Wilson.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Norman Dubie Papers
Poet: numerous books from Alehouse Sonnets (1971) to Funeral (1998). Manuscripts, correspondence, other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Thomas W. Duncan Papers
Novelist and story writer. Preliminary drafts, notes, revisions, and galley proofs for three of his novels, including a highly successful circus novel, Gus the Great (1947).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul Engle Papers
Poet (numerous books from Worn Earth, 1932), editor of the O. Henry Prize Stories, 1954-1959, director of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, 1941-1967, and co-founder and director of the International Writers' Program, 1967-1976 at the University of Iowa. Literary manuscripts, correspondence, subject files, and student works documenting his career as a writer and teacher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

David Esslemont Papers
Fine press printer, controller of the Gregynog Press from 1985-1998.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Joseph E. Evans Papers
Editorial page editor of the Wall Street Journal. Correspondence, clippings and photographs relating to his editorial work, his experience in World War II, and his days as a graduate student at the University of Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary Ellen Evans
Personal and business correspondence of this Dominican tertiary and editor, this collection also includes manuscripts for two of Evans' published works, as well as some unpublished manuscripts. Iowa Author.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jeanette Eyerly papers
Author of books for young adults from More Than a Summer Love, (1962), with a special concern for mental health. Correspondence, notes, various drafts, promotional material, etc., of her many books for adolescents.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Facts for Farmers Records
Agricultural publication (1935-1962) edited by Charles J. Coe.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Fairfield Daily Ledger Records and Walter Williams Papers
Account books, tax receipts, operating statements, advertising returns, other financial records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Don Farran Papers
Writer, State Director Historical Records Survey. Collection includes drafts of poems and stories but consists largely of scripts for Navy and Coast Guard training films dating from the mid-1930s to the mid-1950s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Byron Farwell Papers
Author and military historian. Primarily manuscripts including various drafts, galleys, and proofs for eleven of his books. Also contains draftof book reviews, short stories, and articles along with some subject files.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Federal Theatre Project Collection
Complete working scripts of 19 produced and 5 unproduced plays. Includes Eugene O'Neill (One-Act Plays of the Sea) and George Bernard Shaw (On the Rocks).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Federal Writer's Project Papers
Subject files on Iowa history, counties, towns, colleges, churches, and other matters, unpublished manuscripts, radio scripts, pamphlets, and newspaper clippings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry Gregor Felsen Papers
Novelist, story writer and author of children's books, including Hot Rod, a best-seller for 30 years. Correspondence and literary manuscripts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Norman Felton Papers
British born American television producer and director. Correspondence, clippings, photographs, notebooks, binders.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carroll Lane Fenton and Mildred Adams Fenton Papers
A geologist by training and a member of several university faculties, Carroll Fenton published a large number of books on scientific topics for children, most of them with his own illustrations and many co-authored with his wife.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur Davison Ficke Papers
Poet and writer born in Davenport, Iowa. Manuscripts include materials for a course in Arthurian legend given at the State University of Iowa 1906-1907, drafts of published poems and stories, and typescripts of unpublished stories and novels.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Maxine Finsterwald Papers
Radio scriptwriter (Kaffee Klatch and Playhouse of the Air among others) and playwright (as Maxine Wood). Correspondence, photographs, clippings, scrapbooks, typescripts, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James S. Flansburg Papers
Journalist and editor for the Des Moines Register. Correspondence, editorials, and subject files reflecting his professional career as a reporter, editor, and columnist for the Register.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ora Delmer Foster Papers
Congregational minister, lecturer, and professor. Subject files, literary manuscripts, diaries, photographs, and books relating to Foster's life and career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Thomas Henry Foster Papers
President of John Morrell Company of Ottumwa, Iowa, Foster was a book and bookplate collector, anti-Stratfordian, and writer. Includes mounted and unmounted bookplates, scrapbooks on Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom's Cabin, manuscripts of his book Shakespeare - Man of Mystery, and correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Towner Frederick Papers
English professor, Iowa author, and founder and editor of The Midland. Correspondence, subject files, business records for The Midland, lectures, and preliminary drafts of writings, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Alice French Papers
One of the most successful women writers of the later 19th century, Octave Thanet's stories and novels celebrated the status quo; she lived much of her life in Davenport, Iowa. Our holdings consist of a holograph draft of her story, The Governor's Prerogative, photographs, photocopies of other stories, and a microfilm of Voice of Nature.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hamlin Garland Papers
Correspondence, four short manuscripts, and photographs make up this small collection for this Iowa author and champion of local color.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dorothy Garlock Papers
Romance novelist from Love and Cherish (1980), a career started to avoid the boredom of retirement.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Darrell Garwood Papers
Newspaperman and biographer of Grant Wood. This collection contains printer's typescripts with revisions for two of his works, Artist in Iowa: A Life of Grant Wood and Crossroads of America: The Story of Kansas City. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Tom Gatten Literary Letters
Collection of letters from literary figures including Kofi Awoonor, Robert Bly, Michael Cimino, Galway Kinnell, Denise Levertov, and others.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Susan Gearhart Papers
Manuscripts of poems from the Springville, Iowa poet's two books, The Plow on the Hill and The West is Here, as well as other poems.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carl Glick Papers
Story writer, playwright and film script writer, author of books for adults and children, Glick is best remembered for his books about the Chinese in America.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carol Gorman Papers
Author of books for young adults and teacher. Preliminary drafts of her writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edward Gorman Papers
Author of mysteries (the Tobin and Jack Dwyer series), westerns (as Leo Guild), and horror novels under several pseudonyms. Former advertising executive. Preliminary drafts of his writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Bruce Gould Papers
Journalist and editor at the Ladies Home Journal, 1935-1960. Typescripts of a play and two short stories comprise this collection.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Alberta Powell Graham Papers
A writer of biographies for children (on Columbus, Clara Barton, Lafayette and LaSalle, among others), Mrs. Graham also published more than 300 songs and Strike Up the Band! (1949), a collection of short biographies of American band musicians. Both her books and songs are represented in her papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Manta S. Graham Papers
Between 1919 and 1941, Graham wrote and published at least 43 plays (represented by typescripts in this collection, a gift in 1953).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William Wister Haines Papers
Novelist and screenwriter. This collection contains the manuscript and correspondence for the novel [i]Command Decision.[/i]
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James Norman Hall Papers
Manuscripts of some of Hall's poetry, plays, articles, and essays. Also drafts of his book, The Far Lands.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

W. Earl Hall Papers
Editor and publisher of the Mason City Globe Gazette. Papers relating to his career and civic activities. Subject files, correspondence, speeches, and editorials reflect his work for such organizations as the Red Cross, Radio Free Europe, and the Iowa State Board of Regents.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Curtis Harnack Papers
Assistant Editor (with Paul Engle) Prize Stories 1958-1959. Author of a memoir, We Have All Gone Away (1973), and other books. President of Yaddo, 1981-1987; 1992-1997 President of the School of American Ballet.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Evelyn Harter Papers
Harter was born in Keokuk, Iowa. Completing a BA at the University of Iowa in 1925, she moved to New York City where she shared an apartment for a time with Ruth Suckow. Primarily a typographer and book designer, she worked for publishers such as Cape and Smith, Smith and Haas, and Random House. Her first novel, Dr. Katherine Bell (Doubleday, 1950) is partially set in Iowa City. She gave a corrected typescript and a set of corrected galleys just after the novel was published.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Grace R. Hebard Papers
Hebard was born in Iowa but spent most of her life in Wyoming, where she started the Hebard collection on western history at the University of Wyoming. She wrote several histories of Wyoming and the west. This collection contains many photographs for the book Sacajawea: Guide of the Lewis and Clark Expedition, including some images that were not used in the book. Iowa Author Manuscript.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Josephine Herbst Papers
Novelist and journalist. Revised printers copy of Somewhere the Tempest Fell (1947), correspondence, clippings, book jackets, and a photograph.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Laura Hinkley Papers
Writer and biographer of writers. This collection contains manuscripts for two of the author's books, Ladies of Literature and The Stevensons: Louis and Fanny. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hubert E. Hoeltje papers
Notes and Research for Writing Writing the Scarlet Letter. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mathias M. Hoffman papers
Historian of regional religion. Collection consists of two manuscripts, Antique Dubuque, 1673-1833 and Young and Fair Is Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marjorie Holmes Papers
Author of numerous short stories, several novels and radio scripts. One story, The General Comes Home, was sold to MGM.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Emerson Hough Papers
Journalist, editor of Forest and Stream, and novelist of the West. Includes letterpress book, 1902-1912 and 34 letters 1912-1923 to Mr. and Mrs. Fred Bigelow.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Guy Howard Papers
Itinerant preacher and writer. This collection consists of manuscripts from two of his books and various clippings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

"L.E. "Jack" Hunn Papers
Coach, story writer and poet. Stories for his grand-children published as Adventures with Grandpa (1988); two unpublished typescripts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iowa Author's Manuscripts Collection
Includes manuscripts, galley proofs, page proofs, dust jackets, and other miscellany associated with publications of many Iowa Authors.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iowa Authors Club Papers
Bank statements, checks, correspondence, receipts, and vouchers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iowan Records
Magazine published by The Iowan, Inc., Shenandoah, Iowa. Correspondence, manuscripts, page proofs, layouts, advertising and business records, and photos.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William C. Jarnagin Papers
Owner, editor and publisher of the Storm Lake Pilot-Tribune and the Storm Lake Register. Small group of papers relating to Jarnagin's newspaper publishing career, including scrapbooks, extra sheets from the Spanish American War, and clippings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dorothy M. Johnson Papers
Editor, novelist and professor of journalism at the University of Montana. Typescript drafts and related correspondence for several short stories and her novel, The Hanging Tree. Also some family correspondence and photographs. Johnson wrote Liberty Valence and A Man Called Horse, both, like The Hanging Tree, made into motion pictures.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

MacKinlay Kantor Papers
Author. Manuscript drafts, proofs, correspondence, etc. for his novel, Andersonville, with drafts for some other books.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Karlton and William Kelm Papers
Story writers, novelists and playwrights who did most writing in collaboration. Karlton published two novels: Brother (1936) and The Cherry Bed (1936). Correspondence with noted writers, drafts of plays, short stories, and novels, and material relating to the Dubuque Dia, a literary magazine.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Barry Kemp Papers
Television writer, producer. Consists of two series, scripts and video cassettes.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Calvin Kentfield Papers
Iowa writer. Manuscript for The Alchemist's Voyage and various clippings and tear sheets. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Clyde Kluckhohn Papers
Anthropologist and author. Correspondence, early drafts, galleys, and printer's copies of three of Kluckhohn's early works.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Theodore F. Koop Papers
Journalist with the Associated Press before WWII, with the National Geographic Society and CBS after 1948. He conceived Face the Nation. Correspondence, subject files, speeches, and preliminary drafts of his works.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dale Kramer papers
Writer and political activist. Included are drafts of his books The Heart of O. Henry, Ross and the New Yorker, and Teen-Age Gangs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Seymour Krim Papers
Journalist and essayist. Correspondence, typescripts, notes, reviews, published copies, etc. relating to his literary career and his contributions to beat literature and the new journalism movement.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

R.A. Lafferty Manuscripts
Prize-winning author of science fiction stories and novels. Typescripts and page proofs for several stories and novels, including the printer's copy of Okla Hannali (1972).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charlton Laird Papers
Author who wrote extensively on language. This collection contains the manuscript and correspondence for one of his novels. Iowa Author collection.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ruth Lechlitner Papers
Poet and teacher. Correspondence, subject files, and preliminary drafts of her writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Al M. Lee Papers
Graduate of the Writers' Workshop, novelist and poet. This collection contains manuscripts, clippings, a photograph, and correspondence. Correspondents include Hubert Humphrey, Gene McCarthy, John F. Kennedy, Mark Strand, Cleanth Brooks, and Donald Justice among others.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Leggett Papers
Manuscripts and correspondence of the editor, writer, and director of the University of Iowa Writer's Workshop, 1969-1987. Papers include research files and drafts for Ross [Lockridge] and Tom [Heggen]: Two American Tragedies (New York: Simon and Schuster, 1974), including three hundred Ross Lockridge letters and 40 interviews; copies of newspaper articles and book reviews; 446 letters by and about Tom Heggen, 95 interviews, copies of stories and articles written by Heggen; copies of newspaper and magazine articles written about Heggen and Mr. Roberts; official reports concerning Heggen's death; and general research and miscellaneous Items. This collection also includes materials for A Daring Young Man: A Biography of William Saroyan (New York: Knopf, 2002), and other books and stories.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

LeAnn Lemberger Papers
Author of romance novels as Leigh Michaels. Manuscript drafts, galleys, and page proofs of her novels, as well as articles by and about Lemberger and teaching materials used for the Iowa Summer Writing Festival.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lewis Publishing Company Records
Correspondence of Nathan Henry Wilson, receipt books, memorandum pads, and other business records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Manuscript of "The Chancellor's Party" by Don Liljenquist
Four revisions of the play that won the Iowa centennial contest and was performed at the University of Iowa in 1947.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Katinka Loeser Papers
Author, poet, and editor born in Iowa. Drafts of her poetry and short stories, a master proof of A Thousand Pardons, and an unpublished novel, Everyday China.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Maecenas Press Records
Publisher at Lake MacBride, Solon, Iowa. Correspondence, drafts, proofs of books.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Richard Maibaum Papers
American screenwriter, producer and actor. Personal papers contains an actors file, clippings and correspondences.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Phillip Margolin Papers
American and foreign editions, manuscript materials, publicity materials, periodical appearances, and clippings for this lawyer-author of legal thrillers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Robert Bernard Martin Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles Paul May Papers
Notes, source materials, drafts and proofs for two non-fiction books: Bats. (1969) and Stranger in the Storm (Abelard-Schuman, 1972). Original title: Birds Flying High.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Julie McDonald Papers
Newspaper Editor and writer, this collection contains material related to two novels (Amalie's Story, 1970 and Petra, 1978), a play (Eyes of Sky; a Play in Six Scenes) and a biography (Ruth Buxton Sayre: First Lady of the Farms, 1980).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frances Lynch McGuire Papers
Wagon to a Star, a collection of stories about life on an Adair County farm in the 1870s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marion Meade Buster Keaton Research Files
Research material compiled by Meade while writing the biography Buster Keaton Cut to the Case.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marjorie Medary Papers
Editor and author of books for young adults. This collection drafts and other materials relating to Prairie Printer (a sequel to Buckeye Boy), about a pioneer northeast Iowa newspaperman; Orange Winter, about Florida in the 1870's; College in Crinoline and Prairie Anchorage, both of which have pioneer settings, and some other works.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cornelia Meigs Papers
Children's author and Iowa's first Newbery Award winner. This collection consists of a manuscript and various clippings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nicholas Meyer Papers
Screenwriter and director. Typescripts, screenplays, correspondence, clippings, proofs, photographs, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Miller Papers
Editorial cartoonist for the Des Moines Register. 100 original drawings, cartoons with over-lays and color processes, engraving printing plates, correspondence, photos and other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Merle Miller Papers
Editor at Yank, Time and Harper's, biographer of presidents, script writer, and novelist. Drafts, correspondence, printer's copies, and reviews for four of his books; the materials for The Sure Thing (1953) are extensive.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Clarence W. Moody Papers
Editor and publisher of the Burlington Hawk-Eye, civic leader. Newspaper clippings, correspondence, speeches, etc., concerning the newspaper and the Burlington, IA area, with information on the Great River Road Project of the 1960s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

David Morrell Papers
Born in Ontario 1943, awarded a PhD in American literature by Pennsylvania State University in 1970, taught at Iowa from 1970 to 1986, retired to write. Perhaps best known for Rambo, the central character of his 1972 novel First Blood, which lead to the Rambo films starring Sylvester Stallone, Morrell has written numerous novels as well as screen- and teleplays. The growing collection of his papers includes video and audio tapes as well as research notes, correspondence, and manuscripts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Velma Ford Morrison papers
Author of books for children, president of the Morrison Book Company. Correspondence, preliminary drafts and art work for her books including There's Only One You (1978) and Going On a Dig (1981).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

[Steven] Dow Mossman papers
Writer born in Cedar Rapids. Collection includes extensive pre-publication materials for Mossman's highly regarded novel, The Stones of Summer (1972) as well as drafts written while a student in the Writer's Workshop.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Luther Mott papers papers
Journalism professor and dean, Mott is best remembered for his writing on the history of American newspapers. He also wrote numerous stories, plays and novels, draft of which are preserved in this collection. of which are preserved in this collection.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lois Baker Muehl Papers
Manuscripts and correspondence related to her books for children including My Name Is-- (1959) and Hidden Year of Devlin Bates (1967).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iris Murdoch Papers
British writer and philosopher. Manuscripts for most of her novels, plays, and poetry, primarily handwritten drafts in notebooks.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Evelyn Nelson papers
Correspondence, photographs, sheet music, clippings and programs. Lyric for a New Deal song. Purchased 1982.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul G. Norris Jr. Papers
Editor and publisher in Marshalltown, Iowa. Office and family correspondence, subject files, and speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Nye Papers
Reporter and editor for The Cedar Rapids Gazette. Correspondence, subject files, and photographs relating to Nye's career with the Gazette. Includes information on Iowa politics and legislature, reapportionment, Herbert Hoover, and copies of articles written by Nye.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles O'Neal Papers
American television and motion picture screenwriter and novelist. Father of actor Ryan O'Neal. Screenplays, teleplays, typescripts, correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Oakville Iowa Sentinel Records
Ledgers with subscription lists, printing orders, and cash books.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Harry F. Olson Papers
Acoustical engineer for RCA, author of several books on music, acoustics and engineering. Articles, publicity, and biographical material relating to Olson and his career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Gar Osten Papers
Astrologer. Papers include correspondence, interviews, tape recordings, astrological charts, and materials relating to a number of criminal investigations in which Osten participated as well as his writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edwin Ford Piper Collection
Piper's notes on Western ballads, with music for some; other folk materials including rimes, riddles, games, folk sayings, quadrille calls, slang, superstitions, and folk remedies.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Powell Papers
Historian. Correspondence and preliminary drafts of his writings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Milton Monroe Reigelman: Collection on The Midland
Collector and scholar. Chiefly correspondence assembled in preparing his A Study of the Midland Magazine: 1915-1933 (1973) and The Midland: a Venture in Literary Regionalism (1975).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Conger Reynolds Papers
Journalist, diplomat, and public relations expert. Subject files, correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, etc. relating to his varied career, from WWI intelligence officer to Chicago Tribune editor in Paris to consulate official to public relations director for Standard Oil.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Howard Richardson Papers
Dramatist. Subject files relating to his career and personal life, including dra s, photographs, set designs, etc. Much of the collection relates to his best known play, Dark of the Moon..
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Katharine Eggleston Roberts Papers
Printer's copies and related materials for four of Roberts' novels: And the Bravest of These, Center of the Web, Private Report, and Wind From The River.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Keith Robertson Papers
Subject files documenting Robertson's literary career, including typescript drafts of Henry Reed's Big Show (1958) and The Crow and the Castle (1967). There are also folders of correspondence, research, royalty statements, etc., all relating to the writing and publishing of his children's books and short stories. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marilynne Robinson papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

David L. Rosheim Papers
Essayist, poet and historian whose work appeared regularly in the Des Moines Register. Includes typescripts of miscellaneous writings and poetry and the typescript of an unpublished science fiction novel. Iowa Authors Mss
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur A. Ross Papers
Motion picture and television script writer. Slides, watercolor paintings, scripts, screenplays, short stories and novels by Ross; photographs, three recordings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edward Beatty Rowan Papers
A play, poems and drafts of five stories.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

J. Clyde Ryan Papers
Papers of J. Clyde Ryan. Manuscript for A Skeptic Dude in Arizona. 2 folders. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

S.S. McClure Limited Papers
Letters with Stone and Kimball publishers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edwin L. Sabin Papers
Novelist. Correspondence, scrapbooks, subject files, preliminary drafts of his writings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

(Katherine) Eleanor Saltzman Papers
Iowa regional writer. This collection consists of manuscripts for Ever Tomorrow and Stuart's Hill, and her unpublished novel, Carpthorne; manuscripts and tear sheets of her short stories and poems; as well as correspondence, notes, and clippings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William Saunders papers
Poet. Corrected typescript and galley proofs of Pillars of Space.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sadie Seagrave Papers
Novelist and poet. Typescripts of three books of poetry, some stories, and six radio programs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

B.H. Shearer Papers
Newspaperman in Columbus Junction, Iowa. Journals, correspondence, business records, and subject files relating to his life and career as the editor and publisher of the Columbus Gazette and as the publisher of the Iowa Union Farmer. Subject files include topics ranging from the Iowa Union Farmer to the Louisa County Fair.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul V. Shearer Papers
Lawyer, owner and publisher of the Columbus Gazette, and Methodist lay leader. Copies of his newspaper column, correspondence, speeches, and biographical material. Also conference programs, debates, commission reports, etc., relating to the Methodist Church.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George M. Sheets papers
Iowa writer and businessman.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Shenandoah Evening Sentinel Records
Journals and ledgers, cash books, subscription lists and inventories.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Richard Sherman Papers
Iowa novelist. His collection consists of the manuscript for The Bright Promise. Iowa Author manuscript.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Gladys Denny Shultz papers
Editor with Better Homes and Gardens and The Ladies' Home Journal and author of biographies. Typescript of her Jenny Lind (1962).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jay Sigmund Papers
Insurance agent, poet, story writer, and lecturer on literature. Preliminary drafts of plays, poetry, an unpublished novel, and correspondence with writers of note.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Eleanor Pownall Simmons Manuscripts
Printmaker and artist, Simmons wrote and illustrated a number of books for children.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Simpson papers
Poet. Drafts of a song, Slumber Song. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charlotte M. Smith Papers, Including the Records of the Tamazunchale Press
Publisher of miniature books in Newton, Iowa, founded by Charlotte and Thomas Smith. Correspondence, typescripts, proofs, advertising, contracts, etc., have been combined with Charlotte M. Smith's personal papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Grace Noll Smith papers
Poet and editor of the Iowa Magazine of Verse. Manuscript with revisions of one book of poetry. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lewis Worthington Smith papers
Writer, professor and Dean of Drake University. Manuscripts for two of his works, The Art of Life and Crises. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Speidel Newspapers Inc. Records
Weekly reports from the central office to the publisher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Merritt C. Speidel Papers
Newspaper publisher and founder of the Speidel Newspaper Syndicate. The papers consist of correspondence of both a personal and business nature.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hartzell Spence Papers
Born in Clarion, Iowa, Spence graduated from the University of Iowa in 1930. From 1930 to 1941 he was the United Press bureau manager in Des Moines, and saw service during WW II in the Army Air Forces where he was the founder and first editor of Yank, the Army weekly newspaper. After the war, he worked as a free-lance writer, particularly noted for his reporting on religion. He also published several novels, wrote a comic strip (David Crane) and scripts for the weekly radio program, One Foot in Heaven, broadcast on the ABC network, 1944-1945. This collection consists of drafts for numerous articles and stories, including those for The Story of Religion in America, published in Look, 1957-1960.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Starzell Papers
General manager of Associated Press. The scrapbooks contain photographs, speeches, press releases, and articles from his career with the Associated Press.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Wallace Stegner papers
Award-winning novelist, story writer, essayist, historian, English professor at Stanford, and frontline conservationist. Preliminary drafts and proofs for seven novels.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Stewart Stern Papers
American motion picture and television screenwriter. Primarily material documenting his career, with research notebooks, rough dra s and final versions of many of his screen and teleplays, along with photographs from the productions. Also personal material including correspondence and his education and military records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George Stimpson Papers
Journalist, writer, and President of the National Press Club. Manuscripts for four of his informational books. Iowa Author
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Phil Stong Manuscripts
Iowa author best remembered for State Fair (film scripts dated 1945, 1961 and 1962 are here), Stong also wrote several books for children, including The Adventures of "Horse" Barnsby and Hirum the Hillbilly. Both of these, and others, are represented in this collection.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ruth Suckow Papers
Novelist and pacifist. Correspondence, diaries, subject files, notes, and preliminary drafts of writings. Also includes the work of Ferner Nuhn and William Suckow.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

David Swift Papers
Television and motion picture writer, director and producer. Television and motion picture scripts, screenplays, publicity, reviews, notes and memos, set designs, and costume sketches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James C. Taylor papers
Manuscript for Ottumwa: One Hundred Years a City. Iowa Author manuscript.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Elswyth Thane Papers
Playwright, biographer and novelist. Holograph notebooks containing first drafts of several historical novels, printer's copies, and correspondence are included. There are audiotapes of her research for Potomac Squire, a book about George Washington.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nick Thimmesch Papers
Journalist with Time and Newsday, where he began a column nationally syndicated in 1969. Author of several books. Correspondence, research, interviews, audio tapes, photographs, speeches, reporter's notebooks, and preliminary drafts of his works.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Toothpaste/Coffee House Press Records
Private press founded and operated by Allan and Cinda Kornblum in Iowa City in 1970. Comprised of subject files, correspondence, financial records, etc. relating to the daily operations and literary output of the private press.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Elton Trueblood papers
Author and Quaker religious philosopher. This collection contains manuscripts for two of his books, The Common Venture of Life and Declaration of Freedom.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lewis Turco Papers
Papers of the twentieth century poet and teacher. Includes manuscripts of poems, books, essays, book reviews, plays, short stories, and correspondence and bibliographies.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Twentieth Century Fox Film Scripts Collection
American film producing and distributing corporation. Materials include motion picture screenplays (both American and foreign) and television scripts. The screenplays range from various dra s to dialogue and cutting continuity scripts. Correspondence and general business agreements.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carl Van Vechten Papers
23 photographs of Doris Julian, Stephen Van Ophuigsen, Coleman Dowell, Jose Quintero and others; 16 photograph postcards including Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Toklas; 75 photographs of celebrities (lacking no. 18); several drafts and related correspondence for Gertrude Stein: An Epilogue.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nancy Veglahn Papers
Author of numerous books for young adults, many on science subjects. Collection includes manuscripts and correspondence about, among other titles, Follow the Golden Goose (1971) and Coils, Magnets and Rings (1976).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George Sylvester Viereck Papers
Poet, novelist, journalist, and publicist for pro-German causes. Correspondence, drafts of magazine articles, photos, clippings of newspaper and magazine articles, typescripts of poems in German and in English, notebooks and pamphlets, a psychiatric report, legal documents, statements in court, and related material.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

W. Lee Garner Targets' Collection
Poetry magazine. Correspondence from poets and subscribers, manuscripts of poems, page layouts and dummy sheets.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Pamela Walker Manuscripts
Teacher and novelist. Author of Twyla (1973, 1976), a book for young adults. Three drafts, related correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry Wallace Papers
First editor of Wallaces' Farmer. Arranged in broad subject categories and then in chronological order. Available on microfilm for use in repository, for interlibrary loan, and for purchase.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry A. Wallace Papers
Editor of Wallaces' Farmer 1921-1933; Secretary of Agriculture, 1933-1940; Vice-President of the United States, 1941-1945; Secretary of Commerce, 1945-1946. Includes audio visual materials; clippings; an extensive collection of correspondence, including photocopies of the microfilm edition of the originals in the Library of Congress, Manuscript Division; government documents; personal papers; photographs; research materials, with an emphasis on agriculture, particularly corn, but including livestock, weather, strawberries, chickens, and gladioli; writings, and speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry C. Wallace Papers
Second editor of Wallaces' Farmer; appointed U.S. Secretary of Agriculture by Warren Harding (1921-1924). Member of exec. committee of the Roosevelt Memorial Association and of the International Committee of Young Men's Christian Association. Arranged in broad subject categories. The correspondence arranged in chronological order.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James B. Wallace Papers
Notebooks of a collector of children's books, artwork, and other items by children's author Marguerite de Angeli.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Reverend Leo R. Ward papers
Writer, Catholic priest, and professor of philosophy at Notre Dame University. This collection consists of two manuscripts of Ward's published novels, Holding Up the Hills and Concerning Mary Ann. Iowa Author Manuscript.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ruth Cromer Weir Mss.
Author of biographies for children. Manuscripts for her books on Benjamin Franklin, John Paul Jones, and Marco Polo, also scripts for a 1954 television program, F Bar F Ranch.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Susan Fulton Welty Papers
Born in Fairfield, Iowa, Welty took degrees at Parsons College and the University of Utah. A teacher most of her life, this collection contains drafts of numerous stories and articles, most on religious subjects.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Harvey W. Wertz Papers
American journalist.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hervey White Papers
Novelist (Quicksand, 1900, and others), founder of the artist's colonies Byrdcliffe and Maverick, and editor of The Plowshare and The Wild Hawk. Drafts and typescripts of 24 stories and chapters from an unpublished autobiography.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Roland White Papers
Manuscript for Milo Reno: Farmers Union Pioneer. Iowa Authors
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Glenn E. Whitehead Papers
State legislator and Perry, Iowa, newspaper publisher. Correspondence, poetry, diary, subject files, etc. relating to both his private and professional life. Includes items ranging from campaign advertising to his WWI supply officer's manual.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Francis O. Wilcox Papers
Educator, United States government official (Senate Foreign Relations Committee chief of staff, 1947-1955; Assistant Secretary of State, 1955-1961). Correspondence, subject files, lecture notes, speeches, and preliminary drafts of articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Meredith Willson Papers
Writer, musician, composer, and lyricist, best known for The Music Man. Manuscript drafts from his books, a script from The Music Man, and sheet music.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Angus Wilson Papers
Acclaimed British novelist and scholar. Research files, including administrative material, research materials, and corrected typescripts for her 1995 biography of novelist Sir Angus Wilson.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary E. Winchell papers
Manuscript for Home on the Bering Sea with correspondence and clippings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur Wormhoudt papers
A professor of English, the manuscripts of The Demon Lover and The Muse at Length. (Christopher Publishing House, 1953) represent two of Wormhoudt's books of literary criticism.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Allen Wortman Papers
Editor of the Malvern Leader. Personal and professional correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Barbara S. Yambura Papers
Drafts of A Change and a Parting, a memoir of growing up in Amana in the 1930s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Yellow Barn Press Records
Private press in Council Bluffs, Iowa. Subject files, correspondence, mock-ups, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Martin Yoseloff Papers
Editor and novelist. Manuscripts for nine books, including No Greener Meadows (1946), his first novel.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Thomas Yoseloff Papers
Journalist and publisher. Managing editor of The Daily Iowan as a student, later wrote for newspapers including the New York Times and the Omaha World Herald. Collection consists of drafts for A Fellow of Infinite Jest (1946), a biography of Laurence Sterne, and his own autobiography, The Time of My Life.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George J. Zaffiras Manuscripts
Manuscript for The Doctor From Iowa. Iowa Author Ms.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Albert Zugsmith Papers
American motion picture producer, director and writer. Ten script items ranging from shooting schedules to screenplays.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections