Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Personal narratives - 35 hits

Lot Abraham Papers
Correspondence, Civil War diaries, military records, business papers, family papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles Thomas Ackley Civil War Diaries Collection
One hundred and eighteen letters from Charles Thomas Ackley, mostly to his wife in Marble Rock, Iowa. Also included are newspaper clippings, brief biographies of some of the men in the Seventh Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and historical commentary.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Albertson Family Papers
Correspondence reflecting pioneer life in Indiana, Illinois, Iowa, and Montana.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Harrison Allspaugh Diaries Collection
Diaries of the Civil War experiences of a member of the 31st Regiment of Ohio Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Robert Morriss Browning Papers
World War I letters to students at the University of Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Anson R. Butler Papers
Civil War soldier and mayor of DeWitt , Iowa. Letters written to his wife while he was serving with the 26th Iowa Volunteer Infantry in the Civil War.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles Cady Papers
Civil War soldier from Danville, Iowa. Consists of letters written to his parents and family describing life in the 15th Iowa Volunteer Infantry. Also includes his promotion and discharge papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John N. Calhoun Papers
Lawyer in Burlington, Iowa and Iowa state senator. Correspondence and subject files relating to his legal and political careers and his military service in World War II.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Homer Calkin Papers
Historian, archivist, and author. Correspondence files; diaries; memorabilia; scrapbooks dealing with his early life, education, career in the State Department, and work for the Methodist Church.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Joseph Franklin Culver Papers
Civil War soldier, lawyer, and banker. Letters about his military service with the Illinois 129th Infantry Regiment, and his life after the war as a lawyer and banker in Illinois and Kansas . These letters were published as Leslie W. Dunlap, editor, Your Affectionate Husband, J.F. Culver: Letters Written During the Civil War (Friends of the University of Iowa Library, 1978). er the war as a lawyer and banker in Illinois and Kansas . These letters were published as Leslie W. Dunlap, editor, Your Affectionate Husband, J.F. Culver: Letters Written During the Civil War (Friends of the University of Iowa Library, 1978).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marcellus Warner Darling Papers
Civil War soldier, Congregational minister, and father of Jay Norwood Darling. Consists primarily of letters, a diary, and memoirs of his service in Company K, 154th New York Volunteer Infantry during the Civil War.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Andrew F. Davis Papers
Civil War soldier. Correspondence from Davis (an officer in Co.I, 15th Regiment, Indiana Volunteers) to his wife and daughters. Letters include information on troop morale, slavery, camp life, battles, Copperheads, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

W.B. Emmons Diary Collection
Civil War soldier, member of the 34th Illinois Infantry Regiment. Participated in the Atlanta Campaign and saw a good deal of action in Georgia. Recorded. Wrote of many battles and skirmishes.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Joseph E. Evans Papers
Editorial page editor of the Wall Street Journal. Correspondence, clippings and photographs relating to his editorial work, his experience in World War II, and his days as a graduate student at the University of Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Fox Family Papers
Dr. Walter Fox was a physician who served in France during WWI and later died in Serbia while working for the Italian Red Cross. Helen Fox Angell was a Red Cross worker during WWII and later in the Panama Canal Zone. Primarily photographs, correspondence, clippings, and memorabilia.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Elliot Goodenow Papers
Farmer and livestock breeder. Reminiscences and financial and stock and crop records relating to the family farm.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William F. Goodhue Diary
Civil War soldier. Goodhue was a member of the 3rd Wisconsin Infantry Regiment. He wrote of camp life, food, and military duties. He also describes the country through which he traveled.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George F. Hall Papers
Civil War soldier from Iowa. Primarily letters written by Lt. George F. Hall of Co. C, 2nd Iowa Infantry Regiment, to his father during the Civil War. They discuss the food and weather, clothing, Copperheads, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

W. Earl Hall Papers
Editor and publisher of the Mason City Globe Gazette. Papers relating to his career and civic activities. Subject files, correspondence, speeches, and editorials reflect his work for such organizations as the Red Cross, Radio Free Europe, and the Iowa State Board of Regents.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jackson L. Hyde Papers
World War II soldier. Correspondence, medals, scrapbook, and photographs primarily related to his service in the 210th Armored Infantry Battalion, 10th Armored (Tiger) Division, U.S. Army.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jolley Family Papers
Correspondence spanning over 40 years and three generations of an Iowa farm family. Subjects include land speculation, farming in Bremer, Blackhawk, and Woodbury counties, farm life in Iowa during the 19th century, and W.W.I.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nile C. Kinnick Papers
Student leader, scholar, and athlete from Iowa. Correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, speeches, photographs, articles, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mann Family Papers
Civil War letters and military records of Asahel Mann, Jr., John Mann, and William Mann, all of whom were members of Co. A, 4th regiment, Iowa Cavalry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Martin M.D. Ph.D. Papers
Neurosurgeon and book collector specializing in rare medical books. These papers primarily concern Dr. Martin's association with the University of Iowa. The establishment of the John Martin Rare Book Room and the donation of his collection of rare medical books is well documented with correspondence, clippings, brochures, etc. Some autobiographical sketches are included along with records of Dr. Martin's military service.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Francis McDermott Family Papers
Soldier, 13th Regiment of railway engineers, U.S. Army, in W.W.I. Correspondence, picture postcards, and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mead Family Papers
Civil War correspondence and pension records of an Iowa County family. Some of the topics of correspondence include the Battle of Corinth, Copperheads in Iowa, Black troops, and farm life in Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles H. Murphy Papers
Spanish American War soldier from Red Oak, IA. Personal letters concerning the activities of Company M, 51st Infantry Regiment, Iowa Volunteers during the Spanish American War.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John W. Pratt Diaries Collection
Civil War soldier. Relates his feelings and experiences with the 27th Iowa Volunteer Infantry Regiment.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William Titus Rigby Papers
Civil War veteran and Vicksburg National Military Park Commissioner. Correspondence, clippings, photographs, diaries, genealogical material, relating the Rigby family.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George Marion Shearer Civil War Diaries
Diaries of a soldier in Company E, 17th Iowa Infantry, who was captured and imprisoned in Sumter Prison, 1864-65.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Shelton Family Papers
Diaries of Mary E. Shelton and Rhode Maenad Shelton describing their nursing experience with Annie Wittenmeyer during the Civil War and at the Hospital for the Insane in Mount Pleasant, Iowa; also the Civil War diary of Orteus Carnefix Shelton, lieutenant of the 45th Regiment of Iowa Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Silas B. Silver Diary
Maryland physician. Diary includes his observations on the Civil War and politics, farming, and medicine.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John W. Tobin Papers
Judge, attorney, and environmentalist from Vinton, Iowa. Subject files, speeches, and correspondence relating to his law career, the Vinton community, and the Izaak Walton League of America.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Daniel Webster Turner Papers
Governor of Iowa, 1931-1933. Correspondence, speeches, subject files, and clippings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James Baird Weaver Papers
Populist leader. Weaver's correspondence with his wife; other Weaver family papers. Includes material on Davis Co., Iowa, and experiences in the Civil War.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections