Harrison Allspaugh Diaries Collection
Diaries of the Civil War experiences of a member of the 31st Regiment of Ohio Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Miles Beaty Letters
Letters written to Beaty's father, John Beaty, telling of experiences in the 149th Regiment of Pennsylvania Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
California Civil War diary
Diary of an unknown soldier in Company C, 4th Infantry C.V., who was assigned to a detail guarding a wagon train carrying specie to the East.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Andrew F. Davis Papers
Civil War soldier. Correspondence from Davis (an officer in Co.I, 15th Regiment, Indiana Volunteers) to his wife and daughters. Letters include information on troop morale, slavery, camp life, battles, Copperheads, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Giauque Family Papers
Primarily the correspondence of James Giauque, a Civil War soldier who served in the 30th Iowa Infantry. Letters to his brother relate to army life, the siege of Vicksburg, and Copperheads. Also includes letters from his cousin Florian Giauque who served with the 102nd Ohio Volunteers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
William F. Goodue Diary
Civil War soldier. Goodhue was a member of the 3rd Wisconsin Infantry Regiment. He wrote of camp life, food, and military duties. He also describes the country through which he traveled.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
George F. Hall Papers
Civil War soldier from Iowa. Primarily letters written by Lt. George F. Hall of Co. C, 2nd Iowa Infantry Regiment, to his father during the Civil War. They discuss the food and weather, clothing, Copperheads, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Mann Family Papers
Civil War letters and military records of Asahel Mann, Jr., John Mann, and William Mann, all of whom were members of Co. A, 4th regiment, Iowa Cavalry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections