Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Farm life - 103 hits

Christine Anderson papers
Appanoose County 4-H leader, farmer, and teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Autobiographical Sketches of Rural Iowa Women
Reminiscences of Iowa Farm Bureau women donated to the Rural Women's Project.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lenora Backes diaries
Diaries of an Iowa farm woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nellie Bishop oral history
Buchanan County, Iowa, native who farmed with her husband.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marjorie Bertalot Block papers
My Story describes Block's training as a nurse, family life, her employment off and on the farm, and her activities in Benton County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nancy De Vries Blom papers
Dutch immigrant who came to the United States in 1915 as a young child and lived on a farm in northwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bowersox and Osborn Family papers
The Bowersox family settled in Johnson County, Iowa in approximately 1855. The papers include a family account book, school exams and teaching certificates.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

June Lundy Boyd papers
Memoir describes growing up and teaching in southwestern Iowa, Lundy's wartime wedding and subsequent life in Knoxville, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bridging the Generations: the Lives and Contributions of Rural Iowa Women records
This exhibit was created by the Master Farm Homemakers Guild to publicize their history in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lela Powers Briggs papers
An artist who farmed with her husband near La Porte, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ada Mae Brown Brinton memoir
In Sunshine and Rain in Iowa: Reminiscing through 86 Years, Brinton reflects on rural Iowa, hard work, church traditions, and the love of family and community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Martha Jean Nicholson Browneller papers
Mahaska County, Iowa, farm woman who was active in 4-H and rural organizations. She recorded her daily activities in her diaries between 1935 and 1973.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Burchard Family papers
The family lived in New York state until 1910 when they moved to Iowa.  The diaries are from several generations.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Velma Carney papers
Adair County, Iowa, farm woman. Papers include household accounting ledgers.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Moe Christ papers
4-H participant from Winnebago, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Inez Christen papers
Transcribed diaries of a Northeast Iowa hired girl, farmwoman and mother.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cleona Township Women's Club (Scott County, Iowa) records
Scott County, Iowa, Farm Bureau women's club.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gladys Conn papers
Social worker and State University of Iowa graduate from Marne, Iowa, whose papers include diaries and family correspondence.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Strang Corothers memoir
Family History of the McDowall-Wilson, Strang-McDowall, and Corothers-Strang Families, 1934.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Anita Crawford papers
Buchanan County farmwoman who was active in the Farm Bureau and county historical society.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Days Gone By: Reminiscences of Northwest Iowa
Typescript of an oral history project by Sibley-Ocheyedan High School students interviewing six residents of Osceola County.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Pearl Unmack Dix papers
Harrison County, Iowa-born schoolteacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Wanda Edgerton papers
Occupational therapist who worked in Venezuela, 1940-1942, and at Ohio State University.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Bobbitt Ettleman papers
The 1951 memoir describes rural life in nineteenth century Iowa and Indiana.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Farm Safety 4 Just Kids (founding chapter) records
An organization advocating the prevention of farm-related childhood injuries, health risks and fatalities.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosa Knutson Gangestad papers
The daughter of Norwegian immigrants who came to Humboldt County, Iowa in 1872. Reflections on pioneer life through handwritten stories and letters for her grandchildren.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Philip L. Gerber papers
State University of New York College at Brockport professor who edited the homesteading letters of Elizabeth Corey.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marie Giddings papers
Detailed account of farm and rural community life as Marie Giddings knew it growing up in Kossuth County during the early 20th century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John Elliot Goodenow Papers
Farmer and livestock breeder. Reminiscences and financial and stock and crop records relating to the family farm.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Esther Mae Christensen Grow memoir
Reflections on growing up in western Iowa and Nebraska include experiences in country school, college and as a teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Hagen memoir
Memoir describing life on a family farm near Manly, Iowa during the 1920s and 1930s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Harrison County Farm Bureau scrapbook
Part of the statewide, grass roots effort to provide agricultural and homemaking science to Iowa farmers in the second decade of the twentieth century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

May Bennett Harshbarger papers
Schoolteacher from eastern Carroll County, Iowa who managed the family farm after her husband's death in 1926.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gwendolyn Johnson Hein papers
Farmwoman, basketball player on Newhall High School girls state championship team in 1927.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Her Own Story: Ten Benton County Women
Project of the Vinton, Iowa, American Association of University Women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Catharine King Herr diary
Farm wife who kept a diary from 1945 until her death in 1978.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Highland Do-Better Club (O'Brien County, Iowa) records
Women's club sponsered by the Farm Bureau.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gladys Homan papers
Extensive correspondence of Corning, Iowa farm wife and club woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Johnson Family papers
Letters exchanged among members of this Cresco, Iowa, family.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Johnson papers
Farm woman, teacher, and recipient of the Master Farm Homemaker award in 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jolley Family Papers
Correspondence spanning over 40 years and three generations of an Iowa farm family. Subjects include land speculation, farming in Bremer, Blackhawk, and Woodbury counties, farm life in Iowa during the 19th century, and W.W.I.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Maude Barkley Keck papers
Diaries and account books of this Cherokee, Iowa woman record farm chores and expenses, housekeeping and family life.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Myrtle Keppy papers
Champion hog breeder, farm woman, 4-H leader, and president of the Iowa Porkettes.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alice Kipp papers
The papers include Kipp's reminiscence of her childhood on an Iowa farm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Know Your Neighbor Club (Williams, Iowa) records
Farm women's club organized in 1926.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Della Marie Koppenhaver papers
Two reminiscences of Alice Tenley Hora, an Iowa farm woman, detailing farm life in the 1920s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Emmylou Krohn papers
Teacher, columnist, and textbook author from Council Bluffs area.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Maria Margaretha Kromminga papers
Diaries of a Monticello, Iowa, native who lived on her parents' farm and never married, raising her son alone.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth Fagan Lynch memoir
Teacher and farmer of Irish descent from Dubuque County, Iowa whose memoir is called, A Trunk and its Chips.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Kate Martinson papers
Journals chronicle the life of an Iowa farm woman including her marriage, childrearing, family farm management, divorce, and remarriage.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ellen Hanson Mason papers
Diaries chronicle Ellen Hanson Mason's life on the family farm in rural northeast Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

McGill Family papers
The collection consists mainly of correspondence and includes the papers of early twentieth century labor activist, IWW member, and Buffalo school teacher, Pearl McGill.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mead Family Papers
Civil War correspondence and pension records of an Iowa County family. Some of the topics of correspondence include the Battle of Corinth, Copperheads in Iowa, Black troops, and farm life in Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Magdalen Meade papers
Iowa farm woman and political organizer who was active in Roxanne Conlin's gubernatorial campaign in 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ellen Mowrer Miller papers
Correspondence of 19th century Iowa woman includes letters from brother in medical school and Civil War and from sister who raised a family and maintained a farm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ortha P. Neff papers
Red Cross staff member who was stationed in Okinawa and Hawaii during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Neighborhood Social Club records
The club formed in 1915 near Manchester, Iowa for women to discuss aspects of rural, farm and family life.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bess Newcomer papers
Appanoose County farmwoman, columnist, and Farm Bureau officer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nissen Family papers
Biographical materials relate to Walnut, Iowa clubwoman Wilma Parker Nissen and her daughters.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

O'Brien County Farm Bureau Women records
Organization to promote the interests of farmwomen.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Denise O'Brien papers
Organic farmer and political activist who served as president of National Family Farm Coalition.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Melba Gardemann Olson papers
Benton County, Iowa, farm girl and teacher who played on her high school's basketball championship team in 1927.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Omega Township Women's Club (O'Brien County) records
Farm Bureau women's club.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Jane Parsons papers
Reflections on her pioneer life from Rochester, New York to Dakota City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jesse Antrim Perkins papers
Rural elementary school teacher and farm wife whose papers consist of three partial journals.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Thelma Petersen papers
Diaries of homemaker from Kirkman, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Phillips and Tarbell Family papers
Articles and essay describing the family's participation in the Iowa State Fair.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Josephine Hirons Pullen papers
Teacher, artist, poet and author from Early, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Reese Family Papers
Business documents, correspondence and travel ephemera of the Reese Family from Turin, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lillian Ronk papers
West Central Iowa farmwoman known locally as 'the flower lady.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marie Rumble papers
A homesteader who lived in Wyoming, Colorado and Washington State.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Janette Ryan-Busch papers
Organic farmer and activist from Johnson County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Hazelle Keir Schmuecker papers
Autobiographical essays and family history of six generations by rural schoolteacher, homemaker, and artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Wilda Jean Schobert papers
Percival, Iowa farm woman and club woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lois McIntyre Schutte papers
Two memoirs of an Iowa farm woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shale and Wolf Families letters
Family correspondence recording farm life in northern Iowa and the Dakota territory, primarily from a farm woman's perspective.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jennie Sies papers
Diary of a young Oxford, Iowa farm woman who died on October 3, 1880.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Clara Steen Skott papers
Free-lance writer, home economics teacher, and civic leader who wrote articles and diaries concerning life in Iowa, China, and Wisconsin.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Laura Gibson Smith papers
Casey, Iowa native who taught country school before marrying and homesteading in Wyoming in 1913. She taught school in the Philippines in the 1910s and 1920s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Corwin R. Snow Papers
Iowa Farmer. Mostly diaries describing farm life in Benton Co., Iowa, particularly on Snow's Evergreen Farm near Keystone.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Verna Moulton Spencer papers
Maquoketa, Iowa, native who owned and operated Spencer's Harmony Hall with her husband from 1912 to 1962.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edith Sprout memoir
Farm woman raised in western Iowa and North Dakota who wrote about her childhood in her memoir.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Minish Stoner papers
Farmwoman, writer, and community volunteer near Mt. Vernon, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alma Erickson Swanson papers
Swedish farm woman whose three children became academics during the 1930s and 1940s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Augusta Gustafson Swanson correspondence
Swedish immigrant who moved to Iowa in 1889. (In Swedish with English translations.)
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carrie V. Talcott papers
Active clubwoman, Methodist, writer and farmer from Fayette County who spent 19 years in a retirement home in Fort Dodge.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Velma Skott Teeple memoir
Childhood memories of an Eastern Iowa teacher, writer, and farmwoman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Trimble Family papers
Reminiscences of Gladys Trimble Leith and Marie Jeffers about their mother, Mary Pyle Trimble as well as their own childhood.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Magdalena "Helen" Tylee papers
A German war bride who came to Iowa in 1922. During World War II she ran the family farm while her husband was serving in the armed forces.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mabel Korver Van Haaften memoir
Dutch-American farmwoman in early nineteenth century Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jeanne Van Kley papers
Farmer's wife from Ocheydan, Iowa who raised four children.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Van Zante and De Cook Families papers
Late 19th century diary of adolescent Dutch-American farm girl and 1932 farm diary of her daughter-in-law.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Esther Ver Meer papers
Farmwoman and member of the Porkettes, the women's auxiliary of the Iowa Pork Producers Council.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Voices from the Land: An Oral History Project in Iowa
Oral histories with Iowa farm women conducted as part of the Rural Women's Project of the Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth Wherry papers
Farm magazine writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lucy Van Voorhis White papers
Schoolteacher and farm wife of Dallas County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sarah White papers
Correspondence and circle letters of a northwestern Iowa farmwoman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Eva Donelson Wilson papers
Native of Ogden, Iowa, and professor of nutrition at colleges in the United States and Brazil.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Zelda Babcock Wolfe memoir
Riceville, Iowa, mother, homemaker, and teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Faye Wookey papers
Native of Red Oak, Iowa who who recalls family life on a farm in Montgomery County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Fox Wurster papers
Mahaska County farm girl who won a blue ribbon in the Mahaska County's Boys' 4-H.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lela Aurilla Yost memoir
Schoolteacher and farm wife near Mason City and Kesley, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Irene Rock Zindel papers
Scott County, Iowa, farm woman who was active in 4-H and the Farm Bureau.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives