Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Sources - 136 hits

Allen Motor Company Records
Records of the oldest auto dealership in Iowa, including financial records, newsletters, and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

ATCA Artists' Works and Correspondence Files Collection
This ATCA collection brings together mail art, correspondence, photographs, slides, compact discs, show announcements/posters, writings, and other ephemera related to or by various artists.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carl Backman Chautauqua Collection
Photographs, brochures, correspondence, financial papers, and brochures from several chautauquas.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry B. Bailey Papers
Papers relating to the organization of the Young Republican League of Iowa in the First Congressional District, 1932-1935; records of Bailey's campaign for the office of Washington County attorney in 1932 and 1934; folder of letters dated 1945-1946 from Alfred E. Baldrige, Bailey's law partner, and his wife, Charlotte, during Baldrige's military service during World War II in Germany.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Rita Benton Papers
Professor of music. Head of music library named for her in 1980. Reviews, offprints, articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Tom and Ruth Blanchard Chautauqua Collection
Chautauqua and radio performers. Correspondence, clippings, photographs, and ephemera.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Elmer Bockes Diaries
Farmer. Diaries describing farm life near Conrad, in Grundy Co.,Iowa .
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James Wills Bollinger Papers
Lawyer and judge. Mostly concerns Bollinger's studies of Abraham Lincoln and as a collector of Lincolniana.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dan E. Branson Papers
University of Iowa professor of civil engineering, 1963-1993.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

George W. Brown Papers
Member of faculty, University of Iowa colleges of law and engineering. Transportation safety consultant.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Hazel E. Brown Papers
Writer and friend of both Grant Wood and Marvin Cone. The collection contains research notes and manuscripts for the book, as well as clippings about Brown herself. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Luis Buñuel Film Scripts
Scripts for films directed by the father of Surreal cinema. One transcription of a narration from Bunuel from 1932.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

California Civil War Diary
Diary of an unknown soldier in Company C, 4th Infantry C.V., who was assigned to a detail guarding a wagon train carrying specie to the East.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Samuel Calvin Papers
University of Iowa professor of geology, and first head of that department. Instructor in paleontology, zoology, botany. Geologist for state of Iowa. Photographer of the Iowa City area.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Carr and Carr Records
Complete records of a pioneer law firm and several of its predecessors, including correspondence, account books, ledgers, cases, journals, and receipts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cedar Rapids Chamber of Commerce
Budgets, correspondence, clippings, photographs, and other material.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cedar Rapids Symphony Orchestra Papers
Correspondence, account books, reports, lists, attendance registers, minutes, rosters of officers, publicity material, programs, and financial records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Centro de Arte y Communicacion (CAYC) (Center for Art and Communication) Buenos Aires
Committed to the production and dissemination of systems art, CAYC was established as a multidisciplinary workshop in August of 1968. A collection of large scale works (each about 22 x 34 inches) was assembled in 1972 by Jorge Glusberg, CAYC Director, as an edition of 10 that circulated as traveling exhibitions. Apparently including about 72 works in 1972, the collection grew over time and the Iowa collection now consists of 143 diazo prints and appears to be the only extant copy. The collection includes a linear foot of catalogues, documentation, books and pamphlets, dating from 1970 to1980 and a complete set of black and white photographs from which online images were derived.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Chicago & Northwestern Railway Ticket Agent Papers
Records of the Cedar Rapids ticket agent for the railway, this collection consists of record books, correspondence with headquarters in Chicago , and correspondence dealing with problems of passenger transportation. Bulk dates are 1896-1899.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Childs Family Letters
Letters of the Childsfamily in Philadelphia , Pennsylvania and members of the family in Clinton County , Iowa , including the towns of Low Moor, Lyons, and Camanche. Though the correspondence is carried on during the Civil War, the letters have mostly to do with domestic affairs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Philip Greeley Clapp Papers
Professor of music, University of Iowa, from 1919 until his death in 1953. Composer and symphony conductor. Compositions, correspondence, and scrapbooks containing newspaper articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Clark and Haddock Papers
Correspondence, account books, and docket books of the law firm of Clark & Haddock.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ezekial Clark Account Book
Record of Clark's accounts with the Iowa State Sanitary Commission.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Kenneth J. Cmiel Papers
University of Iowa professor of history and director of the UI Center for Human Rights.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Mary Sue Coleman Papers
Eighteenth president of the University of Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Confederate States of America Documents
A collection of bills, acts, reports and other documents printed by the Confederate States of America government.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul Conlon United Nations Sanctions Papers
Documents supporting Dr. Conlon's United Nations Sanctions Management: A Case Study of the Iraq Sanctions Committee 1990-1994 (Ardsley, NY: Transnational Publishers, Inc., 2001; ISBN 1-57105-059-0). Most relate to UN sanctions against Iraqfrom 1990 through the spring of 1995 with extensive materials dealing with UN sanctions against Yugoslaviain the same period plus items dealing with UN sanctions against Angola, Haitiand South Africa and relating to certain peacekeeping activities of the time.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cook Family Papers
Diaries of Edward E. Cook, journals and ledgers of the law firm of Cook & Dodge of Davenport, Iowa, and other business and legal papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Thomas E. Corkhill Papers
Methodist minister and moving force behind the organization of schools at Eldora and Mitchellville. Included are certificates of Corkhill's appointment of trustee of Iowa Reform School and an account book relating to his expenses as trustee as well as a holograph commonplace book containing the text of a diary of his experience in the Civil War, commissioned by Governor Samuel Kirkwood. This diary also contains poems and clippings. Also included is a CD of a transcription of the diary, plus a commentary on the text of over 150 pages, including background information and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Bartholow Crawford Papers
Professor in English Department 1921-1956. Taught American literature and American drama courses.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Denton Chester Crowl Papers
Lecturer-portrayalist, salesman and editorial writer for the Toledo Blade, Denton Crowl performed on the Chautauqua circuits and in other venues. This collection includes correspondence, appointment diaries, photographs, and manuscripts, mostly relating to his lecture and political activities.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Amos Noyes Currier Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Curtis Companies Inc. Records
Founded in 1866 and dissolved in 1938, the Curtis Companies were a conglomerate of associated sash, door, and millwork companies that eventually consolidated into a single corporation. Includes correspondence, ledgers, journals, cashbooks, stockbooks, and minute books, with correspondence of U.S. Representative George M. Curtis.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles D. Cuttler Papers
Professor of art and art history. Consultant to National Endowment for the Humanities. Correspondence, administrative records.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Jay N. Darling Papers
Correspondence, speeches, articles, leaflets, clippings, scrapbooks and a sketchbook, mostly dealing with politics, conservation, or family affairs, assembled by newspaper cartoonist Ding Darling of The Des Moines Register. There are also some 6,000 original pen-and-ink cartoons drawn by Darling.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Davenport Besler Corportation Papers
Business records of a liquidated Davenport, Iowa, locomotive manufacturing company.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Samuel O. Dunn Papers
Editor and writer on railroads. Speeches and articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Clark M. Eichelberger Papers
Articles, clippings, correspondence, lectures, photographs, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edward C. Eicher Papers
Lawyer, Government official, and U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, and speeches, including material on Iowa politics and government.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Owen and Leone Elliott Papers
Cedar Rapids business people and collectors who donated their silver collection to the University of Iowa Museum of Art. This collection is made up of a series of correspondence and inventories of the Elliotts' library.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul Engle Papers
Poet (numerous books from Worn Earth, 1932), editor of the O. Henry Prize Stories, 1954-1959, director of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, 1941-1967, and co-founder and director of the International Writers' Program, 1967-1976 at the University of Iowa. Literary manuscripts, correspondence, subject files, and student works documenting his career as a writer and teacher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dina Rees Evans Papers
High school educator in dramatic arts. Awarded first Ph.D. in dramatic arts from an American university, received from the University of Iowa in 1932.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Gawsworth (Armstrong)/Shiel/Redonda Papers
Papers and manuscripts of the lyrical poet and second King of Redonda; some papers for M.P. Shiel, fantasy writer and first King of Redonda; some papers on the Kingdom of Redonda. Letters from Gawsworth's days as editor; many of his poems written in his hand, most of them unpublished. 21 notebooks and several photographs. These notebooks are mostly from the World War II era and document his experiences in the RAF in North Africa and Italy, as well as his literary musings and studies, including a list of authors in North Africa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

June Helm Papers
University of Iowa professor in Sociology and Anthropology, 1960-1999. Correspondence, speeches, manuscript, awards.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Charles F. Horner Papers
Correspondence, book manuscript, clippings, incomplete brochures, talent prices having to do with traveling Chautauquas.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Institute of Public Affairs Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Iowa Author's Manuscripts Collection
Includes manuscripts, galley proofs, page proofs, dust jackets, and other miscellany associated with publications of many Iowa Authors.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iowa Cavalry 1st Regiment Records
These records consist of copies of orders and invoices reflecting military issues such as posting guards, court marshals, and patrolling guerrillas. Most of the orders were issued from Headquarters of the District of Central Missouri.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iowa Society of the Sons of the American Revolution Papers
Records of the Sons of the American Revolution, Iowa Society, 1937-1956. 12 items. Secretary's notebook, a history of the organization in Iowa, printed pamphlets, and one copy of the society's publication, The Old Continental.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frederick W. Kent Photograph Collection
The collection relates to most areas of the University of Iowa, including individuals, departments, and buildings.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Pedro Lastra Collection of Letters from South American Writers
Chilean essayist and poet. This collection contains over 900 letters to Lastra written by renowned South American writers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Donald P. Lay Papers
Speeches, articles, and correspondence of a judge of the Eight Circuit Court of Appeals.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

League of Iowa Municipalities Papers
Annual convention proceedings, 1946-1961.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George E. MacLean Papers
George Edwin MacLean served as the eighth president of the University of Iowa, from 1899 to 1911.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

John MacVicar Papers
Record of expenditures for a farm located on Muscatine Island.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Maecenas Press Records
Publisher at Lake MacBride, Solon, Iowa. Correspondence, drafts, proofs of books.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Malcolm Letters
Letters to Malcolm's wife, describing experiences in Georgia and elsewhere with the 7th Regiment of Iowa infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Byron McClain Letters
Letters to McClain's family in Wilton Junction, Iowa, telling of experiences in Tennessee with the 2nd Regiment of Iowa Cavalry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dean D.O. McGovney College of Law Papers
Dudley Odell McGovney served as dean of the College of Law at Iowa, 1916-1921.  Correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

McKenzie Railroadiana Collection
Timetables and track charts for the Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe, CSX Transportation, Conrail; Soo Line; Burlington Northern Santa Fe; and Wisconsin Central, Ltd. railroads.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marshall McKusick Papers
Professor, University of Iowa Department of Sociology and Anthropology, from 1960 until 1996. State Archeologist from 1960 until 1975. Researched prehistoric Native American Indian cultures. Publications.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

John V. McMillin II Papers
Project engineer and engineering manager, University of Iowa Measurement Research Center. Product development at the MRC, including standardized test sheet scoring, electronic ballots, and other applications of scanning technologies. Reports, patent applications, press releases, newspaper clippings, photographs, extensive annotations in finding aid by donor.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Marion Meade Woody Allen Research Files
Research material for The Unruly Life of Woody Allen. Comprised of interviews by letter and on tape, journal articles, research files, notes, films, photographs, manuscript copies, and copies of the completed book in various editions.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Norman C. Meier Papers
Professor of psychology, University of Iowa, from 1923 until 1964. Designed tests to measure artistic aptitude, and audience response. Correspondence, photographs, lectures.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Martin Mericle Letters
Personal letters describing Martin Mericle's Civil War experiences while serving with the 114th Ohio Infantry Regiment. Also includes and account book, 1863-1875.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Robert Metzler "Colombo" Diaries
Writer and producer Robert Metzler was hired in March 1975 to work on the NBC television series Colombo starring Peter Falk. He continued on the show into 1977, making near daily diary entries that record behind-the-scenes activity in great detail.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nicholas Meyer Papers
Screenwriter and director. Typescripts, screenplays, correspondence, clippings, proofs, photographs, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Estera Milman Contemporary Art Collection
Primarily ATCA administrative files containing a vast amount of information on the sources of the ATCA collections and detailed records regarding grants won by and exhibitiions curated by ATCA staff prior to 2000.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Morrell Meat Packing Company Collection Papers
Business and personal correspondence, account books, statements, and other records, relating to the meat packing company particularly in Liverpool, England, and Ottumwa, Iowa; and papers, including some of Thomas Dove Foster.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mt. Pleasant Chamber of Commerce Papers
Reports of meetings and financial accounts reflect activities of the organization.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

National Citizens Committee for Broadcasting Records
Subject files, correspondence, photographs, clippings and other records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nature Conservancy Iowa Chapter Records
Records of the Iowa chapter of the Nature Conservancy.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Louis Nemec Papers
Engineer. Correspondence, postcards, and photographs relating to the building of the Panama Canal.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles C. Nutting Papers
Professor of zoology and curator of the Museum of Natural History. Correspondence, journal, reprints, speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Oakville Iowa Sentinel Records
Ledgers with subscription lists, printing orders, and cash books.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Richard G. Oram Chautauqua Collection
Member of a the Hanscom Players a well-known Chautauqua troupe that toured throughout the U.S.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ottumwa Railway & Light Company Records
Street railroad, electric light and steam power business in Ottumwa, Iowa. Maps, legal documents, correspondence, and subject files.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Palmer/Calkins/Corbin Papers
Letters, diaries, genealogies, papers, and videocassette dealing with the Civil War, the Mormon move west, and World War II.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Pediatrics Department Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Robert Pepper Iowa City Broadband Telecommunications Papers
Iowa City Broadband Telecommunications Papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ben C. Phillips Papers
Records of income and expenses kept by a dentist in Maquoketa, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Josiah L. Pickard Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Anne E. Pierce Papers
Professor of music. Head of music at S.U.I. Experimental Schools. Performance programs and correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Dante Pierce Papers
Farm editor. Correspondence with State and National Political figures including Smith Brookhart, Calvin Coolidge, Robert LaFolette, Henry Wallace, and George Wilson.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edwards Pierrepont Papers
Letters to Edwards from American statesmen.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edwin Ford Piper Collection
Piper's notes on Western ballads, with music for some; other folk materials including rimes, riddles, games, folk sayings, quadrille calls, slang, superstitions, and folk remedies.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Progressive Party Records
Correspondence, speeches, reports, business records, articles, campaign materials, fact sheets, form letters, directives, telegrams, pamphlets, press releases, clippings, and other related material concerning the party and the national election of 1948.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Redpath Chautauqua Bureau Records
Commercial lecture bureau and booking agency for Chautauqua and lyceums throughout the United States and parts of Canada. Office files of the Redpath-Vawter Bureau of Cedar Rapids, IA, the Redpath-Chicago Bureau run by Harry P. Harrison and Charles Horner's Redpath Chautauquas. Included are: talent files consisting of correspondence, contracts, publicity brochures, and advertising flyers; business files including employee records; geographical location files with materials about cities and towns that sponsored Chautauquas and lyceums; periodicals; daybooks, cashbooks; and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Milton Monroe Reigelman: Collection on The Midland
Collector and scholar. Chiefly correspondence assembled in preparing his A Study of the Midland Magazine: 1915-1933 (1973) and The Midland: a Venture in Literary Regionalism (1975).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Richard D. Remington Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Roach and Musser Company Papers and Records
Correspondence, financial records, employee insurance reports, and stock proxies for the sale of Roach and Musser.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Earl F. Rose Papers on the Assassination of John F. Kennedy
Medical Examiner of Dallas County at the time of the assassination of President Kennedy, Rose performed the autopsies on Lee Harvey Oswald and Jack Ruby. The reports and projector slides for these autopsies are here, as well as pathology slides for Ruby. Rose also kept clippings files on items related to the assassination, including a series on conspiracy theories. Clippings for other events of the latter half of the twentieth century such as Watergate and the Clinton impeachment are included here as well, as are photocopies of death certificates for some famous and infamous people, such as Nicole Brown Simpson and Bonnie Parker. Correspondence and personal papers form a portion of this collection, as well as a manuscript version of Dallas: My View of History, Rose's memoir of his time in Dallas.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry Clay Russell Civil War Letters
Russell's correspondence to his sister, Mary, of Crawfordsville, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

S.S. McClure Limited Papers
Letters with Stone and Kimball publishers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sanford and Son Account Books
Accounts of feed store and livery stable.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William R. Savage Papers
Professor of physics and astronomy. Researched musical acoustics and solid state physics. Offprints and Iowa Acoustics Colloquium conferences.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

George J. Schaller Papers
Banker and businessman. Legal, personal, and business papers, as well as correspondence and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Schapsmeier Collection on Henry A. Wallace
Correspondence with associates and friends of Henry A. Wallace in connection with the writing of a bibliography of Wallace by the Schapsmeiers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Script Ephemera Collection
The core of this collection is made up of scripts submitted for consideration for Best Screenplay in 2000. Other scripts have been added, and will continue to be added as they are received. Other materials, such as publicity kits and "the making of books" are also included here.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Shambaugh Family Papers
Benjamin Shambaugh (1871-1940) was a University of Iowa professor of political science and, for many years, superintendent of the State Historical Society of Iowa. He and his wife, Bertha (1870-1953), hosted many scholars' visits to the University.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Shenandoah Evening Sentinel Records
Journals and ledgers, cash books, subscription lists and inventories.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nelson Sizer Papers
Statements of phrenological character of Sarah Gillespie Huftalen. With two related letters and three printed items.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Burton Jay Smith and Willametta Turnepseed Papers
Correspondence, chiefly love letters, between amateur printers Smith and Turnepseed, together with a few additional materials, including copies of their co-edited Literary Newsette. Many of Smith's letters document his activities training as a navigator in the United States Army Air Force, 1943-1944.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ralph Smith Grange Materials
Includes minute books, correspondence, and other records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Snow and Huber Records
Journals, ledgers, and a little advertising material of a firm of grain and implement dealers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Corwin R. Snow Papers
Iowa Farmer. Mostly diaries describing farm life in Benton Co., Iowa, particularly on Snow's Evergreen Farm near Keystone.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William Leigh Sowers Papers
Professor, University of Iowa Department of English, 1923-1958. Theatre and drama professor. Unpublished manuscript.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Speidel Newspapers Inc. Records
Weekly reports from the central office to the publisher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur W. Spivey Papers
Audio tape memoirs of Chautauqua and a manuscript relating to the work week of a Chautauqua crewman and crew chief.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

D.C. Spriestersbach Papers
Faculty, Speech Pathology and Audiology, University of Iowa, 1940. Dean, Graduate College, 1965-1987. Interim University President, 1981-1982. Reports, memoranda, appointment books, scrapbooks, and correspondence, pertaining to a variety of University-related topics, including advancement of research, anti-war protest, and federal funding for public institutions.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

John Springer Printing Ephemera Collection
Advertising agent, printer, and newspaper editor, of Iowa City, Iowa. Correspondence, clippings, printed matter, memorabilia, and other material relating to printing and advertising.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carrie Stanley Papers
University of Iowa professor of English,1920-1954. Correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Vilhjalmur Stefansson Papers
Alumni, University of Iowa, class of 1903. Anthropologist and Arctic explorer. Correspondence, photographs, clippings, articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Del Stelck collection of Guy M. Gillette Papers
Research for a biography that was never published, this collection consists of papers from Gillette as well as Stelck's research materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Everett E. Sterner Papers
University of Iowa student, 1934-1940. Sterner documented UI cooperative dorms of this period. Photographs and notes.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

John Loomis Stevens Papers
Lawyer and politician of Boone, Iowa. Correspondence relating primarily to Steven's political activities, particularly in 1912.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George W. Strong Papers
Correspondence to and from the Second Lieutenant.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frank Emmanuel Stucki Papers
Minister. Correspondence, sermons, and tax returns.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Daniel H. Talbot Papers
Attorney and amateur naturalist. Photographs of Labrador and Texas.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Thoreau Indian Notebooks Collection
Photocopies of Thoreau notebooks held by the Pierpont Morgan Library; transcripts of the notebooks made in the 1930s. The collection was assembled by Robert F. Sayre in writing his book Thoreau and the American Indians (1977).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Clifford Thorne Papers
Attorney, Iowa Railroad Commissioner and candidate for the U.S. Senate. Correspondence, speeches, notes and other material relating primarily to legal disputes involving transportation of agricultural products.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Toothpaste/Coffee House Press Records
Private press founded and operated by Allan and Cinda Kornblum in Iowa City in 1970. Comprised of subject files, correspondence, financial records, etc. relating to the daily operations and literary output of the private press.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Torch Press Book Shop Records
The Torch Press Bookshop was started by Luther Brewer in 1909, and sold books at a storefront in Cedar Rapids as well as to mail-order patrons until 1917.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Myron Underwood Civil War Letters Collection
Letters to his wife telling of his experiences as assistant surgeon of the 12th Iowa infantry regiment.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

United Nations Association of the U.S., Iowa Chapter Records
Correspondence, minutes of board meetings, annual assembly programs, newsletters, financial records, environmental and model United Nations materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James A. Van Allen Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Carl Van Vechten Papers
23 photographs of Doris Julian, Stephen Van Ophuigsen, Coleman Dowell, Jose Quintero and others; 16 photograph postcards including Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Toklas; 75 photographs of celebrities (lacking no. 18); several drafts and related correspondence for Gertrude Stein: An Epilogue.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry A. Wallace Papers
Editor of Wallaces' Farmer 1921-1933; Secretary of Agriculture, 1933-1940; Vice-President of the United States, 1941-1945; Secretary of Commerce, 1945-1946. Includes audio visual materials; clippings; an extensive collection of correspondence, including photocopies of the microfilm edition of the originals in the Library of Congress, Manuscript Division; government documents; personal papers; photographs; research materials, with an emphasis on agriculture, particularly corn, but including livestock, weather, strawberries, chickens, and gladioli; writings, and speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James B. Wallace Papers
Notebooks of a collector of children's books, artwork, and other items by children's author Marguerite de Angeli.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Walsh Construction Company Records
This small collection contains papers of the company started by Patrick T. Walsh. These are mostly photocopies and photostats, and include information on the Walsh Company, correspondence, and materials relating to their bid to build the Panama Canal.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

R. Weston Diaries
Railroad mechanic. Two diaries containing details about his daily work in the shops of the C.B.&Q. and C.D.&M. railroads, community news and gossip in Dubuque, Iowa, and personal matters.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Barbara S. Yambura Papers
Drafts of A Change and a Parting, a memoir of growing up in Amana in the 1930s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Yellow Springs Collegiate Institute Papers
Typewritten documents relating to the formation and operation of the Yellow Spring Collegiate Institute and its successor, the Kossuth Academy.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Thomas Yoseloff Papers
Journalist and publisher. Managing editor of The Daily Iowan as a student, later wrote for newspapers including the New York Times and the Omaha World Herald. Collection consists of drafts for A Fellow of Infinite Jest (1946), a biography of Laurence Sterne, and his own autobiography, The Time of My Life.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

W.J. Young & Co. Records
Correspondence, letter books, estimates, order books, sales records, cashbooks, ledgers, daybooks, journals, payroll books, account books, invoices, freight bills, loading slips, time tickets, canceled checks, trial balances, balance sheets, statistics on purchases and output, contracts, towboat logs, a pine land register, a manifest, and other records of the home office in Clinton and select branch offices.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Zimmerman Steel Company Records
Records of a steel company that began in Lone Tree, Iowa, expanding to Bettendorf. H. M. Zimmerman, the son of the founder, W.C. Zimmerman, was hired to build a steel mill in Siberia, and records, photos, and blueprints from this expedition are also included.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections