Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Women in Wartime - 34 hits

Laura F. Hutchison Davis papers
Social worker in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, from the 1930s though the 1960s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Entre Nous records (Iowa City, Iowa)
Women's drama study club founded in 1914 in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Zella May Gerber papers
A secretary who worked in Alaska in 1943 and at the Oak Ridge Atomic Plant in Tennessee from 1944 to 1945.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Blanche Basye Gilmore papers
Memoir of wife, mother, and grandmother whose husband Eugene Gilmore was Vice Governor of the Phillippines in the 1920s and president of the University of Iowa from 1934 to 1940.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Eleanor Gildner Hageboeck papers
University of Iowa alumna and clubwoman. She wrote a column for the Iowa City Press Citizen during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Icey Lenora Teel Harling papers
Lecturer, author and playwright who ran the Teel School of Expression in Davenport, 1918-1934 and was later a writer and editor for the Durant News.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Catherine Snedeker Hill papers
Illinois student who moved to Mt. Pleasant, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Constance Frick Irwin papers
Author, librarian, and professor of library science who was a WAVE during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Langland Johnson papers
Nurse who served in the Army Nurse Corps during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ann Larimer letters
Queen City, Iowa, resident who wrote to her husband while he was serving in the Civil War.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marion Cox Lichty papers
Waterloo, Iowa native who served in the Women's Army Auxiliary Corps during World War II and then in the United States Air Force Reserve.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Louise Liers papers
World War I Army nurse from Clayton, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Sears McHenry papers
Diary and account book of the bride of a Civil War officer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Kathy Ormond papers
Red Cross recreation aide who was stationed in Vietnam from July 1968 to October 1969.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Jane Parsons papers
Reflections on her pioneer life from Rochester, New York to Dakota City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Roberta Pendleton papers
Sioux City, Iowa resident who was a WAVE during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Sprout Place memoir
Reflections on life as a farmwoman and young mother during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Ashby Pownall papers
Journalist who reported on Camp Dodge in Iowa during World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Frances Reger-Wilkinson papers
Social worker who worked for the American National Red Cross during and after World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helene Scriabine papers
Author and Professor Emeritus of Russian at the University of Iowa, who emmigrated to the United States after surviving the siege of Leningrad in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Virginia Tanner Simonsen papers
Cherokee, Iowa-born woman who enrolled at Iowa State College in home economics and later moved to Quimby, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Clara Steen Skott papers
Free-lance writer, home economics teacher, and civic leader who wrote articles and diaries concerning life in Iowa, China, and Wisconsin.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Gladys Spayde papers
Stage actress who spent her childhood in Saskatchewan and was a teacher in Fairfield, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Harriet Adeline Stevens papers
Teacher of nutrition education and dietetics; U. S. Army Second Lieutenant who served as a medical hospital dietician at Camp Gordon, Georgia during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sylvia M. Stoesser papers
University of Iowa graduate in 1928 with a Ph.D. in physical chemistry. She was the first woman chemist to work for Dow Chemical Company.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bette Brooks Stone papers
Mapleton, Iowa high school student who sent telegrams for Western Union during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Stong Family papers
Correspondence of Alice Stong details her undergraduate experiences at The University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Fatherson Taylor papers
Reminiscences and essays by Taylor and the transcript of a 1915 memoir written by Editha Phillips Fatherson.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rosemary Tharp papers
Cedar Falls native who served in the WAVES during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Magdalena "Helen" Tylee papers
A German war bride who came to Iowa in 1922. During World War II she ran the family farm while her husband was serving in the armed forces.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marjorie Vandervelde papers
Photojournalist and writer who lived with Cuna Indians on the San Blas Islands to learn their culture and traditions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

War Brides of World War II
1995 honors thesis of University of Iowa undergraduate student, Rachel Casteel.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cora Call Whitley papers
Clubwoman and conservationist involved in the Council of National Defense Women's Committee during World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Willing Workers Club (Fayette County, Iowa) records
A social and benevolent women's club initially formed as a Red Cross sewing club during World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives