Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Politicians - 30 hits

William B. Allison Papers
U.S. Senator and Representative from Iowa. Primarily correspondence from his years in the House and Senate. Spanning a half century the topics range from Indian affairs to Oklahoma statehood, banking to the Panama Canal, and Republican Party politics to railroads.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Frederick Elliott Biermann Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, and campaign material relating to his years in the Congress.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Steven V. Carter Papers
Attorney and U.S. Representative from Iowa . Subject files relating to his year in Congress and his earlier political and legal career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Paul Harvey Cunningham Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa . Correspondence, newspaper clippings, speeches, news releases, and other documents relating to his public and political life.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Curtis Companies Inc. Records
Founded in 1866 and dissolved in 1938, the Curtis Companies were a conglomerate of associated sash, door, and millwork companies that eventually consolidated into a single corporation. Includes correspondence, ledgers, journals, cashbooks, stockbooks, and minute books, with correspondence of U.S. Representative George M. Curtis.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lester Jesse Dickinson Papers
U.S. Representative and Senator from Iowa. Speeches, scrapbooks, correspondence, clippings, and campaign material all related to his political career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James I. Dolliver Papers
Attorney, U.S. Representative from Iowa, and Regional Legal Council for the International Cooperation Administration of the Middle East. Correspondence, speeches, and subject files relating to his career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Harry Freeland Garrett Papers
Iowa Supreme Court Justice and Iowa state legislator. Subject files relating to his career in law and politics. Includes correspondence, legal cases, law school reunions, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary Grefe papers
Educator, social activist, politician and businesswoman who was inducted into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 1980.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Josephine Gruhn papers
Britt, Iowa-born member of the Iowa House of Representatives and vice-chair of the Committee on Agriculture during the farm crisis of the 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John R. Hansen Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, subject files, films, and sound recordings from his term in Congress.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Clyde L. Herring Papers
Governor and U.S. Senator from Iowa. The papers primarily consist of political speeches and correspondence on topics ranging from neutrality to the Democratic conventions.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iowa Women's Political Caucus records
Organization to promote the advancement of women in politics.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ben F. Jensen Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, subject files, legislative records, and speeches relating to his career in the Congress.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Alberta Metcalf Kelly papers
High school English teacher who was active in state and national Democratic Party politics during the 1950s and 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nelson G. Kraschel Papers
Governor and Lieutenant Governor of Iowa. Papers relating to his political career and terms in office. Subject files include campaign materials, correspondence, speeches, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Fred Dickinson Letts Papers
Attorney, Congressman, and judge. Correspondence, family and personal records, with court decisions and speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Margaret McDonald papers
Active in Republican Party and vice-chairman of the Iowa Republican Central Committee in 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edward J. McManus Papers
Iowa state senator, lieutenant governor of Iowa, Democratic candidate for governor of Iowa, delegate to Democratic National Convention, and U.S. District Court Judge for Northern District of Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, telegrams, campaign material, press releases, photographs, newspaper clippings, tape recordings, phonograph recordings, and scrapbooks.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jake More Papers
Lawyer and State Chair of Iowa's Democratic State Central Committee. Speeches, correspondence, press releases, voter lists, financial reports, etc. all relating to More's involvement in Iowa's Democratic Party organization.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur A. Neu Papers
Iowa State senator, 1967-1972 and Lieutenant Governor of Iowa, 1973-1978. Subject files, correspondence, speeches, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary Jane Odell papers
Television journalist and politician who served as Iowa Secretary of State from 1980 to 1986.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Patricia J. Pardun papers
State vice chair of the Republican Party in Iowa from 1967 to 1973.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Charles Pickett Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa and attorney. Subject files relating to his Congressional career. Includes campaign materials, and files on conservation, tariffs, pensions, and other subjects.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Elizabeth Miller Richards papers
Politician and women's rights activist from Red Oak, Iowa,who ran for Iowa state representative in 1966.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Louise Smith papers
First woman to chair the Republican National Committee, serving from 1974 to 1977. Co-founder of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John Loomis Stevens Papers
Lawyer and politician of Boone, Iowa. Correspondence relating primarily to Steven's political activities, particularly in 1912.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Maggie Tinsman papers
Bettendorf Republican who served on the Scott County Board of Supervisors and the Iowa State Senate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Leonard G. Wolf Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa and Agency for International Development official. Correspondence, bills and resolutions, newsletters and press releases all related to his one term in Congress.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Katherine Mull Falvey Zastrow papers
State representative from 1958 to 1964 and the first woman elected to Charles City Council, 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives