Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Women and literature - 18 hits

Iowa City Women's Press records
Iowa City publisher and printer of lesbian and feminist books that existed from 1973 to 1985.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Woman Endeavors Inc. records
Literary magazine founded in 1979 to promote the artistic works and opinions of women in the Midwest.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Constance Frick Irwin papers
Author, librarian, and professor of library science who was a WAVE during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bonnie Kern papers
Iowa author who was a victim of sexual and physical abuse, served time in jail and eventually was pardoned.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Kern papers
Professor of English and an independent scholar who taught in the Middle East and Eastern Europe as well as in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Midwest Federation of Chaparral Poets (Iowa Chapter) records
The Iowa Chapter of Chaparral Poets met twice yearly (fall and spring); they studied poetry, conducted a poetry contest and wrote poetry for submission to Midwest Chaparral magazine. The organization was formed in 1942 and disbanded in 2001.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

National League of American Pen Women, Iowa City Branch records
The local branch was formed in 1963 and awards prize money to students.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

National League of American Pen Women, Quad Cities Branch records
The National League of American Pen Women, Quad Cities Branch was established in 1976 to serve as an outlet for area women writers to communicate. The group organized scholarship competitions for high school student writers.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

National League of American Pen Women, Waterloo-Cedar Rapids Branch records
Local chapter formed in 1932.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Pittman Family papers
Postal card albums of Marilla and Edith Pittman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Ashby Pownall papers
Journalist who reported on Camp Dodge in Iowa during World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Josephine Hirons Pullen papers
Teacher, artist, poet and author from Early, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Virginia Randolph papers
Anamosa, Iowa, poet and niece of Elizabeth Wherry.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Thomsen Raymond papers
Author and editor of children's books and poetry.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Winnifred Hiatt Scanlan papers
Memoir of growing up in Stockport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sally Stiles papers
Poet and president of the Artists in Action group in Muscatine, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Suckow Papers
Novelist and pacifist. Correspondence, diaries, subject files, notes, and preliminary drafts of writings. Also includes the work of Ferner Nuhn and William Suckow.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nancy Pfeiffer Towner papers
Iowa City artist and poet who published in a variety of journals and won numerous awards for her work.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives