Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for University of Iowa - 76 hits

Angelica Lynn Rose Atalig oral history
Oral history, 1999. The narrator describes growing up in a bilingual, biracial family in Garner, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nancy V. "Rusty" Barcelo papers
Activist and administrator at the University of Iowa whose papers provide insight into Latino life and culture in Iowa and across the Midwest.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mildred Augustine Wirt Benson papers
Journalist for the Toledo Blade and writer of the first Nancy Drew mysteries and other children's series books; collection includes writings, clippings, scrapbooks and a few photographs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Venise T. Berry papers
Novelist and associate professor of journalism and mass communication at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Susan Boyd papers
Journalist and writer who published several articles in Mademoiselle. She also served as University of Iowa First Lady from 1969-1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Shirley A. Briggs papers
Artist, editor, and naturalist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Brine, Pelton and Thompson V. The University of Iowa records
Materials relate to the suit filed by 3 dental hygiene faculty members charging that the scheduled closing of the University of Iowa Dental Hygiene Program was discriminatory.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Robert Morriss Browning Papers
World War I letters to students at the University of Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Norma Peg Burke papers
Physical education professor at the University of Iowa and past president of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women, 1976-1977.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Huiskamp Calhoun
Well-known children's author. This collection consists of several versions of her manuscript for Magic in the Alley. Iowa Author Ms.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Homer Calkin Papers
Historian, archivist, and author. Correspondence files; diaries; memorabilia; scrapbooks dealing with his early life, education, career in the State Department, and work for the Methodist Church.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carr and Carr Records
Complete records of a pioneer law firm and several of its predecessors, including correspondence, account books, ledgers, cases, journals, and receipts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Marion Carson papers
Graduate of Ministry at the University of Dubuque Theological Seminary, where she was the first Unitarian Universalist student.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Tom Chehak Papers
Television and film writer, producer and director. 26 episodes of Galidor, an action series for children sponsored by Lego Media International and the Disney network; 13 episodes of Scout's Safari, an action-adventure series for young people set and shot in South Africa; materials relating to The Listener, for which Chehak served as an Executive Producer, shot in Toronto.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Kittredge Cherry and Audrey Lockwood
Life partners Kittredge Cherry (1957- ), an author, journalist, and minister to the LGBT community, and Audrey Lockwood (1957- ), a financial planner, met as students at the University of Iowa in 1975 and lived and worked in Japan before settling in California.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frank Conroy Manuscripts
Holograph manuscripts of two of Frank Conroy's published books, Stop-time (1967) and Body & Soul (1993).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cecile Cooper papers
Civil rights worker in Davenport.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Allin Dakin Papers
Administrative dean at the University of Iowa (1944-1974). Correspondence, notebooks, and speeches relating to Dakin's many civic interests and activities. Topics included are Rotary International, Boy Scouts of America, and U of I.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Nadine Domond papers
Hawkeye women's basketball star, WNBA player and entrepreneur.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Eve Drewelowe papers
Artist who attended the State University of Iowa and in 1924 became the first person to receive a masters degree in Painting and Art History.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Willis Charles Edson Papers
Lawyer, Iowa state legislator, and sportsman. Correspondence, subject folders, and clippings relating primarily to his college days, but also concerning his election as speaker of the Iowa House of Representatives.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lolly Eggers papers
Papers related to the social activism and career of librarian Lolly Eggers.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Paul Engle Papers
Poet (numerous books from Worn Earth, 1932), editor of the O. Henry Prize Stories, 1954-1959, director of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, 1941-1967, and co-founder and director of the International Writers' Program, 1967-1976 at the University of Iowa. Literary manuscripts, correspondence, subject files, and student works documenting his career as a writer and teacher.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Four Cs of Johnson County records
Records of the local Community Coordinated Child Care.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Patricia Geadelmann papers
Feminist and physical educator who was a strong proponent of the ERA and Title IX.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Giving Voice to their Memories: Oral Histories of African American Women in Iowa
Oral history project of the Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Christine Grant papers
Sports administrator, professor, and gender equity activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Archie L. Greene papers
Writer and volunteer who earned a doctorate in English from the University of Iowa while living with spinocerebellar degeneration.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

W. Earl Hall Papers
Editor and publisher of the Mason City Globe Gazette. Papers relating to his career and civic activities. Subject files, correspondence, speeches, and editorials reflect his work for such organizations as the Red Cross, Radio Free Europe, and the Iowa State Board of Regents.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Phyllis Harper-Bardach papers
Educator of hearing-impaired children and retired professor of Education at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Claudine Harris papers
Harris worked in radiation detection instrumentation. She was active in the Johnson County League of Women Voters and the Johnson County Alliance for the Mentally Ill.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Lemme Reading Club records
African American reading club formed in 1984 by University of Iowa graduate students.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Patricia Herring papers
Feminist, social worker, and advocate for persons with HIV/AIDS.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Loren L. Hickerson Papers
Director of Alumni Programs and Director of Community Relations for the University of Iowa and mayor of Iowa City. Subject files, correspondence, speeches, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iowa Author's Manuscripts Collection
Includes manuscripts, galley proofs, page proofs, dust jackets, and other miscellany associated with publications of many Iowa Authors.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jean Jew Justice Committee records
and artifact. The committee organized in 1990 to support Jean Jew in her sexual harrassment lawsuit against the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Leah A. Jones papers
Chicago native and graduate of the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Alice Kelley papers
University of Iowa graduate who worked as a secretary. The papers mainly consist of the diaries she kept from 1926-2002.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Margaret Keyes papers
Professor of Home Economics at the University of Iowa and nationally recognized leader in the field of historic preservation.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nile C. Kinnick Papers
Student leader, scholar, and athlete from Iowa. Correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, speeches, photographs, articles, etc.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jean Lloyd-Jones papers
State legislator from Iowa City and president of the Iowa Peace Institute.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marianne Michael papers
Served with her husband as missionaries for the Church of the Brethren in Garkida, Nigeria from 1948 to 1961.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

James Cutler Milliman Papers
Student at U of I, Civil War soldier, Lt. Governor of Iowa. Photographs and letters written about the University of Iowa, Harrison County, Iowa and New York.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Estera Milman Contemporary Art Collection
Primarily ATCA administrative files containing a vast amount of information on the sources of the ATCA collections and detailed records regarding grants won by and exhibitiions curated by ATCA staff prior to 2000.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lois Baker Muehl papers
University of Iowa rhetoric professor who published children's books and taught English as a second language at refugee camps in Thailand, Korea, and China.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cherry Muhanji papers
Writer, lesbian activist, and University of Iowa alumna.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frank Nye Papers
Reporter and editor for The Cedar Rapids Gazette. Correspondence, subject files, and photographs relating to Nye's career with the Gazette. Includes information on Iowa politics and legislature, reapportionment, Herbert Hoover, and copies of articles written by Nye.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Palmer/Calkins/Corbin Papers
Letters, diaries, genealogies, papers, and videocassette dealing with the Civil War, the Mormon move west, and World War II.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary Parden papers
University of Iowa graduate who worked as secretary to four University of Iowa presidents.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Pi Lambda Theta, Theta Chapter records
Honorary society for women students in the field of education.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edwin Ford Piper Collection
Piper's notes on Western ballads, with music for some; other folk materials including rimes, riddles, games, folk sayings, quadrille calls, slang, superstitions, and folk remedies.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Prentiss Family papers
The family came to Iowa City in 1905 when Henry Prentiss established the Anatomy Department at the State University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Rainbow Project Task Force records
1996 University of Iowa task force with the goal of reviewing university policies and the campus climate and making recommendations for a more welcoming climate for LGBT individuals.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John Cantwell Reid Papers
Cedar Rapids, Iowa businessman; president of the National Oats Company; member of the Iowa State Board of Regents. Correspondence and memoranda relating to his term on the Board of Regents and his friendship with Grant Wood.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Conger Reynolds Papers
Journalist, diplomat, and public relations expert. Subject files, correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, etc. relating to his varied career, from WWI intelligence officer to Chicago Tribune editor in Paris to consulate official to public relations director for Standard Oil.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Gladys Talcott Rife papers
Mt.Vernon, Iowa high school teacher who later owned and directed The Depot Museum in Fayette County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marilyn Preheim Rose papers
Professor of Anthropology and Women's Studies at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Rouse papers
Journalist who worked for the Office of Public Information at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Schaefer papers
A Latin teacher who served as friend and mentor to Vietnamese refugees in the Iowa City community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Fred Schwengel Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa to 84th-88th and 90th-92nd Congresses. Legislative and congressional papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Hubert Scott Papers
Scott was the head of the Department of English at Coe College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa for seven years beginning in 1908. He joined the faculty of the English department at the University of Iowa in 1915. The collection documents Scott's research theories regarding the connections between speech inflections and literary authorship, as well as his book collecting interests which focused on John Henry Ireland.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Helene Scriabine papers
Author and Professor Emeritus of Russian at the University of Iowa, who emmigrated to the United States after surviving the siege of Leningrad in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Shoots papers
Writer, performer, volunteer, and nurse in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Geneva Southall papers
Professor Emeritus of Afro-American Studies and Music at the University of Minnesota; University of Iowa alumna.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Judge Roy L. Stephenson Papers
U.S. Circuit Judge, Eighth Circuit and previously U.S. District Judge. Case files, correspondence, and subject files.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Velma Stuit scrapbooks
Wife of Dean of University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and organizer of Newcomers Club in 1938 and International Wives Club in 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

The Sweatshop Chronicles scrapbook
Activities of the Iowa City chapter of the national organization, Students Against Sweatshops.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Maggie Tinsman papers
Bettendorf Republican who served on the Scott County Board of Supervisors and the Iowa State Senate.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

University of Iowa Celebration of Excellence and Achievment Among Women records
Annual gathering begun in 1982.  BY 2007 seven awards were given each year.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

University of Iowa Women in Science and Engineering Program
Program established in 1994 to expand and improve educational and professional opportunities for women in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) and provide support for students in these fields.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Warren Van Dine Papers
Consists of audio recordings, biographical information, correspondence, and materials relating to Mr. Van Dine's editorial positions with Much Ado and Upward. Also included in this collection are several manuscripts and typescripts of poems, essays, and short stories as well as Mr. Van Dine's memories of his time spent as an undergraduate at the State University of Iowa in the 1920s. Photographs, speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Women Against Racism Committee (Iowa City, Iowa) records
Multiethnic group founded in 1981 by women from the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Linda Yanney papers
Iowa City feminist and champion of LGBT rights.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Janie Yates-Glandorf papers
Iowa City high school drama and English teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Christie York papers
University of Iowa graduate and laboratory assistant who was active in student government and served as a steward in AFSCME Local 12.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elayne Zalis papers
Writer and multimedia artist who received her doctorate from the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives