Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Search Results for Video recordings - 94 hits

Jean Berry papers
Des Moines-based artist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Evelyn Birkby Collection of Radio Homemaker Materials
Cookbooks, newsletters, and other publications of the Radio Homemakers who broadcast over KMA and KFNF in southwest Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nellie Bishop oral history
Buchanan County, Iowa, native who farmed with her husband.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joan Blundall papers
Social worker who developed support services for rural families during the 1980s farm crisis in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Bonfiglio papers
Member of the Unitarian Universalist Society of Iowa City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marlene Booth Papers
Jewish independent filmmaker raised in Des Moines, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bridging the Generations: the Lives and Contributions of Rural Iowa Women records
This exhibit was created by the Master Farm Homemakers Guild to publicize their history in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Church Women United (Johnson County, Iowa) records
Johnson County, Iowa chapter of Church Women United.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lida Cochran papers
Audiovisual educator and professor in the Education Department at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Roxanne Barton Conlin papers
Attorney and political activist who co-founded the Iowa Women's Political Caucus and was appointed Federal Prosecutor in 1977.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

John Culver Papers
U.S. Congressman and Senator from Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Aldeen Davis papers
Muscatine, Iowa, newspaper columnist active in arts, civic, educational, and religious organizations.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dieman-Bennett Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) records
Cedar Rapids dance studio founded in 1951 by Edna Dieman and Julia Bennett.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nadine Domond papers
Hawkeye women's basketball star, WNBA player and entrepreneur.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Patricia Donahue papers
Nurse educator and scholar.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Eve Drewelowe papers
Artist who attended the State University of Iowa and in 1924 became the first person to receive a masters degree in Painting and Art History.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joan Vander Naald Egenes papers
Des Moines-born clubwoman, community leader, businesswoman, and Republican Party activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Morton Ellsworth papers
Ohio born psychometrist who divorced in 1957 and moved to Iowa City with her daughters.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Embroiderers' Guild of America, Plum Grove Chapter, records
The guild taught needlework skills and participated in shows.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Emma Goldman Clinic (Iowa City, Iowa) records
Feminist health clinic.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Barbara Fassbinder papers
Rural nurse who contracted AIDS on the job and became a national spokeswoman for occupational safety.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Penny Furgerson papers
Native of India who founded the Gateway Dance Theatre, a Des Moines-based company specializing in multiethnic dance.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Louise Goldman papers
Public servant, feminist activist, and poet from Davenport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Julie Goodrich papers
Adel, Iowa native who was an accomplished high school athlete in the 1970s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Christine Grant papers
Sports administrator, professor, and gender equity activist.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy S. Grant papers
Unitarian Universalist and Head Start teacher, and spokesperson for victims of spousal abuse.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Gunderson papers
Papers include photographs of 1995 suffrage parade and Iowa ERA rallies.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dora Jane Hamblin papers
Iowa native who wrote for the Cedar Rapids Gazette, LIFE magazine, and other periodicals.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Hamilton papers
Teacher and world traveler who served in the New Hampshire legislature.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Beverly A. Hannon papers
Two-term Iowa state senator. Hannon chaired the Human Resources Committee and was instrumental in founding the Iowa Women's Foundation in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Phyllis Harper-Bardach papers
Educator of hearing-impaired children and retired professor of Education at the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

E. Marie Hawkins papers
Iowa City elementary school teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Frances Hawthorne papers
Des Moines educator whose materials include You Can't Go Back to Buxton and African Americans in Iowa: a Chronicle of Contributions, 1830-1992.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sister Gwen Hennessey papers
Franciscan nun sentanced to six months in federal prison for trespassing at Fort Benning, Georgia.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Phylliss Henry papers
First woman assigned to patrol duty on the Des Moines police force, serving from 1972 to 1982.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Edna Herbst papers
Videotaped interview with Herbst about the history of television broadcasting in Iowa, 1998.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Patricia Herring papers
Feminist, social worker, and advocate for persons with HIV/AIDS.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Patricia Hillard papers
Papers document Hillard's work as Western U.S. Division Director of La Leche League International.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carol Hodne papers
Iowa farm activist who served as the first executive director of the North American Farm Alliance during the farm crisis of the 1980s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Judy Herron Hoit papers
Disability access and awareness advocate and 1996 Ms. Wheelchair Iowa winner.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Harold E. Hughes Gubernatiorial Papers
Governor and U.S. Senator from Iowa. Gubernatorial and senatorial office files relating to his political career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Iowa Cornets records
Professional women's basketball team that played in the Women's Basketball League from 1978-1980.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Women in Natural Resources records
Iowa chapter of the national organization.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Iowa Women's Political Caucus records
Organization to promote the advancement of women in politics.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Johnson County ERA Coalition records
Organized in Iowa City to promote the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment to the constitution of the state of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Judy Klemesrud papers
Nationally recognized journalist whose reporting included coverage of the women's movement.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Seymour Krim Papers
Journalist and essayist. Correspondence, typescripts, notes, reviews, published copies, etc. relating to his literary career and his contributions to beat literature and the new journalism movement.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Kathleen Wood Laurila papers
Iowa activist involved in the peace movement as well energy conservation and environmental protection coalitions.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) Council 10 (Davenport, Iowa) records
The members of Davenport LULAC Council 10 engaged in a wide range of social and political activities including annual fiestas, civil rights and fair housing.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

League of Women Voters of Iowa records
State-level branch of the national non-partisan League of Women Voters which seeks to promote political responsibility through educating and informing the public on selected governmental issues and promoting action on those issues.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

League of Women Voters of Johnson County records
Local branch of the national non-partisan League of Women Voters which seeks to promote political responsibility through educating and informing the public on selected governmental issues and promoting action on those issues.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

League of Women Voters of Muscatine records
During the 1980s and 1990s, the LWV of Muscatine conducted a number of studies on Muscatine county issues, including the ambulance 911 system, law enforcement, county courthouse space needs, alternative forms of county government, housing, education, land use, hazardous waste, local option tax, the U.S. Highway 61 Bypass, and the Muscatine fire station.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

League of Women Voters of Mount Vernon-Lisbon records
The league has been involved in various projects and studies throughout its history, reflecting changing political issues while maintaining a core concern for the community of Mount Vernon.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Billie D. Lloyd papers
Social worker, community activist, and civic administrator who founded the Quad Cities Conference on Black Families, Inc.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Pauline Lyon papers
Waterloo, Iowa, native who served in WAVES during World War II and later worked for the American Red Cross.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

A. Louise Mays papers
Social worker and University of Iowa professor.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dale McCormick papers
Carpenter and activist for women in non-traditional jobs.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marion Meade Buster Keaton Research Files
Research material compiled by Meade while writing the biography Buster Keaton Cut to the Case.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Dorothy Misbach papers
Educator whose lifelong career of working with partially seeing and blind students began in 1938 at the Perkins School for the Blind in Massachussetts.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

David Morrell Papers
Born in Ontario 1943, awarded a PhD in American literature by Pennsylvania State University in 1970, taught at Iowa from 1970 to 1986, retired to write. Perhaps best known for Rambo, the central character of his 1972 novel First Blood, which lead to the Rambo films starring Sylvester Stallone, Morrell has written numerous novels as well as screen- and teleplays. The growing collection of his papers includes video and audio tapes as well as research notes, correspondence, and manuscripts.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Cherry Muhanji papers
Writer, lesbian activist, and University of Iowa alumna.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Virginia Myers papers
Artist, University of Iowa professor, and inventor of the Iowa Foil Press.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Nancy Drew Collection
An ongoing collection of materials related to the 1993 Nancy Drew Conference and Mildred Wirt Benson.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

National Abortion Rights Action League of Iowa records
Local chapter of the national association.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ortha P. Neff papers
Red Cross staff member who was stationed in Okinawa and Hawaii during World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary C. Neuhauser papers
Democrat who served four terms in the Iowa House and one four-year term in the Senate (1986-1998).
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Linda Kinney Neuman papers
Served for over twenty years in the Iowa judiciary and was the first woman to be appointed to the Iowa Supreme Court.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Kathy Ormond papers
Red Cross recreation aide who was stationed in Vietnam from July 1968 to October 1969.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Viola Nesfield Owen papers
Mother and piano teacher living in Wisconsin, cooresponding with family in Waterloo, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Palmer/Calkins/Corbin Papers
Letters, diaries, genealogies, papers, and videocassette dealing with the Civil War, the Mormon move west, and World War II.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Polk County Women Attorneys records
Association to promote the professional growth of women in the law.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Cutler Prior papers
Geologist who worked with the Iowa Geological Survey in Iowa City for 38 years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Radio-Television News Directors Association Records
Correspondence, minutes of the board of directors, conventionreports, financial records, committee files, copies of thepublication RTNDA Bulletin, membership files, audiotapes, videotapes, and other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Max Rafferty Papers
Educator, author, and columnist. Speeches, newspaper columns, and articles about education. Also includes sound recordings, video tapes, and filmstrips.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Howard Richardson Papers
Dramatist. Subject files relating to his career and personal life, including dra s, photographs, set designs, etc. Much of the collection relates to his best known play, Dark of the Moon..
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Shirley M. Sandage papers
Mason City, Iowa-born civil rights activist, United States field representative for the Christian Children's Fund and director of program development for the National Organization on Disability.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helene Scriabine papers
Author and Professor Emeritus of Russian at the University of Iowa, who emmigrated to the United States after surviving the siege of Leningrad in 1941.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jessie Field Shambaugh papers
Shenandoah, Iowa teacher who became school superintendent for Page County, Iowa. She played a central role in the development of activities for rural youth and is referred to as the 'Mother of 4-H.'
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jean Shoots papers
Writer, performer, volunteer, and nurse in Iowa City.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Louise Smith papers
First woman to chair the Republican National Committee, serving from 1974 to 1977. Co-founder of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sylvia M. Stoesser papers
University of Iowa graduate in 1928 with a Ph.D. in physical chemistry. She was the first woman chemist to work for Dow Chemical Company.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Terronez papers
Davenport area community activist and leader in its Mexican American community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marcia Thayer papers
Dancer, choreographer and educator who worked in Iowa, Massachussetts, Oregon and New York.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Vina Thorpe papers
Des Moines newspaper columnist and editor who ran Thorpe Publications with her husband.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

United Nations Association of the U.S., Iowa Chapter Records
Correspondence, minutes of board meetings, annual assembly programs, newsletters, financial records, environmental and model United Nations materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

University of Iowa Celebration of Excellence and Achievment Among Women records
Annual gathering begun in 1982.  BY 2007 seven awards were given each year.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

University of Iowa Dental Hygiene Program records
Started in 1949 and was one of the earliest such programs in the United States.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

University of Iowa Department of Physical Education for Women records
The department was established in 1924 and was a pioneer in the development of graduate study and professional training. The department existed until 2000 under a variety of names and organizations.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

James A. Van Allen Papers

Repository: University of Iowa Archives

Anabeth Koob Voigts papers
Materials relate to the efforts of Voigts to obtain the release of her sister, Kathryn Koob, who was held hostage in Iran between 1979 and 1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Esther J. Walls papers
Mason City, Iowa native and librarian who was the first African-American female student at University of Iowa elected to Phi Beta Kappa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Donovan F. Ward Papers
Dubuque, Iowa, surgeon. Subject files, articles, and speeches relating in great part to his term as president of the American Medical Association.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Maude Esther White papers
Founder of the Des Moines Tutoring Center, and Iowa's first Affirmative Action administrator from 1973 to 1978.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Verda Williams papers
Communication specialist at Iowa State University who produced the documentary Black Des Moines: Voices Seldom Heard.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives