Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Alphabetical List of Iowa Women's Archives: W
Narrow your results by Repository: Special Collections | University Archives | Iowa Women's Archives | All |
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z  
Search Results - 49 hits

Wagner Family papers
Materials from the lives of two sisters, Eva Wagner and Grace Wagner Patten, and one sister-in-law, Alice Nicolet Wagner.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Martha Wahl papers
Mathematician and teacher who patented educational toys for teaching mathematics to children.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Wallace Women History Project
Transcripts of 13 oral history interviews describe the experiences of the Henry Wallace family in Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Walling Family letters
Oskaloosa family whose daughter Ivyl Walling Welton graduated from Grinnell College and moved to Tulsa, Oklahoma
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Esther J. Walls papers
Mason City, Iowa native and librarian who was the first African-American female student at University of Iowa elected to Phi Beta Kappa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

War Brides of World War II
1995 honors thesis of University of Iowa undergraduate student, Rachel Casteel.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Myrle Olive Ward papers
Native of Hamburg, Iowa and missionary to the West Indies and the Belgian Congo from 1925 until 1959.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Cromer Weir papers
Journalist and children's author from Union, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Jane Alison Weiss papers
Assistant Professor of Sociology at the University of Iowa, 1978-1981.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Welch and Angrick Collection
Material relating to the Heart of Hawkeye Council of Campfire Girls, The Woman's Christian Temperance Union, and the Iowa Department of the Woman's Relief Corps.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Joann Weldon papers
A resident of Davenport from 1962, Weldon publicly acknowledged her lesbian identity during the early 1950s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Helen Lee Hensleigh Wenger papers
University of Iowa graduate and teacher whose papers include correspondence and scrapbook files relating to her work on a variety of social issues including gun control.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Marta Werner papers
Native of Mexico who came to Fort Madison, Iowa in 1914. Her community activism centered on the Iowa State Penitentiary in Fort Madison.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lois Wescott papers
Geology graduate of the University of Iowa who traveled to Japan and Venezuela to work for oil companies.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

West Branch Women's Clubs (Cedar County, Iowa) records
Records from seven women's clubs in West Branch, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

West Lucas Women's Club (Johnson County, Iowa) records
The club initially met on the second Tuesday of the month for conversation, a program, and refreshments. Later, meetings were held bimonthly and were dedicated to study, roll call, a program, and refreshments.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Elizabeth Wherry papers
Farm magazine writer.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Carl and Laura White papers
Letters to Iowa resident Lorinda Birgen from Carl White who served in the U.S. Army in France during and after World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Lucy Van Voorhis White papers
Schoolteacher and farm wife of Dallas County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Maude Esther White papers
Founder of the Des Moines Tutoring Center, and Iowa's first Affirmative Action administrator from 1973 to 1978.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sarah White papers
Correspondence and circle letters of a northwestern Iowa farmwoman.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Floy Eugenia Whitehead papers
Nutrition scholar and chair of the University of Iowa's Home Economics Department for sixteen years.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Cora Call Whitley papers
Clubwoman and conservationist involved in the Council of National Defense Women's Committee during World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Beulah Wiederrecht papers
Correspondence between Wapello farm woman and two Polish families after World War II.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Patricia Peterson Wiese papers
English as a Second Language teacher in West Liberty, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Sally Wiesenfeld papers
Peace activist and member of Another Mother for Peace which was organized to protest the Vietnam War during the 1970s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Bessie Wilkerson papers
Former seamstress and long-time resident of Fort Madison, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Catherine Gayle Williams papers
Professional dancer and deputy commissioner of the Iowa Department of Social Services.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Verda Williams papers
Communication specialist at Iowa State University who produced the documentary Black Des Moines: Voices Seldom Heard.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Willing Workers Club (Fayette County, Iowa) records
A social and benevolent women's club initially formed as a Red Cross sewing club during World War I.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Eva Donelson Wilson papers
Native of Ogden, Iowa, and professor of nutrition at colleges in the United States and Brazil.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ruth Wilson papers
Journalist who worked for the Stars and Stripes in postwar Europe.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Ivory Winston papers
Concert vocalist and Ottumwa housewife.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy and Warren Wirtz papers
Brother and sister who attended the State University of Iowa and wrote letters to their parents in Keokuk.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Zelda Babcock Wolfe memoir
Riceville, Iowa, mother, homemaker, and teacher.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Iowa records
Organization dedicated to legislative and educational efforts to prevent juvenile delinquency and support woman's suffrage.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women Against Racism Committee (Iowa City, Iowa) records
Multiethnic group founded in 1981 by women from the University of Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women Aware, Inc. (Sioux City, Iowa) records
Women Aware, Inc. is a non-profit organization located in Sioux City, Iowa, which was started in 1979. Its primary focus is on displaced homemakers and single parent homemakers, providing advocacy, education, information, counseling, referral and support.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women of the Wartburg Theological Seminary collection.
Lutheran Seminary in Dubuque which began admitting women in 1970.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women's Activities Reports, Iowa, records
Report on the actvities of Iowa women compiled under the direction of the University of Iowa History Department in the 1940s.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women's Equity Action League (Iowa Division) records
Organization that promoted economic equity for women by focusing on educational, legal, and tax issues affecting women.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women's History Project (Diocese of Sioux City, Iowa) interviews
Interviews with members of the St. Joseph Catholic Church in Sioux City, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women's International League for Peace and Freedom (Des Moines Chapter) records
Members of the Des Moines chapter of WILPF studied government policy on nuclear testing, the draft , the war in Vietnam, and the arms race.  They held informational rallies and demonstrations and maintained a vigorous letter-writing campaign.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women's Resource and Action Center records
Women's center established in 1970 to serve the university and community.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Women, Food and Agriculture Network listserv records
Organization connecting women with progressive approaches to agriculture.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Barbara Wommack papers
Clubwoman and member of the Semper Fidelis Club in Davenport, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Elizabeth Wood papers
Social worker and the first African American woman in the United States to be named executive director of a greater metropolitan YWCA.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Faye Wookey papers
Native of Red Oak, Iowa who who recalls family life on a farm in Montgomery County, Iowa.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives

Dorothy Fox Wurster papers
Mahaska County farm girl who won a blue ribbon in the Mahaska County's Boys' 4-H.
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives