Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for United States -- Iowa -- Iowa City - 222 hits

(Edwin) Lee Allen Card Paintings Collection
Mr. Allen worked with Grant Wood and muralist Diego Rivera. From 1937 to 1976, Allen was a medical illustrator at the University of Iowa Hospitals. This collection consists of the drawings, mostly on 5 x 7 cards, that accompanied his book  'A Hole in My Vision: An Artist's View of His Own Macular Degeneration'.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

American Business Women's Association records
Iowa City chapter.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Delvena Anderson papers
Diary of a trip from Iowa City through eastern Canada.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Angelica Lynn Rose Atalig oral history
Oral history, 1999. The narrator describes growing up in a bilingual, biracial family in Garner, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Athens History Circle (Iowa City, Iowa) records
Iowa City study club organized in 1897.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Myrtle Kitchell Aydelotte papers
Professor of nursing,1957-1976, dean of the College of Nursing, 1949-1957, and director of nursing for the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics,1968-1976.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Evelyn Crary Bacon papers
Teacher, decorated veteran nurse and pioneer in the field of nursing education, Bacon served as a captain in the U.S. Army Nurse Corps during World War II and participated in the invasion of Normandy.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nancy V. "Rusty" Barcelo papers
Activist and administrator at the University of Iowa whose papers provide insight into Latino life and culture in Iowa and across the Midwest.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Salzmann Becker papers
Nurse and community activist in Iowa City who, as a young Jewish woman, fled Nazi Germany in 1939 and emigrated to the United States.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mildred Augustine Wirt Benson papers
Journalist for the Toledo Blade and writer of the first Nancy Drew mysteries and other children's series books; collection includes writings, clippings, scrapbooks and a few photographs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Leola Bergmann papers
Scholar, writer and artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Venise T. Berry papers
Novelist and associate professor of journalism and mass communication at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Bonfiglio papers
Member of the Unitarian Universalist Society of Iowa City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Atherton Bonney papers
Bonney's research files include Iowa suffragist Mary Jane Coggeshall, scientist Mary Louise Putnam, physician Jennie McCowen, and pioneer evangelist and minister, Abner Kneeland
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lois Boulware papers
Physician in the University of Iowa Student Health Department, who established the Patient Advocacy Program at University Hospitals after marrying and having a child.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Susan Boyd papers
Journalist and writer who published several articles in Mademoiselle. She also served as University of Iowa First Lady from 1969-1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosalie Braverman papers
Braverman recalls her childhood in Youthful Journeys in Poland and Germany. An oral history interview, conducted in 1996, concerns student family life, the Jewish community in Iowa City, and anti-Semitism.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shirley A. Briggs papers
Artist, editor, and naturalist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Brine, Pelton and Thompson V. The University of Iowa records
Materials relate to the suit filed by 3 dental hygiene faculty members charging that the scheduled closing of the University of Iowa Dental Hygiene Program was discriminatory.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Norma Peg Burke papers
Physical education professor at the University of Iowa and past president of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women, 1976-1977.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosetta M. Byers papers
University of Iowa student from 1914-1918.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Barbara M. Calderon papers
Nursing administrator and first African-American public health nurse in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cornelia Cameron papers
Internationally recognized peat geologist from Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Tess Catalano papers
Human rights activist, singer and song writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Anna Moore Cheney diaries
Diarist, mother, and minister's wife.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Kittredge Cherry and Audrey Lockwood
Life partners Kittredge Cherry (1957- ), an author, journalist, and minister to the LGBT community, and Audrey Lockwood (1957- ), a financial planner, met as students at the University of Iowa in 1975 and lived and worked in Japan before settling in California.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

T. Anne Cleary papers
University of Iowa Vice President of Academic Affairs, American Psychological Association president, and expert in educational testing.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lida Cochran papers
Audiovisual educator and professor in the Education Department at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carroll Coleman Papers
Proprietor of the Prairie Press and printer. Correspondence, preliminary drafts, galleys and mock-ups for books printed by the Prairie Press, and related business records, advertising, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Common Lives/Lesbian Lives records
An Iowa-City based lesbian literary journal published all forms of creative expression written by self-defined lesbians.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gladys Conn papers
Social worker and State University of Iowa graduate from Marne, Iowa, whose papers include diaries and family correspondence.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

R. Keith Courtney Papers
Iowa City resident and artist. From the late 1970s to the late 1980s Courtney conducted a project titled Notes From All Over, which invited artists to send him found objects and printed matter. The collection consists of art works, correspondence, and related documentation dating from 1971-1995.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sheila Creth papers
Librarian who directed the University of Iowa Libraries from 1987 to 1999 and published extensively in the field of library and information science.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Culbertson and Reno Account Book
Pioneer banking firm operated by John C. Culbertson and Morgan Reno.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Minnette Doderer papers
State legislator from Iowa City who was first elected to the Iowa House of Representatives in 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nadine Domond papers
Hawkeye women's basketball star, WNBA player and entrepreneur.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ethel Roberta Douglass papers
West Branch, Iowa, resident who graduated from the University of Iowa in 1921 with a B.A. in geology.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carolyn Dyer
Professor Emeritus of Journalism at the University of Iowa and Nancy Drew scholar.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lolly Eggers papers
Papers related to the social activism and career of librarian Lolly Eggers.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Morton Ellsworth papers
Ohio born psychometrist who divorced in 1957 and moved to Iowa City with her daughters.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Embroiderers' Guild of America, Plum Grove Chapter, records
The guild taught needlework skills and participated in shows.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Emma Goldman Clinic (Iowa City, Iowa) records
Feminist health clinic.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Paul Engle Papers
Poet (numerous books from Worn Earth, 1932), editor of the O. Henry Prize Stories, 1954-1959, director of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, 1941-1967, and co-founder and director of the International Writers' Program, 1967-1976 at the University of Iowa. Literary manuscripts, correspondence, subject files, and student works documenting his career as a writer and teacher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edna Englert papers
Iowa City native who was the organist at St. Wenceslaus Church for sixty-five years, retiring at the age of 81.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Entre Nous records (Iowa City, Iowa)
Women's drama study club founded in 1914 in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

LeAnn Erickson papers
Filmmaker whose documentary From One Place to Another: Emma Goldman Clinic Stories explores the history of the Emma Goldman Clinic.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Geraldene Felton papers
Professor and former dean of the University of Iowa College of Nursing.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

FlaGstone: A Publication of the FG Syndrome Family Alliance newsletters
The newsletter of the FG Syndrome Family Alliance, edited by two Iowa City women whose sons have FG syndrome.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edna Flesner papers
Biology teacher at Iowa City City High School from 1928 to 1967.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Four Seasons Garden Club Records
This collection contains meeting minutes, annual reports, and scrapbooks of club activities.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Fox Family Papers
Dr. Walter Fox was a physician who served in France during WWI and later died in Serbia while working for the Italian Red Cross. Helen Fox Angell was a Red Cross worker during WWII and later in the Panama Canal Zone. Primarily photographs, correspondence, clippings, and memorabilia.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Margaret Fox papers
Faculty member in the Department of Physical Education for Women at the State University of Iowa from 1949 to 1980.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Patricia Geadelmann papers
Feminist and physical educator who was a strong proponent of the ERA and Title IX.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Wilbourn Gerber papers
Clubwoman and activist who lived in Chicago, Albany, New York, and Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Blanche Basye Gilmore papers
Memoir of wife, mother, and grandmother whose husband Eugene Gilmore was Vice Governor of the Phillippines in the 1920s and president of the University of Iowa from 1934 to 1940.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Brian Glenister Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Graduate College Printed Material Collection

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Archie L. Greene papers
Writer and volunteer who earned a doctorate in English from the University of Iowa while living with spinocerebellar degeneration.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Eleanor Gildner Hageboeck papers
University of Iowa alumna and clubwoman. She wrote a column for the Iowa City Press Citizen during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Beverly A. Hannon papers
Two-term Iowa state senator. Hannon chaired the Human Resources Committee and was instrumental in founding the Iowa Women's Foundation in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Harding Family Papers
Diaries, genealogical records, account and ledger books, correspondence, and reminiscences of three generations. Includes descriptions of Iowa City and the surrounding area in the 19th century.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Virginia Harper papers
One of five African American women who integrated Currier Hall at the University of Iowa in 1946. Former president of the Fort Madison chapter of the NAACP.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Phyllis Harper-Bardach papers
Educator of hearing-impaired children and retired professor of Education at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Harriet E. Palmer papers
Scrapbook featuring the professional and social life of an Iowa nurse in the 1920's.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Claudine Harris papers
Harris worked in radiation detection instrumentation. She was active in the Johnson County League of Women Voters and the Johnson County Alliance for the Mentally Ill.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gretchen Harshbarger papers
Landscape architect, author and photographer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Emma Harvat papers
First woman mayor of Iowa City, serving from 1922 to 1925.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marie Tener Havel papers
Nurse who worked in Missouri in the 1930s and at the University of Iowa Hospitals from 1948 to 1965.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

E. Marie Hawkins papers
Iowa City elementary school teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frances Hawthorne papers
Des Moines educator whose materials include You Can't Go Back to Buxton and African Americans in Iowa: a Chronicle of Contributions, 1830-1992.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Lemme Reading Club records
African American reading club formed in 1984 by University of Iowa graduate students.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joan Hemm papers
Records of the Shady Ladies, a Colorado based historical performance organization founded by Hemm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edna Herbst papers
Videotaped interview with Herbst about the history of television broadcasting in Iowa, 1998.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Patricia Herring papers
Feminist, social worker, and advocate for persons with HIV/AIDS.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Loren L. Hickerson Papers
Director of Alumni Programs and Director of Community Relations for the University of Iowa and mayor of Iowa City. Subject files, correspondence, speeches, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Judy Herron Hoit papers
Disability access and awareness advocate and 1996 Ms. Wheelchair Iowa winner.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jessie Hornsby papers
French professor at the University of Iowa who was born in Algiers, North Africa, and worked for the British Broadcasting Corporation in England as an intelligence assistant during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Doris Bender Hughes papers
Student who attended the University of Iowa in the 1940s and later became a teacher and child-welfare worker.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Institute of Public Affairs Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

International Women's Club Records
Iowa City group promoting friendship and understanding among women from around the world and the United States of America.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Author's Manuscripts Collection
Includes manuscripts, galley proofs, page proofs, dust jackets, and other miscellany associated with publications of many Iowa Authors.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iowa City Area Christian Women's Club records
The Iowa City Area Christian Women's Club holds Friendship Bible Coffees and monthly luncheons. The ICCW formed in 1967 as an offshoot of Stonecroft Ministries.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa City Women's Press records
Iowa City publisher and printer of lesbian and feminist books that existed from 1973 to 1985.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Writers' Workshop Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Charles Wood Irish Papers
Civil engineer and surveyor. Diaries, surveyor notebooks, letterpress books, correspondence, postcards, terrain profiles, photographs, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Constance Frick Irwin papers
Author, librarian, and professor of library science who was a WAVE during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jill Jack papers
Iowa City political activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Pitkanen Johnson papers
Artist and educator from Finland who taught drawing theory at the University of Illinois.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alice Kelley papers
University of Iowa graduate who worked as a secretary. The papers mainly consist of the diaries she kept from 1926-2002.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frederick W. Kent Photograph Collection
The collection relates to most areas of the University of Iowa, including individuals, departments, and buildings.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Jean Kern papers
Professor of English and an independent scholar who taught in the Middle East and Eastern Europe as well as in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Mae Kessler photo album
Photograph album, undated. Scenes of children and young adults, apparently in Iowa City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Keyes papers
Professor of Home Economics at the University of Iowa and nationally recognized leader in the field of historic preservation.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nile C. Kinnick Papers
Student leader, scholar, and athlete from Iowa. Correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, speeches, photographs, articles, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Faith Knowler papers
Johnson County community activist from the 1970s to 1990s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Katharine La Sheck papers
Musician, actress and dancer from Iowa City who toured on the Chautauqua circuit.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Larson papers
Anamosa and Iowa City resident who worked for the The University of Iowa Hospital.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mildred H. Lavin papers
Professor in instructional design and outreach education at the University of Iowa's College of Education.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lillian B. Lawler papers
Scholar at the State University of Iowa in 1923.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lemme Family papers
Traces the family history of Helen Lemme, a civil rights activist who was named Iowa City's first Woman of the Year in 1955.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Thelma B. Lewis papers
Iowa City mayor in 1961; served on the city council from 1958 to 1963.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Lloyd-Jones papers
State legislator from Iowa City and president of the Iowa Peace Institute.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gertrude Schroeder Lockwood papers
Scrapbook documenting the collegiate life of a State University of Iowa student during the 1920's.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ina Loewenberg papers
Research materials for her book, The View From 70: Women's Recollections and Reflections, published in 2004.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lola Kathleen "Kathy" Fisher scrapbook
West Chester, Iowa resident who attended the State University of Iowa from 1954-1956.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Anita Lowry papers
University of Iowa Librarian who was the first head of the Information Arcade at the University of Iowa Libraries, 1992-1996.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Luella Rynerson Smith papers
Home extension course, U.S. Department of Agriculture, and other early twentieth century rural organization publications collected by an Iowa farm wife.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marjorie Elizabeth Lyford papers
Public health and visiting nurse who later taught at the University of Iowa College of Nursing.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Thomas H. Macbride Papers
Tenth president of the University of Iowa, 1914-1916.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

George E. MacLean Papers
George Edwin MacLean served as the eighth president of the University of Iowa, from 1899 to 1911.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

March for Women's Lives, Iowa Delegation, records
On April 25, 2004, pro-choice activists went to Washington, D.C., to participate in the March for Women's Lives, a protest against the pro-life policies of President George W. Bush's administration.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Francoise Martinet papers
Ballerina and professor of dance at the University of Iowa from 1978-1997.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Maria Cano Martinez papers
Maria Cano came to Iowa from Guanajuato, Mexico, with her parents in 1928. She established a Spanish language interpreter program at the University of Iowa Hospitals in 1975.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dora Mason papers
Sculptor and art teacher who traveled and studied sculpture across Europe and North America.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

A. Louise Mays papers
Social worker and University of Iowa professor.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dale McCormick papers
Carpenter and activist for women in non-traditional jobs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

McCown Family Papers
Multigenerational family papers of the former head of the University of Iowa Libraries Special Collections Department.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dean D.O. McGovney College of Law Papers
Dudley Odell McGovney served as dean of the College of Law at Iowa, 1916-1921.  Correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Marshall McKusick Papers
Professor, University of Iowa Department of Sociology and Anthropology, from 1960 until 1996. State Archeologist from 1960 until 1975. Researched prehistoric Native American Indian cultures. Publications.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Lola Jean McNall papers
University of Iowa student who was active in the YWCA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marianne Michael papers
Served with her husband as missionaries for the Church of the Brethren in Garkida, Nigeria from 1948 to 1961.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ellen Mowrer Miller papers
Correspondence of 19th century Iowa woman includes letters from brother in medical school and Civil War and from sister who raised a family and maintained a farm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marion Miller Papers
State University of Iowa student, 1939-1943. Journals.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Mary Ellen Moore papers
High school English teacher from Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lois Baker Muehl papers
University of Iowa rhetoric professor who published children's books and taught English as a second language at refugee camps in Thailand, Korea, and China.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cherry Muhanji papers
Writer, lesbian activist, and University of Iowa alumna.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ione Mulnix papers
Correspondence of a student at the State University of Iowa in Iowa City with her family in Dows, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Virginia Myers papers
Artist, University of Iowa professor, and inventor of the Iowa Foil Press.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nancy Drew Collection
An ongoing collection of materials related to the 1993 Nancy Drew Conference and Mildred Wirt Benson.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

National Association of Women in Construction, Cedar Rapids-Iowa City Chapter records
The local chapter gives scholarships to students interested in construction careers, sponsors an annual golf outing and provides social networking opportunities for women who work in construction.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

National League of American Pen Women, Iowa City Branch records
The local branch was formed in 1963 and awards prize money to students.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

National Organization for Women, Johnson County-Iowa City Chapter records
Feminist activist organization records.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

National Secretaries Association Robert Lucus Chapter records
Local chapter of the professional organization focused on social, educational, and professional activities.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary C. Neuhauser papers
Democrat who served four terms in the Iowa House and one four-year term in the Senate (1986-1998).
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Louane Newsome papers
Armed Services librarian during World War II, and University of Iowa professor in the School of Library and Information Science.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Susan J. Norman papers
Iowa City activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Norse Club records
Founded in Iowa City in 1937 to celebrate its members' Norwegian heritage.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Naomi Novick papers
Iowa City city councilor from 1990 to 1997. Chosen twice to serve as mayor.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Off and Holsteen Family papers
Two generations of an eastern Iowa family, many generations of which attended the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Old Brick Records
Iowa City building. Legal documents, correspondence, financial records, etc. used in the battle to save Old Brick from destruction.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Oral Histories of Iowa Policewomen
15 interviews and associated materials document the entry of women into Iowa's law enforcement agencies.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Palmer/Calkins/Corbin Papers
Letters, diaries, genealogies, papers, and videocassette dealing with the Civil War, the Mormon move west, and World War II.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary Parden papers
University of Iowa graduate who worked as secretary to four University of Iowa presidents.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Paul papers
Iowa City peace activist and educator who was executive director of the UNA-USA Iowa Division from 1976 to 1996.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Robert Pepper Iowa City Broadband Telecommunications Papers
Iowa City Broadband Telecommunications Papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Pi Lambda Theta, Theta Chapter records
Honorary society for women students in the field of education.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Josiah L. Pickard Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Pilot International Club of Iowa City
Organization to promote improvement of conditions and treatment for brain-related disorders.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cora Belle Pollock papers
Elementary school teacher from Rolfe, Iowa who later worked as a lab technician in Fort Dodge, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Ashby Pownall papers
Journalist who reported on Camp Dodge in Iowa during World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Prentiss Family papers
The family came to Iowa City in 1905 when Henry Prentiss established the Anatomy Department at the State University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Cutler Prior papers
Geologist who worked with the Iowa Geological Survey in Iowa City for 38 years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jo Rabenold papers
Iowa City activist who collected lesbian and feminist publications during the 1970s and 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rape Victim Advocacy Program (RVAP) records
Sexual abuse response and advocacy center established in in Iowa City in 1973 to serve located the University of Iowa community and surrounding counties.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Hunter R. Rawlings III Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Iowa Byington Reed papers
The diaries of an Iowa City woman who supported herself as a seamstress prior to her marriage in 1896.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Frances Reger-Wilkinson papers
Social worker who worked for the American National Red Cross during and after World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John Cantwell Reid Papers
Cedar Rapids, Iowa businessman; president of the National Oats Company; member of the Iowa State Board of Regents. Correspondence and memoranda relating to his term on the Board of Regents and his friendship with Grant Wood.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Richard D. Remington Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City records
The Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City (RRCIC) formed in January 1989 in response to Operation Rescue's attempt to shut down a local abortion clinic.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gladys Talcott Rife papers
Mt.Vernon, Iowa high school teacher who later owned and directed The Depot Museum in Fayette County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Rogers papers
Dorothy Rogers worked for the volunteer program of the Patient Advocacy Program at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics from the beginning of the program in 1973 until her retirement in 1986.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Abbie Romey papers
Actress, homemaker, and 1928 graduate of the State University of Iowa in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marilyn Preheim Rose papers
Professor of Anthropology and Women's Studies at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Rouse papers
Journalist who worked for the Office of Public Information at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruby's Pearl (Iowa City, Iowa) records
Ruby's Pearl, a feminist sex store, was a hub for feminist and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) activism.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Schaefer papers
A Latin teacher who served as friend and mentor to Vietnamese refugees in the Iowa City community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Naomi Schedl papers
Artist and professor in the Department of Home Economics at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Betty Rugen Schutter papers
Scrapbook and correspondence to her parents during her student years at the State University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Fred Schwengel Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa to 84th-88th and 90th-92nd Congresses. Legislative and congressional papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lucille Schwilck papers
1939 graduate from the State University of Iowa College of Law who worked for the U. S. Department of the Interior between 1943 and 1964.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Scottish Highlanders Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Helene Scriabine papers
Author and Professor Emeritus of Russian at the University of Iowa, who emmigrated to the United States after surviving the siege of Leningrad in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Janet Shipton papers
Political activist and Johnson County, Iowa, supervisor who was the daughter of British Prime Minister Clement Attlee.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Shoots papers
Writer, performer, volunteer, and nurse in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Aaron Silander papers
Iowa City feminist and activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Louise Smith papers
First woman to chair the Republican National Committee, serving from 1974 to 1977. Co-founder of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Geneva Southall papers
Professor Emeritus of Afro-American Studies and Music at the University of Minnesota; University of Iowa alumna.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

C. Pauline Spencer papers
An outstanding athlete and the first woman to receive an athletic letter at the University of Iowa.She graduated in 1923.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Verna Moulton Spencer papers
Maquoketa, Iowa, native who owned and operated Spencer's Harmony Hall with her husband from 1912 to 1962.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

George Edwin Starbuck Papers
University of Iowa professor of English and director, Iowa Writers
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Everett E. Sterner Papers
University of Iowa student, 1934-1940. Sterner documented UI cooperative dorms of this period. Photographs and notes.
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Harriet Adeline Stevens papers
Teacher of nutrition education and dietetics; U. S. Army Second Lieutenant who served as a medical hospital dietician at Camp Gordon, Georgia during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Priscilla Ann Mabie Stewart papers
Art historian and Professor who settled in Florida where she organized and directed a wild bird hospital.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Zella White Stewart papers
Allergist who practiced in Iowa City from 1910 to 1938.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Kathryn Stone papers
Mount Vernon, Iowa, native who taught at University High School in Iowa City in 1930 and 1931.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Stong Family papers
Correspondence of Alice Stong details her undergraduate experiences at The University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rose Stoops papers
Teacher, farm woman and nurse who later participated in many community organizations in Grinnell, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Velma Stuit scrapbooks
Wife of Dean of University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and organizer of Newcomers Club in 1938 and International Wives Club in 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

The Sweatshop Chronicles scrapbook
Activities of the Iowa City chapter of the national organization, Students Against Sweatshops.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Julie Litchfield Tallman papers
High school and college student from Des Moines, Iowa, who was a talented golfer and musician.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth "Bettye" Crawford Tate papers
Owner and operator of the Tate Arms, a boarding house for African American male students at the University of Iowa during the 1940s and 1950s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Genevieve Buess Taylor papers
Adoption records from The Willows Maternity Sanitarium in Kansas City, Missouri regarding the 1924 adoption of Oren Jay Taylor. Also included is a 1916 school paper on equal suffrage by Dorothy Mills.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosemary Tharp papers
Cedar Falls native who served in the WAVES during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marcia Thayer papers
Dancer, choreographer and educator who worked in Iowa, Massachussetts, Oregon and New York.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Roberta Till-Retz papers
Research and educational materials of activist and labor educator Roberta Till-Retz.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

TOPS Club records
Organization that provided support for weight loss.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nancy Pfeiffer Towner papers
Iowa City artist and poet who published in a variety of journals and won numerous awards for her work.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Eleanor Eyestone Trummel papers
Home demonstration agent for Iowa State College Extension Service and homemaker.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

University of Iowa Celebration of Excellence and Achievment Among Women records
Annual gathering begun in 1982.  BY 2007 seven awards were given each year.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

University of Iowa College of Nursing records
The history of nursing education at Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

University of Iowa Council on the Status of Women records
Women seeking solutions to problems of sexual harassment, violence, homophobia, and childcare at the University.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

University of Iowa Dental Hygiene Program records
Started in 1949 and was one of the earliest such programs in the United States.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

University of Iowa Department of Home Economics records
Provided training in a variety of careers including dieticians, extension agents, designers, and homemakers.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

University of Iowa Department of Physical Education for Women records
The department was established in 1924 and was a pioneer in the development of graduate study and professional training. The department existed until 2000 under a variety of names and organizations.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

University of Iowa Women in Science and Engineering Program
Program established in 1994 to expand and improve educational and professional opportunities for women in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) and provide support for students in these fields.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

University of Iowa Department of Physical Education for Women: Women's Recreation Association records
WRA provided college women opportunities to participate in sports, either intramural or as a member of a sport club
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Martha Wahl papers
Mathematician and teacher who patented educational toys for teaching mathematics to children.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jane Alison Weiss papers
Assistant Professor of Sociology at the University of Iowa, 1978-1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Lee Hensleigh Wenger papers
University of Iowa graduate and teacher whose papers include correspondence and scrapbook files relating to her work on a variety of social issues including gun control.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frederick Wezeman Papers
Founding director of the University of Iowa School of Library Science (later renamed School of Library and Information Science).
Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Floy Eugenia Whitehead papers
Nutrition scholar and chair of the University of Iowa's Home Economics Department for sixteen years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy and Warren Wirtz papers
Brother and sister who attended the State University of Iowa and wrote letters to their parents in Keokuk.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women Against Racism Committee (Iowa City, Iowa) records
Multiethnic group founded in 1981 by women from the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women's Resource & Action Center (WRAC) Records

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Women's Resource and Action Center records
Women's center established in 1970 to serve the university and community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Linda Yanney papers
Iowa City feminist and champion of LGBT rights.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Janie Yates-Glandorf papers
Iowa City high school drama and English teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

George Henry Yewell Papers
Artist. Correspondence, diaries, sketchbooks, and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Christie York papers
University of Iowa graduate and laboratory assistant who was active in student government and served as a steward in AFSCME Local 12.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elayne Zalis papers
Writer and multimedia artist who received her doctorate from the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives