Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Correspondence - 309 hits

Charles Thomas Ackley Civil War Diaries Collection
One hundred and eighteen letters from Charles Thomas Ackley, mostly to his wife in Marble Rock, Iowa. Also included are newspaper clippings, brief biographies of some of the men in the Seventh Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and historical commentary.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Allen Motor Company Records
Records of the oldest auto dealership in Iowa, including financial records, newsletters, and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

ATCA Artists' Works and Correspondence Files Collection
This ATCA collection brings together mail art, correspondence, photographs, slides, compact discs, show announcements/posters, writings, and other ephemera related to or by various artists.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carl Backman Chautauqua Collection
Photographs, brochures, correspondence, financial papers, and brochures from several chautauquas.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry B. Bailey Papers
Papers relating to the organization of the Young Republican League of Iowa in the First Congressional District, 1932-1935; records of Bailey's campaign for the office of Washington County attorney in 1932 and 1934; folder of letters dated 1945-1946 from Alfred E. Baldrige, Bailey's law partner, and his wife, Charlotte, during Baldrige's military service during World War II in Germany.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Batchelder Family Papers
Papers of Reverend Joseph Mayo Batchelder and his wife. Included are about 50 letters, written in the 1840s and 1850s mostly from Peoria, Illinois and Owego, New York; an account book dated from 1848-1884; and a diary dated from 1847-1848. Manuscript sermons, and other items.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Miles Beaty Letters
Letters written to Beaty's father, John Beaty, telling of experiences in the 149th Regiment of Pennsylvania Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Beecher Family Papers
Letters to and from several members of the Beecher family including Henry Ward Beecher, Edward W. Beecher, and Catharine Esther Beecher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Joyce Beisswenger papers
Social worker and civil rights activist from Osage, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Wayne Biklen Papers
Engineer. Speeches, subject files, correspondence, photos, other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Newell W. Bixby Papers
Minister of the Free Will Baptist Church in Lodomillo Township, Clayton County , Iowa. Private journals and church records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Blackhawk Foundry and Machine Company Records
Iron casting company in Davenport, Iowa. Includes blueprints, budgets, correspondence, publicity, and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Tom and Ruth Blanchard Chautauqua Collection
Chautauqua and radio performers. Correspondence, clippings, photographs, and ephemera.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Robert Blees Papers
Motion picture and television script-writer and producer. Film treatments and screenplays written by Blees and other screenwriters, miscellaneous, memos and articles, film stills, photostats, phonographic recordings from soundtracks.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edmund Blunden Papers
Correspondence and manuscripts of the British scholar and poet.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James Wills Bollinger Papers
Lawyer and judge. Mostly concerns Bollinger's studies of Abraham Lincoln and as a collector of Lincolniana.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Josiah Bonney Papers
Secretary of State of Iowa . Correspondence and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Thomas Eyre Booth Papers
Editor and publisher of the Anamosa Eureka in Anamosa , Iowa . Correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, a scrapbook, and other related papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sudhindra Bose Papers
University of Iowa lecturer in political science, specializing in Oriental politics, 1921-1945.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Howard Bowen Papers
Nineteenth president of the University of Iowa, 1964-1969.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

John G. Bowman Papers
Ninth president of the University of Iowa, 1911-1914.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Duane Bradley Papers
Manuscripts and related materials for several of Mrs. Bradley's titles, including Electing a President (1963) and Sew It and Wear It (1966).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Helen Branyan papers
Letters From Egypt by Helen Baird Branyan consists primarily of Clarice Bloomfield's letters, written between 1920 and 1938. The letters describe the life of an Albia, Iowa, girl who became a missionary in Egypt.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shirley A. Briggs papers
Artist, editor, and naturalist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cheryl Britton papers
Career nurse and avid traveler who grew up in Dedham, Iowa and Des Moines.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Brown Gibson Family Papers
Letters, documents, and a booklet on Major Hugh G. Brown.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George W. Brown Papers
Member of faculty, University of Iowa colleges of law and engineering. Transportation safety consultant.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Hazel E. Brown Papers
Writer and friend of both Grant Wood and Marvin Cone. The collection contains research notes and manuscripts for the book, as well as clippings about Brown herself. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Robert Morriss Browning Papers
World War I letters to students at the University of Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Raymond Bunge Papers
University of Iowa professor of urology, 1953-1976. His research in androgyny and infertility led him to work with Dr. James Bradbury in the world's first successful human pregnancy from frozen sperm.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Samuel Calvin Papers
University of Iowa professor of geology, and first head of that department. Instructor in paleontology, zoology, botany. Geologist for state of Iowa. Photographer of the Iowa City area.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Janine Canan Papers
Poet and editor. Books, manuscripts,clippings, correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Millington F. Carpenter Papers
Professor of English at University High School, 1922-1950. Taught literature at University of Iowa, 1950-1964. Correspondence, course material, speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Carr and Carr Records
Complete records of a pioneer law firm and several of its predecessors, including correspondence, account books, ledgers, cases, journals, and receipts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Gertrude M. Carr Papers
Noted science fiction fan and fanzine editor from Seattle, Washington. Correspondence, together with some additional ephemera.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cedar Rapids Chamber of Commerce
Budgets, correspondence, clippings, photographs, and other material.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cedar Rapids Symphony Orchestra Papers
Correspondence, account books, reports, lists, attendance registers, minutes, rosters of officers, publicity material, programs, and financial records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Chicago & Northwestern Railway Ticket Agent Papers
Records of the Cedar Rapids ticket agent for the railway, this collection consists of record books, correspondence with headquarters in Chicago , and correspondence dealing with problems of passenger transportation. Bulk dates are 1896-1899.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Childs Family Letters
Letters of the Childsfamily in Philadelphia , Pennsylvania and members of the family in Clinton County , Iowa , including the towns of Low Moor, Lyons, and Camanche. Though the correspondence is carried on during the Civil War, the letters have mostly to do with domestic affairs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Manuscripts of Chinese Writers
A number of literary manuscripts composed by Chinese writers were acquired for the East Asian collections over a long period of time. In 1991, a program was established to encourage further and continued growth in this area.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Christisen Railroad Collection
Records for the Milwaukee Road, Amtrak, and the B&O railroads, with some materials from the Elgin, Joliet and Eastern (EJ&E), the Central Railroad of New Jersey (CNJ), the Nickel Plate Railroad (NKP), and Acheson, Topeka and Santa Fe (AT&SF) lines from the 1880s to the early 1990s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Philip Greeley Clapp Papers
Professor of music, University of Iowa, from 1919 until his death in 1953. Composer and symphony conductor. Compositions, correspondence, and scrapbooks containing newspaper articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Clark and Haddock Papers
Correspondence, account books, and docket books of the law firm of Clark & Haddock.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dorothy Clark papers
Methodist Episcopal deaconess who later worked with the Mahaska County Historical Society to found the Nelson Pioneer Farm in Oskaloosa, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Buster Cleveland Papers
Correspondence and art work by mail artist Buster Cleveland.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Kenneth J. Cmiel Papers
University of Iowa professor of history and director of the UI Center for Human Rights.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Albert J. Cohen Papers
American motion picture and television script writer and producer. Program scripts, department materials, memos, clippings, notes, correspondence, production budgets, and miscellaneous photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Confederate States of America Documents
A collection of bills, acts, reports and other documents printed by the Confederate States of America government.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul Conlon United Nations Sanctions Papers
Documents supporting Dr. Conlon's United Nations Sanctions Management: A Case Study of the Iraq Sanctions Committee 1990-1994 (Ardsley, NY: Transnational Publishers, Inc., 2001; ISBN 1-57105-059-0). Most relate to UN sanctions against Iraqfrom 1990 through the spring of 1995 with extensive materials dealing with UN sanctions against Yugoslaviain the same period plus items dealing with UN sanctions against Angola, Haitiand South Africa and relating to certain peacekeeping activities of the time.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cook Family Papers
Diaries of Edward E. Cook, journals and ledgers of the law firm of Cook & Dodge of Davenport, Iowa, and other business and legal papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

R. Keith Courtney Papers
Iowa City resident and artist. From the late 1970s to the late 1980s Courtney conducted a project titled Notes From All Over, which invited artists to send him found objects and printed matter. The collection consists of art works, correspondence, and related documentation dating from 1971-1995.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Crawford and Eastwood Families Papers
Correspondence, photographs, clippings, and genealogical records of these families, including materials relating to operating a farm near Prescott, Kansas; letters home from a worker on the Chautauqua circuit; and letters home from a professor of music.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Denton Chester Crowl Papers
Lecturer-portrayalist, salesman and editorial writer for the Toledo Blade, Denton Crowl performed on the Chautauqua circuits and in other venues. This collection includes correspondence, appointment diaries, photographs, and manuscripts, mostly relating to his lecture and political activities.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Culver Papers
U.S. Congressman and Senator from Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Amos Noyes Currier Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Curtis Companies Inc. Records
Founded in 1866 and dissolved in 1938, the Curtis Companies were a conglomerate of associated sash, door, and millwork companies that eventually consolidated into a single corporation. Includes correspondence, ledgers, journals, cashbooks, stockbooks, and minute books, with correspondence of U.S. Representative George M. Curtis.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles D. Cuttler Papers
Professor of art and art history. Consultant to National Endowment for the Humanities. Correspondence, administrative records.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Jay N. Darling Papers
Correspondence, speeches, articles, leaflets, clippings, scrapbooks and a sketchbook, mostly dealing with politics, conservation, or family affairs, assembled by newspaper cartoonist Ding Darling of The Des Moines Register. There are also some 6,000 original pen-and-ink cartoons drawn by Darling.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marcellus Warner Darling Papers
Civil War soldier, Congregational minister, and father of Jay Norwood Darling. Consists primarily of letters, a diary, and memoirs of his service in Company K, 154th New York Volunteer Infantry during the Civil War.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Davenport Besler Corportation Papers
Business records of a liquidated Davenport, Iowa, locomotive manufacturing company.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Andrew F. Davis Papers
Civil War soldier. Correspondence from Davis (an officer in Co.I, 15th Regiment, Indiana Volunteers) to his wife and daughters. Letters include information on troop morale, slavery, camp life, battles, Copperheads, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sarah Poppen De Koster papers
Family correspondence received by a pastor's wife during the early twentieth century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Clark M. Eichelberger Papers
Articles, clippings, correspondence, lectures, photographs, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edward C. Eicher Papers
Lawyer, Government official, and U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, and speeches, including material on Iowa politics and government.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Otto Eisenschiml Papers
Chemist and Lincoln scholar. Manuscripts, notes, proofs, reviews of books on Lincoln's death and the Civil War, and the manuscript of Eisenschiml's autobiography.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Elbert Family Papers
Legal papers, diplomas, certificates of appointments, scrapbook, 2 issues of Keosauqua, Iowa, newspapers (1852-58), and other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Owen and Leone Elliott Papers
Cedar Rapids business people and collectors who donated their silver collection to the University of Iowa Museum of Art. This collection is made up of a series of correspondence and inventories of the Elliotts' library.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Polly Ely papers
Peace and civil rights activist who was a longtime member of Peoples Church Unitarian Universalist in Cedar Rapids.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Paul Engle Papers
Poet (numerous books from Worn Earth, 1932), editor of the O. Henry Prize Stories, 1954-1959, director of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, 1941-1967, and co-founder and director of the International Writers' Program, 1967-1976 at the University of Iowa. Literary manuscripts, correspondence, subject files, and student works documenting his career as a writer and teacher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Eno Family Papers
Letters about experiences in Penn Yan, New York and Fort Madison, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Robert Espinosa Papers
Photocopies of articles on conservation and bookbinding.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Rose Ettinger papers
Concert singer who toured Europe from 1897 to 1907.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dina Rees Evans Papers
High school educator in dramatic arts. Awarded first Ph.D. in dramatic arts from an American university, received from the University of Iowa in 1932.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Joseph E. Evans Papers
Editorial page editor of the Wall Street Journal. Correspondence, clippings and photographs relating to his editorial work, his experience in World War II, and his days as a graduate student at the University of Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Alice French Papers
One of the most successful women writers of the later 19th century, Octave Thanet's stories and novels celebrated the status quo; she lived much of her life in Davenport, Iowa. Our holdings consist of a holograph draft of her story, The Governor's Prerogative, photographs, photocopies of other stories, and a microfilm of Voice of Nature.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Gawsworth (Armstrong)/Shiel/Redonda Papers
Papers and manuscripts of the lyrical poet and second King of Redonda; some papers for M.P. Shiel, fantasy writer and first King of Redonda; some papers on the Kingdom of Redonda. Letters from Gawsworth's days as editor; many of his poems written in his hand, most of them unpublished. 21 notebooks and several photographs. These notebooks are mostly from the World War II era and document his experiences in the RAF in North Africa and Italy, as well as his literary musings and studies, including a list of authors in North Africa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frances Graham papers
Amateur historian and clubwoman from Fayette County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Johnie Hammond papers
Democratic representative and senator in the Iowa legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lorraine Hansen papers
Diaries of a homemaker and bakery owner from Manson, Iowa
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Virginia Harper papers
One of five African American women who integrated Currier Hall at the University of Iowa in 1946. Former president of the Fort Madison chapter of the NAACP.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Phyllis Harper-Bardach papers
Educator of hearing-impaired children and retired professor of Education at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Claudine Harris papers
Harris worked in radiation detection instrumentation. She was active in the Johnson County League of Women Voters and the Johnson County Alliance for the Mentally Ill.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marie Tener Havel papers
Nurse who worked in Missouri in the 1930s and at the University of Iowa Hospitals from 1948 to 1965.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bertha Hedges papers
A talented seamstress and milliner, Bertha Gotter Hedges was born in Greene County, Iowa, in 1887.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Hedy Hustedde papers
Homemaker and librarian who lived abroad in Berlin for four years during the 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

June Helm Papers
University of Iowa professor in Sociology and Anthropology, 1960-1999. Correspondence, speeches, manuscript, awards.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Phylliss Henry papers
First woman assigned to patrol duty on the Des Moines police force, serving from 1972 to 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Catherine Snedeker Hill papers
Illinois student who moved to Mt. Pleasant, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gladys Homan papers
Extensive correspondence of Corning, Iowa farm wife and club woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Charles F. Horner Papers
Correspondence, book manuscript, clippings, incomplete brochures, talent prices having to do with traveling Chautauquas.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

M. Horvat Science Fiction Fanzines Collection
A large collection, stretching across most of the 20th century, of science fiction fanzines.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jean Huffey papers
Substitute schoolteacher; active in PFLAG.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Doris Bender Hughes papers
Student who attended the University of Iowa in the 1940s and later became a teacher and child-welfare worker.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Author's Manuscripts Collection
Includes manuscripts, galley proofs, page proofs, dust jackets, and other miscellany associated with publications of many Iowa Authors.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iowa Lakeside Laboratory Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Jane Elliott papers
Riceville, Iowa schoolteacher and anti-racism activist who pioneered diversity sensitivity training with her famous "Blue Eyed, Brown Eyed" exercise
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Langland Johnson papers
Nurse who served in the Army Nurse Corps during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joiner Family papers
Iowa family that corresponded during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Virginia Jones papers
Community activitst and writer Virginia Shrauger Jones grew up in Atlantic Iowa and served as a Captain in the U. S. Marine Corps during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Kern papers
Professor of English and an independent scholar who taught in the Middle East and Eastern Europe as well as in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Eliza Hickok Kesler papers
Cedar Rapids native who worked on the radio show 'The Quiz Kids.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Keyes Family papers
Mount Vernon, Iowa, family whose papers include photographs, account books, correspondence and civil war diaries.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nile C. Kinnick Papers
Student leader, scholar, and athlete from Iowa. Correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, speeches, photographs, articles, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Alice Kipp papers
The papers include Kipp's reminiscence of her childhood on an Iowa farm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Koob papers
Correspondence and training materials on selling the Lincoln Library, a popular reference book, sent to Ruth Koob by The Frontier Press Company.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ann Larimer letters
Queen City, Iowa, resident who wrote to her husband while he was serving in the Civil War.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Pedro Lastra Collection of Letters from South American Writers
Chilean essayist and poet. This collection contains over 900 letters to Lastra written by renowned South American writers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lois Laughlin papers
Papers of an activist from West Branch, Iowa, include correspondence and newspaper clippings relating to her husband's status as a conscientious objector.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Donald P. Lay Papers
Speeches, articles, and correspondence of a judge of the Eight Circuit Court of Appeals.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

League of Iowa Municipalities Papers
Annual convention proceedings, 1946-1961.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Alberta Evelyn Swan Lehman papers
Correspondence and scrapbook of student years at Simpson Conservatory in Indianola, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Myrtilla F. Levin papers
Active in the Republican Party, mayor of Newton, Iowa, and executive director of Iowa Business Council.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Thelma B. Lewis papers
Iowa City mayor in 1961; served on the city council from 1958 to 1963.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Linda Lee Smith papers
Muscatine, Iowa native and basoonist who performed and taught at the university level before directing a women's recovery program in California.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carrie Lindahl papers
Rural Linn County banker who worked outside of the home from 1910s to 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Luella Rynerson Smith papers
Home extension course, U.S. Department of Agriculture, and other early twentieth century rural organization publications collected by an Iowa farm wife.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

George E. MacLean Papers
George Edwin MacLean served as the eighth president of the University of Iowa, from 1899 to 1911.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

John MacVicar Papers
Record of expenditures for a farm located on Muscatine Island.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Maecenas Press Records
Publisher at Lake MacBride, Solon, Iowa. Correspondence, drafts, proofs of books.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Richard Maibaum Papers
American screenwriter, producer and actor. Personal papers contains an actors file, clippings and correspondences.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

W.F. Main Papers
Businessman, Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Business and personal correspondence, financial statements and reports, legal papers, memoranda, photographs, and keepsakes concerning Main family and its personal and business affairs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Malcolm Letters
Letters to Malcolm's wife, describing experiences in Georgia and elsewhere with the 7th Regiment of Iowa infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Willard Marsh Papers
Graduate of the Writers' Workshop, a musician and an English professor.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Byron McClain Letters
Letters to McClain's family in Wilton Junction, Iowa, telling of experiences in Tennessee with the 2nd Regiment of Iowa Cavalry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Emlin McClain Papers
Lawyer, judge, and professor. Personal and business correspondence, diaries, and speeches on painting. Most of the material dates before 1880, while McClain was a law student at the University of Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Margaret McCollum papers
Des Moines resident who was a leader in women's organizations including American Mother's Inc., PTA and AAUW.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

McDill Family Papers
Iowa farm family. Correspondence and business papers of Joseph Black McDill, George R. McDill, and John Ronald.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Julie McDonald Papers
Newspaper Editor and writer, this collection contains material related to two novels (Amalie's Story, 1970 and Petra, 1978), a play (Eyes of Sky; a Play in Six Scenes) and a biography (Ruth Buxton Sayre: First Lady of the Farms, 1980).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frederick and Margaret McDowell Papers
Collection of letters from literary figures, including T. C. Boyle, Paul Engle, E.M. Forster, Gail Godwin, Caroline Gordon, and Angus Wilson.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

McGill Family papers
The collection consists mainly of correspondence and includes the papers of early twentieth century labor activist, IWW member, and Buffalo school teacher, Pearl McGill.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marshall McKusick Papers
Professor, University of Iowa Department of Sociology and Anthropology, from 1960 until 1996. State Archeologist from 1960 until 1975. Researched prehistoric Native American Indian cultures. Publications.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

John V. McMillin II Papers
Project engineer and engineering manager, University of Iowa Measurement Research Center. Product development at the MRC, including standardized test sheet scoring, electronic ballots, and other applications of scanning technologies. Reports, patent applications, press releases, newspaper clippings, photographs, extensive annotations in finding aid by donor.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Marion Meade Woody Allen Research Files
Research material for The Unruly Life of Woody Allen. Comprised of interviews by letter and on tape, journal articles, research files, notes, films, photographs, manuscript copies, and copies of the completed book in various editions.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marjorie Medary Papers
Editor and author of books for young adults. This collection drafts and other materials relating to Prairie Printer (a sequel to Buckeye Boy), about a pioneer northeast Iowa newspaperman; Orange Winter, about Florida in the 1870's; College in Crinoline and Prairie Anchorage, both of which have pioneer settings, and some other works.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Norman C. Meier Papers
Professor of psychology, University of Iowa, from 1923 until 1964. Designed tests to measure artistic aptitude, and audience response. Correspondence, photographs, lectures.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Cornelia Meigs Papers
Children's author and Iowa's first Newbery Award winner. This collection consists of a manuscript and various clippings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Martin Mericle Letters
Personal letters describing Martin Mericle's Civil War experiences while serving with the 114th Ohio Infantry Regiment. Also includes and account book, 1863-1875.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nicholas Meyer Papers
Screenwriter and director. Typescripts, screenplays, correspondence, clippings, proofs, photographs, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marianne Michael papers
Served with her husband as missionaries for the Church of the Brethren in Garkida, Nigeria from 1948 to 1961.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ellen Mowrer Miller papers
Correspondence of 19th century Iowa woman includes letters from brother in medical school and Civil War and from sister who raised a family and maintained a farm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frank Miller Papers
Editorial cartoonist for the Des Moines Register. 100 original drawings, cartoons with over-lays and color processes, engraving printing plates, correspondence, photos and other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dorothy Misbach papers
Educator whose lifelong career of working with partially seeing and blind students began in 1938 at the Perkins School for the Blind in Massachussetts.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Florinda Wakefield More papers
Correspondence from friends, family and her husband, the itinerant minister Thomas More.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Morrell Meat Packing Company Collection Papers
Business and personal correspondence, account books, statements, and other records, relating to the meat packing company particularly in Liverpool, England, and Ottumwa, Iowa; and papers, including some of Thomas Dove Foster.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lois Baker Muehl Papers
Manuscripts and correspondence related to her books for children including My Name Is-- (1959) and Hidden Year of Devlin Bates (1967).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Peg Mullen papers
Anti-Vietnam War activist whose son, Michael, was killed by 'friendly fire' in Vietnam in 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ione Mulnix papers
Correspondence of a student at the State University of Iowa in Iowa City with her family in Dows, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

National Citizens Committee for Broadcasting Records
Subject files, correspondence, photographs, clippings and other records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

National Organization for Women, Des Moines Chapter records
Feminist activist organization records.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nature Conservancy Iowa Chapter Records
Records of the Iowa chapter of the Nature Conservancy.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edith Neal papers
Known as the Vietnam Mail Lady, Neal corresponded with servicemen stationed in Vietnam from 1966 to 1969.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gladys Nelson papers
Republican Iowa legislator from 1950 to 1956 and former president of the League of Women Voters of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frank Louis Nemec Papers
Engineer. Correspondence, postcards, and photographs relating to the building of the Panama Canal.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary C. Neuhauser papers
Democrat who served four terms in the Iowa House and one four-year term in the Senate (1986-1998).
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Linda Kinney Neuman papers
Served for over twenty years in the Iowa judiciary and was the first woman to be appointed to the Iowa Supreme Court.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Newcomers Christian Fellowship Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Barbara Burrell Nichols papers
Mother from Ames, Iowa who died of polio in 1955.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joyce Nielsen papers
Feminist, legislator and community activist who worked in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Naomi Novick papers
Iowa City city councilor from 1990 to 1997. Chosen twice to serve as mayor.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Charles C. Nutting Papers
Professor of zoology and curator of the Museum of Natural History. Correspondence, journal, reprints, speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Miriam Baker Nye papers
Moville, Iowa, farm wife and columnist for the Sioux City Farm Journal Weekly.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Off and Holsteen Family papers
Two generations of an eastern Iowa family, many generations of which attended the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Oneita Griggs Fisher papers
Newspaper columnist and writer from Washington County, Iowa, who was interested in conservation and historic preservation.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Richard G. Oram Chautauqua Collection
Member of a the Hanscom Players a well-known Chautauqua troupe that toured throughout the U.S.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Kathy Ormond papers
Red Cross recreation aide who was stationed in Vietnam from July 1968 to October 1969.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ottumwa Railway & Light Company Records
Street railroad, electric light and steam power business in Ottumwa, Iowa. Maps, legal documents, correspondence, and subject files.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Viola Nesfield Owen papers
Mother and piano teacher living in Wisconsin, cooresponding with family in Waterloo, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Betty Mae Page correspondence
Waterloo, Iowa resident who served on Governor Ray's Commission on the Status of Women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Palmer/Calkins/Corbin Papers
Letters, diaries, genealogies, papers, and videocassette dealing with the Civil War, the Mormon move west, and World War II.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Patricia J. Pardun papers
State vice chair of the Republican Party in Iowa from 1967 to 1973.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Louise Petersen Papers
Member and president of Iowa State Board of Regents.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Thelma Petersen papers
Diaries of homemaker from Kirkman, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sarilda Phillips papers
Mississippi schoolteacher who was forced into retirement in 1956 following desegregation.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Pi Lambda Theta, Theta Chapter records
Honorary society for women students in the field of education.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Anne E. Pierce Papers
Professor of music. Head of music at S.U.I. Experimental Schools. Performance programs and correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Dante Pierce Papers
Farm editor. Correspondence with State and National Political figures including Smith Brookhart, Calvin Coolidge, Robert LaFolette, Henry Wallace, and George Wilson.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edwards Pierrepont Papers
Letters to Edwards from American statesmen.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edwin Ford Piper Collection
Piper's notes on Western ballads, with music for some; other folk materials including rimes, riddles, games, folk sayings, quadrille calls, slang, superstitions, and folk remedies.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Pittman Family papers
Postal card albums of Marilla and Edith Pittman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elvira Gaston Platt papers
Teacher and abolitionist who assisted fleeing slaves on the Underground Railroad while living in Fremont County, Iowa. Taught school to Pawnee children in Pennsylvania and Nebraska.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cora Belle Pollock papers
Elementary school teacher from Rolfe, Iowa who later worked as a lab technician in Fort Dodge, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Ashby Pownall papers
Journalist who reported on Camp Dodge in Iowa during World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Prairie View Club (Hardin County) records
Rural women's club dating from the early twentieth century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Cutler Prior papers
Geologist who worked with the Iowa Geological Survey in Iowa City for 38 years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Progressive Party Records
Correspondence, speeches, reports, business records, articles, campaign materials, fact sheets, form letters, directives, telegrams, pamphlets, press releases, clippings, and other related material concerning the party and the national election of 1948.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dr. Mark Ranney Papers
Physician and book collector. Photographs, financial records, clippings and memorabilia.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hunter R. Rawlings III Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Margaret Thomsen Raymond papers
Author and editor of children's books and poetry.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Redpath Chautauqua Bureau Records
Commercial lecture bureau and booking agency for Chautauqua and lyceums throughout the United States and parts of Canada. Office files of the Redpath-Vawter Bureau of Cedar Rapids, IA, the Redpath-Chicago Bureau run by Harry P. Harrison and Charles Horner's Redpath Chautauquas. Included are: talent files consisting of correspondence, contracts, publicity brochures, and advertising flyers; business files including employee records; geographical location files with materials about cities and towns that sponsored Chautauquas and lyceums; periodicals; daybooks, cashbooks; and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Olabelle Reed papers
Teacher, community activist, and co-founder of Club Les Dames, an African American women's club in Waterloo.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marian Rees papers
Emmy Award-winning television producer and owner of Marian Rees Associates, Inc.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Reese Family Papers
Business documents, correspondence and travel ephemera of the Reese Family from Turin, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Frances Reger-Wilkinson papers
Social worker who worked for the American National Red Cross during and after World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ted Rehder Papers
First director of Dormitories and Dining Services, with related records, as well as family history in the German town of Lincoln, Iowa. Correspondence, photographs, ephemera.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Milton Monroe Reigelman: Collection on The Midland
Collector and scholar. Chiefly correspondence assembled in preparing his A Study of the Midland Magazine: 1915-1933 (1973) and The Midland: a Venture in Literary Regionalism (1975).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Shirley Rich papers
Casting director who worked for Rodgers and Hammerstein; founded Shirley Rich Casting in 1969.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mae Atkinson Robinson papers
Correspondence and diaries of an Iowa farm woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Robinson-Lacy Family papers
Correspondence diaries, scrapbook, and genealogical information regarding this Dubuque-area family.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

William A. Rohlf Papers
Manuscript of Dr. Rohlf's Good Morning, Doctor!, and related materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Erin Rollenhagen papers
Ames middle-school student who helped organize a protest against sexist Hooters restaurant t-shirts being worn at her school. Her account of the incident and the subsequent public forum on free speech, dress code, and sexism was published in Seventeen magazine.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Earl F. Rose Papers on the Assassination of John F. Kennedy
Medical Examiner of Dallas County at the time of the assassination of President Kennedy, Rose performed the autopsies on Lee Harvey Oswald and Jack Ruby. The reports and projector slides for these autopsies are here, as well as pathology slides for Ruby. Rose also kept clippings files on items related to the assassination, including a series on conspiracy theories. Clippings for other events of the latter half of the twentieth century such as Watergate and the Clinton impeachment are included here as well, as are photocopies of death certificates for some famous and infamous people, such as Nicole Brown Simpson and Bonnie Parker. Correspondence and personal papers form a portion of this collection, as well as a manuscript version of Dallas: My View of History, Rose's memoir of his time in Dallas.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marilyn Preheim Rose papers
Professor of Anthropology and Women's Studies at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosebelle Pierce Luick papers
Corresponence about daily life in the late 19th century from friends and family to Luick, a resident of Belmond, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marie Rumble papers
A homesteader who lived in Wyoming, Colorado and Washington State.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Maria Rundquist papers
Sioux City business owner and political activist who emigrated to the United States from Mexico in 1978.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Henry Clay Russell Civil War Letters
Russell's correspondence to his sister, Mary, of Crawfordsville, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dean Wiley B. Rutledge College of Law Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

S.S. McClure Limited Papers
Letters with Stone and Kimball publishers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

(Katherine) Eleanor Saltzman Papers
Iowa regional writer. This collection consists of manuscripts for Ever Tomorrow and Stuart's Hill, and her unpublished novel, Carpthorne; manuscripts and tear sheets of her short stories and poems; as well as correspondence, notes, and clippings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Otilia Gomez Savala papers
Davenport woman raised in the Cook's Point neighborhood, whose parents emigrated from Mexico in the early twentieth century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Schaefer papers
A Latin teacher who served as friend and mentor to Vietnamese refugees in the Iowa City community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Charles A. Schaeffer Papers
Seventh president of the University of Iowa, 1887-1898.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

George J. Schaller Papers
Banker and businessman. Legal, personal, and business papers, as well as correspondence and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Schapsmeier Collection on Henry A. Wallace
Correspondence with associates and friends of Henry A. Wallace in connection with the writing of a bibliography of Wallace by the Schapsmeiers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ruth Scharnau papers
Teacher and community activist who was a founding member of the Dubuque National Organization for Women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Hazelle Keir Schmuecker papers
Autobiographical essays and family history of six generations by rural schoolteacher, homemaker, and artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Wilda Jean Schobert papers
Percival, Iowa farm woman and club woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joyce Schulte papers
Democratic candidate for Iowa's fifth congressional district in 2004 and 2006.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Betty Rugen Schutter papers
Scrapbook and correspondence to her parents during her student years at the State University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lucille Schwilck papers
1939 graduate from the State University of Iowa College of Law who worked for the U. S. Department of the Interior between 1943 and 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John Hubert Scott Papers
Scott was the head of the Department of English at Coe College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa for seven years beginning in 1908. He joined the faculty of the English department at the University of Iowa in 1915. The collection documents Scott's research theories regarding the connections between speech inflections and literary authorship, as well as his book collecting interests which focused on John Henry Ireland.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Helene Scriabine papers
Author and Professor Emeritus of Russian at the University of Iowa, who emmigrated to the United States after surviving the siege of Leningrad in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shale and Wolf Families letters
Family correspondence recording farm life in northern Iowa and the Dakota territory, primarily from a farm woman's perspective.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shambaugh Family Papers
Benjamin Shambaugh (1871-1940) was a University of Iowa professor of political science and, for many years, superintendent of the State Historical Society of Iowa. He and his wife, Bertha (1870-1953), hosted many scholars' visits to the University.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Elizabeth Shaw papers
Iowa state legislator from 1967 to 1977.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

George Marion Shearer Civil War Diaries
Diaries of a soldier in Company E, 17th Iowa Infantry, who was captured and imprisoned in Sumter Prison, 1864-65.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary McDermott Shideler papers
Theologian, writer and lecturer whose work encompassed religious theology, philosophy and psychology.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Janet Shipton papers
Political activist and Johnson County, Iowa, supervisor who was the daughter of British Prime Minister Clement Attlee.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Vera Shivvers papers
Iowa farm woman who was elected to fill her husband's term in the Iowa Senate following his death in 1962.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Shoots papers
Writer, performer, volunteer, and nurse in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shrauger Family Papers
Correspondence of the children of Harold and Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger of Atlantic, Iowa. Harold Shrauger operated a home and appliance store.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Eleanor Pownall Simmons Manuscripts
Printmaker and artist, Simmons wrote and illustrated a number of books for children.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Virginia Tanner Simonsen papers
Cherokee, Iowa-born woman who enrolled at Iowa State College in home economics and later moved to Quimby, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Augustus Sinning Papers
Physician. Correspondence, clippings, notebooks, and other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Burton Jay Smith and Willametta Turnepseed Papers
Correspondence, chiefly love letters, between amateur printers Smith and Turnepseed, together with a few additional materials, including copies of their co-edited Literary Newsette. Many of Smith's letters document his activities training as a navigator in the United States Army Air Force, 1943-1944.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marcella Henley Smith papers
Memoir, Confetti, of her life in Albia, Iowa, correspondence, and journals of books read since 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Louise Smith papers
First woman to chair the Republican National Committee, serving from 1974 to 1977. Co-founder of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Corwin R. Snow Papers
Iowa Farmer. Mostly diaries describing farm life in Benton Co., Iowa, particularly on Snow's Evergreen Farm near Keystone.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Bernadine Solberg papers
Engineering clerk, weaver, photographer, and traveler from Boone, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Hartzell Spence Papers
Born in Clarion, Iowa, Spence graduated from the University of Iowa in 1930. From 1930 to 1941 he was the United Press bureau manager in Des Moines, and saw service during WW II in the Army Air Forces where he was the founder and first editor of Yank, the Army weekly newspaper. After the war, he worked as a free-lance writer, particularly noted for his reporting on religion. He also published several novels, wrote a comic strip (David Crane) and scripts for the weekly radio program, One Foot in Heaven, broadcast on the ABC network, 1944-1945. This collection consists of drafts for numerous articles and stories, including those for The Story of Religion in America, published in Look, 1957-1960.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

C. Pauline Spencer papers
An outstanding athlete and the first woman to receive an athletic letter at the University of Iowa.She graduated in 1923.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

D.C. Spriestersbach Papers
Faculty, Speech Pathology and Audiology, University of Iowa, 1940. Dean, Graduate College, 1965-1987. Interim University President, 1981-1982. Reports, memoranda, appointment books, scrapbooks, and correspondence, pertaining to a variety of University-related topics, including advancement of research, anti-war protest, and federal funding for public institutions.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

John Springer Printing Ephemera Collection
Advertising agent, printer, and newspaper editor, of Iowa City, Iowa. Correspondence, clippings, printed matter, memorabilia, and other material relating to printing and advertising.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carrie Stanley Papers
University of Iowa professor of English,1920-1954. Correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Vilhjalmur Stefansson Papers
Alumni, University of Iowa, class of 1903. Anthropologist and Arctic explorer. Correspondence, photographs, clippings, articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Wallace Stegner Papers
Award-winning novelist, story writer, essayist, historian, English professor at Stanford, and frontline conservationist. Preliminary drafts and proofs for seven novels.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Del Stelck collection of Guy M. Gillette Papers
Research for a biography that was never published, this collection consists of papers from Gillette as well as Stelck's research materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Stewart Stern Papers
American motion picture and television screenwriter. Primarily material documenting his career, with research notebooks, rough dra s and final versions of many of his screen and teleplays, along with photographs from the productions. Also personal material including correspondence and his education and military records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Loomis Stevens Papers
Lawyer and politician of Boone, Iowa. Correspondence relating primarily to Steven's political activities, particularly in 1912.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Zella White Stewart papers
Allergist who practiced in Iowa City from 1910 to 1938.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sally Stiles papers
Poet and president of the Artists in Action group in Muscatine, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bette Brooks Stone papers
Mapleton, Iowa high school student who sent telegrams for Western Union during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Stong Family papers
Correspondence of Alice Stong details her undergraduate experiences at The University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rose Stoops papers
Teacher, farm woman and nurse who later participated in many community organizations in Grinnell, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

George W. Strong Papers
Correspondence to and from the Second Lieutenant.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Emmanuel Stucki Papers
Minister. Correspondence, sermons, and tax returns.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Judith Sutcliffe papers
Tile artist and printer who formed Greentree Enterprises in Audubon, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alma Erickson Swanson papers
Swedish farm woman whose three children became academics during the 1930s and 1940s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Augusta Gustafson Swanson correspondence
Swedish immigrant who moved to Iowa in 1889. (In Swedish with English translations.)
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elaine Szymoniak papers
Iowa State senator, Des Moines City Council member, and hearing and speech consultant.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Daniel H. Talbot Papers
Attorney and amateur naturalist. Photographs of Labrador and Texas.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carrie V. Talcott papers
Active clubwoman, Methodist, writer and farmer from Fayette County who spent 19 years in a retirement home in Fort Dodge.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth "Bettye" Crawford Tate papers
Owner and operator of the Tate Arms, a boarding house for African American male students at the University of Iowa during the 1940s and 1950s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth Lindsay Tatum papers
Peace activist and Quaker who lived in Southern Rhodesia from 1960 to 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Wilber J. Teeters Papers
Professor and dean of pharmacy. Iowa state toxicologist. Correspondence regarding Mr. Teeters' eightieth birthday.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Clifford Thorne Papers
Attorney, Iowa Railroad Commissioner and candidate for the U.S. Senate. Correspondence, speeches, notes and other material relating primarily to legal disputes involving transportation of agricultural products.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Janis Torrence-Laughlin papers
Muscatine County Supervisor from 1976 to 1982 and Representative in the Iowa Legislature from 1983 to 1985.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Tuesday Nighters (Manchester, Iowa) records
A women's club concerned primarily with philanthropic and social activities.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Magdalena "Helen" Tylee papers
A German war bride who came to Iowa in 1922. During World War II she ran the family farm while her husband was serving in the armed forces.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Myron Underwood Civil War Letters Collection
Letters to his wife telling of his experiences as assistant surgeon of the 12th Iowa infantry regiment.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Clarence Updegraff Labor Arbitration Records
Professional papers and academic records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sister Mary Dominica Urbany papers
Member of the Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration and a missionary to China from 1928 to 1936.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Warren Van Dine Papers
Consists of audio recordings, biographical information, correspondence, and materials relating to Mr. Van Dine's editorial positions with Much Ado and Upward. Also included in this collection are several manuscripts and typescripts of poems, essays, and short stories as well as Mr. Van Dine's memories of his time spent as an undergraduate at the State University of Iowa in the 1920s. Photographs, speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carl Van Vechten Papers
23 photographs of Doris Julian, Stephen Van Ophuigsen, Coleman Dowell, Jose Quintero and others; 16 photograph postcards including Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Toklas; 75 photographs of celebrities (lacking no. 18); several drafts and related correspondence for Gertrude Stein: An Epilogue.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marjorie Vandervelde papers
Photojournalist and writer who lived with Cuna Indians on the San Blas Islands to learn their culture and traditions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Esther Ver Meer papers
Farmwoman and member of the Porkettes, the women's auxiliary of the Iowa Pork Producers Council.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Victor Animatograph Corporation Papers
Alexander Victor, a central figure in the invention and marketing of 16mm film equipment for home and industrial use, formed the Victor Animatograph Company of Davenport, Iowa. Papers include records, correspondence, catalogs and clippings, photographs, negatives and scrapbooks.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Anabeth Koob Voigts papers
Materials relate to the efforts of Voigts to obtain the release of her sister, Kathryn Koob, who was held hostage in Iran between 1979 and 1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John Wagner Letters
Correspondence to his wife from Camp Strong describing his experiences in the Graybeard regiment.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Pamela Walker Manuscripts
Teacher and novelist. Author of Twyla (1973, 1976), a book for young adults. Three drafts, related correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry Wallace Papers
First editor of Wallaces' Farmer. Arranged in broad subject categories and then in chronological order. Available on microfilm for use in repository, for interlibrary loan, and for purchase.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry A. Wallace Papers
Editor of Wallaces' Farmer 1921-1933; Secretary of Agriculture, 1933-1940; Vice-President of the United States, 1941-1945; Secretary of Commerce, 1945-1946. Includes audio visual materials; clippings; an extensive collection of correspondence, including photocopies of the microfilm edition of the originals in the Library of Congress, Manuscript Division; government documents; personal papers; photographs; research materials, with an emphasis on agriculture, particularly corn, but including livestock, weather, strawberries, chickens, and gladioli; writings, and speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Walling Family letters
Oskaloosa family whose daughter Ivyl Walling Welton graduated from Grinnell College and moved to Tulsa, Oklahoma
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Esther J. Walls papers
Mason City, Iowa native and librarian who was the first African-American female student at University of Iowa elected to Phi Beta Kappa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Walsh Construction Company Records
This small collection contains papers of the company started by Patrick T. Walsh. These are mostly photocopies and photostats, and include information on the Walsh Company, correspondence, and materials relating to their bid to build the Panama Canal.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Josiah Proctor Walton Papers
Holograph forms and forms from the Smithsonian Institution and War Department. Also includes United States War Department, Office of the Chief Signal Officer's monthly summaries of voluntary observers' meteorological reports from various locations in Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

War Brides of World War II
1995 honors thesis of University of Iowa undergraduate student, Rachel Casteel.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Myrle Olive Ward papers
Native of Hamburg, Iowa and missionary to the West Indies and the Belgian Congo from 1925 until 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

James Baird Weaver Papers
Populist leader. Weaver's correspondence with his wife; other Weaver family papers. Includes material on Davis Co., Iowa, and experiences in the Civil War.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Helen Lee Hensleigh Wenger papers
University of Iowa graduate and teacher whose papers include correspondence and scrapbook files relating to her work on a variety of social issues including gun control.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marta Werner papers
Native of Mexico who came to Fort Madison, Iowa in 1914. Her community activism centered on the Iowa State Penitentiary in Fort Madison.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lois Wescott papers
Geology graduate of the University of Iowa who traveled to Japan and Venezuela to work for oil companies.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

West Lucas Women's Club (Johnson County, Iowa) records
The club initially met on the second Tuesday of the month for conversation, a program, and refreshments. Later, meetings were held bimonthly and were dedicated to study, roll call, a program, and refreshments.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth Wherry papers
Farm magazine writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lucy Van Voorhis White papers
Schoolteacher and farm wife of Dallas County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Maude Esther White papers
Founder of the Des Moines Tutoring Center, and Iowa's first Affirmative Action administrator from 1973 to 1978.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sarah White papers
Correspondence and circle letters of a northwestern Iowa farmwoman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Floy Eugenia Whitehead papers
Nutrition scholar and chair of the University of Iowa's Home Economics Department for sixteen years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cora Call Whitley papers
Clubwoman and conservationist involved in the Council of National Defense Women's Committee during World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Beulah Wiederrecht papers
Correspondence between Wapello farm woman and two Polish families after World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Verda Williams papers
Communication specialist at Iowa State University who produced the documentary Black Des Moines: Voices Seldom Heard.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Wilson papers
Journalist who worked for the Stars and Stripes in postwar Europe.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy and Warren Wirtz papers
Brother and sister who attended the State University of Iowa and wrote letters to their parents in Keokuk.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Christie York papers
University of Iowa graduate and laboratory assistant who was active in student government and served as a steward in AFSCME Local 12.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

W.J. Young & Co. Records
Correspondence, letter books, estimates, order books, sales records, cashbooks, ledgers, daybooks, journals, payroll books, account books, invoices, freight bills, loading slips, time tickets, canceled checks, trial balances, balance sheets, statistics on purchases and output, contracts, towboat logs, a pine land register, a manifest, and other records of the home office in Clinton and select branch offices.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Katherine Mull Falvey Zastrow papers
State representative from 1958 to 1964 and the first woman elected to Charles City Council, 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mildred "Micki" Zeller papers
Costume designer and avid traveler whose papers include an extensive collection of slides, related travel diaries, and materials pertaining to the Iran Hostage Crisis.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lola Moeller Zook papers
Newspaper editor whose papers relate to her career as a journalist and the years she spent in occupied Japan following World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth Clarkson Zwart Papers
Columnist for the Des Moines Tribune, the Des Moines Register, and Better Homes and Gardens.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives