Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Manuscripts (Document genre) - 34 hits

Batchelder Family Papers
Papers of Reverend Joseph Mayo Batchelder and his wife. Included are about 50 letters, written in the 1840s and 1850s mostly from Peoria, Illinois and Owego, New York; an account book dated from 1848-1884; and a diary dated from 1847-1848. Manuscript sermons, and other items.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edmund Blunden Papers
Correspondence and manuscripts of the British scholar and poet.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Thomas Eyre Booth Papers
Editor and publisher of the Anamosa Eureka in Anamosa , Iowa . Correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, a scrapbook, and other related papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Vance Bourjaily Papers
Novelist and Writers' Workshop instructor. Typescript with notes and revisions of his novel, A Game Men Play (Dial Press, 1980). Iowa Authors Ms.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Duane Bradley Papers
Manuscripts and related materials for several of Mrs. Bradley's titles, including Electing a President (1963) and Sew It and Wear It (1966).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary Huiskamp Calhoun
Well-known children's author. This collection consists of several versions of her manuscript for Magic in the Alley. Iowa Author Ms.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Janine Canan Papers
Poet and editor. Books, manuscripts,clippings, correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Childs Family Letters
Letters of the Childsfamily in Philadelphia , Pennsylvania and members of the family in Clinton County , Iowa , including the towns of Low Moor, Lyons, and Camanche. Though the correspondence is carried on during the Civil War, the letters have mostly to do with domestic affairs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Manuscripts of Chinese Writers
A number of literary manuscripts composed by Chinese writers were acquired for the East Asian collections over a long period of time. In 1991, a program was established to encourage further and continued growth in this area.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Philip Greeley Clapp Papers
Professor of music, University of Iowa, from 1919 until his death in 1953. Composer and symphony conductor. Compositions, correspondence, and scrapbooks containing newspaper articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Charles D. Cuttler Papers
Professor of art and art history. Consultant to National Endowment for the Humanities. Correspondence, administrative records.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Paul Engle Papers
Poet (numerous books from Worn Earth, 1932), editor of the O. Henry Prize Stories, 1954-1959, director of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, 1941-1967, and co-founder and director of the International Writers' Program, 1967-1976 at the University of Iowa. Literary manuscripts, correspondence, subject files, and student works documenting his career as a writer and teacher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Alice French Papers
One of the most successful women writers of the later 19th century, Octave Thanet's stories and novels celebrated the status quo; she lived much of her life in Davenport, Iowa. Our holdings consist of a holograph draft of her story, The Governor's Prerogative, photographs, photocopies of other stories, and a microfilm of Voice of Nature.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

June Helm Papers
University of Iowa professor in Sociology and Anthropology, 1960-1999. Correspondence, speeches, manuscript, awards.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Iowa Author's Manuscripts Collection
Includes manuscripts, galley proofs, page proofs, dust jackets, and other miscellany associated with publications of many Iowa Authors.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iowa Cavalry 1st Regiment Records
These records consist of copies of orders and invoices reflecting military issues such as posting guards, court marshals, and patrolling guerrillas. Most of the orders were issued from Headquarters of the District of Central Missouri.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Rose Mary Lawrence Papers
The manuscript of this national prize-winning short story by a twenty-two year old Davenport native.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Robert Bernard Martin Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Emlin McClain Papers
Lawyer, judge, and professor. Personal and business correspondence, diaries, and speeches on painting. Most of the material dates before 1880, while McClain was a law student at the University of Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cornelia Meigs Papers
Children's author and Iowa's first Newbery Award winner. This collection consists of a manuscript and various clippings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Earl F. Rose Papers on the Assassination of John F. Kennedy
Medical Examiner of Dallas County at the time of the assassination of President Kennedy, Rose performed the autopsies on Lee Harvey Oswald and Jack Ruby. The reports and projector slides for these autopsies are here, as well as pathology slides for Ruby. Rose also kept clippings files on items related to the assassination, including a series on conspiracy theories. Clippings for other events of the latter half of the twentieth century such as Watergate and the Clinton impeachment are included here as well, as are photocopies of death certificates for some famous and infamous people, such as Nicole Brown Simpson and Bonnie Parker. Correspondence and personal papers form a portion of this collection, as well as a manuscript version of Dallas: My View of History, Rose's memoir of his time in Dallas.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry Clay Russell Civil War Letters
Russell's correspondence to his sister, Mary, of Crawfordsville, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

(Katherine) Eleanor Saltzman Papers
Iowa regional writer. This collection consists of manuscripts for Ever Tomorrow and Stuart's Hill, and her unpublished novel, Carpthorne; manuscripts and tear sheets of her short stories and poems; as well as correspondence, notes, and clippings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Hubert Scott Papers
Scott was the head of the Department of English at Coe College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa for seven years beginning in 1908. He joined the faculty of the English department at the University of Iowa in 1915. The collection documents Scott's research theories regarding the connections between speech inflections and literary authorship, as well as his book collecting interests which focused on John Henry Ireland.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Shambaugh Family Papers
Benjamin Shambaugh (1871-1940) was a University of Iowa professor of political science and, for many years, superintendent of the State Historical Society of Iowa. He and his wife, Bertha (1870-1953), hosted many scholars' visits to the University.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Charlotte M. Smith Papers, Including the Records of the Tamazunchale Press
Publisher of miniature books in Newton, Iowa, founded by Charlotte and Thomas Smith. Correspondence, typescripts, proofs, advertising, contracts, etc., have been combined with Charlotte M. Smith's personal papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William Leigh Sowers Papers
Professor, University of Iowa Department of English, 1923-1958. Theatre and drama professor. Unpublished manuscript.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Hartzell Spence Papers
Born in Clarion, Iowa, Spence graduated from the University of Iowa in 1930. From 1930 to 1941 he was the United Press bureau manager in Des Moines, and saw service during WW II in the Army Air Forces where he was the founder and first editor of Yank, the Army weekly newspaper. After the war, he worked as a free-lance writer, particularly noted for his reporting on religion. He also published several novels, wrote a comic strip (David Crane) and scripts for the weekly radio program, One Foot in Heaven, broadcast on the ABC network, 1944-1945. This collection consists of drafts for numerous articles and stories, including those for The Story of Religion in America, published in Look, 1957-1960.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George Stimpson Papers
Journalist, writer, and President of the National Press Club. Manuscripts for four of his informational books. Iowa Author
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James C. Taylor papers
Manuscript for Ottumwa: One Hundred Years a City. Iowa Author manuscript.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Clifford Thorne Papers
Attorney, Iowa Railroad Commissioner and candidate for the U.S. Senate. Correspondence, speeches, notes and other material relating primarily to legal disputes involving transportation of agricultural products.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Silas Totten Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Elton Trueblood papers
Author and Quaker religious philosopher. This collection contains manuscripts for two of his books, The Common Venture of Life and Declaration of Freedom.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Warren Van Dine Papers
Consists of audio recordings, biographical information, correspondence, and materials relating to Mr. Van Dine's editorial positions with Much Ado and Upward. Also included in this collection are several manuscripts and typescripts of poems, essays, and short stories as well as Mr. Van Dine's memories of his time spent as an undergraduate at the State University of Iowa in the 1920s. Photographs, speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections