Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Autobiographical Resources: Diaries, Memoirs and Oral Histories - 122 hits

Martha Jean Nicholson Browneller papers
Mahaska County, Iowa, farm woman who was active in 4-H and rural organizations. She recorded her daily activities in her diaries between 1935 and 1973.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Anna Moore Cheney diaries
Diarist, mother, and minister's wife.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Dallas papers
Tipton, Iowa, high school student who graduated in 1925.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Days Gone By: Reminiscences of Northwest Iowa
Typescript of an oral history project by Sibley-Ocheyedan High School students interviewing six residents of Osceola County.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Pearl Unmack Dix papers
Harrison County, Iowa-born schoolteacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Minnie Ducommun papers
Diary and obituary of a rural Iowa housewife.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Christine Dutson papers
Multi-volume memoir of a Mormon woman who was an educator, poet and advocate for the mentally ill.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Esther Everett papers
Home economics professor raised on a farm in Lacey, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Bobbitt Ettleman papers
The 1951 memoir describes rural life in nineteenth century Iowa and Indiana.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Almira Ames Farnham memoir
Essay describing the life of Almira Ames Farnham, a pioneer woman from New England who settled near Morley, Iowa in 1859.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Charlotte Faxon diary
Teacher who traveled widely during the Civil War period.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Beverly Barnes Fix Papers
Television and radio broadcaster, producer and writer who worked in Iowa and Hollywood in the 1940s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Georgana Falb Foster papers
A participant in the Camp Fire Girls between 1940 and 1954; materials include correspondence, scrapbooks and a memoir.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gwendolyn Fowler papers
The first African American woman pharmacist licensed in Iowa and presidential appointee to the United States Foreign Service in the 1950s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosa Knutson Gangestad papers
The daughter of Norwegian immigrants who came to Humboldt County, Iowa in 1872. Reflections on pioneer life through handwritten stories and letters for her grandchildren.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Adelia St. John Gates papers
Graduate of Genesee College in New York who moved to Waterloo, Iowa as a bride.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nellie M. Gebers papers
Artist, writer and teacher from Ira, Iowa who studied with Grant Wood.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marie Giddings papers
Detailed account of farm and rural community life as Marie Giddings knew it growing up in Kossuth County during the early 20th century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Blanche Basye Gilmore papers
Memoir of wife, mother, and grandmother whose husband Eugene Gilmore was Vice Governor of the Phillippines in the 1920s and president of the University of Iowa from 1934 to 1940.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Madge Girard papers
Reflections on Girard's early life homesteading in South Dakota.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Giving Voice to their Memories: Oral Histories of African American Women in Iowa
Oral history project of the Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy S. Grant papers
Unitarian Universalist and Head Start teacher, and spokesperson for victims of spousal abuse.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Esther Mae Christensen Grow memoir
Reflections on growing up in western Iowa and Nebraska include experiences in country school, college and as a teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Hagen memoir
Memoir describing life on a family farm near Manly, Iowa during the 1920s and 1930s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Arlene Gardner Hall papers
Rural Mt. Ayr, Iowa woman who worked in local homes as a washerwoman and housekeeper.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Hamilton papers
Teacher and world traveler who served in the New Hampshire legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lorraine Hansen papers
Diaries of a homemaker and bakery owner from Manson, Iowa
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Georgia Peeso Haygarth papers
Includes diaries of Georgia Peeso Haygarth of Spencer, Iowa and of her father, Melvin Moses Peeso, who was a logger in California.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Hedy Hustedde papers
Homemaker and librarian who lived abroad in Berlin for four years during the 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Her Own Story: Ten Benton County Women
Project of the Vinton, Iowa, American Association of University Women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Catharine King Herr diary
Farm wife who kept a diary from 1945 until her death in 1978.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Willow Hill papers
Diaries describe growing up in rural Iowa in the 1960s and the period from1992 to 2001.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Judy Herron Hoit papers
Disability access and awareness advocate and 1996 Ms. Wheelchair Iowa winner.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ida Bandfield Holden papers
Schoolteacher in the Waterloo area at the turn of the century.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary C. Hooper papers
Diary chronicling Hooper's daily life in Princeton, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Adelia M. Hoyt papers
Photos and a memoir written by a blind woman who helped establish the Iowa Home for Sightless Women in Des Moines.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Ankeny Hunter memoir
Secretary, vice-president, and then president of the Iowa Suffrage Memorial Commission in the 1920s and 1930s. Hunter was a peace activist, prohibitionist, and Red Cross worker during World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Women Artists Oral History Project
Oral histories and transcripts. Collection of 77 oral histories of Iowa women artists conducted by Jane Robinette in 1998-1999.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Women Judges Project papers
Oral history interviews with the 'pioneers' of Iowa's women jurists.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jane Elliott papers
Riceville, Iowa schoolteacher and anti-racism activist who pioneered diversity sensitivity training with her famous "Blue Eyed, Brown Eyed" exercise
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Langland Johnson papers
Nurse who served in the Army Nurse Corps during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Virginia Jones papers
Community activitst and writer Virginia Shrauger Jones grew up in Atlantic Iowa and served as a Captain in the U. S. Marine Corps during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Maude Barkley Keck papers
Diaries and account books of this Cherokee, Iowa woman record farm chores and expenses, housekeeping and family life.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alice Kelley papers
University of Iowa graduate who worked as a secretary. The papers mainly consist of the diaries she kept from 1926-2002.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bonnie Kern papers
Iowa author who was a victim of sexual and physical abuse, served time in jail and eventually was pardoned.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alice Kipp papers
The papers include Kipp's reminiscence of her childhood on an Iowa farm.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Pearl Knoop papers
Librarian and bird watcher from Marble Rock, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Della Marie Koppenhaver papers
Two reminiscences of Alice Tenley Hora, an Iowa farm woman, detailing farm life in the 1920s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Maria Margaretha Kromminga papers
Diaries of a Monticello, Iowa, native who lived on her parents' farm and never married, raising her son alone.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gladys Moeller Lage papers
Personal accounts of Lage's childhood and upbringing on a farm in Cedar County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ortha Lane papers
1917 graduate of Cornell College, Iowa, who served as a missionary in the Changchao District of Northern China.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Larson papers
Anamosa and Iowa City resident who worked for the The University of Iowa Hospital.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lois Laughlin papers
Papers of an activist from West Branch, Iowa, include correspondence and newspaper clippings relating to her husband's status as a conscientious objector.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joy Smith Lewallen memoir
This is My Story, This is My Song, unpublished memoir.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carrie Lindahl papers
Rural Linn County banker who worked outside of the home from 1910s to 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mae Irene Ludemann papers
High school history teacher who traveled to Europe in 1929 and recorded her experiences in a diary.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth Fagan Lynch memoir
Teacher and farmer of Irish descent from Dubuque County, Iowa whose memoir is called, A Trunk and its Chips.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Kate Martinson papers
Journals chronicle the life of an Iowa farm woman including her marriage, childrearing, family farm management, divorce, and remarriage.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ellen Hanson Mason papers
Diaries chronicle Ellen Hanson Mason's life on the family farm in rural northeast Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

A. Louise Mays papers
Social worker and University of Iowa professor.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dale McCormick papers
Carpenter and activist for women in non-traditional jobs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helena Jongewaard McDonald papers
Teacher who attended Iowa State College in 1914.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

McGill Family papers
The collection consists mainly of correspondence and includes the papers of early twentieth century labor activist, IWW member, and Buffalo school teacher, Pearl McGill.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Sears McHenry papers
Diary and account book of the bride of a Civil War officer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bettie McKenzie papers
Community activist from Red Oak, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alice McMurry papers
Promise City, Iowa elementary school teacher and poet.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Magdalen Meade papers
Iowa farm woman and political organizer who was active in Roxanne Conlin's gubernatorial campaign in 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edna Means papers
Characterist and dramatic reader, and chatauqua performer from Tama, Iowa organized her own talent agency.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Perkins Messenger memoir
Reflections on growing up and raising a family in rural Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marianne Michael papers
Served with her husband as missionaries for the Church of the Brethren in Garkida, Nigeria from 1948 to 1961.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth R. Miller papers
Farm woman and Republican state legislator from Marshalltown, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Paul Mitchell papers
An edited copy of Frances Mitchell's diary entries chronicling her journey from Seattle, Washington to Tokyo, Japan in 1948.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruby Crumley Mitchell diaries
Daily diaries of this Rhodes, Iowa, native.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

E. Virginia Mowry papers
Newton, Iowa teacher who later worked as an adminstrative assistant to James Cash Penney of J. C. Penney Company.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ortha P. Neff papers
Red Cross staff member who was stationed in Okinawa and Hawaii during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bess Newcomer papers
Appanoose County farmwoman, columnist, and Farm Bureau officer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Melba Gardemann Olson papers
Benton County, Iowa, farm girl and teacher who played on her high school's basketball championship team in 1927.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Olson/Clampitt memoirs
Memoirs of life in rural Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Jane Parsons papers
Reflections on her pioneer life from Rochester, New York to Dakota City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jesse Antrim Perkins papers
Rural elementary school teacher and farm wife whose papers consist of three partial journals.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Thelma Petersen papers
Diaries of homemaker from Kirkman, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Emma Lou Leeper Phelan papers
Brooklyn, Iowa, native who was a riveter for Ryan Aeronautical Company in California, 1944 to 1945.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Pierce-Stuart Family papers
Diaries of Mary Pierce describe family life in Harlan, Iowa from 1927 to 1947; Mary Clark's memoir reflects on medical challenges in the early 1900s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Sprout Place memoir
Reflections on life as a farmwoman and young mother during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Virginia Randolph papers
Anamosa, Iowa, poet and niece of Elizabeth Wherry.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Byington Reed papers
The diaries of an Iowa City woman who supported herself as a seamstress prior to her marriage in 1896.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Frances Reger-Wilkinson papers
Social worker who worked for the American National Red Cross during and after World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mae Atkinson Robinson papers
Correspondence and diaries of an Iowa farm woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lillian Ronk papers
West Central Iowa farmwoman known locally as 'the flower lady.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Henrietta Ruff papers
Amana, Iowa, school teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marie Rumble papers
A homesteader who lived in Wyoming, Colorado and Washington State.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Almira Safely Rutledge papers
Early, Iowa, wife and mother.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shirley M. Sandage papers
Mason City, Iowa-born civil rights activist, United States field representative for the Christian Children's Fund and director of program development for the National Organization on Disability.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Winnifred Hiatt Scanlan papers
Memoir of growing up in Stockport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lori Schieffer papers
Includes information on the sale of Girl Scout cookies in Muscatine, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Hazelle Keir Schmuecker papers
Autobiographical essays and family history of six generations by rural schoolteacher, homemaker, and artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lois McIntyre Schutte papers
Two memoirs of an Iowa farm woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helene Scriabine papers
Author and Professor Emeritus of Russian at the University of Iowa, who emmigrated to the United States after surviving the siege of Leningrad in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jessie Field Shambaugh papers
Shenandoah, Iowa teacher who became school superintendent for Page County, Iowa. She played a central role in the development of activities for rural youth and is referred to as the 'Mother of 4-H.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jennie Sies papers
Diary of a young Oxford, Iowa farm woman who died on October 3, 1880.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Clara Steen Skott papers
Free-lance writer, home economics teacher, and civic leader who wrote articles and diaries concerning life in Iowa, China, and Wisconsin.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Laura Gibson Smith papers
Casey, Iowa native who taught country school before marrying and homesteading in Wyoming in 1913. She taught school in the Philippines in the 1910s and 1920s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marcella Henley Smith papers
Memoir, Confetti, of her life in Albia, Iowa, correspondence, and journals of books read since 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alma Erickson Swanson papers
Swedish farm woman whose three children became academics during the 1930s and 1940s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Swope and DeLand Families papers
Family papers and subject files concerning women artists, women writers, and peace activism in Northwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carrie V. Talcott papers
Active clubwoman, Methodist, writer and farmer from Fayette County who spent 19 years in a retirement home in Fort Dodge.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Fatherson Taylor papers
Reminiscences and essays by Taylor and the transcript of a 1915 memoir written by Editha Phillips Fatherson.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Velma Skott Teeple memoir
Childhood memories of an Eastern Iowa teacher, writer, and farmwoman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Florence Vallejo Terronez papers
The family came to Horton, Kansas, from Mexico in 1910 and moved to West Des Moines in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosemary Tharp papers
Cedar Falls native who served in the WAVES during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Esther Thornhill papers
Ida Grove, Iowa mother and homemaker who worked at a hatchery and at a hamburger shop before marrying.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Magdalena "Helen" Tylee papers
A German war bride who came to Iowa in 1922. During World War II she ran the family farm while her husband was serving in the armed forces.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mabel Korver Van Haaften memoir
Dutch-American farmwoman in early nineteenth century Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ernella Van Horn papers
The second of four generations of women in her family to play basketball in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jeanne Van Kley papers
Farmer's wife from Ocheydan, Iowa who raised four children.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Van Zante and De Cook Families papers
Late 19th century diary of adolescent Dutch-American farm girl and 1932 farm diary of her daughter-in-law.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Eva Donelson Wilson papers
Native of Ogden, Iowa, and professor of nutrition at colleges in the United States and Brazil.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Faye Wookey papers
Native of Red Oak, Iowa who who recalls family life on a farm in Montgomery County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jerry Yocum papers
Transcript of the diary of Beulah Marie Lucas of Pocahontas, Iowa compiled by her son Jerry Yocum in 1997.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lela Aurilla Yost memoir
Schoolteacher and farm wife near Mason City and Kesley, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mildred "Micki" Zeller papers
Costume designer and avid traveler whose papers include an extensive collection of slides, related travel diaries, and materials pertaining to the Iran Hostage Crisis.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bernice Zimmer papers
Diaries of an Iowa woman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives