Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Railroads - 17 hits

Allen Motor Company Records
Records of the oldest auto dealership in Iowa, including financial records, newsletters, and photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William B. Allison Papers
U.S. Senator and Representative from Iowa. Primarily correspondence from his years in the House and Senate. Spanning a half century the topics range from Indian affairs to Oklahoma statehood, banking to the Panama Canal, and Republican Party politics to railroads.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Chicago & Northwestern Railway Ticket Agent papers
Records of the Cedar Rapids ticket agent for the railway, this collection consists of record books, correspondence with headquarters in Chicago , and correspondence dealing with problems of passenger transportation. Bulk dates are 1896-1899.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Christisen Railroad Collection
Records for the Milwaukee Road, Amtrak, and the B&O railroads, with some materials from the Elgin, Joliet and Eastern (EJ&E), the Central Railroad of New Jersey (CNJ), the Nickel Plate Railroad (NKP), and Acheson, Topeka and Santa Fe (AT&SF) lines from the 1880s to the early 1990s.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dick Clark papers
U.S. Senator from Iowa , and educator. Arranged in 9 series, the papers consist of subject files, casework files, issue statements, clippings, audio, visual, film and photographs during his term in office. Subjects of special concern to Clark range from Africa and international relations to agriculture and conservation, Democratic Party politics to the aged, and education to transportation.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

B.R. Dew Collection of Railroadiana
Railroad employee and collector. Collection of publications, timetables, photographs, tickets, passes, and artifacts relating to the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railway, as well as other railroads.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Samuel O. Dunn Papers
Editor and writer on railroads. Speeches and articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Greene Family Papers
Pioneer family from Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Typed transcriptions of diaries, letters, and cards describing life in early Johnson, Jones, and Linn counties in Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Albert N. Harbert Railroadiana Collection
Correspondence and printed documents such as timetables, train orders, and rate sheets relating primarily to the Burlington, Cedar Rapids, and Northern Railway Company of Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles Wood Irish Papers
Civil engineer and surveyor. Diaries, surveyor notebooks, letterpress books, correspondence, postcards, terrain profiles, photographs, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Levi O. Leonard Papers
Historian, journalist, railroad employee, and collector. Records, notes, correspondence, ledgers, financial accounts, legal papers, land profiles, etc. relating to the building and operation of the Union Pacific, Rock Island, and other railroads.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

McKenzie Railroadiana Collection
Timetables and track charts for the Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe, CSX Transportation, Conrail; Soo Line; Burlington Northern Santa Fe; and Wisconsin Central, Ltd. railroads.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ottumwa Railway & Light Company Records
Street railroad, electric light and steam power business in Ottumwa, Iowa. Maps, legal documents, correspondence, and subject files.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sterns Family Papers
Correspondence, photographs, memorabilia, etc. relating to the Civil War, railroading in the West, and the Alaskan gold rush.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Charles E. Strickland Papers
Mason City, Iowa, businessman. Correspondence and subject files documenting his business, political and civic interests. Topics include the Iowa Terminal Railroad and People's Gas and Electric Company of Mason City.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John P. Vander Maas Railroadiana Collection
Collector. Time tables, train registers, train orders, menus, tickets, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

R. Weston Diaries
Railroad mechanic. Two diaries containing details about his daily work in the shops of the C.B.&Q. and C.D.&M. railroads, community news and gossip in Dubuque, Iowa, and personal matters.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections