Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Film & Television Writing and Directing - 42 hits

American Broadcasting Company Transcripts Collection
Transcripts of the ABC Evening News 1970-1973 (typewritten).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Robert Blees Papers
Motion picture and television script-writer and producer. Film treatments and screenplays written by Blees and other screenwriters, miscellaneous, memos and articles, film stills, photostats, phonographic recordings from soundtracks.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Luis Buñuel Film Scripts
Scripts for films directed by the father of Surreal cinema. One transcription of a narration from Bunuel from 1932.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Tom Chehak Papers
Television and film writer, producer and director. 26 episodes of Galidor, an action series for children sponsored by Lego Media International and the Disney network; 13 episodes of Scout's Safari, an action-adventure series for young people set and shot in South Africa; materials relating to The Listener, for which Chehak served as an Executive Producer, shot in Toronto.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sean Clark Papers
Scripts for the television program, Early Edition, and drafts of a yet to be produced screenplay.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Albert J. Cohen Papers
American motion picture and television script writer and producer. Program scripts, department materials, memos, clippings, notes, correspondence, production budgets, and miscellaneous photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Max Allan Collins papers
Author, filmmaker, and comic strip writer. The papers document his film and literary career. His novels, comics (including Dick Tracy and Ms. Tree), and screenplays are represented in various forms of completion, with typescript drafts, artwork, correspondence, research, galley proofs, and promotional material.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Morgan Dawn Fanzines and Fanvids Collection
Collection of fanzines and fanvids (fan-created montages of video clips from assorted media fandoms set to music) relating to numerous media fandoms, assembled by long-time fan writer and vidder Dawn.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Morgan Dawn The Professionals Circuit Library and Fanzine Collection
Collection of fanzines and items of fan fiction relating to the British crime drama The Professionals, including the print and digital contents of the fan-assembled 'Circuit Library'.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Editorial Comments of Iowa Television Stations Collection
Typed editorial comments gathered for years from prominent TV stations from throughout Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Elbert Family Papers
Legal papers, diplomas, certificates of appointments, scrapbook, 2 issues of Keosauqua, Iowa, newspapers (1852-58), and other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Don Farran Papers
Writer, State Director Historical Records Survey. Collection includes drafts of poems and stories but consists largely of scripts for Navy and Coast Guard training films dating from the mid-1930s to the mid-1950s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Norman Felton Papers
British born American television producer and director. Correspondence, clippings, photographs, notebooks, binders.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Susan Hill Fanzine Collection
Science fiction fan and fanzine collector. Collection of fanzines - mostly works of fan fiction, with particular emphasis on multimedia anthologies and on the British science fiction TV show Blake's 7.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Debbie Hoover Fanzine Collection
Oregon-based fan and collector of fanzines. Collection of fanzines - mostly fan fiction -, mainly from Star Trek but also for other SF and genre media properties.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Celeste Hotaling-Lyons Fanzine Collection
Fan writer and editor. A collection of science fiction fanzines, primarily consisting of pieces of fan fiction, and a few related items, including some science fiction convention materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nicholas Johnson Papers
Writer, lawyer, lecturer. Johnson was born in Iowa City; took undergraduate and law degrees at the University of Texas at Austin; clerked with Chief Justice Hugo Black; taught law at Berkeley; and worked briefly for the Washington firm of Covington & Burling. Became Maritime Administrator in the Department of Commerce 1964-1966; Commissioner of the Federal Communications Commission 1966-1973. Much of his later career has stemmed from his work with television and radio policy at the FCC. More biographical and other information can be found at Johnson's website, http://www.nicholasjohnson.org/>.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ralph Junkin Papers
Collection of motion picture stills, theater lobby posters and window cards, display posters, press book material, and technical manuals for projectors and stage lighting. Covers both silent and sound motion picture.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Keith/Albee Collection
Vaudeville, theater, and movie business. Clipping books, managers' report books, scrapbooks, business records, cash books, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Barry Kemp Papers
Television writer, producer. Consists of two series, scripts and video cassettes.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Laura Leach Collection of Man From U.N.C.L.E. Fanzines
Collection of fanzines (primarily fan fiction) and other materials, including episode scripts, devoted to the 1960s cult television show The Man From U.N.C.L.E.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Richard Maibaum Papers
American screenwriter, producer and actor. Personal papers contains an actors file, clippings and correspondences.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marion Meade Buster Keaton Research Files
Research material compiled by Meade while writing the biography Buster Keaton Cut to the Case.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marion Meade Woody Allen Research Files
Research material for The Unruly Life of Woody Allen. Comprised of interviews by letter and on tape, journal articles, research files, notes, films, photographs, manuscript copies, and copies of the completed book in various editions.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lynda Mendoza Collection of David McCallum Memorabilia
Collection of materials related to the actor David McCallum, assembled by the president of his official fan club. Materials include books, posters, ephemera, photographs, audio and visual recordings, and other items.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Robert Metzler "Colombo" Diaries
Writer and producer Robert Metzler was hired in March 1975 to work on the NBC television series Colombo starring Peter Falk. He continued on the show into 1977, making near daily diary entries that record behind-the-scenes activity in great detail.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

David Morrell Papers
Born in Ontario 1943, awarded a PhD in American literature by Pennsylvania State University in 1970, taught at Iowa from 1970 to 1986, retired to write. Perhaps best known for Rambo, the central character of his 1972 novel First Blood, which lead to the Rambo films starring Sylvester Stallone, Morrell has written numerous novels as well as screen- and teleplays. The growing collection of his papers includes video and audio tapes as well as research notes, correspondence, and manuscripts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

National Citizens Committee for Broadcasting Records
Subject files, correspondence, photographs, clippings and other records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles O'Neal Papers
American television and motion picture screenwriter and novelist. Father of actor Ryan O'Neal. Screenplays, teleplays, typescripts, correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Organization for Transformative Works Fanzine and Fan Fiction Collection
Collection of science fiction and other genre fanzines, pieces of fan fiction, and related fannish artifacts donated by various fans through the cooperation of the Organization for Transformative Works, established to preserve the history of fanworks and fan culture.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Radio-Television News Directors Association Records
Correspondence, minutes of the board of directors, conventionreports, financial records, committee files, copies of thepublication RTNDA Bulletin, membership files, audiotapes, videotapes, and other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur A. Ross Papers
Motion picture and television script writer. Slides, watercolor paintings, scripts, screenplays, short stories and novels by Ross; photographs, three recordings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Save Farscape Auction Collection
Collection of items assembled for a fannish auction to help fund the campaign protesting the cancellation of the science fiction television series Farscape.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Script Ephemera Collection
The core of this collection is made up of scripts submitted for consideration for Best Screenplay in 2000. Other scripts have been added, and will continue to be added as they are received. Other materials, such as publicity kits and "the making of books" are also included here.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Stewart Stern Papers
American motion picture and television screenwriter. Primarily material documenting his career, with research notebooks, rough dra s and final versions of many of his screen and teleplays, along with photographs from the productions. Also personal material including correspondence and his education and military records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Phil Stong Manuscripts
Iowa author best remembered for State Fair (film scripts dated 1945, 1961 and 1962 are here), Stong also wrote several books for children, including The Adventures of "Horse" Barnsby and Hirum the Hillbilly. Both of these, and others, are represented in this collection.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

David Swift Papers
Television and motion picture writer, director and producer. Television and motion picture scripts, screenplays, publicity, reviews, notes and memos, set designs, and costume sketches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Twentieth Century Fox Film Scripts Collection
American film producing and distributing corporation. Materials include motion picture screenplays (both American and foreign) and television scripts. The screenplays range from various dra s to dialogue and cutting continuity scripts. Correspondence and general business agreements.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Victor Animatograph Corporation Papers
Alexander Victor, a central figure in the invention and marketing of 16mm film equipment for home and industrial use, formed the Victor Animatograph Company of Davenport, Iowa. Papers include records, correspondence, catalogs and clippings, photographs, negatives and scrapbooks.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Watchers of CIS Collection of Highlander Fan Materials
Collection of fannish materials, particularly fanzines, relating to the Highlander media franchise of movies and television shows.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Gene Wilder Papers
Actor, film star, writer, director and producer, University of Iowa alumnus (1955). The Wilder papers include scripts and drafts of scripts, contracts and related papers, and a group of photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Albert Zugsmith Papers
American motion picture producer, director and writer. Ten script items ranging from shooting schedules to screenplays.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections