Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for United States -- Iowa -- Cedar Rapids - 37 hits

Edith Reed Atkinson papers
Singer and radio-script editor from Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Atkinson performed in a song-and-dance act with her brothers Wallace and Cecil Reed from 1935 to 1944.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lenora Backes diaries
Diaries of an Iowa farm woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carrie Kelly Beatty papers
Young woman who came to Hancock County, Iowa in 1868; her experiences were recorded in the book, A Prairie Rose, by Bertha E. Bush.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nellie Bishop oral history
Buchanan County, Iowa, native who farmed with her husband.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marion Carson papers
Graduate of Ministry at the University of Dubuque Theological Seminary, where she was the first Unitarian Universalist student.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cedar Rapids Chamber of Commerce
Budgets, correspondence, clippings, photographs, and other material.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cedar Rapids Symphony Orchestra Papers
Correspondence, account books, reports, lists, attendance registers, minutes, rosters of officers, publicity material, programs, and financial records.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Kathleen Halloran Chapman papers
Attorney and Democrat who served in the Iowa House of Representatives from 1983 to 1992 and again in 1996.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Chicago & Northwestern Railway Ticket Agent papers
Records of the Cedar Rapids ticket agent for the railway, this collection consists of record books, correspondence with headquarters in Chicago , and correspondence dealing with problems of passenger transportation. Bulk dates are 1896-1899.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dick Clark papers
U.S. Senator from Iowa , and educator. Arranged in 9 series, the papers consist of subject files, casework files, issue statements, clippings, audio, visual, film and photographs during his term in office. Subjects of special concern to Clark range from Africa and international relations to agriculture and conservation, Democratic Party politics to the aged, and education to transportation.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Louise Crawford papers
Composer and professor of Music Theory at Coe College.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Laura F. Hutchison Davis papers
Social worker in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, from the 1930s though the 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dieman-Bennett Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) records
Cedar Rapids dance studio founded in 1951 by Edna Dieman and Julia Bennett.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

David Elderkin Papers
Lawyer. Photocopies of correspondence, editorials, photographs, and speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Georgana Falb Foster papers
A participant in the Camp Fire Girls between 1940 and 1954; materials include correspondence, scrapbooks and a memoir.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Greene Family Papers
Pioneer family from Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Typed transcriptions of diaries, letters, and cards describing life in early Johnson, Jones, and Linn counties in Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dora Jane Hamblin papers
Iowa native who wrote for the Cedar Rapids Gazette, LIFE magazine, and other periodicals.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lileah Harris papers
Professional volunteer active in several arts, civic, educational, and religious organizations in Cedar Rapids.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frances Hawthorne papers
Des Moines educator whose materials include You Can't Go Back to Buxton and African Americans in Iowa: a Chronicle of Contributions, 1830-1992.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sister Gwen Hennessey papers
Franciscan nun sentanced to six months in federal prison for trespassing at Fort Benning, Georgia.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Phylliss Henry papers
First woman assigned to patrol duty on the Des Moines police force, serving from 1972 to 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edna Herbst papers
Videotaped interview with Herbst about the history of television broadcasting in Iowa, 1998.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Harold E. Hughes Gubernatiorial Papers
Governor and U.S. Senator from Iowa. Gubernatorial and senatorial office files relating to his political career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William H. Ingham Papers
Pioneer in Iowa and early settler in Kossuth County. Letters written to his brother Erastus about Iowa in the 1850s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Vivian W. Johnson Papers
Banker of Cedar Falls, Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, and subject files regarding his banking career. Subject files include materials relating such topics as the American Bankers Association.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Eliza Hickok Kesler papers
Cedar Rapids native who worked on the radio show 'The Quiz Kids.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Josephine M. Kuba papers
Volunteer whose work centered on her involvement in the Woman's Relief Corps.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

League of Women Voters of Cedar Rapids-Marion records
The Cedar Rapids-Marion League of Women Voters (LWV) played an active part in the civic life of the greater Cedar Rapids area.   During the period covered by this collection, the Cedar Rapids-Marion League of Women Voters focused on the problems of high school dropouts in the Cedar Rapids school system and the lack of affordable housing in the area.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joan Lipsky papers
Iowa legislator and community acitvisit from Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Ellen Moore papers
High school English teacher from Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

National Association of Women in Construction, Cedar Rapids-Iowa City Chapter records
The local chapter gives scholarships to students interested in construction careers, sponsors an annual golf outing  and provides social networking opportunities for women who work in construction.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

National League of American Pen Women, Waterloo-Cedar Rapids Branch records
Local chapter formed in 1932.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edith Neal papers
Known as the Vietnam Mail Lady, Neal corresponded with servicemen stationed in Vietnam from 1966 to 1969.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joyce Nielsen papers
Feminist, legislator and community activist who worked in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frank Nye Papers
Reporter and editor for The Cedar Rapids Gazette. Correspondence, subject files, and photographs relating to Nye's career with the Gazette. Includes information on Iowa politics and legislature, reapportionment, Herbert Hoover, and copies of articles written by Nye.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marilyn Sippy papers
Peace activist and volunteer from Marion, Iowa, who was active in UNICEF for over thirty years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Christie York papers
University of Iowa graduate and laboratory assistant who was active in student government and served as a steward in AFSCME Local 12.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives