Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Search the University of Iowa Libraries Collection Guides

Alphabetical List of Special Collections: W
Narrow your results by Repository: Special Collections | University Archives | Iowa Women's Archives | All |
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z  
Search Results - 63 hits

W. Lee Garner Targets' Collection
Poetry magazine. Correspondence from poets and subscribers, manuscripts of poems, page layouts and dummy sheets.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Martin J. Wade Papers
U.S. District Court Judge and Congressman from Iowa. Scrapbooks, commentaries, and newspaper clippings concerning Wade's judicial and political careers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

John Wagner Letters
Correspondence to his wife from Camp Strong describing his experiences in the Graybeard regiment.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Pamela Walker Manuscripts
Teacher and novelist. Author of Twyla (1973, 1976), a book for young adults. Three drafts, related correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Daniel A. Wallace Papers
Agricultural journalist. Business correspondence, speeches, and subject files relating to agriculture and the Wallace family.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry Wallace Papers
First editor of Wallaces' Farmer. Arranged in broad subject categories and then in chronological order. Available on microfilm for use in repository, for interlibrary loan, and for purchase.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry A. Wallace Papers
Editor of Wallaces' Farmer 1921-1933; Secretary of Agriculture, 1933-1940; Vice-President of the United States, 1941-1945; Secretary of Commerce, 1945-1946. Includes audio visual materials; clippings; an extensive collection of correspondence, including photocopies of the microfilm edition of the originals in the Library of Congress, Manuscript Division; government documents; personal papers; photographs; research materials, with an emphasis on agriculture, particularly corn, but including livestock, weather, strawberries, chickens, and gladioli; writings, and speeches.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Henry C. Wallace Papers
Second editor of Wallaces' Farmer; appointed U.S. Secretary of Agriculture by Warren Harding (1921-1924). Member of exec. committee of the Roosevelt Memorial Association and of the International Committee of Young Men's Christian Association. Arranged in broad subject categories. The correspondence arranged in chronological order.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James B. Wallace Papers
Notebooks of a collector of children's books, artwork, and other items by children's author Marguerite de Angeli.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Walsh Construction Company Records
This small collection contains papers of the company started by Patrick T. Walsh. These are mostly photocopies and photostats, and include information on the Walsh Company, correspondence, and materials relating to their bid to build the Panama Canal.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Josiah Proctor Walton Papers
Holograph forms and forms from the Smithsonian Institution and War Department. Also includes United States War Department, Office of the Chief Signal Officer's monthly summaries of voluntary observers' meteorological reports from various locations in Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Donovan F. Ward Papers
Dubuque, Iowa, surgeon. Subject files, articles, and speeches relating in great part to his term as president of the American Medical Association.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Reverend Leo R. Ward papers
Writer, Catholic priest, and professor of philosophy at Notre Dame University. This collection consists of two manuscripts of Ward's published novels, Holding Up the Hills and Concerning Mary Ann. Iowa Author Manuscript.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Warren African Slide and Videotape Collection
Slides and video tapes made by an Africanist scholar in West Africa, primarily Ghana and Nigeria, recording daily life, medicine, palm oil production, chiefs and elders, women's activities, religion, house construction, and other activities.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Watchers of CIS Collection of Highlander Fan Materials
Collection of fannish materials, particularly fanzines, relating to the Highlander media franchise of movies and television shows.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mariellen (Ming) Wathne Fanzine Archives Collection
Large assemblage of fanzines and works of fan fiction relating to multiple media fandoms, including Star Trek, Star Wars, and other movies and television shows.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Barry Illinois Chautauqua Collection
Leaders in establishing Barry, Illinois Chautauqua within that community. Correspondence, newspaper clippings, family recollections, and talent brochures relating to that endeavor.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James Baird Weaver Papers
Populist leader. Weaver's correspondence with his wife; other Weaver family papers. Includes material on Davis Co., Iowa, and experiences in the Civil War.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

William O. Weaver Papers
Iowa attorney. Correspondence, campaign literature, clippings, and photographs relating to the Eisenhower presidential campaign of 1952.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

George Weber Papers
Businessman and Iowa state senator. Subject files, correspondence, campaign material, legislation, and speeches documenting his legislative career.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Carl Weeks Papers
Businessman. Correspondence, speeches, advertising, etc. relating to the Armand Company (a cosmetics manufacturing firm in Des Moines, IA).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Herbert J. Wehman Papers
Scientist. Manuscripts with handwritten emendations for his unpublished work, Universal Science.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ruth Cromer Weir Mss.
Author of biographies for children. Manuscripts for her books on Benjamin Franklin, John Paul Jones, and Marco Polo, also scripts for a 1954 television program, F Bar F Ranch.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Susan Fulton Welty Papers
Born in Fairfield, Iowa, Welty took degrees at Parsons College and the University of Utah. A teacher most of her life, this collection contains drafts of numerous stories and articles, most on religious subjects.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Harvey W. Wertz Papers
American journalist.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

R. Weston Diaries
Railroad mechanic. Two diaries containing details about his daily work in the shops of the C.B.&Q. and C.D.&M. railroads, community news and gossip in Dubuque, Iowa, and personal matters.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

White Family Papers
Consisting mostly of letters written home from three men, presumably brothers, in the Civil War - John Howell White, George L. White, and Ned [White] - this collecion also contains a deed for propertry acquired by John H. White in Ohio, official documents related to the mens' service in the Civil War, leaves from the family bible, and other documentation from the White family. The family was probably located in southeastern Iowa, near Mount Pleasant.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Grant White Papers
Dispatches to the Des Moines Register describing the Cow War in Cedar Co., Iowa, over the compulsory testing of cattle for tuberculosis.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Hervey White Papers
Novelist (Quicksand, 1900, and others), founder of the artist's colonies Byrdcliffe and Maverick, and editor of The Plowshare and The Wild Hawk. Drafts and typescripts of 24 stories and chapters from an unpublished autobiography.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Roland White Papers
Manuscript for Milo Reno: Farmers Union Pioneer. Iowa Authors
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Glenn E. Whitehead Papers
State legislator and Perry, Iowa, newspaper publisher. Correspondence, poetry, diary, subject files, etc. relating to both his private and professional life. Includes items ranging from campaign advertising to his WWI supply officer's manual.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Whiting Settlement (Electric) Transmission Company Records
Electrical Power Company. Tax returns, customer receipts, stock certificates and related material.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Lyman Whiting Papers
Congregational clergyman. Diaries, correspondence, sermons, and other materials.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Whittington Press Collection
Collection of ephemera publisihed by the Whittington Press.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Francis O. Wilcox Papers
Educator, United States government official (Senate Foreign Relations Committee chief of staff, 1947-1955; Assistant Secretary of State, 1955-1961). Correspondence, subject files, lecture notes, speeches, and preliminary drafts of articles.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Gene Wilder Papers
Actor, film star, writer, director and producer, University of Iowa alumnus (1955). The Wilder papers include scripts and drafts of scripts, contracts and related papers, and a group of photographs.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jesse Wilkerson Papers
Twenty-nine letters, from January to July 1865, mostly between Jesse Skinner Wilkerson and his wife Sarahett.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Willard Fur Company Papers
Fur clothier in Marshalltown, IA. The company is documented with records such as daily cash receipts and sales records. Inventory lists and catalogs describe their products.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Earl M. Willits Papers
Iowa State Legislator. Subject files and correspondence relating to his service in the legislature and in the Iowa Attorney General's office.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Meredith Willson Papers
Writer, musician, composer, and lyricist, best known for The Music Man. Manuscript drafts from his books, a script from The Music Man, and sheet music.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Angus Wilson Papers
Acclaimed British novelist and scholar. Research files, including administrative material, research materials, and corrected typescripts for her 1995 biography of novelist Sir Angus Wilson.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Clara Wilson Letters
Thirty letters to one of the settlers of Algona, Iowa. Most of the letters are from her husband, J. J. Wilson, who was a businessman in Algona, owning a lumberyard and later a flour mill. J. J. Wilson was mayor of Algona during the years between 1876 and 1882 and served two terms in the state legislature. The letters are mostly about locating in Algona and their daughter's health.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sue Ann Wilson Papers
Papers of an early twentieth century woman writer.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Wendell D. Wiltsie Diaries
Diaries of a soldier in Company E, 23rd Michigan volunteer Infantry.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Mary E. Winchell papers
Manuscript for Home on the Bering Sea with correspondence and clippings. Iowa Author Mss.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James H. Windsor Collection of Railroadiana
Railroadiana mostly related to the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific (CRIP) Railroad, with some materials on the Union Pacific Railroad.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Edward Francis Winslow Papers
Civil War soldier and railroad builder. Memoirs, correspondence, clippings, and reports relating to his service with the 4th Iowa Cavalry during the Civil War. Also includes reports and papers about the Battle of Brice's Crossroads.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Ferdinand Sophus Winslow Letters
Civil War Letters of Ferdinand Sophus Winslow, 1861-1865.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sidney G. Winter Papers
Accountant. Correspondence, court documents, and clippings.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Wise Clark Family Papers
Family papers consisting of correspondence on life in Iowa and Illinois in the Civil War era and beyond.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Bernt Olaf Wolden Papers
Naturalist. Correspondence and notebooks of nature observations.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Leonard G. Wolf Papers
U.S. Representative from Iowa and Agency for International Development official. Correspondence, bills and resolutions, newsletters and press releases all related to his one term in Congress.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Harold E. Wolfe Papers
Mason City, Iowa, chief of police, chairman of the Iowa Liquor Control Commission, and member of the Iowa House of Representatives. Correspondence, clippings, radio broadcast scripts, photographs, campaign material, and other papers.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Sarah and Jen Wolfe Zines
Collection of amateur publications primarily from the feminist riot grrrl movement of the 1990s, together with numerous zines documenting various independent/underground music scenes.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Jen Wolfe Comic Book Collection
Collection of comic books that mostly feature major female characters, are written and drawn by female artists, and/or chronicle stories of traditionally female interest, such as romance comics.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

J. P. Wood Papers
Accounts of a general store in Iowa City, Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Peggy Wood Papers
The papers of Peggy Wood consist of typescript and printed proofs for a book, Arts and Flowers (1963).
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Works Progress Administration Iowa Records
Project records for public service employment in Jefferson and Van Buren Counties in Iowa.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

World War II Collection
Items having to do with the Second World War
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

World's Fair Collection
Printed matter from World's Fairs and Expositions. Includes postcards, photographs, printed matter.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Arthur Wormhoudt papers
A professor of English, the manuscripts of The Demon Lover and The Muse at Length. (Christopher Publishing House, 1953) represent two of Wormhoudt's books of literary criticism.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

Allen Wortman Papers
Editor of the Malvern Leader. Personal and professional correspondence.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections

James C. Wright Papers
Educator. Correspondence, subject files, speeches, articles, clippings, and photographs documenting his career as a school administrator, state official, and educator.
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections