Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Jewish Women in Iowa - 11 hits

Ruth Salzmann Becker papers
Nurse and community activist in Iowa City who, as a young Jewish woman, fled Nazi Germany in 1939 and emigrated to the United States.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marlene Booth Papers
Jewish independent filmmaker raised in Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosalie Braverman papers
Braverman recalls her childhood in Youthful Journeys in Poland and Germany. An oral history interview, conducted in 1996, concerns student family life, the Jewish community in Iowa City, and anti-Semitism.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carolyn "Kay" Bucksbaum papers
Civic activist involved in the Jewish community, the Des Moines symphony, the League of Women Voters, and the Proteus Club.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gertrude Cohen papers
Member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1965-1966, and the first Jewish woman elected to the Iowa Legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Louise Goldman papers
Public servant, feminist activist, and poet from Davenport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joan Lipsky papers
Iowa legislator and community acitvisit from Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Louise Rosenfield Noun papers
Feminist and civil liberties activist from Des Moines, Iowa, who was also an art collector, author, and co-founder of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

A Political Dialogue: Iowa's Women Legislators oral histories
Interviews with Iowa women legislators conducted by Suzanne O'Dea Schenken.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shloss and Mannheimer Families papers
Prominent Des Moines families including Irma Mannheimer, her husband Rabbi Eugene Mannheimer of Temple B'nai Jeshurun, and her parents, Rose and Max Shloss—the owners of Lederer and Strauss and Company.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bertha Korn Tucker papers
Writer and life-long student who was active in the Sisterhood (Jewish aid society) at the Beth El Jacob Synagogue in Des Moines and Hadassah, a national organization aiding disadvantaged Jews, primarily children.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives